We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really dont bother its the pits”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Ranked #128 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Really dont bother its the pits”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We have just got back from a weeks stay at the Hotel Mexicana and all I can say is if you are thinking of booking this Hotel `DONT`

Yes I only paid £680 for a week for 2 people but £500 would of been too much and when its cheap you expect cheerful but there was very little of that.

We went all inclusive but I didn't realise how little ALL meant, if you want another drink then finish what's left in the glass, drinks finish at 11pm and don't even think you can simply get a couple in oh no simple rule 1 glass 1 drink. Mohammed the barman by reception is by far the rudest, most arrogant, impolite person I have come across surly his job was to encourage customers to come back not be on a crusade to close the hotel. We tried taking a drink back to the room and Mohammed told us we had to leave the glasses (Plastic by the way not glass) on the night of the entertainment we got up to go upstairs and watch it but again Mohammed told us we could not take the glasses upstairs as that bar had its own.

The rooms were dirty and I had more black mould than grout in the shower. The food was very samey and cold and limited once its gone its gone.

The towel man was great and Ash ay the pool and restaurant bar was excellent. We did have 3 very good meals during our stay the first was a Chinese near fantasia and an Indian at Soho Square, then we visited a proper hotel called the Le Royal near Namma Bay we were invited by the Manager to spend my wife`s birthday with them and they welcomed us with open arms we were treated like kings and queens and met up with some old friends that still work there. The Le royal has only been open 8 months but if you want a great time the look it up.

On the day of check out the number of staff standing around watching us carrying all the bags and cases with no offer of help from anyone and then the All Inclusive came back to haunt us again as soon as12 o`clock come All Inclusive finishes don't matter what time you arrived no drinks from the bar.

To sum it up it is with out doubt the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in Egypt and the 10 years I have visited and will never be booking again. My suggestion would be send your staff to a proper hotel to be trained, Managers stop sitting around reading papers and start mixing with your guests to find out where its going wrong before you don't have a hotel to save.

Room Tip: We stayed in 141 very quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 191Bryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    375
    198
    145
    115
See reviews for
244
458
71
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just back from mexicana after 6th time
What a shame the hotel has dropped in standers so much in 6 months
The food is cold and the drinks are watered down management watch to see how much the staff serve you
The rooms are still clean and spacious
Wi-Fi was free but now costs £30per week
You no longer get free ice-cream and there is never any diet coke at the bar
No white wine for 2days
Half of the staff don't care any more
Sorry but will not be going back even though I have made great friends over the past visits

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank skip847
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in march 2013 and couldn't ask for much more for what we paid. The hotel is in a perfect location for people who want to avoid the busy areas of sharm but not too far to get a taxi to Nama bay (£2-£4). The rooms were clean, the general area was clean and well presented, staff were professional and do not pester. However, I would like to point out that the food was ok, we only stayed for breakfast and avoided any salad etc as per the recommendation for Egyption dining. Words of advice: do not go anywhere alone! At all costs avoid a extremely rude and abusive man called Adam a few meters down the road who owns a perfume shop. Avoid all perfume shops unless you are in large group. There is a very good corner shop at the end of the road. Mc Donald's deliver!!! Being polite does not work with egyptian salesmen, just tell them where to go or they will follow you like flies to S#*t!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan481516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort your second home
Awaiting your return in December so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance or any special request as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Have just return from 11 days at the Mexicana. I loved it there.Staff very friendly, Good rooms i had no problems. Cleanliness was great. I was a bit quite at the hotel but to be honest i like it, at least i could get a sunbed. Food was good dont expect cordon bleu there was always plenty of choice. There was not much entertainment but was not a problem. Everyone must try the Spa. Was fabulous. Very reasonable prices and they are so friendly make you feel special. I have already booked to go again in March. I loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort your second home
Awaiting your return in December so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance or any special request as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Good hotel and pleasant stay (not so disturbing "staff" like in other bigger Egyptian hotels). 10 minute walk from market - why do you need taxi? :-)

I can understand, that somebody who pays 1000 pounds for two people and for one week, is not so happy like we. We book Mexicana via Egyptian agent, so it was cheap (half board). It was enough.

Shuttle to beach - I recommend coral beach, the other one is bad, very bad - maybe only good for small children.

Shower in the room - not good working, but we were there only couple of days...

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarthyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort your second home
Awaiting your return in December so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance or any special request as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I enjoyed my stay, as usual, and will come back again to Mexicana.
It was so nice being back and seing familiar faces again: the staff is always welcoming and friendly.
They do try hard but you know what it's like: when there is a problem we want it fixed straight away... I've never had any problems before but this time my safety box only needed new batteries to work but it took days to get it sorted out!!
Still didn't change anything.
Love Mexicana

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Alpharooms

Helpful?
1 Thank LeilaLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicana_11, General Manager at Mexicana Sharm Resort, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you kindly for your warm review. It certainly was our pleasure to have you here in our resort.
Awaiting your return so that you may once again relax at the Mexicana Resort. Please contact us any time for assistance in booking your next vacation as it will be our pleasure to meet you again,

Regards
Tarek Taha
General Manager
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Mail: sharmareamanager@mexicanasharm-resort.c
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamsa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

There must be something wrong (fishy) with all those 4 or 5 star ratings.It simply can not be that someone gives 5 or 4 stars for hotel liike this. THAT IS NOT POSSIBLE !!!

The food is bad, just bad. I have no other words for it. Not only the taste but also concidering the fact that my partner and I were sick for a couple of days. After we recovered we concidered that eating elsewhere was the best option, at whatever restaurant, as the risk could not be worse.

Mold in the bathroom, taps not working, sometimes no hot water, very unpolite reception, outside the hotel it looks like El Alamein was not that longtime ago. The area looks the same as 6 years ago when we also stayed there.

This hotel changed some time ago its name from Creative Mexicana to Mexicana Sharm Resort, I can gues why.

Actually it is a pitty, as the acomodation itself easily could be made a 4 star hotel (as it once was), if there were proper management , proper maintenance, proper..... everything.(gardens are lovely)

On the other hand I only can blame myself as I didn't check the reviews before I left.


DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS HOTEL !!

Room Tip: Book an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IvSa2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#161 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#43 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#86 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Amar Sina Village
Amar Sina Village
#134 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
1.7 mi away
Turquoise Beach Hotel
Turquoise Beach Hotel
#201 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Sharm Hotel
Viva Sharm Hotel
#142 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Property: Mexicana Sharm Resort
Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing