We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Island View Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Siva Sharm Resort & Spa(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Island Garden Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Vita Resort & Spa(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,788)
Filter reviews
2,788 results
Traveler rating
1,486
788
309
132
73
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,486
788
309
132
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictoria barsoho squaremain restaurantfatima restauranthollywood cafeanimation teamitalian restaurantfishgreat holidayjunior suiteguest relationstwo weeksbar staffthe thomas cook repspecial thankssoft drinkskids club
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 2,788 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We arrived at island view on 29th December for a 13 night stay. We received the warmest of welcomes from the front desk staff who were very friendly & helpful. Our 1st impression of island view wasn't a disappointment. The trip down to our room (270) in the courtesy minibus was very pleasant passing pool 2 & then over the little wooden bridges over the streams & under the floral archways. Seing all of this we were really pleased with our choice of hotels.
The room was a little bit of a let down, the furnishings & decor were dated and in need of refurbishment. The bathroom was probably in the worst state but we dont go on holiday to spend it in our room. Even tho the rooms are in need of refurbishment they were cleaned everyday & the towels & bedding were changed daily.

The hotel was well run & the facilities are to a good
standard. The food in the buffet restaurant is very nice & to a good standard although a bit predictable. There is a couple of snack bars where you can get burgers or hot dogs & fries which are also ok.
The Italian restaurant is second to none definitely worth popping in. There is also Fatimas restaurant over looking the beach near pool 4 which is also very nice & worth a visit.

The beach is nice and is kept clean. There is a bar & a snack bar down there too. There is also a diving centre on the beach if you're into that, if not you can go snorkeling which is also really good to do, I'd recommend doing either.

The staff at the hotel are really friendly and can't do enough for you, from the cleaners to the management. The waiters & bar staff are brilliant & really look after you. The animation team are also really good, they always make time to come and have a chat with you mentioning no names (Vicki, Amber, Lucy, Shosha) not forgetting the rest of the gang, you all do a great job.

Overall Island view resort is really nice. I wouldn't yet rate it as 5stars but get the refurb done and it will be. As I said the rooms were a bit of a let down but in our eyes the rest of the hotel made up for that. We certainly would stay here again.

Finally we'd like to thank all the staff at island view for making our holiday a memorable and pleasant stay, and for the new years eve party which was out of this world. Hope to see you all again soon

Chris & Ange

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sunny Greetings from Sharm El Sheikh!

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us and share your thoughts to the other travelers to read. I will pass on your appreciation to our staff and ensure they are acknowledged for the hard work they are doing to make sure you have a great holiday

We look forward to welcoming you back once again very soon.

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I arrived at Island View Resort on January 1st, receiving the warmest of welcomes from staff as they recognised us from our previous 3 trips to this hotel...

Restaurant staff could not have been more attentive, Eslam especially as he had a table waiting for us at every meal time, he knew exactly what drinks we would order and have them waiting for us...

Food at Island View certainly didn't disappoint, there was always a varied selection.... We tried what we thought was houmous only to find out it was infact Egyptian Tahini... To which we ate everyday and have managed to find this in England...

We spent everyday sunbathing at Pool 4, Farid always made sure we had the same spot and same sunbeds, he always came over to us to assist with putting towels on the loungers.. Mahmoud ensured we never went thirsty as soon as our glasses we empty there was a refill....

For all we didn't get involved with the activities the Animation Team had to offer, they always made sure we had fun in other ways.... Music they provided was brilliant. Mido has a fantastic team, special mention to Vicky who came to see us everyday!!

Our room was cleaned by Khaleed to perfection everyday... Bless he even lined our shoes!! He provided dressing gowns in shape of swans on our bed when he realised we had our air con switched to heating...

I would like to thank the management staff....Any queries we had were dealt with immediately... Special mention to Shellie & Selmy who went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed for our trip....

We were planning on coming back for New Year, however, because we had such an amazing time we have booked for April 17th.... Can't wait to spend another week at this amazing resort with amazing friends that we have made for life......... xxxxxxx

P.S - there seems to be a lot of criticism on reviews that I been reading, regarding the rooms & building work that is currently taking place.... Obviously building work is going on to improve the hotel and this takes time.... Just think some people need to be more aware of this instead of criticising!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dbug17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Greetings from sunny Egypt!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are glad we met your expectations and that you enjoyed your holiday with us as usual
We would love to welcome you back again and if you decide to return please do not hesitate to contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here for the first time 26 Dec to 9 Jan although I had previously visited Egypt on 24 occasions in the previous 11 years. FIRST ..I must say that the staff without any exception are truly an asset to the hotel. Always smiling and always helpful. Particular thanks go to Shellie Wilson and Mohamed Samak who always had time for chat! Thanks you both.
HOWEVER: while there is a programme of refurbishment taking place, the rooms in use are no where near worthy of a 5 star rating! I asked for a room change or a different hotel after 2 nights due to mouldy growth hanging from the bathroom ceiling. I suspect that UK Environmental Health would have considered closing the hotel had they been involved! This is NO exaggeration.
In this day and age ...wi fi access is a MUST in all areas of an hotel like this but was not available as such...only for a fee.
Taps in basins and bath were all loose and all in need of washer replacement. The shower head was hanging loose in the fitment and only operated reasonably when some water pressure was applied through the hose. Too much water pressure resulted in the shower head
waving around like a snake charmers snake! Chipped tiles on walls and floor along with cracked and missing grout etc did not add up to what should be expected in a 5 star establishment. FOOD: while mostly well prepared ...was predictable in variety and could have been more varied FOR A 5 STAR HOTEL!. Russian children dipping their fingers through the cream desserts on display then licking their fingers but not actually taking any dessert!
Nice wide beach and plenty sunbeds but access is via a very steep sloping road/pathway or by what must be about 100 wooden stairs! Not easy if a guest has mobility issues.
I am looking forward to re visiting this hotel perhaps when the whole refurbishment has been completed..but would not go back until then!.
FINALLY: Animation Team. What a bunch of absolute gems!
Victoria Parks, Shosha Reda, Mido, Amber, Lucy and all the others whose names I cannot remember ( sorry folks ) work long hours but never fail to have a smile on their faces and to mingle and jolly the guests along...sometimes not an easy task! Lucy, by the way, likes melon but its not always available in the restaurant. Several varieties of melon are available across the road in the supermarket...pop across and get one for her....I did!
This group compliment the hotels own staff in ensuring that all guests have the best experience possible. Shame about the state of the rooms yet to be updated.! As a 'senior citizen' and single traveller this group, every individual in it, had time for me even when scurrying between their various duties. Well done each and every one of you.
I am sure that once all the rooms have been updated ...and there is wi fi access more readily available ...this hotel could well justify a 5 star rating.
Stephen Carter (Huddersfield)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen4341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Dear Valued Guest
Greetings from island view management team !

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us .
We are sorry to hear that you experienced some maintenance issues in your room we are currently undergoing process of refurbishment to make sure that the hotel would meet our valued guest expectations
It sounds as though you enjoyed our entertainment and I will certainly pass on your thanks to our Animation team for their efforts.
We would love to welcome you back once again to see any improvements we have made in the future and if you have any further comments please do not hesitate to contact me at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Positives. Staff. are amazing. location great. right next to Soho Square. Christmas and new years party wonderful... but that's where the two ratings come from. if it was on hotel alone I would have given a zero rating.

The grounds are pleasant but in a very poor state of repair. worn concrete paths, you can see the metal supports through some. missing railings on stairs, broken benches. shame because garden staff work very hard.

The hotel advertised as 5 star.. I understand this is automatic as it has a beach front and does not reflect the hotels services and standards at all. We have travelled all over the world and know star ratings are different from one place to another but I would class the rooms as 2 star and the facilities that have been renovated at 3/4 star.

Four pools. well actually one is closed. two are too cold they cant be used. you can sit round them and we did sit round pool 4 overlooking the beach, nice and relaxing but the water is so cold, the pool and Jacuzzi cant be used. unfortunately during our second week building work had started again on the site right next to the pool so whilst at the pool you were overlooked by workman. The sea is warmer than the pools. If you want to swim you have to use pool 2 which is heated slightly but is the kids pool with slides. not really a relaxing place for adults to sit.

Italian restaurant is nice, not 5 star but service amazing. the buffet although plentiful is of very poor quality. A great shame because the chefs obviously have the ability to cook nice food as they did for the gala meals. if you deink anything other than builders tea bring your own. small selection of herbal tea at bar not in restaurant. snack bar serves, chips burgers and hot dogs,, no fruit or healthy choices....

Our room was appalling the first week the cleaner came in but did not clean.. our waste basket was not emptied for a week. we know for sure because our Christmas wrapping paper was still in it from Christmas morning a week later. The second week we had a change of cleaner.. what a difference. he really made the effort. . we has no water the first day, second day it was brown, third day no water again, when I called reception I was told not just my room today most rooms, as though that made it acceptable. no apology just no water. fourth day , the water came through the bathroom ceiling, seems the air conditioning unit is as poorly maintained as the rest of the hotel.5 star means quality.. not here ...old flaking paint, mouldy bathrooms with very stained fixtures. no flat screen or free wi fi... no tea or coffee making facilities. old cane furniture ours was held together with six inch nails, if you sat if came apart. Formica bedroom furniture, that was old and outdated in the 80's. only water in mini bar, no soft drinks.

90% of guest were Russian.. Many of whom drunk all day and night. they would bring bottles of bear, whisky and vodka to the breakfast table. no one challenged this and in fact i saw them purchase bottles from behind the bar. .Drinking their own bottles of alcohol was done day and night in the hotel foyer and reception area whilst they had card schools. This makes the hotel look like a hostel for alcoholics. If your looking for 4 star or above this is not the hotel for you. I would compare to 1980's bed and breakfast in Blackpool. Not what I paid for.

Room Tip: choose a different hotel or wait for the refurb to be done before you go.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryGrays_ESSEX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

* Dear Valued Guest
Greetings from island view management team
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your stay at Island View Resort
Your comments are important in helping us to improve and maintain the high standards we strive to deliver at Island View Resort.
we are glad to hear that you enjoyed Christmas and new year celebrations with us
we are disappointed to learn of the problems you experienced with our housekeeping service
our guest relation and management team are always on hand to help resolve any issue you may have during your stay
We would love to welcome you back again in the future so if you decide to return please do contact me on shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com with any requests we may be able to help you with.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We travelled here on New Years Day for a one week trip to begin 2014 in our favourite place! This was our 4th visit to the hotel and once again it did not disappoint. All of the staff at this hotel are fantastic and make you feel at home from the second you step foot inside the door. Nothing is too much trouble for them and the smallest of queries is dealt with immediately. The management work around the clock to ensure everything is as it should be and they are always extremely friendly and spoke to us everyday to make sure everything was ok.

The restaurants are brilliant and there is always a varied selection of food available for guests to enjoy. The waitors are fantastic and nothing is too much trouble for them. Eslam remembered our drinks order which varied at each meal and always made sure it was ready waiting for us arriving. We also sampled a lot more Egyptian food this time and it certainly did not disappoint!

We chose to spend our days around pool 4 which had a varied selection of music on and Farid was constantly on the move making sure the surrounding areas were clean and tidy and Mamoud always made sure that we were never without a drink!

The animation team were always around making sure everyone was having a good time, especially Vicky who came to see us every day, she does a fantastic job and Mido has an excellent team.

Our room was cleaned to perfection every day by Khaleed and he even provided us with dressing gowns to keep us warm on an afternoon as soon as he realised we were turning our air conditioning to heating!

I cannot praise this hotel enough, it is in the perfect location and the staff are amazing. We are hoping to be back for New Year so that we can enjoy the New Years Eve party which sounded like it was a brilliant night. A special thanks to Shellie and Selmy who went out of their way to making sure we had everything we needed for our trip. It was over and above what anyone would expect from a hotel and we are so grateful! We have certainly made friends for life in this hotel and can't wait to visit them again soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca0311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellie W, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Sunny greetings from Sharm El Sheikh!!

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Your comments are an extremely valuable tool not only for potential travellers but for us as a hotel to improve and maintain our standards where neccesary.

You mentioned a lot of staff which means our customer service training is proving useful The staff receive on going training regularly in order to keep high standards where our guests wants & needs are concerned. I will of course pass on your thanks to each employee as well as the respective Department Heads as we like to use these candidates as role models for other employees.

Its also nice to hear that you tried a wide variety of food whilst you were here and you enjoyed all the dishes we provided. The food certainly is plentiful and as you are all inclusive it is unlimited!!

We would love to welcome you back again in the future and hope you manage to book for New Year in order to join our fun & festivities.

When you decide to return please drop me an email at shellie.wilson@islandview-egypt.com in order to help with any requests you may have.

Happy New Year!

With best regards
Shellie Wilson
Quality & Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews