We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely multicultural family hotel”
Review of Sharm Cliff Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sharm Cliff Resort
Ranked #142 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed December 21, 2012

First pointers :-
Wine not on AI list
Beer is Sakara
Local spirits
"May" be Pepsi or coke cola
only the above on AI
Water only from fountains nr pool bar, restaurant and lobby bar - shops nearby rip you off on bottles of water.
No AI service on the 2 beaches for your use
Lobby where WIFI is is smoky- no ventilation
Pool bar - use next doors WIFI - password - royal2012

We asked to be moved from the pool view room, we like quiet, but if you don't mind the music until 11pm, you will be OK.
Other "desert view" rooms are actually a dodgy view of the service road, and half build hotel right next to that- not good at all, although the 1st floor rooms may be better.
Garden rooms fairly quiet. You can hear trucks/cars/coaches on road outside, blowing their horns all the time.
Patio doors not a good fit- do lock, that's not a problem, but when the mosquito fogging man came round, our room filled with the fog, causing us to retreat to the corridor outside! Wonder what's in that stuff?
There is quite a walk to the lobby and restaurant with steps only up to the restaurant.
Mothers will be carrying their kids up these stairs.
Front lobby staff are very good- 98% of the staff in this hotel are helpful, smiling, but the others are sullen, and talk about you to their workmates under their breath.

No beach, but a great view (past the pile of rubble) over naama bay and further afield. Lots of building work on steps in front of the hotel, but this appears to be stopped a while (because of the political unreast- not as many tourists?)
there is a minibus down into Naama Bay- so you don't have to negotiate either the "Steps of Doom"( trip hazards, wires protruding, dodgy uneven cemented steps, with a final flourish of really dangerous uncovered manhole covers) or the "Steps of Death" - the old steps from in front of the royal albatross hotel next door- a straight down cemented lumps of rubble, which are an ankle tripping health & safety nightmare.

Hadaba beach, near Old Sharm is reached by free regular coach, but is not for the infirm, or anyone who can't face 8 flights of dodgy steps back up the cliff.
Beware the coach gets very busy to get back before lunch finishes at 3pm. The one toilet for this beach was blocked and unusable when we were there, the man vaguely waving elsewhere down the beach for somewhere else to go!

They also have a courtesy bus down into naama bay and "wave beach" opposite Helnan marina hotel, which is very nice, but will get very busy in summer.

Food- was OK, but you get the usual sullen unresponsive rude Russians swanning around, and if you are unlucky enough to get a few large parties of Egyptians- you may as well go eat elsewhere as they take over, and push into queues for food/plates, then load their tables with enough food to feed twice their party over. (The Russians shamefully waste food too)
I am a vegetarian, and I had no problems eating. I did get a tummy bug, but I always beleive you are going to get this if you swim/snorkel in the sea. predictably the Pharmacy ripped us off for diarroea tablets & paracetamol (£11.50) rehydration salts (£7.50) so may be worth packing those with you to bring along.
I believe this hotel would be absolute hellish pandemonium in peak season. was bearable as was quiet in december when we were there

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arramattic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review and the photos you shared.

A number of guests have mentioned the wine not being on the AI. It is available at a reasonable cost on the room service menu. Our AI drinks menu is more suited to European and Arab tastes, than English, simply because of the type of guests we mostly get here. We would love for more English guests to stay here, and that would impact on things like the food and drinks. Also, we have a strict policy to keep prices low, in order to add wine to the all inclusive or imported beers etc we would have to put the prices up, as these have to be imported from overseas and this can get very expensive. Also, because we use local alcohols we can get more in fast, and make a larger quantity of alcohol available to you.

Water is also available in the restaurant water cooler, not only in fountains, also you can ask for a glass of water in the bars.

It is good to hear that the management moved your room and solved any issues quickly.

The stairs: as you said you can take a free shuttle bus. You do not have to use either stairs. One set of stairs, through the construction,actually has a large sign up saying please do not use these stairs, using them is at your own risk, as they may not be safe. These are not actually stairs, merely a walkway through what will be a new area of the hotel, please do not use them. There are other stairs a few meters past those, which are safer, and have passed safety inspections and been used safely by many people, we have never heard of any accidents on the stairs.

We're glad you could always find food, and it was fine as a vegetarian here.

Your suggestions and comments have been passed on to hotel management, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (603)
There are newer reviews for Sharm Cliff Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 603 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

where do i start! the hotel reception is nice, although the bar there is never busy, a bit drab and boring. the hotel room was spacious and bedding was clean...shame about the floor. the cleaners were very friendly and always tidied the rooms with fresh towels however not sure the floor was washed the whole time we were there as your feet were black if you walked around barefoot. The bathroom needs a serious update mouldy grout, terrible shower heads.
The animation team were annoying and extremely rude if you decided not to join in with them. The massage staff were a little friendly but that seems to be the egyptian way, their massages were very good and very cheap.
All inclusive - bit of a joke as they gave you tiny paper cups to have drinks in but moaned if you wanted more than a couple of drinks at a time. the food was diabolical, seems to be a variation of fish or meat slop with rice and pasta. the salads were strange concoctions you didnt dare try. we ended up having to eat out half the time as it was pretty repetive. i love my food but the only thing i enjoyed was the chips! knew what i was getting that way!
They offer a good free shuttle service to the snorkelling beach which is what we ended up doing most days to get away from the animation team!
there are 120 steps to get down into the main resort, they were a nightmare in flats so wouldnt bother attempting them in heels and not for anyone that cant walk far.

the only good thing i have to say is i met some great people from England and Germany which made our holiday, shame the russians almost ruined it completely with their rudeness.

I would NEVER stay in this hotel again and think it should be rated at a 2 star.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Also, thank you for your positive feedback about the reception, spacious rooms, friendly cleaners, massages, and free shuttle bus service.

Your suggestions and comments have been passed on to the general manager, thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Lobby is spacious, staffs are cheerful, House keeping was very great. Break-fast,Lunch,Dinner were really good. But the pack lunch turned up really bad. Hotel have 2 big swimming pool, and have pool bar it serves from 7am to 7pm. I booked with all inclusive so we can eat and drink as we like. Drinks are pretty awful that served Egyptian beers and coke. When we were there the hotel was still contraction that made to us lit bit annoying. The weather was really hot so we can only get out evening time about 4pm to till night. Don't book with hotel's travel agent that sell tickets next to the lobby, and don't go and buy the shops near the lobby. they all are expensive compare to the price in namma bay hight street.
There are some other luxury hotels near namma bay,but this hotel is more relax able and affordable price
It's very close to namma bay and beach,.. overall enjoyed the holiday :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thihasoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on the cheerful staff, cleanliness, spaciousness, food, pools and bars.

It is disappointing that you did not enjoy the alcohol. We use local Egyptian alcohol for two reasons, to keep the costs to guests as low as possible, and also so that we are able to provide a higher quantity of alcohol. All other alcohol would have to be shipped here, and that takes time, if the local beer etc runs out, we can get more delivered on the same or next day easily.

The shops in the hotel are a little more expensive than in town, but still reasonably priced. They are there for your convenience, and shopkeepers within the hotel will not hassle or pressure you to buy like some can in Naama Bay, also they are professional and have some English, in town they often don't.

The travel agents in the hotel lobby do not actually work for the hotel, so we apologize, using them is at your own risk, the staff can give you some advice on where to go, or you can look online, or in Naama Bay, that is completely up to you. They are there simply for convenience, and it is guests decision whether to use them or not, any complaints should go directly to the travel agent company, as they do not work for the hotel, thanks.

Thank you for your compliments on the relaxing atmosphere, location and affordable prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

When we looked on trip adviser there was not one bad word why I don't no!!
The views from the hotel are amazing you can see the whole on Nama bay!
But the steps are very uneven not a ideal place for older people or people with children.
First of all the hotel is clean very clean infact apart from the cleaner asking us for 200 Egyptian pound (£20) for 2weeks daily too decorate in the room that was the only annoying part about the cleaner. But was resolved very quickly!
The massage I would avoid as the bottom of our backs were bruised but after we felt no nots in the tops of our backs.
We had a few problems with the food which we were discusted with but management did upgrade us to alicarte and could not be anymore sorry, they couldn't do enough for us they were all such lovely people, hassan (shisha man) is an amazing bloke couldn't fault him chats to you and makes you feel so welcome, the pool staff some were rude asking why we wanted so many drinks and was wrong as we were all inclusive but told the manager and sorted the problem ASAP, the pools were big and again always clean rooms are massive, but I would like too say a big thank you too all the management including the head chef the manager of the reception and the hotel manager they were so apologetic throughout the holiday and solved everything. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanperrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your positive feedback on the view, location, cleanliness and Hassan the shisha man.

There is a free shuttle bus that runs to Naama Bay, Wind beach and Hadaba beach, regularly from outside the hotel reception. If you are unable to, or do not wish to walk the stairs down to Naama Bay you can take the bus.

We are glad to hear any issues were solved by management quickly and professionally.

We hope that you will consider staying here again, as we are constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities, and as you mentioned, our management does listen to feedback and make changes when they can, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just come back after staying 10 dats at the Sharm Cliff and after reading the reviews we didn't know what to expect so if anybody is due to go and is reading this I can honestly say the hotel is not as bad as some people are saying. We checked in at the hotel and was given a 1st floor room when we asked for a ground floor one there was no problem. The rooms are large and clean, yes they could do with updating but remember it may say this is a 4 star hotel but that doesn't mean the same as an English 4star rating. We had no problems with the room. Just be aware there is a fridge in the room but this is not stocked up but there is a supermarket over the road so we just went and bought bottled water which in cheap.

The staff could not do enough for you they were friendly and polite and I can say they did not hassle us about tips, the pool lads made sure our towels were on the sunbeds round the pool and they even made sure they were on the sunbeds when we went to the beach, the pools were clean and 1pool was heated

Now we come to the food, yes it is very much the same everyday and for he first couple of days we struggled to eat because the food was very bland and mostly cold but after speaking to the restaurant manager the food really did improve and we were very presently surprised that they had taken our comments on board and went out of there way to improve the food.

We did not have any problems with the bar staff or getting drinks, yes the sprits all taste the same but take my advise and do what we did we bought 2ltr bottles of vodka in the duty free shop in narma bay and yes it is branded stuff it cost about 10.00 a bottle and we use to take this to the bar at night and just get there soft drinks to use as mixers.

We would stay at this hotel again and remember you only get what you pay for you cannot pay 2star money and expect a 5star hotel.

Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank AnneB L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We appreciate your compliments on our large clean rooms, helpful staff and pools.

We're glad to hear you would come here again, and we hope to see you again sometime in the future, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I'm not gonna go on and on naming all the staff that were helpfull, and the ones that werent, and talk about towel art and the smell of the sewage at the bottom of the strairs!!!! What i will say is that it's a pretty relaxed and friendly atmosphere and good value for money, however, do not, and i mean DO NOT pay for anything with your debit card, I am absolutely fuming about this as they have robbed me of over £80!!!!!! My room service bill came to around £24, and i tried to pay with by card as i had no cash on me, the bloke behind the reception desk tried my card 4 times and kept on telling me that it didn't work, i told him i'd go down to naama bay for cash but he was persistant and kept on saying -"no sir, it work now, one more try", anyway after 4 "failed" atempts i grabbed my bank card and went to get some cash, went back and paid the bill!!!! I thought everything was ok untill i got home and checked my bank statement just to realize that ALL 4 transactions had gone through and i had been conned out of over £80!!!!! And it had been more if i hadn't of grabbed my card!!!!!!! So they owe me £80, which i will never see again!!!!!!! So if your going on holiday to sharm cliff, DO NOT USE YOUR BANK CARD AS YOU WILL BE ROBBED!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwanwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Guest Relations Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

We appreciate your positive feedback about our helpful staff, and we're glad you enjoyed the relaxing, friendly atmosphere here. We work hard, and regularly research, to ensure that we have good value prices compared to other hotels in the area, thank you for noticing that.

We are aware of the smell at the bottom of the stairs, and are working on a solution for this. As it is on land that is not owned or managed by Sharm Cliff, it is not a simple situation. We have been in contact with people about getting this resolved, and hopefully it will not be a problem soon. Also, please note, to anyone who is worried about this smell, it is not on hotel grounds, it would only be for a few seconds, and it is at the bottom of the stairs, on the road into Naama Bay. It would not bother most people at all, and if you are concerned about it, or about the stairs walking down straight into Naama Bay, we run a free shuttle bus service regularly to Naama Bay, so no stairs needed.

I have personally checked our bank records, both within hotel records, and at the actual bank. Also, I have discussed this with the accounting manager, to see if there is any possiblity that a transaction could have gone through four times like that. There is no record of such a transaction occuring, in the hotel, or on the bank statement.We have no transactions at all in fact, over that time period, for exactly or even approximately 24 pounds, not even one. I have complete confidence in the honesty and trust worthiness of the staff here. I am very certain that none of them would try to deceive anyone, and the bank records show evidence of this.

Is it possible there was a processing issue with your bank, if that is the case, your bank should automatically refund you that money within a month. There is no money from you in our account at all, and I have checked the equipment, and there are no issues with it. The error was not from the hotel, so it may be within your bank and you should contact them about this.
Most guests use their cards to pay, and should feel safe doing so. I am 100% sure of the staff that work here, and our equipment, to future guests, please do not worry about this at all.

Incorrect information has been said in this review, and it is a very serious thing to accuse a proffessional hotel of robbing someone. In fact it is slander, and people can take legal action against those who falsely accuse someone, especially if it may result in loss of business or lowering of reputation. We strongly say that this transaction did not happen, and would be prepared to prove it legally if necessary. We will not be taking any legal action against you in this instance, but will be asking Trip Advisor to remove the review, as it contains incorrect information that is simply not true.

If you still feel that there is an issue, and can provide sufficient evidence to show that a transaction has been made, which will be difficult because it clearly shows on our account statement that no such transactions occured. You are able to email this proof to the hotel, and we will investigate it, and if indeed there has been an error, we will consider refunding the money. We are not robbers, we are a trustworthy business, and we have never had a complaint like this, in all the years that we have been operating. Also, we are happy to send you (or a lawyer, or even your bank) in a private email, the bank records from the day you stayed, to show you that we did not receive any money at all from you. Please go to our website, sharmholidayhotels dot com, and use the email contact provided on the sharm holiday page.

To future guests: Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on our hotel, you will find that people really enjoy staying here, and these kind of issues do not occur, thanks.

Irek
(Guest Relations Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

just returned from a weeks holiday at sharm cliff resort,the staff are first rate, from the management who did everything they could to ensure you had a wonderful time , the entertainment team who really made the holiday enjoyable, to the bar staff and pool boys who would do anything for you, the staff were very friendly and helpful.the rooms were kept very clean and were very spacious,all areas of the hotel was clean and tidy, food was very good but sometimes a bit repetitive.bar for all inclusive closed a little early at eleven and no wine on the all inclusive,lots of eastern europeans who could come across has being ignorant and rude. naam bay was clean ,tidy , and you had lots of banter with the locals all in good taste. a great holiday overall would definetly go again

Room Tip: rooms with pool view are not as quite as ones with garden view, due to people sitting outside the ba...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you very much for your review,

We are glad you enjoyed the staffs customer service and friendliness. Also, the spacious, well cleaned rooms. It’s great to hear that you would go again, you are most welcome here, and we hope to see you next time you are in Sharm, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#107 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#170 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
2.6 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Helnan Marina Sharm
Helnan Marina Sharm
#99 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel
Sharm Holiday Resort Hotel
#149 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
950 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm Cliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm Cliff Resort

Address: Naama Bay Sharm Halomy Street, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#117 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $35 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sharm Cliff Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sharm Cliff Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm Cliff Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sharm Cliff
Sharm Cliff Holiday Naama Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing