We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DITCH THE SOFAS !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #26 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

My wife and stayed here the 20th - 30th March. We have stayed in many hotels in Sharm over the years and all my comparisons relate to similar hotels, as we have found that you generally get what you pay for in Sharm.
Check In was quick, but the whole reception area is very old, with lots of dark wood furniture and old soft furnishings, although it was all very clean, except for the sofa and 2 chairs next to the cash machine, which should be put into a skip.
We had asked for a room in block 3 ( as advised on trip advisor) and we were very happy with our room ( 3401). Very large comfortable bed and large walk in shower and a lovely pool view.
Lots of English guests and we spent our days at the Adult only pool ( could have raised a Union Jack ).
All the staff were really great, with pool guy (Raphael) putting out our towels each morning. The pool barman was brilliant, remembering our drinks and bringing them round to us without being asked, so well done everybody.
Only gripe was despite having new metal sunbeds they didn't have mattresses and got very uncomfortable and you couldn't adjust the backs to suit. I noticed that they had the same beds at The Savoy Hotel, which I would have been very upset with had I had to pay their prices.
Not for us I'm afraid.
Lunch was nice at the snack bar next to the children's club, but service was erratic, although, we had a good laugh about it with other regulars.
As previously mentioned by others on trip advisor, the main restaurant and food is the biggest disappointment. The dining room reminds me of a 1980's Spanish 3*** hotel. Again dark wood everywhere and service areas unappealing. Egg station at breakfast had 2 single hotplates and chef could only use 2 small frying pans and at peak times queues quickly formed.
Evening meals were very hit and miss and we were generally disappointed, although if you like chicken and chips every night, then you'll be fine.
We did make use of the food hall in Soho Square which was part of the all inclusive package and were quite pleased with the variety and taste of the food served there. We also visited the Queen Vic on various occasions and one night had their fish and chips, which was very tasty.
For those with mobility problems this is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, with few steps and plenty of ramps in place.
Overall we had an enjoyable stay, mainly due to the lovely company and excellent staff, but wouldn't return until a refurbishment of the restaurant, reception areas have been made, as we know we can go to 3 or 4 hotels at a similar price that offer better food and facilities.

Room Tip: Stay in Block 3:
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest

It seems that you have been distracted by many things during your vacation and where not able to enjoy the many facilities of the Resort and the beauty of the destination itself .

I would however like to make it quite clear that the sun beds are not metal with no mattress as you mentioned, they are however metal framed with a super quality mesh to lie on with adjustable back and sun shade to cover your head and face, a luxury that you will not find everywhere .

Regarding to your comments about some of the furniture and restaurant being outdated, we are currently working on a general upgrading plan for all the hotel we have completed the refurbishing of 2/3rds of the hotel rooms and continuing. We do have more work to do in the resort and we put in great planning and investments to succeed , however it is no secret what the Egyptian tourism industry has suffered a great blow over the last few years, as many businesses in the field it has been a great struggle financially, even through these difficult times we have not stopped our efforts an investments to provide the best for our guests.

Thank you for your understanding
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,457)
There are newer reviews for Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,409 - 1,415 of 4,462 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

Al the reviews are about the hotel itself and the staff. Let me tell you about the Sierra hotels private beach and fantastic reef for snorkelling.

This is truly an amazing place to see almost every variety of fish you can in the Red Sea. The beach is small and well run with showers, changing rooms, toilets and a snack bar. The food is basic but enough, there is a water fountain and non alcoholic drinks from behind the bar. Wine and beer are also served. These are all included in your A.I. package.

The beach is 15 minutes walk from the hotel through Soho Sqaure and the Savoy but there is a shuttle bus running all day every day. We chose to walk.

There are planty of sunbeds, towels and umbrellas and if you are lucky RAMADAN and ELSAYED will have your sunbead ready for you each day with a smile. A small tip is acceptable. (20 egyptian pounds).

The other staff, life gaurds, AMR in particular, were great at telling you the best places to go to see particular fish. They are very friendly and speak good English. Thanks to AMR we had the privilage of swimming with a Giant Moray Eel. We also had the amazing expierience of swimming alongside a Giant Manta Ray that came right up to the swimming area one afternoon. Spectacular. This reef really is the best snorkelling we have ever had, the coral is great and the variety of fish is amazing. We had a great time every day with new things discovered each time we got in the water.

Back to the hotel, we asked for, and got, a room in Block 3 - this is more peacful and near to the adult pool. It was my birthday and a cake was delivered too. I would recommend eating in Soho square rather than the hotel buffett.

Room Tip: Block 3 is quiet and near to the adult pool
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for your lovely review and for choosing the Sierra. We are proud to learn that we provided you with a top quality holiday at a very competitive price.
We are delighted to hear that you have been impressed with our Red Sea. Many people keep coming to see the beautiful natural reefs and we are proud of it.
You don’t specify any particular complaint about the food but we select and buy the best ingredients locally and internationally and transport, store, prepare and serve them under the strictest of hygiene conditions overseen by Cristal and our own hygiene department. The temperature of the food (hot and cold) is monitored at every meal by the men in white coats who are quite conspicuous. Our menus are constantly being changed and adjusted according to occupancy. We have an entire section for desserts which includes cakes, tarts, puddings, pies, creams, jams, honey, yoghurts and fresh fruit. If we do have any guests with special dietary needs we would encourage them to have a chat with the chef to see how he can help.
Thank you for all the nice comments – we have passed your compliments on to all the staff members you mentioned and they all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Once again the management and staff made our trip a fantastic experience. They are all so
professional and take such pride in their work from the front line staff to the gardeners all are
so friendly and look after the guests so well.
We had another couple in our party this time and they too were very impressed.
We have been to many other hotels in Sharm but would not think of returning to anywhere else.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms near hotel are quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear Guest

Warm greetings from your sunny home away;
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, and for the recommendation you always extend to the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh.
We are very happy, that you had another fantastic experience with us, and we are already awaiting you for your return visit.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just returned from our 3rd stay at the Sierra. Once again, a fantastic holiday. Very well looked after. Thanks to Moller for sorting our room as we were not happy with our initial allocation. (only because we wanted the same room that we had stayed in previously or somewhere near it) Mina on the Sunset Pool bar was fantastic as he always is. Nothing is too much trouble. Even the gardeners are friendly and say good morning. Had another massage in the spa which is part of the All Inclusive, and it was amazing! This is a superb all round hotel with the added benefit of the Queen Vic pub and various other extras in Soho Square. Will be back very soon.

Room Tip: Block 3A and 3B have lovely rooms near a quiet pool
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Guest
Our warm greetings from your second home away;
We would like to thank you for having been our guest for the 3rd time, and for your positive feedback.
Moller, Mina, Gardeners, and all Sierra team are looking forward for your next say.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just arrived from a second visit to the Sierra and all i can say is its gets better and better!!!!
Having stayed in various hotels in sharm this beats all of them. I also work for a airline and have stayed in many hotels in sharm and around the world and this is one of the best and this is down to the staff, they cannot do enough for you for, and it starts from when you arrive at the hotel!!l this time we were greated with welcome home!!! which is such a lovely gesture!

The hotel grounds are lovely the food is lovely and being able to walk into soho square and sit in many of the bars and use your all inclusive band in the bars is lovely and it feels like you are not stuck in the hotel.

Would like to say a big thank you to Sheriff the hotel restaurant manager he is such a lovely man and made sure myself and my mother were looked after. Every evening with our wine was waiting for us on the table the moment we sat down!!

If you are thinking of booking this hotel do it you will not be dissapointed the hotel is classy relaxing, clean and is smaller compared to the other big hotels but this is what i feel gives it its quality and service as all the staff know you and say hello, even the gardener said goodbye as we left xxxxx excellant service Sierra cant not wait to return again xxx thank you for a amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tash2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing our hotel for the second time as a favorite destination,
We will especially be passing on your comments to Sherif, he will be delighted to learn that he was instrumental in making your holiday more memorable. Your positive comments about the service ,food , and SOHO Square are also very useful to us in maintaining a high level of service.
Looking forward to welcoming you back for your third visit in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Just back from another fantastic week at the Sierra At Sharks bay - after reading the latest reviews on the hotel all I can really do is concur with every single compliment given to the hotel and it's amazing-staff- nothing is too much trouble for them it really is ask and you will receive!! I know some people are a wee bit afraid to go to Egypt at the moment however I can assure everyone that the Red Sea resorts are absolutely safe - please support the Egyptian people by continuing to holiday here . Special thanks to my extended family at the Sierra - Tatiana/ Emad/ all the Mina's / Sobey/Milak/ Mohamed /Elia/and of course Mr Hanney I will see you all in May

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest
Your second home’ what is a great soulful start from a loyal guest.
Thank you so much for your keen support you extend to both Sierra and Sharm as a destination.
The staff will be very pleased to hear your positive mention, and we all look forward to welcoming you back in May.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Well, I have returned to Scotland after my fourth stay at The Sierra, Sharm El Sheikh and I am missing this place so much. I am going to write a pretty long and comprehensive review as I can't recommend this Hotel enough to other Travellers. This latest review is based on our recent stay with 7 fabulous friends, but I have tried to make some general comments based on my previous stays also.

Location and Arrival
The Sierra is in a fantastic location for diving, trips and exploring. It also has the huge advantage of being just off Soho Square, a sophisticated shopping, eating and entertainment hub in Sharks Bay. Across this beautiful and stylish square, the beach is a short walk, or there is even a shuttle bus to take you if you feel like being lazy!

The Sierra is located just a short drive from the Airport, but don't let the thought of planes flying overhead put you off. I have never in all the times I have stayed been woken by a plane.We were picked up in the Hotel Taxi, which is actually a great wee bus, driven by the very helpful Bishoy from the Savoy, he aided us through passport control and out into the fantastic sunshine.

If you would rather be picked up by the Sierra bus rather than waste hours of your holiday on the Coach from hotel to hotel, then Guest Relations are more than happy to sort this out for you, but please tell your Thomas Cook Rep.

There to greet us was the extremely kind and helpful Emad Ibrahim, who brought us cool drinks and fresh hot towels while we checked in. One our friends cannot be in an upstairs room due to health issues and Emad was extremely helpful in making sure the rooms could be changed. Thankyou.

Accommodation
The rooms at the Sierra are spacious and in excellent and tasteful decorative order. There is a fridge in each room, prefect for chilling our champagne for which we are legend for in the Sierra!! Tea and coffee facilities, a great range of toiletries, fluffy towels, robes and slippers are all provided to aid your relaxation and comfort. Beds are super comfortable and if you like, there is even a pillow menu for you to have exactly the good nights sleep you will need to keep up with the Sierra evenings! All rooms have a balcony or terrace for sitting out in the evening or even just to watch the world go by in the morning sun.

Facilities
There are 7 outdoor pools at the Sierra and each has its own little atmosphere going on. At the main pool there a plenty sunbeds for lazing about, a swim up bar for your Sierra Cocktails and plenty of fun for everyone with the animation team's music and games. Here there is also a sports pool, where you can enjoy volleyball or other such sports. At the Andiamo Pool, you can burn of some calories by swimming lengths of this beautiful pool, or you can just have fun splashing about or have a relaxing drink at the swim up bar. If you fancy hanging around here you can even get a range of snacks, pizzas and pastas from the Andiamo Snack bar. At the Sunset Pool, there is a relaxed atmosphere and although it is great pool and worth a swim, I like to sit here on the terrace, lovely comfy seats and a nice relaxing drink in the evening sun. My most favourite pool(s) though are away from the hub of the main pool and round behind the Spa. Here you will find the adult only quiet pool and also the salt pool. The quiet pool is the perfect place for relaxing, reading and chatting with your friends. The bar staff here are so attentive and bring you everything you need (more about the staff later!). This pool is lovely and warm and welcome and also has a swim up bar! This area always has the sun throughout the day and spectacular views over the South Sinai Mountains. The salt pool is also located at this part of the hotel. I love the salt pool. although you have to be quite brave to just get in, once you are it is the perfect place to cool down after a bake in the sun, it improves your tan also and is especially good if you have been attacked by the mosquitos! in addition to these outdoor pools there is also an indoor pool in the Spa. I would encourage everyone to have a massage or treatment in the Spa. You do get a voucher for a free massage but go for a full body massage for one hour and you will not regret it. Spa is wonderfully relaxing, sauna, steam room and new Jacuzzi is just being built. You will get a voucher to use the spa facilities as they only let a few people in at a time so it is never too overcrowded, perfect. But book as soon as you can after arrival as it is busy. If you want to use the gym there is one in the Spa area.

Food (Hotel)
I have always enjoyed the meals in the Sierra, but I have to say this time was the best yet. I have always felt like there was a good variety of food and something for everyone but there have been great improvements to the salads and sweets. I love kushery but I missed that night as we were out so my only request is kushery with every meal please!! Really though the food is great in the hotel and there is no need to eat out unless you want to. If you don't see anything you like please tell Guest Relations during your visit and they will do their very best to accommodate your request.

Food (Eating Out)
I love eating out as did most of our group this time, so I can recommend some of the restaurants in Soho Square, where although not part of the all inclusive, Sierra Guests get very good discounts in Soho restaurants. The Indian Restaurant in the Square is really good and excellent value for money, they also sell La Baron Champagne at a very reasonable price and so this is good for us!! We had a great meal there with attentive service and a nice atmosphere. The Chinese Restaurant is also very good with a good choice on the menu and a nice indoor air conditioned restaurant with a live camera on the coral bay which is a nice touch. Food here is great and worth a visit. The Rosemarino in the Savoy is very nice for food. I think the atmosphere is better outside in the evening rather than the indoor part. After champagne in the Safari Bar, which is a beautiful and stylish bar in the Savoy, we had a lovely meal here, again with a discount as its not all inclusive. I love the steak with green peppercorn sauce and the antipasto. We ate out on our last night at the Steak House above the Queen Vic pub. The Steak was superb, as were the huge langoustines. Fantastic and good value for money for really good well cooked steak. Great service in here too.

Bars and Drinks
There is a place for everyone at the Sierra. Down in Soho square you can enjoy drinks at the Fontana bar and in front of the main stage as part of the all-inclusive. If English Themes pubs are your thing then there is the Queen Vic (all-inclusive) and my personal favourite, the Crystal Lounge, although you can get some all inclusive drinks in here, treat yourself to champagne or cocktails. I can recommend the Manhattans and they are not that expensive and quite good value compared with city cocktail bars back home. In the hotel after dark the lobby bar is the place to be, either inside with the friendly and fantastic bar staff or outside on the Shisha terrace. They have some great live entertainment some nights, but if not they have some background music playing. Only one thing maybe could improve the atmosphere in here and that would be a wider variety of background music on the nights there is no entertainment as everyone loves a little dance after dark! Have a apple shisha as they are the best in my opinion.

General
Sierra is fantastic. I have tried to be as honest as I can with this review and so I hope others will read this and experience the unique service and welcome you receive at the Sierra. If I could make one suggestion and that would be for the Sierra to consider giving free Wi-Fi to guests in the Hotel rather than free Wi-Fi in Soho square. I would love to be able to post pictures to my facebook friends and upload to Trip Advisor while I am in the hotel, rather than struggle to get onto it in the Square. But really this hotel is paradise and I am very sorry I'm not there now.

Special Mentions....
Tatiana - Thank you for everything you and your team at Guest Relations do to make everyone feel so special and at home in the Sierra, you are fantastic and the Sierra are lucky to have you to aid their guests.

Emad - It is so nice to see your welcoming face when we arrive at Sierra and it is like being welcomed home. Thanks so much

The Best Bar Staff in The World - Mina Nady, Malek, Mina-in-a-Can, Emad Alomda, Elia Fathy, Hanny at the Queen Vic, Sobhy, Bahar, Kerlos, Bishoy and Ahmed the Shisha Man. Thanks for everything. You are a credit to the Hotel and very special!

Mohamed Fared - Lifeguard - Thankyou so much for looking after me and my friends all week. Everything you did for us was so kind and amazing. We loved talking with you everyday and you really looked after us so well. Keep practicing your Scottish, it is very good ye ken! Thanks also to your colleague Roffael for looking after us too, it was nice to see you.

Karema in the Spa - Thank you so much for my amazing massage, you really have a wonderful healing and soothing touch and I felt so amazing and relaxed afterwards. Thanks

Mr Haney - It was so nice to see you again and we were very happy you made it back from vacation in time to say hello to us. Thank you for saying goodbye and waving us off on our last day. Hopefully we will see more of you next time.

I hope to see you all again very soon my lovely Sierra family. Miss you all so much. xxxx

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,446 reviews
0.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,265 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#69 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,271 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#25 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $81 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures.For more details please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing