We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT TWO WEEKS TO MUCH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Ranked #134 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed April 16, 2007

We went for christmas and it was very nice, the weather was amazing and the food was surprisingly good. The staff at the hotel were good apart from if it got busy then they didnt seem to know what to do. However our holiday was ruined by the touters around the pool at the hotel, you expect it down the street but not around the pool and these people would wake you up to ask if you wanted a massage not just once a day but a few times everyday. We will probably go back but probably to NAMA BAY as we were just a bit to secluded at the mexicana.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tasha253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2007

we have just got back after staying at the mexicana for 2 weeks. we were a bit worried as it was our 1st visit to egypt, we need not have worried it was a lovely hotel and the staff could not do enough for you.michal was our cleaner and he did a fantastic job,every other day there was fresh flowers in the room.we went on b/b basis as we had heard ai was not very good i think we made the right decision as food looked very poor.breakfast was ok if you can eat eggs and bread every day, you could have fresh fruit salad if you could manage to get to it as soon as it came out before our russian friends did,they take everything in bulk and if they think you are waiting to get some they always fill there bowl to the brim as not to leave any for anyone else ie us brits.
however they wont stop us from returning to the mexicana as we have just booked to go again next april cant wait.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank superkaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2007

Got back 4th April the weather was amazing watch out for the breeze as its deceiving.
After visiting El Gouna at Xmas I think I have been spoiled as Sharm was definately not the place for me. I wouldnt return as the strip at Naarma Bay was like Benidorm with tat after tat shop and hassle hassle hassle.
They are extremely streetwise and clued up on every aspect of tourism in Sharm its been spolied and is over commercialised.
The Egyptians in Sharm are all from Cairo and in my mind they definately werent as curteous as El Gouna people who I believe reside in Alexandra.
This wasnt a pleasant experience and put me off going into Naarma Bay area.
The hotel itself was lovely I couldnt fault this hotel at all however................................My experience was if you werent wearing a band for ai you were treated differently and I still cant work out what kind of system they work to? Can anyone tell me? As I was B & B and obviously had to pay for all drinks, snacks etc but for some reason we were invisible? We used to order drinks or food by the pool but it would take anything up to an hour or they would forget having to be prompted up to 3 times. It was funny at first and we just thought oh well (and we are chilled patient people) but.....................it seemed to get worse until it was quite stressful dont get me wrong all I could do in the end was laugh but it was like Basil Faulty and Manuel.
Apart from this the hotel I would reccommend.....
If you arent ai in Sharm BE PREPARED as it isnt cheap. 240ml beer is £2.40 330ml beer £3.30 bottle of wine £10. Each tea or coffee, soft drink 80p a time so as I say be prepared. That was everywhere not just the hotel. They are so clued up it wasnt funny they would rip you at EVERY OPPORTUNITY so read up tarrifs and ensure you know your stuff before you look like a typical British MUG like a few of us found out over the days there!
SHARM definately never again but Egypt can be beautiful and unspolied so I reccommend EL GOUNA every time or I heard Dahab is unspolied too.
If anyone has any questions feel free to mail me Ill be happy to help.

D

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2007

We stayed in the Mexicana in March, just got back. Had a brilliant time. The weather was superb during the day, very hot but a little chilly at night - needed a jumper.
If you're interested in the marine life then you will be overwhelmed with the snorkelling and scuba diving. Diamond Beach is perfect for both. Camel Dive are brilliant and will really look after you if its your first time and you're a little nervous like we were! We loved it so much we had another go but this time used the guys on Diamond Beach (the hut on the beach) who were half the price £15 (150le). For beginners i recomend just doing an Intro dive -Someone goes down with you for approx 30mins and it saves you having to worry about doing the 2day padi course. The fish are absolutley amazing.
Taxi to Diamond Beach should cost you approx 10le (£1). Naama Bay 20le (£2). They will try and start off alot higher though!
The food out there is lovely and very very cheap!
The hassle out there is not half as bad as other reviews have mentioned. All we got was them asking you to eat in their restaurants but just keep walking past. We didnt get any hassle around the hotel/hotel pool nor any at the beach.
Hotel was superb - rooms were basic but nice.
We would definitley go back to Sharm El Sheikh & mexicana.
enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kadsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2007

me and my girlfriend stayed at the mexicana and like the rest of the reviews on here we were very worried about this hotel and we were all inclusive, which by the way was very good, a nice variety of breakfast, lunch & dinner. Fresh fruit, veg, chicken, beef and fish. overall though our stay there was very nice not much in the way of entertainment though at night time but its only 20 egyption pound to get to naama bay, when you haggle that one start at 15 then get to 20 with the blue and white cabs, that worked for us. the staff at the hotel will do anything for you, i have stayed in a few all inc and i thought this one was good value... the picture guy gives you a good deal aswell and the quality is very good, if you going to book tours or excursions, try local guys in naama bay. we paid £23 english each for quad biking and camel riding in the desert and mountains and through the hotal it was £25 each for the quads and camels, plus the snokelling or scuba will be a lot cheaper and the same quality.
i hope this hepls you out, we loved it there, nice hotel, we had a lovely king size bed room, staff were very very helpful,. We are going back next year....

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank paul&kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Mexicana Sharm. stayed 1st March till 15th
A group of 6 of us stayed at the hotel and used as much of the facilitys as posible, the hotel was clean,tidy and in good state of repair, out of the 2 beaches, Diamond was the worst in our book, you had to travel through a building site to get there and it was pretty packed, you could not enter the water from the beach only by pontoon then it was deep and with the winds pretty rough, Mexicana beach was excellent, youhad a beach and could enter the water safly, there is also a chance of a bit of fun with variouse boat rides, banna , rings , skiing etc there is also a free bus to both beaches. the hotels pool are very good the heated one is smaller but you can walk straight in but the large one is cold but once in is quite refreshing and nice,The food is ok but only a 1 week menu so week 2 will be as week, had a steak in a steak house it was ok but not woth praising up much,the exchange rate was prety fair in the hotel 10.75 to a £1, banks where 11 to a £1, the staff are very freindly and helpfull the rooms are safe but would still use safty boxes

hopethis is helpfull, any questions please email me.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BigAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2007

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the creative mexicana hotel in sharm. i would just like to say to anybody who has booked or are thinking about booking the hotel DO NOT get worried about the bad reviews the hotel has received.

the hotel is in a nice location, only a five minute taxi ride to the centre of naama bay, yet far enough away for a very peaceful and relaxing holiday (tip: blue and white [unlicenced] taxis should cost aroung 15 egyptian pounds to naama bay and the'limo' taxis are 30 egyptian pounds one way to naama bay). there are a number of shops including a pharmacy and a supermarket just a 2 minute walk either side of the hotel. all the staff in the hotel will do anything to help you and to make your stay as comfortable as possible. during the day there will be men around the pool offering facials/massages/henna tattoos etc, however if you politely say no or say you dont like tattoos etc they will soon leave you alone. if you do take up the offer for a massage i heard many good reports and it costs very little.

we were told by our travel agent to take american dollars but unless you plan to buy items at the duty free i would not recommend doing so, as everything is priced in egyptian pounds and the locals will probably con u when converting into dollars. trips can be paid by visa, english pounds, egyptian pounds, euros or dollars. when buying from the local shops always always haggle as they do tend to overprice things..if they won't lower their price (to atleast half) just walk away as the shop next door will sell the same.

please be prepared before you go to tip everybody for everything, on arriving at the airport somebody will try to charge you for going to the toilet, carrying your luggage and even for using the luggage trolleys. just carry your own luggage as your transport is not too far away. as for using the toilet just say no to paying as it is not actually a pay to use toilet!! within the hotel i would recommend tipping the cleaner atleast 30egyptian pounds and the bell boy 10egyptian pounds.

if you plan to go on any trips on your holiday you must get a visa (these are available as you get into the airport, beware though as they will charge you 18dollars and the office next door will only charge 15dollars). also make sure you have plenty of change when you are purchasing anything, as nobody in sharm has any change. restaurants are the only acception. speaking of restaurants, i would recommend staying at the hotel on a bed and breakfast basis, as i spoke to a number of people who went all inclusive and they explained that alot of things were not included and that they were only allowed to eat in the main buffet restaurant (despite the hotel having 3). the breakfasts at the hotel are fantastic, anything you can ever imagine is on offer including fresh pancakes and waffles.

on our first night we got dragged into a perfume shop at the end of the road from the hotel..we were only going in to sign their book..do not go into these shops they are very intimidating and will try to sell u bottles of their special perfume for £30-£60!!

if anybody wants to give you a business card just keep walking and say youre going for some food, as nobody carries these cards on them and they are actually just trying to get you into their shop, where you can get stuck for atleast half an hour.

the hotel has a shuttle bus service of which there is a time table provided to you. the bus runs to the hotels two private beaches (about 10 mins away) and to naamma bay. beach towels are also provided by the hotel so save room in your suitcase and leave yours at home.

last of all, if you are a young female like me (21 years old) you will have to learn to just smile and walk as the egyptain men are often too friendly. many were trying to buy me from my fiance.

although there was the odd thing that got to us on holiday, namely the no change thing, if you are prepared (we were not) your holiday will be fantastic. read my tips carefully and you'll have a great time

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank littlestar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#139 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
469 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turquoise Beach Hotel
Turquoise Beach Hotel
#188 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#78 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
#155 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
401 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
Oriental Rivoli Hotel & SPA
#138 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,001 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#177 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#81 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $19 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing