We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,677)
Filter reviews
5,677 results
Traveler rating
3,797
1,213
395
152
120
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,797
1,213
395
152
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoho squareakuna matatacafe chinomain poolsavoy grouplobby baranimation teamice rinkbbq nightfishgreat holidayall inclusive packagespecial thankspool viewmain restaurantshuttle buschicken
Filter
Updating list...
3,145 - 3,150 of 5,677 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Sierra - once again we had a great time. The room was just what we asked for and that fruit basket was a lovely gesture. A BIG thank you to the Sierra Management. The staff could not do more for you, especially Mena in Lounge Bar. The food was fantastic lots of choice and great service - always a free table and attentive staff. Please don't listen to any negative comments this hotel will give you everything you have paid for.

Hoping to make the best of our last day my husband shaved his head drank too much wine and took in to too much sun it was around 40 degrees he took ill overnight!! Next morning with 10 hours until our flight our fantastic Thomas Cook rep Ahmed arranged for a doctor who arrived within 30 minutes gave him 2 injections and after 2 hours felt loads better. The Hotel Management allowed us to keep our room until the coach came and we were able to travel home. They were so caring and helpful - which they did not need to be.

We shall certainly not hesitate in returning and are planning a trip in early 2011.

SEE YOU THEN and thank you again.

Shukran
Paul & Diane room 2052 xx

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StockportBlondies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

I tend to keep away from reading reviews on here as normally people just come on here and moan about the smallest things like ' the hotel doesn't serve English food!' If thats what you want stay at home!!!

We booked through Thomas Cook and wend from the 3rd-14th July it was the best All Inclusive my husband and I have stayed in and weve stayed in a few! We got there late on the Saturday night and was welcomed with 2 drinks and then escorted to our room whilst being given a tour which was such a great idea as we knew where the restaurant/bars were. We were also given a voucher for a free meal at a cafe in Soho square for that evening as the restaurant had closed.
The welcome meeting was ok but our rep was Egyptian and spoke very fast so didn't really understand. It was quite busy and you needed to be up by 10am to get a lounger if you weren't no need to worry as the beach is only 10 min walk away and they had plenty of beds and an all inclusive bar for food and drinks and also a towel stand.
The food was lovely breakfast there was a big variety lunch and dinner was quite similar. We ate there every night bar 2 and that was when it was Russian night. We went to the steak house which you get 35% of the bill and was fantastic food. There are bars in Soho square that at certain times of the day are free to all-inc customers which was a brilliant touch as it felt like you were going out to different places but not spending anything.
Our Housekeeper Sheriff was great my husband was a bit poorly and he couldnt do enough to help and told guest relations who offered us more water and room service!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1983emma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

I chose Sierra based on the reviews I'd read on Trip Advisor, many of them were very positive. We did enjoy our holiday, but the hotel does not deserve its 5 stars.

Staff - The majority of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The man who cleaned our room, Mustafa, was lovely, as were some of the barmen at the pool bar. All very friendly and couldn't do anything more to help you. We recieved a welcome drink and a cool flannel on arrival which was a nice touch.

Rooms - We were on a tight budget, so decided to ask for a garden view room instead of pool view, BUT we specifically asked for a room with a balcony, and we were put in what seemed to be one of the only rooms on the complex without a balcony. When checking in, we were offered a pool view room for $24 a night (around £16) but we declined because of our budget. Apart from this, the room was clean and had everything we needed.

Pool - Lovely pool area, very clean, we didn't have to get up too early to find a sunbed. I went down at 9.30 and found some, but there were only 2 of us which made it easier. One bad point is the fact that whilst we were there, we saw a few people slip over by the pool, the floors were VERY slippy, especially in flip flops. We saw one man fall over and hurt himself quite badly, so be careful when walking around the pool area.

Location - Soho square is literally next to the hotel, but we weren't that impressed with it to be honest. We found a lot of the bars very overpriced which we weren't expecting, but the 35% off in the restaurants was good. One warning though, men have to wear long trousers or jeans to get into all the restaurants, and my boyfriend didn't take any. We found a number of people at the hotel were complaining about this - who wants to wear long trousers in that heat?! He ended up buying some from one of the shops on Soho square - be prepared to barter, we got 300 egp off a pair of jeans! The hotel does free shuttles to and from Naama Bay which was handy, but we only decided to go once. We ate at Hard Rock Cafe which was nice, but the resort itself is quite daunting and I didn't feel very safe there. Women would probably feel more comfortable covering their legs and shoulders to visit the resort centre.

Food - We thought this was the one thing that really let the hotel down. Breakfast was ok, and lunch was usually ok too - the pizza in the pool area are nice. Some of the food at dinner was nice, we could always find something to eat, but it was very repetitive and we only stayed for a week! It seems to just be pasta, fried fish or chicken, soup and various meat dishes - we were never quite sure what they actually were. We also both got a bit ill whilst there, but I don't think the food can be blamed entirely. Obviously, it's a different country and the heat and dehydration caught up with us as well I think.

Drinks - I think most people staying at the Sierra are all inclusive - we mainly did it for the drinks, but we weren't impressed. All drinks are served in plastic cups. There's a list of FOUR cocktails, and when we ordered the only decent looking one, the barman made it wrong anyway. We got 2 small complimentary bottles of water a day, the rest we either had to buy or get from the water fountains by the pool which gave us warm water - not great in the heat. Be prepared to buy most of your own water.

Beach - The beach is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel, and it's a very nice beach. It was never too crowded and the fish and sea life are lovely. Well worth a visit, even if you're more of a 'pool person'. The only food served at the beach (included in Sierra's all inc) was burgers and chips which weren't brilliant. Also, all drinks are served in tiny cups, not great in the heat.

Overall - We did enjoy our holiday, and for the price we paid we knew that the hotel wouldn't actually be 5* but we were probably expecting a bit more. It's just little things that stopped our holiday from being brilliant. If you get the chance, book to go quad biking through the hotel, we did and it was a great experience. One other point is the currency issue. We took mainly Egyptian pounds, but the hotel seemed to charge for rooms in Dollars, and a lot of bars charged Euros?! It was a bit bizarre.

The last thing to mention is that maybe if you can afford it, look into the Savoy hotel. Sierra is linked with the Savoy and Sierra guests get discounts off the Savoy restaurants. Everything at the Sierra (napkins, shuttles etc) all actually said 'Savoy' on them, and I think that the Savoy is a slightly larger, more up to date version of Sierra.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlist10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2010

Dear travelforpleasure91

Thank you for choosing the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh and posting your valuable review.

In regards to comment of the slippery floor by the swimming pool thank you for highlighting this matter. The hotel is always looking for ways to improve the hotel and facilities to the guests.

The drinks are served in plastic cups around the pool area for safety reasons due to the fact that people walk around bare foot. The Lobby Bar in the evenings and also the restaurant serve all the drinks in proper glasses.

Once again thank you for staying at the Sierra Resort.

Kind Regards

Sierra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

first time in egypt wanted good hotel and what a find this hotel is friendly ,ten mins from airport yes you can hear planes setting off but not to the extreme that it bothers you,very clean pools are very well kept rooms very spacious similer to ones we stayed in in vagas we never add to tip tho we did because service deserved it from the conceirge to the groundsmen soho square is very up market but not expensive sea 8 minutes to take steady walk snorkling a must me my husband and 72 yrs old mum tried it will go again only mum add to go to her room in afternoon very hot take plenty of suncream ,we never got bit either hotel spray twice a day hotel even supply free bus in to naama bay what more can you ask for sierra is a little piece of heaven while your dinning you are looking on to mount sinia we will be going again like a lot of repeat travellers

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rotherhamronnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from a week at the Sierra Hotel in Sharm. We had an absoulutely fantastic time and would not hesitate to stay there again. I read some reviews about the hotel before we travelled and they raised a few concerns. Firstly the supposed mosquito problem....we had one bite between us the whole week and that was travelling from the airport to the hotel! It really wasnt an issue at all. The food had got a few bad reiews as well but im a fussy eater and i never went hungry, there is somethin for everyone. The hotel its self is extremely clean and the majority of staff are fantastic (apart from the few who paid a little too much attention to my partner) a special mention to Wreda at the pool bar who was a great laugh. The only few things i would say that bothered us was the fact that the hotel states in many places that you can not reserve a lounger by the pool, yet if you dont have your towel down by half 8 you'll be tucked in a corner somewhere while many lay empty with towels on till gone 10.30! Secondly is just a tip really, if you plan to visit Soho square and eat out, which you should, make sure you take long trousers as they are required but they fail to tell you this until you get to any of the restaurants.
I would definately recommend the boat trip out to Ras Mohammed national park and the stargazer trip into the dessert.
Sharks bay and soho square are by the far the best place to stay in sharm espcially compared to the nightmare that is Narma Bay!!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Benni_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews