We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sharm Cliff Resort
Nearby Hotels
$71
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$75
$68
Movenpick.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$90
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$67
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$300
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$182
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
200
193
126
55
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
193
126
55
36
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 610 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

First time we have gone to Egypt. Would defo go again but would definately not stay at the Sharm Cliff!! Read reviews before we went which were not too bad. We were not expecting the Ritz but we definately weren't expecting what we got!! Now where shall I start??

ROOMS- Could do with decorating but quite comfortable and cleaned everyday. The cleaner we had the first week was lovely but the one the second week kept asking every day when you were going home!! Blatently obvious why (TIPS!!). I appreciate this is how they earn money but for god sake, DONT ASK SOMEONE 5 TIMES A DAY!!

STAFF- Some friendly, but some arrogant and could not be bothered so would pretend they didn't understand you or would say "finished" ie., when they ran out of beer or diet coke!!! and because there was 7 of us, it was like they were doing you a favour if you asked for 7 drinks and you couldn't have 7 sunbeds together!!!!

POOLS- One pool was ok but other needed a lot of repair!! Peeling around the edges and filthy!! AND for last 3 days of holiday was unusable, had turned a dodgy looking green colour and you could not see the bottom!! Nobody bothered to explain to guests what was wrong and how long it would be until fixed!!!

FOOD - Would not even give to my dog!! You could tell by looking at the food it was not fresh and had obviously been covered from previous occasions it had been put out!!! YACK!! We ended up eating out for 12 nights out of 14.

DRINKS - There are two bars, one at the pool and one at reception. Not sure which one was worse!! They either ran out of beer (and instead of checking if other bar had some, they would just say "finished!!!", or the beer was warm!! They very rarely had any Diet drinks (bearing in mind one of our party is a diabetic!!!), all shorts served taste the same!!. We actually witnessed a member of staff filling the water butt at the Pool Bar with water from a tap!!!!

I've probably missed things but to be honest, will just put this experience down to bad luck!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nic35wkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are sorry to hear your stay was not as pleasant as it could have been. Thank you for your compliments about the rooms being comfortable, and cleaned everyday.

We apologize that you felt pressured to tip the cleaning staff. We expect our staff to provide good service regardless. But please note that tipping is normal, and expected in Egypt, especially in hotels and restaurants, you will see the same in town and nearly every other hotel. And the staff will really appreciate it if you do tip them, even a small amount, they will go the extra mile for you.

Please don't assume that the staff were being rude, they probably did run out of beer and diet drinks. We have more than 900 rooms, and most people stay all inclusive. We try to keep a backup stock, but ocassionally that runs out too. It's not a matter of just going down to the supermarket to get some more, alcohol has to be shipped into Egypt from overseas. 90% of Egyptians do not drink alcohol for religious reasons, and so it's not cheap or easy to get here. If you do find the kinds you like, they will often be very expensive, and in small amounts, you will find that all over Egypt.

You actually can, and are allowed to move 7 sun beds together. It may have been that the beds you were trying to move had already been saved for someone else, did they have towels on them?

We are planning to repair the pools soon, and they are both cleaned every night. There must have been an issue with the pump and plumbing inside one of the pools, or possibly the wrong kind of chemicals were used by accident. This has now been fixed, and we are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. Because we are in a desert, there is not actually a pool plumber who lives in Sharm, so to find one that could sort it, we would have had to wait for one to take a bus from Cairo, sorry. As I said, it is fixed and very clean now, it will not be a problem for any future guests.

We are looking at making improvements to the menu as soon as we can. But really, it's not as bad as you said, that was an obvious exaggeration. If you want more options, room service is aimed at English tastes, is made at high standards and is cheaper than going into town and buying food and faster.

We do not ever use tap water for drinking, it's completely undrinkable all over Sharm. I'm 100% certain that none of our staff members would ever serve tap water to guests, or themselves. He would have been using it to clean dishes possible, or just to pour over his hands to wash them, or cool himself down.

Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on our hotel. Most of our reviews are very positive, even the review above this one is four star and full of compliments. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed @ this hotel 2 years ago and yet again it dissapoint us the staff couldn't do enough for you especially Irek who is now the Guest Relation Manager and does an excellant job.....nothing is too much trouble for him we were so glad to see he was still there. I really disagree with Martin C comments i also have stayed in many hotels over the world and the Sharm Cliff is a comfortable & clean hotel with friendly staff. The only downfall is wine is not incuded in the all inclusive,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hyde4162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review,

It's great to hear from a returning guest, and we're glad you enjoyed your second holiday here. We appreciate your positive feedback about our cleanliness, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Also, thanks for letting future guests know that the views mentioned a couple of reviews previous to yours, are not an accurate representation of this hotel. We import all of our alcohol from overseas, and offer it at no extra charge, as part of the all inclusive package. But sadly wine is the most expensive and hard to find alcohol in Egypt, so we cannot offer it as part of the all inclusive. We want to be able to offer you the same low prices and good value to stay here, and including wine would force us to increase the all inclusive price, and we do not want to do this, we intend to keep it as it is. Wine is actually available in the hotel, from the bars, and from room service, but there will be a charge for it.

We hope you will consider staying here a third time in the future, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Its a long one but but bare with it please.......Well we got home on tuesday morning there was myself,my partner and our 13 yr old daughter that stayed at this so called 4* hotel (it is more like 2*),we arrived about 10pm and was hungry tired and thirsty we wasnt offered any snack etc on arrival(which we have always got where ever i have stayed even in the early hours in the morning) just given keys,wrist band and sent to room not shown to room! The room was small we had to ask for another bed it wasnt what we booked sea/pool view etc(complained and was said we would have to pay extra???? and as we paid for upgrade anyway was disgusted,so the 3 of us was stuck in a small room for two weeks,and that was the start of the hol.

Anyway onto the hotel,we where all inclusive and you expect everything to be all inclusive, well its NOT! if you want wine you have to pay for it DONT! its like tar and disgusting you want to try the alcohol DONT! its like paint stripper even the russians and polish wouldnt touch it,the bar was always empty,we bought our own vodka etc and drank it at the bar,as it was that bad,coffee and tea was supplied only in the bar and breakfast area(no tea coffee cups kettle etc in your rooms,i no never known this ever!) so take your own,if like us, you like a brew when you wake.O and one more thing i went to fill my water bottle up with the drinks fountain and got told off couldnt believe it.Only allowed water out of paper cup he said!

Food, well if you like chicken and over cooked fish and the odd duck with lots of rice and chips then woohoo your on a winner as it is served every day more or less with some kofta meat thing here and there,and whats left at dinner seems to make its way into stir frys salads etc, so we spent nights out having edible food at restaurants,so as you can guess many stomach upsets was seen(One lady we met had been ill for 5 days and if it werent for the pool guy getting her some med well who nose???......),the restaurant was not very clean ,the tables had plates piled up on them the waiters where slow to say the least! It was on our second to last day and we saw the health and hygiene doing the rounds we wondered why a major clean up was going on in the morning,need i say more????

The pool area was not cleaned once meaning the tiles and flooring, o bar them one morning throwing some water down and giving it a brush,which left dirty puddles under the tables you sat to have a drink at. We saw the pools being cleaned twice once at night and near the end of the hol they shut down the big pool and did a proper clean,it was such a shock all the people commented on it that we met.

Now onto the staff well after we complained about the room and got no-where we where then given dirty looks everytime we passed the reception,the first morning that we went for a drink in the reception bar my partner was offered hash by the waiter(he showed it secretly in his fag packet and went shush shush) yes shocked we where,the pool attendants where about the only pleasant people there,and as the holiday where comming to a close everyone we crossed from the cleaners to waiters etc asked us outright for a tip! well no if you give good service and dont ask then you may get one,was very rude!

Finally the 2 beaches .....the naama bay one dont bother so small and as you walk into the sea well its a concrete slab with slippery green stuff over it, was horrible! The hadaba beach brilliant for snorkling lovely beach view sea etc,but beware at the end of the pontoon you walk across to snorkle has some steps down(which is great and easy to use) we experienced what i can only call a pedo watching the young girls and ladies as they entered the sea he switched from side to side of the steps to get a full view all i can say is it was a good job my partner was with us the whole time,was very unsettling.While we was there a man was marched away from that area(from doing a rude gesture) whether it was the same one i do not no.

The hotel is above Namma bay has about 100 steps down which are hard going,and not very safe,once you get into Namma bay its loud,its like blackpool,and if you have a daughter who is 13 and pale well all i can say is it was frightening for her they tried to touch her and even took sneaky pics of her,we had to walk side by side of her and they still kept shouting etc was disgusting.

So there you go,would i go again to this hotel never!!!!!!!!! i do not reccommend it, and the people we met, some who have been to that hotel a few times,said they would not go back as it has gone so dirty etc.. If you do go to Egypt take lots of bite cream insect cream etc as the flies are biting all the time and there are lots of them.

But ending on a good note go to the AQUA PARK (you can book to stay there for your holiday) its very clean, lots to do, the food is stunning and the people lovely, we went twice and had brilliant time. And we checked out the HILTON hotel IT IS A 4* and there is no comparrison between the standards of the HILTON AND the sharm cliff and its is ALL INCLUSIVE AND STUNNING PLACE TO STAY. The weather was brilliant very hot.

Thankyou for reading and hope this all helps in your choice of holiday hotel in Egypt!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonH643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

We are sorry to hear that your holiday was not as pleasant as it could have been. If guests arrive outside of meal times, snacks are available as part of all inclusive during the day. But late at night, you can order room service at a very reasonable price, it is open 24/7, and very fast. You should have been shown to your room, I’m not sure why this did not happen, we generally do that, our apologies for that.

Generally, if you ask to change room this is fine, and will not usually be at any extra cost. But, because you came at a busy time, there were no spare rooms that were the same value as the room you were in, hence asking for extra money to be upgraded, only our best rooms were unfilled. We have more than 900 rooms, and most of the time we are nearly full, it’s a popular hotel. Moving an extra bed into the room is not a problem, and this was done for you at no extra cost.

The alcohol is offered free as part of all inclusive. There are a few different kinds to choose from. But it is aimed mostly for Polish and Russian tastes, vodka, beer etc. There are a few other kinds of alcohol like wine and champagne available at the bar or through room service, but these are at an extra cost. This is because we ship over all of our alcohol from overseas. Egypt is a Muslim country, and Muslims do not drink alcohol at all, so we bring it in, at a high cost to us, for our guests to enjoy. You will find it hard to get the best kinds of alcohol anywhere in Egypt for this reason, and if you do find them, they will be extremely expensive. We refuse to raise our prices, because guests come here to get good value for money, and for most guests they would not want to pay more just to have a wider variety of alcohol. Not having the alcohol you like should not ruin your holiday, there are plenty of other fun things to do here, and in Sharm.

Most Egyptian hotels do not have tea and coffee in the rooms. Only the very expensive international named hotels. That is normal for Egypt, and for Sharm. It is not a simple thing to provide a kettle, because for a start the tap water is not drinkable anywhere in Sharm, so we would have to charge extra in order to buy large bottles of wattle to keep in each room just for boiling. Also individual coffee bags are so expensive here, that they do not sell them in boxes of 10, they actually sell them as individual sachets, and they are up to seven pounds each packet. It’s just not viable to do in Sharm. We would have to charge extra to add that small service, and we do not want to put our prices up, so we choose not to offer this. Tea and Coffee is available up until 11pm from any of the bars, and during each meal time in the restaurant as part of all inclusive. And even if you do not have all inclusive, you can have free coffee and tea at breakfast. Also, you can order tea and coffee very cheaply anytime from the room service menu.

As I said, we have to buy all of the water we use in the hotel, bottled, even for cooking. So that is why we try to conserve water, you can still refill your cup as many times as you need. But you cannot fill a bottle there, and if you are thirsty you can go back to the water cooler anytime.


The menu is buffet style, it changes every meal and every day. There are many options available at each meal. There is always a salad bar, dessert bar, freshly baked bread, soup, four main meal options, 3 meats and one vegetarian. Meats include beef, chicken, duck and fresh fish. We have a UK recognised Cristal Certificate in Food Hygiene, and as you saw, our hygiene standards are checked regularly to ensure we meet those standards, and we do. This means that our food is prepared in a hygienic way, and also we have a high standard of cleanliness in our kitchen and restaurant, that is not an easy certificate for a hotel to achieve. I can assure you that any sickness that people get while on holiday here has nothing to do with the food. It’s not common but some people when they come to Sharm get heat sickness. Usually within the first three days of arriving, this is just your body not adjusting well to the temperature change, or heat stroke. I would suggest drinking plenty of water (bottled), and staying in the shade as much as possible, Sharm is a beautiful place, but people still need to be prepared for the fact that it is in the middle of a desert. The hotel provides plenty of shaded areas, and shades over all of the sun loungers.

Both pools and around them are cleaned thoroughly every night. Just because you only saw it one night, does not mean that it was not done, I can assure you it was, every night.
We apologize that the reception staff seemed to act rudely towards you, we will talk to them about this. Our staff and their friendliness is actually the most highly commented on thing across all of our reviews, so it is disappointing to hear you did not see this while you stayed. The bar man in the reception bar may have been offering you a normal cigarette, but we will definitely look into this matter, we do not expect or accept any kind of drugs in our hotel, or on our staff. It would have been best to tell the manager straight away so that he could check, and do something about it, we take this kind of thing very seriously, we expect high standards of our staff.

We’re glad the pool attendants made your holiday a bit more enjoyable. In Egypt it is culturally normal and acceptable to expect tips for most kinds of service, especially in hotels and restaurants. But you are right, you should not feel pressured into giving tips, and you do not have to, although the staff will really appreciate it and go the extra mile for you if you do. I will let the general manager know about this, and he can talk to all of the staff about tips. We expect all of our staff to provide good service to all guests, regardless of whether they tip them or not.

Thank you for your compliments on Hadaba beach. We run a free shuttle bus there throughout the day from outside the reception area. The ‘pedo’ guy, I can assure you was not a staff member. As soon as staff were aware of this mans inappropriate behaviour they removed him straight away from the beach, for the sake of the other guests, they acted professionally and fast on this.
If you do not wish to or are not able to take the stairs to Naama Bay, we also have a shuttle bus that goes there regularly, just ask in the reception, this is not an issue, and is a free service.

The shopkeepers in Naama bay sadly do have a bit of a reputation for hassling people. The shop keepers inside the hotel will be more professional I can assure you. It is a shame that Naama Bay has become a bit like that, especially with younger European looking women. It is still safe, just people need to be aware of this, and it’s safer to take a man with your group, they will hassle you a bit less. Sharm Cliff does not own Naama Bay, and is not responsible for how anyone acts there, but we are sorry to hear they hassled your daughter. I can suggest visiting Soho Square, it’s about 15mins taxi or micro bus ride from Naama Bay. It is a beautiful, not too crowded, posh, restaurant and shopping area, very westernized, and it has a dancing fountain and movenpick ice cream shop, as well as many lovely statues and nice lighting around the area. I can guarantee that no one will hassle you at all in Soho Square, but prices are higher than in town.

Please read a number of reviews before making any judgements on this hotel, most people really enjoy their time here. Even the review above this one, is four star and very positive, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having just returned form our fourth trip to Sharm Cliff, I can honestly say that for the price the sun and the relaxation it is second to none.

Clean Rooms
Friendly Staff
Good Location
and you can meet some interesting people like Paul from Newcastle (Toon Army) and Barney from Moss Side (Up The Reds)

The food is not the best but its not all about the food.

We will be going again next year.

Because the price is right.

Nigel and Margaret Plymouth

Room Tip: Pool View first floor ideal :)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigeMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review,

We're glad you and your wife had a great holiday here. Thank you for your compliments on our clean rooms, friendly staff, location and value for money. We are currently looking into changes we can make to the menu. We look forward to seeing you again next year, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was our 3rd trip to Egypt and our 3rd time at the Sharm Cliff Resort. The location is excellent if you are mobile as the 120 steps down to Naama Bay are easy on the way down but can be tiring on the way up, they have a rest area to sit in on the way back.
The food is excellent but as with all all inclusive's can be a bit repetitive, but there are plenty of bars and restaurants 5 mins away if want something different. If you want KFC, McD's, Pizza Hut, TGI's Hard Rock Cafe all just down the steps, Clubbing for the kid's (my kid's 22) Pacha and Little Buddha, just down the steps,
Yes you get asked in the street to come in to my shop/bar/restaurant etc, that's just the Egyptian way, You don't have to go in.
We found all the staff friendly, welcoming, and efficient and were always asking if we needed anything. We return to this Hotel due to its location and how we are treated by the hotel staff, which is always courteous and friendly.
We are not the only one's that think this way either as we have now met more people who return at the same time as us due to the location and welcoming staff.
This is a friendly value for money hotel that appeals to me. The Animation team work hard as does Irek, the guest relations manager who tries to smooth out any problems you may have,
With two pools I always got a sun lounger, with help to put up a shade if needed. Pool and massage team were always friendly and eager to help.
My large room was left spotless each day after I returned from the pool, and if the evening entertainment was not to your taste, you could listen to some tunes or watch the football at Hassan's Shisha tent, next to the pool and well worth a visit.
For a well located value for money holiday, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulnKimMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hani G, Online Reputation Manager at Sharm Cliff Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you very much for your review and photos,

It's great to hear you enjoyed your third stay at Sharm Cliff Resort. Thank you for your positive feedback about our location, food, friendly staff, and value for money. Also your compliments on our pools, animation team, rooms, cleanliness and Shisha tent.

For those who are not able, or do not wish to use the stairs down to Naama Bay, there is a free shuttle bus that drives there regularly, which you can take from in front of the reception area. The shuttle bus also goes to our two beaches on a regular basis throughout the day. You can ask reception for a timetable for the shuttle bus, and the beach bus timetable should be in your welcome pack inside your room when you arrive.

Thank you for your recommendation, we look foward to seeing you again if/when you visit Sharm Cliff for a fourth time, thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews