We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely time cant wait to return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Ranked #132 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Loved my stay at the mexicana i have been coming to sharm el sheikh for 10 years an this is 1 of the nicest places i ever stayed at .
We had a 1 bedroom apartment over looking the small pool , it was very spacious an nice to have lots of room to move instead of being crammed in , a big flat screen tv , a kitchen with all the essentials an the bathroom was lovely .
The hotel is very clean and well kept , the staff are very polite ,friendly and prof and work so hard and could not do enough for you mohammed at the small pool brought me drinks with out even asking and the waiters in the restaurant will top your drinks up before the glass is empty .
About the food lunch time was very basic but ok and the evening meal was my favorite so delicious an plenty of choice chicken , beef , fish potatoes fresh vegtables and pasta and some nights we even had lamb yum yum and my favorite desert was fried dates so delicious.
I did hear some people did moan about the food but its egypt if you want fish & chips go to benidorm you get what you pay for as this is a very inexpensive hotel with exellent value for money .
The free gym is very impressive one of the best ive ever seen in any hotel and the spa & spa staff are amazing i had lots of lovely massages fm hend she is amazing snd so caring and a nice pedicure fm senso , the spa is very clean and other some great treatments at reasonable prices .

The bad points for me was christmas eve & new years eve gala dinner in the website it says the bar closes at 6 pm and drinks are to be served in the main restaurant , but what the website does not say is the all inclusive drinks finish at 6 pm ! Then we was given a piece of paper telling us from 6pm we have to pay for drinks most only sold by the bottle not a glass and if you bring your own drinks you have to pay for it price depending on the brand , the only drink i like is baileys and as its imported i was told if i want to bring my own bottle i had to pay £20 . This i did not agree with and thought it was wrong .

Also if you want any trips book with the tour shop down the road called brothers dont use the man in the hotel alex he is very rude & iggnorant we booked a trip he over charged us for it was suppost to last 15 minutes we was on the tube 5 and then left on the side of a dirty busy road for 1.5 hours to be picked up discusting !

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank rosalena78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Mexicana Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your recent vacation at our Mexicana Hotel and we are very pleased, that we could provide you with a great holiday.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards

Yours sincerely,
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,154)
There are newer reviews for Mexicana Sharm Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

I travelled to Sharm with my wife and friends to dive for a few days in Jan2014 . I booked on line after reading varied reviews on Tripadvisor. Whilst I got a good deal for the weeks stay I was very disappointed with the Mexicana . On arrival I was greated with apathy by the door staff followed by a similar lack of attention at reception. After collecting our room key we were escorted to our room. The room had a lovely aroma of stale tabbaco which greeted our senses as we entered. On further inspection we discovered that the curtains on our patio doors would not close as the rail was badly damaged but nothing that two Egyptian boys couldnt fix. They couldnt fix it actually but did shout at each other for a while, which always helps. The room was filthy, the small table looked like it had been wiped with a cold, dirty cloth. We asked to be moved and we were taken to a no smoking room, (stale tabbaco smell not quite so bad) which was a little cleaner. That evening we visited the one resturant in the hotel. Again the level of cleanliness was unacceptable, the floor was being mopped with a old dirty towel ! Again the staff here were busy talking to each other and were not interested in helping the guests. I have stayed in many hotels in Sharm and have never seen such disinterest from staff before. We retired to the bar area. The bar looks like it was last cleaned a month ago and the stock keeping leaves a lot to be desired. Beer is served in plastic glasses and wine is decanted from a box to a water bottle ( looks a little like a sample for the doctor). As we sat I heard a coffee machine slurpping behind me so I asked for a cappuccino! No chance, the machine was being used for hot water, the coffee is instant ( tastes like chicory ) .
It was also noted that at the bar and resturant there was always someone sat on a chair in a leather jacket watching and chatting but not able to serve customers. Who are these mystery men?
Whilst the hotel is clearly tired I suspect that new management,a vigorous training programme and a change of culture may make it acceptable.
Would I stay here again? What do you think?

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank craig_s_simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Sir or Madam,
Warmest greetings from Mexicana Sharm Resort Sharm El Sheikh.

Thank you for your comments and invaluable critique of your recent stay with us. We value all of our guests and their comments and take on board all relevant items that can help us move forward the quality of our service delivery.
We apologize for what happened to you during your staying in our hotel, and we are doing the appropriate investigations to understand better as we are surprised that nobody has been informed of your difficulties and problems.
Concerning the mystery men, please let us explain to you that we think you are talking about our cashiers, that usually are controlling the bars and the restaurant.

Please accept again my apologizes and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel, at which time I hope to speak with you personally to ensure your holiday with us will exceed all your expectations.
Sincerely
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Clean, tidy and well presented. Just a few signs of fair wear and tear. Could use a better tv set and channels. Food was excellent as was service. Yes they are snappy about unreturned glasses but they also brook no poolside accident possibilities with glass - or plastic (as seen elsewhere).

The drinks were drinkable and the Mexicana did not run out of beer (as endured elsewhere).
The shops next to the hotel were low hustle, the optional trip and taxi rates fair. For entertainment the Belly Dancing and the Whirling Dervish were unmissable. Thank you all for
a great stay alround.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Sirs,

thanks a lot for your kind review, and it was our pleasure to have you here in our hotel.
Wish to see you soon again to enjoy and relax in Mexicana, be free to contact us any time and it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Mr Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

just back from 2 weeks at Mexicana . sorry but not the best all inclusive . But enjoyed my stay hotel is what you make it dont b put off with reviews. Had 2 good weeks off sunshine made all the better with a good group of people very friendly bunch made some good friends .Especially 2 lovely girls from Leeds. K and G .Hope you have a lovely holiday in Mexico.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Sirs,

we appreciated a lot your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your staying in Mexicana. Thanks a lot for being here and really wish to meet you again in our hotel,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Rooms spacious and pretty good, if a little tired. Staff generally pretty friendly and quite attentive. One staff member let the side down by continually "reprimanding" me for failing to bring back the glass from a previous drink. I do not expect to be told off by hotel staff. I was courteous, so should he have been. Food average, but quite edible. Good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Sirs,
we would like to thank you for your kind review and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel, wishing to meet you again very soon,

Best regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a month with my parter on a belated honeymoon and we have both had a great vacation. The staff in the restaurant/reception and ajacent shops are fantastic and couldnt do more if they tried.the food is great and failing that there is a great restaurant (picassos) up the road. For the price we payed for all inclusive it is great value for money! The social scene is great weve meet some great people and we are all planning to come back at the same time mexicana don't change a thing! See you soon! The burlings xxxxxx I whant a job here!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Sirs,

we are so grateful for your nice reviews and comments concerning our hotel.
Thanks a lot for coming and wishing to see you soon again,

Sincerely
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexciana Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Mexicana 22.11.13-06.12.13 All Inclusive.

The Hotel : Fantastic atmosphere and very clean, the rooms are clean and spacious and cleaned every day. 2 pools...one large pool and one smaller heated pool both cleaned each night ready for the next day. The pool man was very good in laying our towls out for us each day in our favorate spot. (A tip work wonders)

The Food: All inclusive buffet style service was lovely.
Breakfast was a huge choice of everything from freshly made eggs/omlettes to tasty fresh breads and pastrys. Coffee & tea and juice on tap.

Lunch again a huge selection of food including pizza, burgers, chips, salads, fresh bread & drinks.

Dinner was fantastic with a bbq every night with something different each night from chicken to fish to steak & kebabs. The soup was amazing each night! Big thank you to the chefs who took time to make sure you enjoyed your meals.

The staff: The highlight of the hotel!! Mohammed at The Amigos bar was so friendly and very quick to top up our drinks as they got low. He was always ready with a big smile and a joke! He also carried our drinks for us to where we sat during the day by the pool. A lovely man who works very hard for a terrible wage. We love you Mohammed you were great.
"Talktalk" the waiter made every meal a pleasure to attend!! With his funny ways and great sense of humor he made us feel like part of the mexicana family! He didnt even mind when we threw him in the pool on the last night of our stay!! A great asset to the hotel!!
All the staff were attentive and friendly and treated us very well. Thank you guys.
Bill at the spa & his amazing team were fantastic....a huge must is to try the pamper sessions with them, we have never felt so relaxed in all our lives.
The reception staff were fantastic at informing us of where the best places to go where and helping me with getting online with the hotel wifi!

Trips: The boat trip was FANTASTIC and a chance to see the beautiful Rea Sea and the coral reefs. My partner & daughter did the scuba diving and loved every second of it, the instructor was fantastic with my daughter who was a bit nervous at first but soon proved to be a natural!! The photographer on board was brilliant and for a great price we got a disc with over 50 amazing photos of our family on the boat. The food served at lunch was delicious and plenty of it to go round.

A few tips: The staff at the hotel are living away from their familys and working up to 16 hours each day for around £45 a month so tipping is a huge winner....and they truely deserve it.
Any problems see the reception guys and they will do their best to solve the problem.
There is a kfc and a mcdonalds just down the road that deliver to the hotel! The mcdonalds beats ours over here hands down!! The burgers are HUGE!! We also treated one of the staff one evening to a maccys and you could see the delight in his face and for such a small gesture made us feel very good.

Stay away from the purfume shop.....these guys bug you everytime you walk past and invite you in....beware people.....the hotel had to have words with them a few times.

Must visit the little shop out of the hotel and on the right....nice bits and bobs to take home & remember to haggle!!

I would also avoid the english bar down the road on the right....the cocktails were dodgy and never what you asked for & the guys were like flys round s**t with my pretty 13 year old daughter....despite her dad telling them to leave her alone they persisted saying 13 was a good age for them....so we left before it became more trouble.

Overall an amazing holiday and we met some fantastic people staying at the hotel including lots of regulars :) We will be back again and again.

THANK YOU EVERYONE AT MEXICANA WE LOVE YOU ALL XX Vicki & Nik & Jessica XX

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greetings from the sunny Mexicana Sharm el-Sheikh.

Thank you very much for your wonderful summary about your recent vacation at our Mexicana Hotel and we are very pleased, that we could provide you with a great holiday.

We are looking forward to your next stay with us here and to welcoming you back soon.

Kindly accept our warmest regards

Yours sincerely,Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#80 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#154 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#134 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Desert View Hotel
Desert View Hotel
#155 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
8 reviews
2.8 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#107 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,423 reviews
10.1 mi away
Aurora Cyrene Resort
Aurora Cyrene Resort
#93 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#80 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $27 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing