We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Ranked #137 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I read with interest the negative reviews for this hotel, having just got back from a very enjoyable stay. I found the hotel clean, comfiy and well looked after, the service was first class and I'd be more than happy to recommend to friends and family. Reception were very helpful as were all the staff and management, so good that we've already booked to return in october

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyLEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

Firstly don't believe all the bad reviews that you read on here, everyone's opinion is different as are there expectations. The hotel is in a beautiful surrounding with lots of flowers and gardens and they are looked after very well. We stayed bed and breakfast and to be fair I think this is the best thing to do, only for the fact that there are more than enough different restaurants within walking distance or taxi to eat and the prices compared to what you would pay in the UK are very cheap and the food is very good. The breakfast offers a varitiy of different foods, yes it's not your typical Full english but what do you expect "YOUR NOT IN ENGLAND", they have hot food, salads, toast, fruit, ceral, pancakes, all sorts of breads, fresh fruit juice, tea, coffee and it's set out as a buffett so you can have as much as you want breakfast starts at 7am and stops at 10am. The hotel itself i think is maintained well, the staff are always cleaning the areas. When we arrived in reception they did take our passports from us but the man told us we could collect them the following day, and we got them back with no problems once we asked. ( Remember UK Passports are YOUR PROPERTY and some people that have wrote that "they take them for the duration of the holiday" must be slightly naive, you don't pay a bill with your passport!! ). Then we got taken to our room, it was clean and standard but then we didn't expect it to be a palace, we had fresh towels and bedding everyday and the cleaner was very good we never had any problems with the room. Yes they like to be tipped but if you think about the exchange rate even if you gave them 40 Egyptian pounds for the week it's only £5 in our money!!. The staff were very friendly and helpful. On one of the reviews you see pictures of "Smoke" within the hotel grounds, just to confirm yes they did have smoke machines out but it was about 6pm after people had left the pool NOT while they were still there, it lasted for about 20mins and it was for your own benefit as it was getting rid of most of the mosquito's!! they didn't have to do it, and believe me the mosquito's can be an issue so make sure you take lots of repellent and anti-histamine tablets, although there is plenty of stuff there to buy if you forget. While we were here we went on a few trips, my advice would be to book them through your tour provider...although the companies that advertise them on the street are cheaper they don't have the same insurance or health and safety policies that cover you properly. Sand buggies and star gazing are recommended. The local do approach you when you walk past there shops and invite you in, as long as you are polite and just keep walking they leave you alone, at the end of the day they are trying to make a living, we are just not used to it in this country. The culture that egypt has is amazing and we will be going back there next year for two weeks next time, there is so much to do you can't pack it in just one week. I guess it depends what you are looking for in a holiday, if you want to discover what goes on in this beautiful country and you want to discover the coral beaches, go snorkelling or diving, visit cairo/luxor, try there food, ride camel into the desert, see how they live...you know the things you wouldn't normally see them this holiday is great for you.......but if you don't want to be hassled and you want all the food to be english and for them to do things the english way then this isn't the right place for you.....Bearing in mind you usually go to different countries to see and experience different things, and in Egypt you can certainly do that.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scartwright28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

The Mexicana is a 3 star hotel and i would say it is a fair rating.

I took the bed and breakfast option - but there is an all inclusive deal. Personally i prefer not to stay in a resort, but the other guests seemed happy to do so.

There are 2 pools, 1 huge and 1 smallish pool. There is a billiards room, there was entertainment offered but we didn't look into this and it wasn't very well advertised. To be honest as me and my partner are muslim we wouldn't have felt comfortable with a 'bar' atmosphere. From what i gathered there was a karaoke night and a traditional egyptian night.

The room given to us was fine, clean, tidy and with a decent amount of towels.

There is a minibar......please be careful as they tried to charge us for something we didn't use. We suspect someone opened a pack of crisps (the cleaner?). We argued the point and they didn't charge us! LOL.

There is also a gym - free to use with a steam room. There is also a beauty salon....which we tried out and can't really recommend:
why?
- the towels on the massage beds were stinking.
- the shower in the salon was running yellow water
- i paid for 30 mins massage and was given 10 mins, she put me in the sauna claiming i had a bad back. But my partner speaks arabic and she was telling her colleague she would only give me 10 mins. When we reported this she basically accused me of lying and said my partner misunderstood!

The breakfast choice was quite varied - there were chefs available to cook eggs to order, there was salad, lots of bread, cereal, juice, a toaster, pastries and other cooked food. You could eat as much as you liked which was great!

I would say i am neutral about the hotel.

The maid/room service expect a tip and usually after 4 days in, max. We tipped on the 6th day and then there was the case of the open crisp packet....LOOOOOL

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Róisín S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

A decent enough holiday resort.

Definately a 3 star hotel but as a base to discover Sharm & Egypt it ticks all the boxes, the only downside I would report are the bar prices if you're not staying all inclusive but a shuttle bus to Naama Bay is available for a small charge or return taxis will take you for a few pounds. The rooms were clean and even have a mini bar, most of the staff were friendly and helpful and the food is acceptable.

A shuttle bus will take you to a choice of 2 beaches - including 1 with a coral reef just offshore with a massive array of fish right off the pontoon if you want to get a bit closer the dive centre next door is chaotic to arrange trips but once out on the boat the instructors a competent, knowledgable and good company.

All said the Mexicana Sharm is a nice place to stay if you're on a tight budget and offers everthing you might need for a great trip to Sharm.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R6RSOLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 7-day break in Egypt staying at the Mexicana Sharm Resort Hotel and have nothing but good reviews for this hotel. I cannot understand why people have written such negative reviews – especially about the food. We found that there was so much choice and everyday there was something different to eat.

Food; For breakfast you can have cereal, fresh bread, toast, fruit, omelettes, fried eggs, cooked food, pancakes, salad (!) cheese, ham, juice, tea and coffee.

Lunch; This varied every day, we only had lunch a few times as we did a couple of trips and went to the beach etc but you could have soup, pizza (cut up into individual portions), potatoes, meat, fish, salad, pasta – two different types every day and different sauces, bread, cheese, sandwiches (the tuna and red onion baguettes were lovely) french fries and lots of desserts to choose from

Dinner; normally two or three different meats to choose from plus fish, the BBQ’d meat was lovely and something was on offer outside most evenings, rice (different types every day; sticky rice, jasmine rice, saffron rice, white rice etc) normally two types of potatoes, pasta (again, 2 types every evening) large salad bar area, bread rolls, soup – two flavours, vegetables and some Egyptian food. Plus lots of choice for dessert – the red jelly was always popular!

Drinks; We were all inclusive and soft drinks were not a problem – coke, fanta, sprite, water, tea, coffee etc but the spirits were not that nice – We were told that the Brandy was good (I am not a brandy drinker so didn’t try it but the Vodka was horrible!) Wine was ok, but nothing compared to the wine we are used to in the UK, Rose wine was quite good. The lager was really good, plus they’d make you a shandy if you wanted one. No complaints on this front and would definitely recommend all inclusive.

We found that some people were ill on holiday – we didn’t experience this and were careful with the water – we used bottled water to clean our teeth and rinse toothbrushes etc. The only thing I would advise is to not have any ice cubes in your drinks – they are all served without but there is a big ice bucket placed on top of the bar for people to help themselves – the ice cubes are NOT made with bottled water! They are made with tap water so perhaps avoid! Water is really cheap to buy from the Mexicana hotel shop (leave reception, turn left and it is past the Café bar on the left) about 30p for a 1.5 litre bottle. It is more expensive to buy from behind the bar so don’t bother.

Mosquito bites; So many people in Egypt had mozzie bites – I was quite shocked to see some people’s legs covered in them! Before you leave for your holiday get yourself to Boots and buy the mosquito spray in the silver can with 50% Deet – this is the only thing which seems to work (it stinks so take a deep breath before you spray yourself!) I went to Kenya on safari a few years ago (had malaria tablets but didn’t want to get bitten because the bites are so irritating) took Deet spray with me and didn’t get any bites. It is worth the money £3-4 per can but you won’t get bitten if you apply it.

Hotel Beach; The hotel is not linked directly to a beach – you have to travel by shuttle bus (which costs £1 per person) or by taxi (£2) We went to Palma beach which is amazing for snorkelling so well worth going. All soft drinks are included while at the beach but no alcohol or food so if you go, take some money.

Hotel Pools; The big pool is lovely to look at but freezing cold! It is nice to swim in but getting in initially is difficult because of the icy water! Best just to dive in. The smaller pool is heated so a much nicer temperature! Both pools are lovely but getting a sun bed is a nightmare as towels cover the beds from 7.30am! Apparently the trick is to tip the towel guy a few pounds and he will reserve you a bed every day when he starts his shift at 7.30am – hence the beds being covered with towels from 7.30am onwards!

Weather; 30 degrees every day, very few clouds. One day it hit 35 degrees and this was the beginning of March! Unbelievable really when the UK had temperatures of -5 degrees!

The Hotel; The hotel complex is lovely, lots of colourful plants and flowers, plus it is really clean. We had a great big room and two massive balcony’s – we were lucky. We have absolutely no complaints with the resort, perfect for a week’s holiday but perhaps not big enough for 2 weeks and not linked directly with a beach.

I would definitely return to Egypt, hoping to go in the summer. I would recommend the Mexicana Sharm, we had a lovely holiday and don’t have anything negative to say about the resort.

Go Quad Biking - it is great fun!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

after reading the many reviews good and bad we set off on our winter break with an open mind. I know you cant please everyone! We found the reception staff to be very surly and rude.the other staff such as the pool attendants waiters, cleaners, sauna staff wre very nice. We found the breakfast was the only decent meal of the day, not just our opinion!
our first week we were B and B, we upgraded big mistake! to have evening meal included.
the food to say the least was awful, we have been to many countries on holday, never found any reason to find fault with meals we are not fussy eaters, We wre charged £150 british, on top of the £10008 we had already paid. Our rep Shareem organized upgrade.
we were never given a reciept, which we asked for, even on our last day.We were told it would be sent by fax before we left for the airport, two hours later, that was the last we saw of Shareem. We feel sad to think that we were taken for a ride, Anyway we will not be back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlasgowSandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

Just got back from a great week at the Mexicana Hotel. All in all great value for money, we did find some of the reception staff a bit rude and our first room had a generator outside that ran 24/7. stopping us from using the balcony! However we were moved to a one bed apartment the next day without fuss which was much better. It has to be said the best thing about staying here was the coral reef at the beach, which was out of this world, absolutely fanatastic! Just a real shame that they insisted on playing very loud rave music at the beach bar/resturant from morning till night, which spoilt the otherwise beautiful surroundings. That said we would go back as the snorkelling was just amazing. I would recommend you go B&B not All Inclusive as eating out was very reasonable and the choice in hotel was very limited.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.3 mi away
Turquoise Beach Hotel
Turquoise Beach Hotel
#187 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#148 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#78 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Otium Hotel Golden
Otium Hotel Golden
#150 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
#149 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
400 reviews
3 mi away
Viking Club
Viking Club
#209 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#83 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $27 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing