We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Red Carpet Was Out For Us..Fantastic Hotel.”
Review of Island View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island View Resort
Ranked #57 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just got back from our weeks holiday... and its freezin and rain here!!!. First i will start with telling you all just what a fantastic hotel this is, The staff are all so polite, helpful, and nothing is to much trouble. Tracy a massive thank you for your help with certain things!! i am going to miss you and our little chats(haha). Abbie and Mikie for your time that you gave to us and always made sure the British got involved in all the activities. Islam Awad our waiter who was so nice and polite, Front of House Manager (cannot remember his name) but i did get a smile out of him in the end!!!.
I would also like to make a very strong comment regards the different nationalities at this hotel, my partner and i found them to be very nice, and they tried hard to speak with you and liked you to talk about England.
I am not going to rattle on about "food" "the beach" "the grounds" "the rooms" because everything was just 100% perfect.
We met some really nice British couples there, so if you are reading this "hello" form Brian and Amanda.
We also got invited to 2 V.I.P evenings as we were repeat guests , and it was so nice made us feel very special!!.
So to sum up our holiday, "Brilliant" and i would recommend this hotel to everyone .
Nearly forgot.... plenty of sunbeds and you dont have to get up at the crack of dawn to put your towels on them.
Well thats about it... will we be back.... errrrrr...... YES WE WILL.
Tracy was telling us the hotel is having a massive refurb and it sounds like its going to be even better(if possible) .
Thank you all so much at the Island View for a fantastic holiday. xxxxxx

Room Tip: room 201 was a great room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunkisses57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Brian and Amanda,

Many thanks for your review and sorry I did not get to see you during your stay.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us once again and will pass on all your comments to the department heads and animation team.

Next time I hope to get to meet you myself so please keep in touch and we'll see you soon,.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,638)
There are newer reviews for Island View Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 2,638 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

I spent unforgettable time in this hotel and in Egypt!
The sea, various fish and beach are wonderful.
The staff in hotel is pleasant and do everything what we asked. Rooms are not new and not excellent, but it's not a big problem, because we spent time in rooms only for sleeping.
Animation is good, dj Shiko - your music is the best!!! We didn't need in disco outside, because we had our disco!
Trips out of hotel were unforgettable too - tour in Israel, moto-safary, excursion on the pleasure boat, night walks in Sharm....i can't find words to express my emotions.
Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iryna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dear Iryna,

Many thanks for your kind review and taking the time to post it for us.

I will pass on your comments to our department heads and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

well what can we say.....just returned from 2 weeks ....already want to return next year with our grandson jack...but...bit too much expence....we had a great 2nd visit to this hotel...and our thanks and best wishes go to...Tracey..Rachel..amie..and last but not least the General Manager who's name is ??? but what a lovely man..very chatty..helpful..and last but not least..he arranged for us to have a kettle in our junior suite so we could both enjoy a nice cuppa in the morning with cold milk...luvly...the restaurent staff are very helpful ... good old Akhmed... and not forgetting the luvly pastry chef houssane???sorry not sure of spelling...the beach is fantastic and the sunbed young man was very happy and charming....everything is very good at this hotel..all the staff are great...make you feel very welcome....ignore the Russians ...we did....and had a great holiday....might see you next year...thanks again tracey,rachel,aimee and general manager...missing you all...take care

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimboKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thanks a million for your review and the nice comments you have made. i will be pasing on the names you have mentioned to the department heads.

We're delighted youhad a good time with us and hope you have already started saving for next time.

See you soon

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Overall the hotel was very good, excellent egyptian staff who always look after you (especially if you're english) If you had any issues the staff resolved them immediately. Beautiful hotel grounds and lovely beach, however the beach was dominated by Russians, including Volleyball where they did not take too kindly to english guests wanting to join in!!! The rooms were at best 3*, in need of a major update...and thorough clean if i'm being picky! however fresh towels and beds made daily, and a TV with english channels was a bonus! The location couldn't have been better a stones throw away from Soho Square and a short taxi ride to Naama Bay. The food was primarily tailored to Russians, however Pizza & fries were served daily at the snack bar! Abbi was an english rep and she was very helpful & friendly, good to have some English staff there! The Russian guests were generally rude and annoying...one week in their company was enough! All in all I would definitely go back to Sharks Bay, and if they updated the rooms I would most definitely go back to Island View.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Jam R,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review for us. I'm glad overall you enjoyed your stay and will pass your comments onto the concerned department heads for praise or action.

We hope to see you again soon.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed hear july 2010. Neva got round to writing a rivew but well worth the visit. Exellent food and entertainment ,beautiful rooms and the sea on resort is out of the world. Snorkling is a must too.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amandamouncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about one of your past stays with us. I'm happy to hear the hotel met with your expectations and we hope to see you at the Island View Resort again soon.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Returned last night after my second stay in Sharm El Sheikh at the Island View Resort, Sharks Bay (formerly Sunrise). In 15 months not a lot has changed, There are now Wrist bands to identify the differing types of guests and their stay, some of the Staff members I remember from last year have left for pastures new and again, Sunrise no longer manage the hotel but all that aside, the place is just as I remember it.

It's good to try new places, but for me, that's only applicable to the Country your travelling to, not necessarilly the Hotel. If it works, stick with it and IVR just works.

Situated on the White Knight Beaches of Sharks Bay, Island View is right between crystal clear waters and Tropical Reefs and Soho Square, the area's epicentre of Entertainment outside of Na'ama Bay. On the beaches there is all day entertainment from the SharMania Beach Reps, The Animation Team and Pyramid Diving and Soho Square offer several shopping outlets, restaurants, Bars, and Entertainment on the Stage and throughout the Square.
Across the road from the Resort is a Supermarket and Pharmacy and further down the road to the right towards the Hilton and Concorde is a Vodafone and Dive Shop.

Island View Resort begins with a large Reception area where all Guest Relations, Security and Concierge services can be found, The 24hr Victoria Bar and Shops are also upstairs and the main restaurant below. From here, Pool 1 with Bar and the Bar/Grill are situated and the rest of the resort comprising of 4 Accomodation areas with Pools stretches to the Coast where Fatima, Barracuda (restaurants) and the Beach Entertainment are located. Entry to the Red Sea is via floating Jetties as contact with the reef is forbidden.
The grounds of the Hotel are well cared for by an army of groundsmen with similar care afforded to the rooms by housekeeping and to the Guests by the Waiting Staff, all of which cannot do enough to help. The waiting staff are excellent in their attitudes and service and EVERY night despite the restaurant outside seating area seeming to be full, a table was made, just for us.
In my experience, Saad, Ahmed, Mr Fish and Reda in housekeeping were excellent and I have no doubt were no different to the other staff aiding the other guests. More than worth a mention are The Animation Team's Mikey and Abbi who are both personification of the Resorts attitude towards its guest, Larger than life and intent on making sure the guests have fun.

There are several options for Food. Barracuda the Fish Restaurant, Fatima the Grill Restaurant, The Italian, The Bar Grill and The main Buffet Restaurant. All of which I personally feel are excellent. The Main Restaurant serves daily 7-10am, throughout the middle of the day and 7-10pm and food changes daily depending on the theme- BBQ, French, Mexican, Egyptian, British, etc and the 4 main stations have Chefs who prepare Pasta, Eggs, Cheeses and Salads. There is always something to eat for everyone, unless you don't like eating food, that is.

When it comes to some of the other guests in the hotel.. They've been pretty much covered by everyone else's reviews and despite a minority of very pleasant people, they're sadly unavoidable until a shift in the market solves the problem itself. That being said, I didn't tolerate disagreeable behaviour and neither should anyone else. My main concern is their abusive behaviour towards the coral reef situated outside the hotel's private beach. For many people the corals are a huge selling point for the hotel and the dive crews in the area, since that's what first brought me to Sharm. If tourists continue to thieve and damage the reefs with blatant disregard for the strict guidelines, there won't be anything left for future tourists, which I hope will bring a change in who the resorts are sold too.

Overall: Again, a very pleasant stay at the hotel, a wonderful holiday and would happily recommend it to any of my friends and family. A third stay is not very far away at all.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are the same. As a tip, learn some basic expressions in Arabic and practice wi...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Jake,

Thanks for taking the time to write a very informative review for us. It was our pleasure to see you again and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.

I will pass on all your comments to the concerned departments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Once again, any guests hoping to stay with us in the near future are welcome to email me directly on rachel.glennerster@islandview-egypt.com and we will be happy to answer any queries.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have returned from 10 day's holiday (30.08.12) at the island view. It is the 3rd time I have been to this hotel and this year returned just myself and my 8 year old daughter who's birthday it was whilst we were there.
The staff were, as usual, very friendly and helpful and remembered us from previous visits. The people from Guest Service's, Tracy and Rachael are particularly helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them with regular phone calls to make sure we were ok. The animation team all did their up most to involve my daughter and make us feel part of everything and Abbie was great in helping us to ensure my little's one's eight birthday was really special.
The hotel is always very clean but the rooms are in need of a little up-date as general wear and tear has taken it's toil. The garden's are well maintained as are the pool and bar area's.
I did struggle a little trying to find my 8 yr old something she would eat in the main restaurant as the food was often a little too exotic for her taste but there is alway's fresh pasta available and the 2 al a carte restaurants will cater for individual taste if you ask.
There is often a lot written about the number of Russian guests at this hotel. I do agree that there are some people from Russia who do not wait their turn and can be a little abrupt but then again the English can often be guilty of this too. When I spoke to some of the Russian guests I found them to be very pleasant and they try very hard to speak English. I say give them a chance...besides, the English guests seem to be preferred by the Egyptians so you won't have any trouble with service. The spa is worth a visit, very reasonable prices and professional service.
When we were due to leave for England it felt like we were leaving family and friends behind as the staff were so great. We will definantley return and recommend the Island View to families.

Room Tip: A junior suite is alway's best for space. If you ask for a pool view (pool 1,2 or 3) you are pr...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IslandViewRe, Quality Manager at Island View Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Lisa and Grace,

Many thanks for your review and of course for once again giving us the pleasure of your company.

I'm glad you once again enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Rachel Glennerster
Quality Manager
Island View resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,265 reviews
8.6 mi away
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
Royal Grand Sharm Hotel
#49 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,516 reviews
0.2 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Resort
Regency Plaza Aqua Park & Spa Re...
#95 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,647 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#102 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#69 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Resort

Address: Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46611, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#34 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $82 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island View Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly located at the splendid Shark Bay with its own house reef you will find in this "Ultra All - Inclusive" 5 star (country category) Resort everything you wish. The four large pool areas, the splendid arranged garden, with water falls and canals, the spaciously designed rooms and junior suites are the ideal venues for your family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Island View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Select Island View Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sunrise Island View Egypt
Hotel Sunrise Island View
Sunrise Island View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing