We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mexicana Sharm Resort
Ranked #134 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This is a good choice for people who appreciate smaller, quieter hotels and who are realistic about what £14 (or less) per night all inclusive will get them. It is not suited for those whose holidays centre around great food and/or partying all night.
The hotel's best strengths are the large rooms with comfortable beds, (except for rather hard pillows) the beautifully heated small pool, the flower filled grounds and the friendly staff. I also liked the fact that there was a good mix of nationalities. Its weaker areas are the food and the fact that the rooms (at least in ours) could be more thoroughly cleaned, e.g., the paintwork and doors were a bit grubby. I think some people were too critical of the food as I could always find enough I liked, and my breakfasts of fruit, yoghurt, omelette and toast were certainly better than my typical breakfast at home, but overall the food was not wonderful.
The hotel wifi is expensive but there is a small internet cafe with the Amersina next door and you can get 30 minutes access for 10 Egyptian pounds, (£1) which, if you use your own gadget, can be used over a 24 hour period. Alternatively if you turn right out of the hotel and walk less than 10 minutes there is a cafe called Dwar Alonda which has free wifi you can use for the price of a drink, or, if you're not all inc at the hotel, a cheap lunch. (Plate of chips is 10 Egyptian pounds.) There are other places with free wifi- this is just where we went.
We went to the coral beach regularly on the hotel shuttle and the snorkelling there is very good if you time it right, but it can be rough, so don't bother going on windy days. Avid snorkellers may wish to pick a hotel with access to a more sheltered bay where snorkelling conditions are more reliable. FYI for orientation this beach is between a soon-to-be-opened Sunrise hotel and a building site, but the nearest open hotels on each side are the Renaissance Golden View and the Hilton Sharm Waterfalls. The sandy beach is in the opposite direction from the hotel and is near the Old Market. It is more sheltered and suitable for kids. You can ask the hotel shuttle to drop you off at other locations if they're passing them, e.g.,the Old Market.
Tipping should be done in local currency as staff have trouble getting rid of foreign coins, and try to keep the amounts in proportion to local wages.
Be realistic about your expectations and appreciate how much more you're getting for your money than at home.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lintab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

411 - 417 of 1,165 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Right where do I start ! This was my second trip to the resort and i stayed with my partner for 14 nights 31/01/2013-14/02/2013

The mexicana sharm resort is a BUDGET hotel situated near the old market area of sharm ,this BUDGET hotel caters for all nationalities ,whilst staying there they where catering for Egyptian ,Finnish ,Danish ,eastern Europeans from sates of the former USSR Germans and us Brits who all payed for a stay in a BUDGET hotel,I think you may well have got it now this is a BUDGET hotel who get little more than £10 per head per night to provide all inclusive food drinks accommodation and to pay the staff ,provide hot water electricity clean towels and bedding ,but by Christ do they do well considering this fact

RECEPTION
Did not have a single issue with the reception staff who where polite and willing to help nothing was too much trouble for them even helped get flowers delivered for valentines day

ROOM
Perfect clean roomy comfy bed fantastic shower nice view over little Pool FREE air con and FREE safe try getting that for nothing in other hotels

POOLS/SUNBEDS
Again no issues here large pool not heated small pool heated both pools cleaned daily and chemicals added daily no issues with SUNBEDS as towel guy proficient in his job tip the man and your towels will be in place for you at your chosen spot

GROUNDS/GARDENS
Well kept and a credit to the gardeners who are constantly beavering away ,

FOOD
Now the bone of contention REMEMBER this hotel caters for multi nationalities so what might seem odd to us Brits is a norm for others,HOWEVER as someone who has visited this hotel in the past I am infuriated about some of the recent comments the food quality HAS improved since my last visit spoke to Mohammed one of the head waiters the hotel is using a different butcher and as this is evident as the meat quality and cuts are better

Breakfast
You are visiting a Muslim country so forget about the English fry up ,breads salads cold meats cheese fruit yoghurt honey jams sausage French toast cereals egg station cooking fried eggs omelettes to order tea coffee juices toaster provided so where is the problem here?

Lunch
Breads salad soup pizza hamburgers potatoes in some form be it wedges chips mash vegetables chicken fish live pasta station cooked to order lasagne cakes fruit etc

Evening meal
Again varied always a Carvary on each night as one recent comment there is a BBQ that cooks stuff well the stuff cooked was either chicken fish kofta beef steak ( well thin slices beef imagine thin frying steak from super market) and calamari ,again live pasta station vegetables salads soups hot and cold desserts some evenings where themed

I do think some comments about the food are unfair as after all this is a budget hotel and I think the food provided is adequate as a result and there is no need to go hungry

Waiters
As all the staff at this hotel always smiling and happy to serve once they knew your drinks requirements your drinks where always at the table once you returned from the hot plate one very annoying habit and I totally agree with George and bevs comments the habit of them taking your plate from you whilst you are still eating MUST stop I might seem funny to them but to me extremely rude and in hygienic

BARS and ENTERTAINMENT
Three bars in the hotel pool bar amigos bar and Abu Nawas all inclusive drinks from 10 am through to 11 pm spirits not the best beer ok ,entertainment now I'm going to let rip it infuriates me to the bone for a review to be written that is a blatant lie the hotel provides an oriental show on a weekly basis, for someone who was at the hotel the same time as me to say the entertainment was non existent, when there was a show on the very night we left astounds me ,whilst we where in resort we watched 2 shows in the Abu Nawas bar consisting of belly dancers and the tournue dancer ( twirly dancer) the hotel also provides a nightly disco in the Abu Nawas and cannot be blamed if the hotel guests do not want to participate the shows where publicised at reception the entrance to the dining room and at all the bars so you would have to be blind to miss them,enough of rant however will add one thing if you have difficulty with stairs then the Abu Nawas will be hard to access maybe hotel needs to address this issue

HOTEL BEACHES
There is a courtesy bus that will take you to either the sandy beach or the coral beach
My opinion of sandy beach remains the same hated it in may and hated it this time only reason I went there this time was so we could go on the glass bottom boat trip

Coral beach
This is where we spent most of our time booked trips and partner had her massage here hardly spent time on SUNBEDS as I was in the sea snorkelling just as spectacular this year as it was last may

COURTESY BUS
As previously stated the hotel provides free transport to the beaches and also takes guests to naama bay for 10 LE per person between 9pm and 11 pm I assure you that is more than enough time to spent there, in truth although we choose to eat there the hassle was beyond belief and we where not the first back to the hotel after that trip, two young girls from hotel where back before us and they where looking forward to there night out which has cut short by the hassle from bar shop taxi drivers all hassling to get your custom I do warn you naama bay is not for the faint hearted

TO SUMMARISE
If you are used to 5 star opulence then the mexicana sharm is not for you ,if your idea of holiday heaven is a kiddies disco followed by bingo and an entertainment show then the mexicana is not for you ,if you want fry ups and Sunday roasts the mexicana and maybe Egypt is not for you

There are things the hotel need to address ie the steak house never seen it open ,may I suggest to the management that it is ripped out and maybe turned into an inside bar area also address the waiter issue with taking plates before guest has finished eating and my final moan allow guest all inclusive until there departure as come checkout all drinks even soft have to be purchased after 12 pm

That said if you want to stay in a BUDGET hotel that is clean tidy and has a certain charm with staff that will bend over backwards to make your stay a pleasant one then the mexicana is for you
I certainly see the mexicana for what it is hence that is why I have returned for a second time and I look forward to my next visit ,remember 2 things YOU DON'T GET CHAMPAGNE FOR BEER PRICES and treat others how you would expect to be treated

A huge thank you to all the staff in all departments at the Mexicana for making our trip to sharm a holiday to remember see you all again soon regards Alasdair

Room Tip: Try to book room overlooking pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank alasdair67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed here in Feb for one week as a family of five.All i can say was the weather was brilliant if it had not have been i would have cried.The food was disgusting,bland,not a lot of choice and they kept a watch on the portions you helped yourself to.They had a bbq outside each evening cooking some kind of food,you were given meagre portions from this unless you were Egyptian,they got what they wanted,like most of the food.My sons lived on mainly bread for most of the week.We had to eat out to get nourishment,not what you expect when paying for all-inclusive.Cannot fault the dining room waiters they worked really hard and earned their money.
All inclusive were we have been before have included snacks and ice cream,they did have ice cream,but we were refused as our sons were to tall (not little kids) according to the bar person.He was a miserable guy,served you when he felt like it and would blatantly ignore you stood at the bar,did smile once on our last day because he thought he was getting a tip.A tip i could give him is a course on customer service.the pizza corner as advertised was never open.
Cannot fault the housekeeping the rooms were cleaned every day to a good standard.The beds are so comfortable,wanted to bring one home as i slept so well.
No rush for sunbeds,the towel guy was great,very helpful and always smiling
The reception was a mass of sour faces,and if you asked to change money you felt like you were putting them out.Asked about a dentist and they just looked at me and then said there was none around,and to go to hospital,there was actually two in Naama Bay.
Entertainment is none existant,just a bar to sit at.Found two great English bars nearby The Mirage and The Tavern both did great food,kept us going.Also shows the football.
Enough moaning,we will never return.Please dont make the same mistake we did and go here,its a total waste of money,we feel we have been robbed.According to the rep its classed as a 2 star,i would not give it that.
Met some great people though,who all felt the same,so not only us.

Room Tip: We had room 219 view of the large pool.Good size room and billiant shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janas4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my daughter husband and four year old we had a fantastic time the hotel staff are very friendly the food was good and the rooms were kept immaculate will definitely be coming back as we all loved it we stayed all inclusive and there was plenty of food very nice don't listen to bad reports of the food it was good and there was always something that you could eat.if the supervisor at reception could email me i would love to book again for winter 2013 I lost his email,address.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarrangower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed 5 weeks in Jan, the weather was good, hotel service was excellent. Bar staff and restaurant staff excellent.Total lack of entertainment which was disappointing.The spa facilities were excellent, great value for money, I would definitely go in the spa again. We found the upstairs bar not suitable for disabled people as there were no lifts to get to it. The sandy beach was utterly disgraceful and dirty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodmanbudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

After 3 weeks of our arranged accomodation for a 10 week stay in Sharm went belly up, we visited the Mexicana to arrange the remainder of our stay, G.M.Mr Tarek, and B.M. Mr Mohamid put together a wonderful, thoughtful, deal for us, what a great result it turned out to be! Value for cash this hotel rates very high in our league, every department of this lovely place is run to a fine standard, so much so it is difficult to pick a favourite staff member. Food was ample and tasty, both my housekeepers were first class!! bar staff were great and happy, Waiters,Pool boys,Reception boys,Cleaners,even the Gardeners, were generous with their happy friendship, Chefs work hard to please many different nationalitys and deserve credit for keeping so many happy faced diners!! The hotel trees,flower arrangments,and lawns are kept lovely, and maintainance staff are regularly on the go keeping up the hotel standards. Our Suite was clean, comfortable, spacious, and we never once in 7 weeks heard one complaint regarding beds,boy are they comfortable, always plenty hot water, and wonderful towels, what a change that is! Unfortunatly the one blot on a excelent stay was the silly habit some waiters have of toying with diners food, this is a unhygenic practice and the Captains,. or Head Waiters should advise against this happening, dirty hands from removing used plates and cuttlery should be kept away from diners food plates when they are still eating. That said, my wife and I will be back to the Mexicana for our long stay winter holiday this year, it realy is a super Hotel so why not give it a try, Dont think y'ould be dissapointed. George n Beverlee McWade .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank georgemcwade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

was good time with me and my friends i was there 3 times
and i will go to at 25 march
and this is was happy time
and this hotel near beach
and will be number one
and need to have big place to play football :P :P

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank himaCairo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#142 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
470 reviews
1.3 mi away
Turquoise Beach Hotel
Turquoise Beach Hotel
#181 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
Sharm Inn Amarein Hotel
#156 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#79 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Vic Sharm Resort
Old Vic Sharm Resort
#139 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
29 reviews
2.9 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#176 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mexicana Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mexicana Sharm Resort

Address: Om El-Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#81 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $20 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mexicana Sharm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mexicana Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mexicana Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Mexicana Sharm El Sheikh
Creative Mexicana Egypt
Creative Mexicana Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing