We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to return to once the building has finished”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #72 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hotel to return to once the building has finished”
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I have just returned from 12 days at the hotel. We have been to egypt many times but found this location to be the best. Naama Bay is now very tacky and the men very bothersome and almost aggressive. It's is a 50 egypt pound taxi into naama bay from the hotel so if you want to go in the evening it's easy.
Soho square although very nice is not very Egyptian and has a limited appeal. We ate in the Chinese restaurant which was very nice with excellent service. To eat out and to drink alchohol is very expensive everywhere £15 for 2 gin and tonics!!!
In the hotel they only serve Egyptian brand alcohol but it has become quite acceptable and they have Shwepps tonic and proper coke which helps. Wine is only served at meal times.
There is a large number of eastern block other guests. They are not all Russian. We were pleasantly surprised at their improved behaviour, drinking, and the way that they dress. They even queue at the bar. There are 1 or 2exceptions but this should not put you off coming to this fab hotel.
The hotel has now started major refurbish ment and have screened off large swaths of buildings. About 100 rooms. There was not much noise from this BUT at pool 4 and on the beach the noise from the building of a new hotel next to the Hilton was terrible. You couldn't hear it in your room or in the main part of our hotel.
Pool 4 is lovely very modern and you can tell from this how the hotel will be in the future. There bar is fab and the staff professional and friendly.
We weren't very impressed with the food but there is always some you can eat and if you ask they will always try to make something for you. You may have to give advance notice. The pizza chef in fatimas at lunch time made pizzas to request even doing half with cheese and half without. He is to be recommended.
All the staff are very professional I can't fault one and they have a lovely sense of humour and are happy to help. They appreciate good manners.
There is a large number of people who eat as soon as the main restaurant opens. It is worth eating later. We did find that once those people had eaten they disappear to their rooms leaving the bar areas quiet in the evening.
Room service is prompt and food is very good if you are feeling lazy ( as we were ) and well priced. Small tips are always appreciated. 200 pounds went down well.
We had a massage at the spa which was ok but the room lacked softness and atmosphere and wasn't very relaxing due to people talking in reception and Egyptian music. This could be easily remedied.
The hotel has new owners and they are making a great effort to turn this into an amazing hotel. There is some way to go but they are definatly heading in the right direction.
Just one suggestion please could we have some bigger choice of CDs at pool 4!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Awildphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia B, Guest Relation Supervisor at Island View Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear awildphysio,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are very glad you had a good holiday and we take all the comments on board and pass them to the appropriate departments.

We would love to see you return to the hotel and if you have any special requests for your next visit please let us know by contacting us via our Facebook page or by email: info@islandview-egypt.com.

Sincerely yours,

Nadia Bronyukova
Guest Relation Supervisor
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,284
    755
    295
    127
    70
See reviews for
945
846
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just back from a 2 week break, the hotel is in a prime location right next to soho square. It is on the beach however it is a small beach that caters for 2 hotels making it very cramped. The hotel is undergoing refurishment and will be beautiful when its finished. The rooms are very dated and shabby looking and ours could have done with a good cleaning i did mention this to guest relations. The food was really good,and there are 2 ala carte restaurants there are 4 pools but only one is heated which is such a shame as this stopped people from going into the unheated ones and most people stayed around pool 2 which is heated but also had all the activities and loud music. Pool 4 has had a refurb and is lovely.There is some entertainment in the evening but we didnt really watch this as we had seen it before, there is entertainment in Soho which is good. The staff are really lovely and friendly although they are not treated very well by our russian friends i think thats why they are so nice to the British as a please and thankyou costs nothing. Coralie from guest relations was very good often coming to ask if we were ok and making notes of our comments. As i said before once all the alterations have been finished this will be a first class hotel and we would like to visit again once it is finished, maybe some sort of loyalty card could be given for return guests. Thankyou to you all for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bren06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia B, Guest Relation Supervisor at Island View Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear bren06,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the food and pool 4. We are grateful for your comments about the staff. It makes the staff very happy to know they helped to make your stay more enjoyable.

We do indeed have a loyalty scheme to reward guests who return to visit us so we hope you will come back soon. Please let us know before you do if you have any special requests or would like any information by contacting us via our Facebook page or by email: info@islandview-egypt.com.

Sincerely yours,

Nadia Bronyukova
Guest Relation Supervisor
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is my 2nd time back to this hotel and its my moms 5th, only me, my mom and my younger brother went, I'm 21 and I just thought it would be a relaxing holiday, I was wrong, this turned out to be a wicked Holliday for us all, I partied more or less every night with the animation staff, they were so friendly and welcoming, we did quad bikes in the desert which is really good well worth doing, the food isn't great if your a fussy eater but there its lots of nice different restaurants to eat and really affordable, am trying to go back in may enjoyed it that much :)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia B, Guest Relation Supervisor at Island View Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Toni M,

Thanks for posting a review for us and we are very happy that you had a fun holiday. We are always very pleased to welcome guests back to the hotel and hope you will visit us many more times in the future.

We have passed your comments on to the animation team and they are glad they helped to make your holiday so enjoyable.

Next time you visit us please let us know if you have any special requests by contacting us via our Facebook page or by email: info@islandview-egypt.com.

Sincerely yours,

Nadia Bronyukova
Guest Relation Supervisor
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Michelle & I had decided to come back to the Island View Resort for a 2nd time as the 1st visit had some very enjoyable times and the team had been so welcoming and friendly.
Wael the Hotel Manager had been moved over to the Island Garden and some of the Guest relations had moved on however the new management and team of Guest relations had been very helpful!
We visited Wael Over at the Garden View Resort and found his touches of excellence rubbing off at his new posting! Well done Wael!
We have been informed the Island view is due to undergo extensive room renovations from March this year I hope they put some more King size beds in more of the rooms?
The Customer service in this hotel is Outstanding every time we walked past a member of the team at the resort we had been greeted with a welcome home or welcome back now that’s Customer satisfaction.
The teams in all the restaurants and bars are incredibly friendly in particularly the Italian and the chef’s made Michelle’s worry about her capsicum allergy diminish by making every dish without any contamination! The food is excellent at all of the restaurants including the Buffet and the weekly BBQ is very enjoyable!
Note to self must work off the great food in the Gym! We both enjoyed a Sport Massage in the spa this time and they are fantastic well worth a spa evening getting pampered after a long days Diving.
Diving I would like to personally thank Mohamed for helping Michelle build her confidence and improve her buoyancy techniques under water over the week Excellent Diver good luck in the Army Mohamed!
If you are Diving Pyramids Dive Centre are Very Professional and the Team and Management are totally dedicated to improving your enjoyment and experiences offering a wide range of Boat trips and diving excursions for all levels of experience.
I would recommend using them to anyone as they are also reasonably priced and offer every level of training if you want to increase you skill level and What a Great Location only a fin flip to the left and your Diving on Ras Bob Reef with the caves and pinnacles or a fin kick to the right and you finning over White knights Reef in or over the conyon or Eel garden looking at the Eagle Wrays!
Special Thanks to Hany George the Manager of the Pyramids Dive Centre for making every team member aware of Michelle’s needs at building her confidence and buoyancy skills.
Michelle has come from being a non swimmer to a PADI Open water Diver in 4 years so congratulations Michelle x
Thanks again to all the team at the Island View Resort WE WILL BE BACK SOON!

Room Tip: Rooms mostly have 2 single beds so request a Double with the hotel direct!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia B, Guest Relation Supervisor at Island View Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear John O,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review for us. I can assure you it is very much appreciated. We are very glad you chose to come back to visit us again and hope you will return many more times in the future.

Send our congratulations to Michelle for her diving success! She should be very proud.

We very much hope that you will return to see us soon and if you have any special requests for your next visit please let us know by contacting us via our Facebook page or by email: info@islandview-egypt.com.

Sincerely yours,

Nadia Bronyukova
Guest Relation Supervisor
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Sharm El Sheikh, having first stayed at the Oriental Hotel in Nabq Bay. The Oriental was lovely, but the location was not great. We have just returned having spent 10 nights at the Island View Resort in Sharks Bay with our two daughters and another couple with 2 daughters of similar age. We had a truly wonderful time. The hotel location is fabulous - right next to Soho Square and the staff were extremely helpful and very cheerful. Our room was room 546 which overlooked Pool 2. Our 'apartment' had two generously sized bedrooms and a bathroom and also a balcony overlooking the pool. The room was very 'tired' looking and rather outdated and not as clean as it could have been - however it was in a superb location and we were advised when we booked that the hotel had recently changed hands and was undergoing refurbishment
The food was varied and good, although the Italian Restaurant was a little disappointing. The resort generally is kept very clean. We spent most days on the beach enjoying the snorkelling and also some diving.
Whilst our room was not exceptional, it is the hotels intention to totally refurbish all the rooms by the end of the year. Those rooms that have already been done are lovely and we would have no hesitation in returning here next year. Coralie and Abbi of Guest Relations were wonderful and really looked after us. I think it is important to remember that whilst these hotels rate themselves as 5* - this is not the equivalent of a 5* English Hotel - but what they lack in this respect is more than made up for in the helpfulness, friendliness and hardwork of the staff!

Room Tip: Rooms around Pool 2 are very nice - close to the main building - but are noisy during the day time w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadia B, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very glad you had a good holiday with us and we would like to thank you for your comments about the staff. Everyone here works very hard to ensure you have a good holiday and it is very pleasing to hear that it is appreciated.

We very much hope that you will return to see us soon and if you have any special requests for your next visit please let us know by contacting us via our Facebook page or by email: info@islandview-egypt.com.

Sincerely yours,

Nadia Bronyukova
Guest Relation Supervisor
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Regis
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

When we eventually got to our hotel, That's when the fun started.

The staff throughout the holiday helped make our holiday an excellent stay. The staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant staff always saved us the same table and waited on us, we think this is because we showed manners and respect for them at every meal.

The bar staff again were friendly and helpful our drinks were always nice and how we like them. When you get to know the staff you can have a good laugh with them.

The hotel customer service girls were very helpful and sorted out our minor concerns.

We had no problems with the food and this also includes the salad which we normally avoid. Their was a good choice of food and it was hot.

The room was a bit run down and needing a make over. Al the facilities in the room worked. the beds were comfortable and the room was clean.

Us British were the minority at this hotel as the hotel was full of Russians. These Russians seemed to be our main entertainment as due to their lack of manners and ignorance it was nice to see the staff making them queue and wait their turns civilly.

The weather was good for February 21 dregees C our lowest daytime temperature 25 degrees C or highest daytime temperature. Evening temperature was comfortable. not to cold. This shocked me for February weather.

Evening entertainment by the animations crew was good.

Massage and fitness centre catered for our needs and for once all the equipment was working and well maintained in the gym. I work in leisure, and I am in charge of a gym so i know what I'm talking about.

We felt safe when we walked outside the hotel grounds and only got pestered for taxi's that is expected. Soho square was clean and nice to walk around.

The hotel is about 10 minutes from the airport, our only compliant was that it took 2 hrs by our transfer company east mar to get us to our hotel at the start of our holiday as they were poorly organised.

Good relaxing holiday, value for money we will go back to this hotel, which is something we thought we would never say and due. Hotel located in a good location. Sea was warm and snorkeling as expected.

When we went home we landed in - 1 temperatures and snow. We wished we were back on holiday.

Room Tip: If not happy with your room talk to the customer service girls. They will sort your issues out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Front Office Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Stephen K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review. We are very glad you had a relaxing holiday with us and enjoyed our great location and facilities. Thanks for your comments about the friendliness of the staff. It is lovely to read that everyone tried to make your stay with us as enjoyable as possible.

We very much hope that you will return to see us soon and if you have any special requests for your next visit lease let us know by contacting us via our Facebook page or by email:info@islandview-egypt.com.

Sincerely yours,

Mahmoud Selmy
Front Office Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Went here for a second visit 3/2/13 for 7 nights. second visit in 5 months and what can i say. the staff were very unfriendly. the cleanliness of the rrooms was gross.
Booked 3 rooms so that my friend and i could have separate appartments and son and daughter shared the other. on arrival they tried to give us a 2 bedroom apt for 3 people not good when we all needed our own space. eventually settled for our rooms. mine was filthy, slept on the sofa as the beds were like rock, and the net on the window was ripped. food was beyond a joke everything in sauce or rice or veg. the person that made our holiday was Ahmed in the restaurant he looked after us every day. one waiter was so rude i could have slapped him but didnt. the other English people there also complained about the Russians who really need to know how to use the loos. one minute they were spotless next they were disgusting. the loos in Soho square were cleaner. I cant beleive what a difference but apparently under new management. bring back Mr Wael. Abi you are a star really xxx

Room Tip: rooms that have been renovated are beautiful but how long for who knows
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minicooper032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Front Office Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear minicooper032,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent holiday with us. We always appreciate constructive feedback from our guests. We have passed your comments to the appropriate members of the management team so that they can take action where necessary.

Sincerely yours,

Mahmoud Selmy
Front Office Manager
Island View Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,162 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#35 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,147 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#55 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#100 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#109 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Property: Island View Resort
Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#68 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing