We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent first visit”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #55 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Recently returned from our first visit to Island View resort and wish we were still there, arrived at the hotel to a welcome drink and speedy check in many thanks to Mr Ehab for that, we were very lucky to be allocated a sea view junior suite which also over looked the newly refurbished pool 4 the room was well equipped and very large the location could not have been better like all rooms at Island view it was tired and in need of refurbishment but the good news is the whole hotel is to undergo a major refurbishment programme this year, I understand this is to be done in sections so as not to disturb guests in anyway, one room was undergoing refurbishment as we were in resort this room was no more than 30 metres from our own room and we had no disturbance what so ever so I don’t think any future guests need worry about being on holiday while work continues.
We found the main restaurant to be a little busy at our first breakfast for our tastes so from then on used the Italian royal breakfast each morning and the al a carte’s in the evenings, it was our great pleasure to meet Area Executive Chef Nurettin nothing was to much trouble for this guy or any of his team each and every meal we had at the hotel was first class.
Having travelled to various resorts and hotels in Egypt for some years now I look for the same four things from all hotels irrelevant of price paid they are friendly staff (who will make or break any hotel) a clean room, nice food and value for money this hotel ticked all boxes for me and we would not hesitate to return.
Added bonus here is the hotel has Soho Square just outside the hotel gates.
I will add photos to this review but as most regular users of tripadvisor will know a review becomes live much faster without photo submission.

Finally a big thank you to Miss Uliviya Hashim it was such a pleasure to meet someone face to face that I have known by reputation for some years.

John & Yvonne

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank FOCUSVON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear John and Yvonne,
First of all I would like to thank you for a nice and positive review. We appreciate a lot that you had the time to post it.
I am glad that our hotel team had opportunity to host you in our resort and we are glad that you described many aspects of your stay which you enjoyed.
All gratitude words had been already passed to the hotel team. We are all very thankful for your lovely words about us.
We will be very happy to see you again in our resort!
For any requests or information please do not hesitate to contact us by email info@islandview-egypt.com

Kindest regards,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,672)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 2,672 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from 11 nights in Island View. Had my misgivings about going to Sharm as had been in Cairo before and was not too impressed with Eqypt. This holiday totally changed my opinion of Eqypt, Hotel is great!! - Surplus of Russians but wouldnt let them spoil my holiday. Food and drink great, A La Carte restaurants great. Staff are the main highlight - I have never experienced such attentive, pleasant, respectful adn mannerly staff before. These staff are a credit to the Island View Resort. Gardens and surrounding areas of hotel grounds also superb, gardens always being tended and leaves cleared up, ongoing, Rooms and everywhere in hotel spotlessly clean and always being cleaned and tended. Spa facilites excellent as are the watersports and beach. Beutiful gardens and surroundings, rooms good, we had a junior suite and are were advised they are being totally refurbished this year which makes the resort even better. Beds so comfortable - slept like a baby the whole holiday. We are intending going back in October or November this year and have never been back to the same hotel anywhere before (in 20 years of going abroad!!). Sharks Bay is an ideal location - so glad I did not pick Nama Bay - which I think is like Benidorm.

A massive thank you to all the staff in the hotel for making our stay (which was also our honeymoon) so memorable and enjoyable....See you later on in the year!!

Janice and Chris 11th January 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Janice,

Many thanks for you review on TripAdvisor!
Thank you for your kind and lovely comments and we are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday in our resort.
All your fabulous comments were transferred to Heads of departments. We thank you again and again for such a wonderful words about our hotel.
We hope to see you soon this year and you are always welcome to The Island View Resort!

If you have any request, please do not hesitate to contact us when you plan to return to our hotel via Facebook page or by email info@islandview-egypt.com

Sincerely yours,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Firstly, we moved to this hotel at our expense having originaly booked the Gardenia Plaza.

The hotel and staff are very good. So long as you treat them with a bit of respect, they will extend this courtesy. Yes, there are a few Egyptians (selling things to you, beach, pool etc) that can appear to nag you day after day, but if you're polite with them and just say no, without being rude, they will leave you alone.

Food is very good at the buffet restaurant, we had a meal in Fatima's and the Italian, which were also very good.

Wine is only available at meal times, but having said that, there was no rush for you to leave your table ( we sat outiside sometimes), waiters will happily bring drinks to you until they close. There is also entertainment on near pool 1 ( buffet restaurant), so no need to rush to the bars!

I suppose there is a always a bad point to some hotels, from what I've seen of Sharm over Christmas and New Year, the Island view is no exception. Unfortunatley, the eastern europeans seem to think that as soon as it is opening times at the restaurants, they have to be there 1st, a lot of them do not believe in queues and can come across as arrogant, especially to the waiters / bar staff. Very often, we queued for food only to find, Russian's etc barging in to take plates in front of us, you would have thought that the hotel was about to run out of plates! It seemed to be common practice for them. They would then pile their plates sky high, and then...... look for a table!!! Our waiter could not understand why this happened, he said to us, "why do you find your seat first, then get your food, but the russians do it the other way"?

We also witnessed some very rude Russian's at lunch time at Fatima's (near the beach). The staff here are very, very good and will look after you no matter what. What we saw was revolting. The supervisor of the restaurant always ensured that the tables were laid out to such a way that everyone could eat, whether it be 6,4 or 2 people. A group of Russian's came in and wanted to move some tables, the supervisor said no, there was already a row of big tables to accommodate them, 1 of the Russain's, grabbed him, ripped his shirt and began to move the tables!! The really sad part of this was that the restaurant manager came over, over ruled the supervisor, and moved the tables???

This hotel is very very good, it has everything you could need, just remember to say please, thank you etc, it gets you a long way.

Rooms are very good, grounds are excellent, snorkelling excellent. Also, the executive chef will always make himself known to you and ask for feedback on his food, be honest, he really appreciates this.

We are going back in July, armed with cattle prods :-)

Room Tip: Overlooking the quiet pool seemed to be the quitest rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andrew w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Andrew,

Many thanks for taking time and posting the review. As always we appreciate to get feedback from our guests and I am happy that u had enjoyable holiday with us.

I passed your comments to all heads of department to ensure they receive positive feedback and can take action where necessary.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at info@islandview-egypt.com before your return in July.

Sincerely yours,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our second visit to Island View. Having stayed there 3 years ago (and thoroughly enjoyed)decided to take our 'combined'family-14, 7, 4. Staff are very welcoming and Abbie Logan-guest relations- especially helpful when organising trips or advice from taxi hire to anything else you may need during your stay. Always room around the pool areas. Immaculately looked after grounds and interiors. Always plenty of food and choice, chefs were only to willing to accommodate the 'fussier' children. Waiters attentive and helpful especially with the children -amazing how much please and thank you are appreciated. Sadly some of the guests there were very bad mannered-maybe its a culture thing. But sad to see how some of the staff are spoken to-seriously good manners go along way. We were often commented on the good manners of children and the hard working staff really look after the British. Rooms were always clean, fresh towels every day. We didn't experience the entertainment this time as children were ready for bed early each evening after spending all day in and out of the pool, but there always seemed to be some activity taking place. I really can not fault this hotel and its staff in anyway and would definately recommend it for families and couples alike. We are already looking to book in March. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Andrea,

First of all I would like to thank you for a nice review. It was a great pleasure to read such a marvelous words about our resort. I have passed all your comments to hotel team and your review gave us a great motivation for best results in future.

We are all waiting to see you in March and many thanks for your recommendation of our resort.

So please let us know about your next visit by emailing us info@islandview-egypt.com!

Kindest Regards,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Having recently stayed at this hotel I found it extremely welcoming to new guests and the overall experience while being there was brilliant. My family and I very much enjoyed the entertainment throughout daytime and nighttime by the 5 star animation team. They were very keen to get everybody involved whatever nationality, and even brought nationalities together with their activities. On evenings out of the hotel we visited several nightclubs and their supervision and caring natures made it an enjoyable for everyone. The hotel is currently undergoing renervasions but will not effect your stay. The staff from management to gardeners are wonderful. Happy-smiley faces all around! Courtney Smalley

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Courtney,

Thank you very much for your review. Our main aim is to provide for our guests warm welcoming and excellent service during the holiday for to see more repeater guests in our resort. I transferred all your comments to our team and to 5 star animation team. we are all glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be very happy to see you and your family again!

We look forward to your next visit, please email us before arrival on info@islandview-egypt.com or contact us by visiting our facebook page.

Kindest Regards,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed over Christmas & New Year, having previously stayed in Feb 2010 when the Garden View was closed and only Brits travelled to Egypt.

We noticed some changes , some beneficial , most definitely not. In our opinion the food has been dumbed down to suit guests from the former USSR who form the bulk of the clientele.

You will find very little to excite you food-wise unless you pay for the seafood and fresh fish. Normally in AI hotels lobster is payable but prawns, kalamaria , fresh fish are on the AI. The Italian trattoria , formerly an a la carte but now a daily table d'hote menu is a real disappointment. The main courses do not resemble their descriptions on the menu and do not resemble Italian dishes either. The antipasto is mostly salad as there is little seafood or charcuterie. The pasta dishes are ok - avoid the canelloni which is microwaved to smithereens several times - the pizzas very bland, being mostly cheese.You'll find better and more authentic in a British supermarket. We had to ask for parmesan and black pepper. Still, the view from the balcony is lovely with music from the pool island giving some atmosphere. Inside it's quite awful and it's hard to understand diners staying indoors. We spoke to two Italian tourists who thought it risible.

Fatima Oriental is openlunch and dinner. It's good to eat lunch at a table with wine service but the food is unsuitable for lunch considering they have a bbq there. Mostly it's watery stews, chicken kofta occasionally, and badly cooked frozen fish - usually red mullet. We liked the octopus casserole but it needed more ouzo. There are vegetable dishes - the okra tajine passable - and a choice of carbs. The rice is usually good, and the saffron rice better but cried out for prawns of which there were none unless you paid. There is very basic pizza - just cheese and tomato. It's all rather dreary and school-dinnerish. They'd do much better to fire the bbq up and serve typical Med taverna dishes in such a lovely setting such as souvlaki, kalamaria, paella, prawns saganaki, greek salad etc.

At night the outlook is charming with all the lights shimmering on the sea They serve a smallish meze and then a choice of meat or fish on the bbq, although somewhat curiously the food doesn't have that authentic chargrilled flavour. The kofta are quite dry and you have to ask for lemon as there is no dressing on the food. The fish with harissa is ok, but not as good as the staff think it is. There is a bit of atmosphere here with music and dancing when they fix the cd player. Inside Fatima is the Barracuda seafood restaurant - only worth bothering with if you pay for the seafood in the fridge. Some of the crabs look older and deader than King Tut.

The beach snack bar serves a curious combination of junk food - fries, burgers and chicken/donkey dogs - and some salad ingredients. There's no dressing or mayo but if you look carefully there's a thin tzatziki to buck things up a bit. Tip - wait until about 3pm when the chef cooks decent food for the divers. Duck kebabs, chicken stir fry with herbs (woohoo) and the water from a pack of feta. Not the feta of course - that's for someone else.

Make sure the beach drinks bar know you're British if you want beer at lunchtime. Beer o'clock is 11am. The beach gets very crowded at lunchtime with guests from the cheaper Garden View (yellow towels) - but they disappear when the bar stops serving them beer.
The bar at the cliiftop Pool 4 is arguably the pick of the bars although one barman couldn't make cafe frappe. It's a great spot for a sundowner as the sea undergoes its wonderful change of colour at dusk. What a shame they don't heat this pool in winter.

The animation crew work long hours to little effect as the activities are sparse and basic - boccia, darts and aerobics. There are a couple of evening shows worth going to - the Fakir & the Folklore. The amphitheatre is a comfortless place though. The best thing is the music and dance lessons - bachata, salsa, Egyptian & Greek belly dance and some reggae on the beach. The crew also run payable trips to local nite spots including transport.

The main restaurant has pleasant outdoor seating but inside it is dreadful - echoey and canteenish. At breakfast there is a wide range of food - including some authentic Egyptian food for the traveller. We found the pastries good. We didn't eat there lunchtime or evening - we intended to eat there on French night (we love snails) but this had changed to Chinese night so there weren't any snails - maybe they were coming from Cairo. The Chinese looked quite unappetising so we retreated to the Italian for something completely different - lamb balls with anchovies.

The hotel is now under Turkish ownership and they plan a complete refurb of the rooms which are now rather tired although comfortable enough. The hotel is beautifully laid out with two-storey blocks along flower-strewn pathways and water-courses with waterfalls leading to the clifftop path at pool 4 with views over Tiran Island.

Almost without exception the staff are friendly, smiling and helpful. You should speak a bit of Egyptian Arabic to see their delighted reaction at your respect for their culture and ,of course, they repay you for your small efforts in spades.

They held a splendid Gala Dinner on New Year's Eve when - fanfare - prawns made an appearance along with many other goodies such as sushi, stuffed quail, smoked salmon, halloumi, sachertorte and lots more desserts. What a contrast all this was to the bland stuff served daily and nightly. There was a pleasant Christmas Eve meal although the entertainment was low-key.

Generally speaking the guests from Eastern Europe are rather miserable looking. Since the temperature difference between Moscow & Sharm is 40deg C it's difficult to understand why they're so miserable. They misbehave on the beach, walk into the sea over the coral, wear shoes on the jetties. They are also incredibly wasteful, filling plates with food and then leaving it all. They do this particularly when the food looks low so if there are four normal portions of strawberries left they will take all four and then leave them rather than letting other guests have them.

Overall the gardens, staff, & service are wonderful as are the Red Sea fish and the climate.
The food could be much more exciting, the rooms are being refurbished gradually, the indoor dining areas could be improved and the daytime activities modernised and extended to watersports, archery, climbing wall etc. as in most AI hotels at this price level. There is plenty of room on site for these.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a Tripadvisor review for us.

All your positive and negative comments were passed to all heads of department for action or to ensure our staff receive their well deserved praise.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the hotel in the future.

If you have any requests, please do not hesitate to contact us via email : info@islandview-egypt.com

Kindest Regards,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

This was our 15th visit to Island View and we were looking forward to another Christmas there. Because there were only about 50 UK guests the usual party in the marquee was not too happen. You can imagine our disappointment. Also we had advised other people to come to Island View on our past experiences. But there was now some new management there. They were ever so helpful when we expressed our concerns. They promised us that although there would be no similar gala dinner, which wasn't practical, in a large marquee, they would make something special for the UK guests. So talking with manager Galip and quality control and guest relations manager Feyza, plus the new head chef, a sit down Christmas meal was conceived. A menu was discussed, for a typical English Christmas meal. These 3 people along with all the chefs and other members of staff gave us all a night to remember. We had an absolutely brilliant night, which began with cocktails and mulled wine. The event was held in the Italian restaurant, which had been superbly decorated in record time for the occasion. Courses of soup, fish, turkey, (carved at the table), were enjoyed. The main course consisted of Brazilian beef individually cooked to each person's taste, cauliflower, broccoli, carrots, small roasted potatoes, and mashed potatoes. Wine flowed all night, and we finished off with Egyptian style Christmas pudding. While we dined we were entertained by a violinist playing lovely music, then later a flautist played for us. To top all this off was a traditional belly dancer. An abosolute brilliant night. A great big thank you to all the chefs, to Galip and Feyza, not forgetting many,many others who worked hard preparing everything from decorations to entertainment, all organised in the space of two weeks. They did us and the hotel proud. Well done everyone. Also included were UK guests from Island Gardens, and a few non UK guests from Norway, Holland and Poland, hope I haven't missed anyone off. This was just the Christmas party, lots of other things are being done to improve the hotel including refurbishing which WILL NOT affect guests to much. One part was done in three weeks from start to finish, incredible, did not affect guests at all. More about that, the refurbished Pool 4, and New Years Eve Party later. So much to tell, and over 70 photos which I wanted to include. I will have to cut back on those, but hope to continue this review later. This hotel is going places soon, and a special mention for Feyza, working up to 16 hours almost every day and not eating much, no time for that. No wonder she's so slim.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Guest Relations Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Frank,

I am so happy to have opportunity to greet you on TripAdvisor and to read your fantastic review about our resort.

The Island View Resort Team is grateful to you for being our repeater guests. It was my pleasure to meet you and your wife in our resort and I am incredibly happy to see that your stay with us was excellent. We are waiting for you in our hotel and we are sure that your stay with us will be enjoyable as it was last time.

I appreciate your warm words about our management team. Many thanks and greetings from us. You are always welcomed to visit us.

Kindest Regards,
Feyza Ozyurt
Quality & Guest Relation Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#67 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,295 reviews
8.5 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#48 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,580 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#16 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#92 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,679 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#102 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,775 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#108 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#55 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $69 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing