We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous stay at the Sierra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #26 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is our 2nd visit to this hotel we stayed here in November 2012.

We were greeted and remembered from our stay in November by several staff which was so lovely as they see hundreds of people each week .

Start at the top ,check in swift and great as per usual with a cold drink and towel ,we had a pool view room in the same block as last time only this time was an upper floor with balcony overlooking main pool .

As always spotless room thanks to our housekeeper.

Mina Ebeed recognised us right away when we nipped around to the adults only pool , as always with Mina we had A1 at sunbed service every day of the 11 nights we stayed when we were around the pool , this bar is run like clock work when he's on duty ,he remembers my white coffee at just after 10 am every day I never have to ask this guys is blessing and major asset to the hotel .

Sobhy again when he came back from leave was delighted to see us and again we had A1 service at the lobby bar from him and the lovely lovely Emad .

Good to see a couple of small changes in the food this time ,goe's to show they DO listen to comments and feedback !!!.

Again we always were well fed ,we saw the hygiene specialist checking the heat/food quality etc etc and can say only one occurance where I said the soup could have been hotter .

Reception as again fabulous service from the delightful George nothing was trouble we had a couple of daft things on the room ,a shower door that sounded like it would come of the hinge was fixed in a jiffy ,mossie plugs supplied on demand and he arranges everything with a great big smile on his face THANK YOU George sorry I didnt see you this time to say goodbye ...... so does that mean I have to hurry back ????.

We used Akhuna a couple of times ,its still not 100% in there but the Mexican food as others have commented was Good !!!. Akhuna still needs work but I know the hotel are always liasing to try improve the guest experience .

So all in all we had a lovely stay we did go down into Naama Bay but would not choose to stay down there we have definately picked thr ight hotel and area to stay in ,Sharks bay and Soho sq are some much more chic and upmarket and we didnt find the prices in Naama favourable !!!!.

We would 100% return to the hotel ,and cannot thank the staff enough for all they do /did for us we are treated with great warmth and respect and given 100% service !!!!!!!.

Also a mention for Guest service and Janel in particular thanks for looking after us and for the lovely flowers we had in our rooms and the cakes even though we couldnt eat them all !!! it was a nice touch .

Maybe see you later this year and a very very big thankyou to all the staff behind the scenes .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulaholspls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank for this detailed and precise review of your recent stay at the Sierra. It takes an immense amount of work to run a hotel and it’s truly a delight when people notice that things have changed for the better since their previous visit and realize that we have listened and that we do take notice of our guests’ comments and suggestions. We are always looking to make improvements for our guests and your feedback is just one of the systems we have in place.
You mentioned the hygiene man going around. Please note that this hotel is unique in that we have a special department called OSHA (Occupational Safety and Health Administration) to monitor and control all food and beverage handling processes. Their specialist checks include restaurants, storage sites, staff, stores, materials and food samples to ensure the proper handling of food production. So he will be checking all buffet items, hot and cold, every breakfast, lunch and dinner.

We are sorry to hear that your trip to Naama Bay was not a great success and that the prices down there were not that good either. But we are happy that your experience there made you realize that you had made the right choice in staying at the Sierra and right next to Soho Square.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to see the improvements we have made since your last trip.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,457)
There are newer reviews for Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,843 - 1,849 of 4,462 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Well what can I say sierra sharm is in the best area soho square where you have bars shops ice rinks bowling etc something for everyone not a dull moment

Lets start with the guest relations you have jenell girl with curly hair from London an tatiana whom are very helpful an always happy to help a special thanxs to jenell even when she was off work she arranged a KFC to be delivered to our hotel an rang from her phone after bumping in to her on the town now I've been to many resorts hotels etc an it's not every day a that you can just ask random stuff an have your questions answered an sorted so to all the guest relation team thank you so much from ZAFRAN an Ramiz an Kasam an Tara from Birmingham

The rooms are great we had one on the adult side which was room number 3015 then we had one on the ground floor 1415 which was great right by the pool an close to the bar both the rooms were clean tidy the cleaners are their every day towels changed every day bedding as well water bottles everyday tea etc what ever u want they will give you just ask an they will help you

I found the food ok Although a few people one in our group was a vegetarian an was not fully satisfied with the variety but they also have restaurants in soho square mataata in particular had some nice dishes breakfast they make you fresh omelettes an fried eggs sunny sides up lol an scrambled an boiled eggs I would say the good was great some people are just not satisfied end of

The pools are great I liked the indoor pool nice an quiet for the shy peeps like my self an you can enjoy the guys working out in the gym as well a great view the animation team work very hard an are up all hours to try an make your holiday a great experience an enjoyable time

I personally have had a great time it's a safe clean environment for family's couples an divas I cannot wait to go back an re live a week of fun sun sea an great hospitality from all

Oh an Barmen YUOSSAF Osama Ahmed a few to mention the guy on the beach their all amazing always happy to help you

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hairypakilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you had such a wonderful; time at the Sierra resort. All those members of staff that you mentioned will receive points towards prizes. They will also be smiling from ear to ear. You found that there is a pool to suit everybody here so if the animation is not your cup of tea, there is a quiet pool where you can relax. There are also lots of food outlets so the choice is excellent with a live station at breakfast offering eggs any way you like them. You mentioned the entertainment at Soho Square just next door. Lots to do there during the evening so, as you said, there is never a dull moment.

I’m sure your lovely memories will keep you going until you come back to visit us once again.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just come back from Sharm El Sheikh, holiday was fantastic, the hotel was very good but the staff were really friendly, they couldnt do enough for you . I want to say a big thank you to Sobhy he was our waiter also to Ahmed he looked after our sunbeds, elsayed he is getting married,I wish him all the very best and Janel she is a lovely girl , she is the guest relations adviser .
I can not wait to go back and see everyone again. The hotel was like home from home.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for the lovely sentiment towards our staff. They will be delighted that they got a personal mention. We know full well that the staff can make a huge difference to someone’s holiday so we go the extra mile to ensure that they are well-trained, well-cared-for and happy. And I think it shows – especially when we get such nice comments and promises to return.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our first time at this hotel and probably our 8th/9th visit to Egypt. We enjoyed our week at the Sierra and found the staff here very friendly and everyone we came in contact with had a smile. In particular, Mino Eteef at the adults pool bar, Sharif who cleaned our room, 1506, and the two towel guys down at the beach.
Although we have given the Sierra a 4* rating above we would not return for two reasons. We are nearing 60 and like a bit of padding on our sun loungers and secondly, apart from the main restaurant the lunch time selection at the various stations was poor and stodgy.
Our friends who came with us were first timers to Egypt and loved it and they will be returning!!

Room Tip: Not our room, 1506, as right opposite the night time entertainment!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan.crooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in the Sierra Resort. The members of staff that you mentioned will be very happy and will receive points which will go towards prizes.

Our sun loungers around our 8 pools are high quality, lightweight, aluminium-framed loungers with built-in face screens which can be tilted back when not needed. They are very comfortable and this is the first complaint that we have on record.

With regard to the lunch, I would remind you that apart from the extensive range of buffet items available at lunchtime in the Mountainview restaurant, there is a live pasta station offering a range of freshly cooked pasta with a variety of sauces - and pasta is widely regarded as a very healthy food. In addition to this there is a salad bar and a fresh fruit bar so there really is an excellent array of health goods for those who want it. There is also a bread and pastry section and a good selection of cakes. Around the pools there are several snack bars offering hamburgers and pizzas.

Next to the Sierra in Soho Square there is Akuna Matata, our food cellar with seven different outlets offering pizza, noodles, hamburgers, falafels, fish ‘n’ chips, fetter and tapas. Your board basis also allows you 35% discount on all the other food outlets in Soho Square.

We are delighted that your friends are looking forward to returning soon and we, in turn, look forward to welcoming them back to the Sierra Resort.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Our first time & stayed in mid April for a week. Upon arrival the check in was a bit slow, reception was cold & unwelcome. We been allocated to room 6757 on link 6 block, with a corner view of pool but right in front is the children play ground. Room was very tire & in need of redecoration/re-modernize, bathroom was even worst not only in need of a very good clean but all ties need replacing. We complaint immediately as we booked for a Deluxe pool view room with king size bed, after 5mins with reception they came back 20mins later with new set of key & moved us to room 3418 but it was a twin beds!!!

Again we complaint but reception claimed we didnt booked that & hotel were fully booked, so we have no choice but to stay in this room as it was getting late & we insisted they will need to move us to kingsize bed room. This link 3 block all rooms were newly renovated with spacious room & massive bathroom with an large walk in show. millions time better than the first room allocated to us. We felt the hotel intentionally giving the poor room & hoping no one complain & able to get away with it. As my partner & I work in the industry, hence we know some unprofessional hotel will try it on.

Next morning we decided not to move since we already here & the room was very nice with a large pool right outside our door & pool bar was right in front too. The reception never contact us again about moving us to kingsize room even after they promise will do so next day.

Apart from the poor service & unwelcome cold reception (even a day before we check out, we went to front desk for our room extension & we still received same treatment), overall the hotel waiting staff in restaurant, bar, lounge, pool side were all excellent & you cant find any fault as they always so please to serve you, and the drinks never stop coming. Foods & drinks were good selection with a great selection of restaurant/bar around Soho Square that's in the all-in package. Dont forget the free neck & shoulder massage you need to book as early as possible, as it get book up very quick. We arrived on Sunday, went there on Tuesday & only able to book it for sat noon (only time available)!

We had a great time & met some fun, good people who's also holiday there. only thing is the area are full of Russian,if you dont want to get up earlier to put tower on to secure sun bed, tips the pool boy...

Room Tip: avoid rooms in Link 6, all very old after we spoken to so people who's staying in those rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor and for giving us 5/5. Clearly, any misunderstanding was soon put to rest as you did enjoy yourselves. Your reservation was for a standard pool view room and you were accommodated accordingly. If there is any issue with this we suggest you discuss it with the travel agent with whom you booked your holiday. Most of these rooms are with twin beds and the hotel was running at 100% occupancy at the time so it was hard from the beginning to fulfill your request immediately for a change of room. To suggest that all the tiles in the bathroom needed replacing perhaps means that you didn’t like the colour because we have checked the room – it is fine.

Regarding the reception staff, we take your comments seriously and the Front Office manager will investigate. We have our own in-house training academy here at the Savoy Group and we will run some more training on etiquette and attitude to ensure that all our staff give the best quality service all the time. You will see from other reviews that we frequently get a lot of lovely compliments about our staff.

With regard to the other guests at the Sierra, we have a broad ethnic mix of British, Russians, Ukrainians, Italians, Dutch, Germans and a whole host of other nationalities and we treat each and every one of them with the respect that our guests deserve.

We are delighted that you had a good time with us and met some good people. It has been our pleasure to host you and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just returned from a lovely week at the Sierra.This was my third visit to Sharm and this hotel was so much better than the previous hotels I have stayed in.We booked this hotel mainly due to the positive comments on trip advisor and it's location and it was a great choice.The staff are the nicest and most helpful that I have ever come across at any hotel anywhere in the world.The hotel is very clean and our room was spacious and comfortable.The food was fine not outstanding but plenty of choice and we could always find things we liked and if we didn't like it go and get something else instead simple!!..The pools were lovely and we could always get a sunbed..we avoided the main pool as it was a bit noisy and crowded but for space and peace and quiet there was plenty of room at one of the other pools.If you wanted a particular spot at a pool each day for a small tip the pool boy would put the towels out for you early in the morning! We noticed some people doing this.Overall the staff and the location make this hotel..Don't go expecting 5 star luxury you need to pay a lot more money and stay in the Savoy for that! But it still is a great hotel..The Mosquitos at night were a real problem you don't feel like you are getting bitten at the time so put on lots of insect repellent..loved it at the Sierra would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerryahomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the very positive review of your stay with us at the Sierra. We always like to hear that our hotel was better than the others that people have stayed in.

We have 8 pools to choose from – each with a different ambience. We are happy that you found the one to suit you. Not everybody wants the animation team around the pool and that is exactly why we like to give our guests the choice.

The mosquitoes in Sharm have been a bit of a nuisance but they are seasonal and are kept under control by fumigating all the garden areas twice daily, morning and evening. Furthermore, we provide plug-ins and personal sprays free of charge upon request.

Again, we are so pleased that your holiday lived up to expectations and that our staff are “the nicest and most helpful that you have ever come across at any hotel anywhere in the world”.

We’d love to have you back.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from our third stay at this hotel......booking our fourth for September asap. Yet again another great holiday. Staff are brilliant, I think the only time we stopped laughing was when we were asleep. For us it is a sociable time as the staff have become firm friends. Always pleased to see you, always happy to help. Very genuine people who want you to have the best time possible. All staff work very hard, from housekeeping to reception staff. The lovely room decorations we received on a daily basis were beautiful and very much appreciated. I have never experienced such happy staff, always a smile on their faces, even when working such long hours. I have to mention a few who made our staff extra special. Islam Noaman on reception, his english is excellent and his sense of humour makes our days special. Listening to him converse with all nationalities astonishes me, but it is very reassuring to know he speaks such good english, any problem to him is not too small or too big. I think if he could wave a magic wand he would, he really does care about his guests, but all reception are very approachable unlike some of the hotels I have stayed in. Mina Ebeed on the sunset pool bar, works constantly from the minute he starts work to cleaning up when the bar closes. Constantly coming round asking if we want anything. Roffeal Nessem - life guard - well he is family, he has to be the nicest, most caring sensitive person I have met, even though he worked on the salt pool and we stayed on the Sunset he always looked after us during our morning dip in the salt pool, he could not do enough for us, he treated us like royalty. He is a lovely, lovely man without a bad bone in his body. Elsaid Fawze, another lovely life guard, always a smile on his face. Hazem Fayed from the pool bar, such a lovely character, cheeky chappie with a heart of gold. Always made us laugh, big character, hard worker. All staff are brilliant though, I just cannot mention them all. The hotel is brilliant and location second to none on Soho Square with nightly live entertainment. We love the hotel, the rooms and communal areas are spotless, the gardeners work hard to keep the place looking pretty and tidy. The pools are like steeping into a bath (except salt pool). You feel spoilt from the minute you check in to boarding the plane home. I don't know how the Savoy Group do it but their staff are second to none. Keep it up guys and see you in September. Thank you, thank you. thank you, for yet another brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatzakioraSphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra_Sharm, Manager at Sierra Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the glowing review of your third stay at Sierra. All those staff that you mentioned will earn points towards prizes and will be beaming from ear to ear. They love to get the mention on Tripadvisor and you’re right – we all work hard to make it look easy. But apart from our staff we have a beautiful resort with Soho Square on our doorstep. We also have the Red Sea just a short walk away or an even shorter shuttle-bus ride. There is a pontoon which stretches out over the coral reef (to protect it) and allows you to drop into the marine world of Sharm El Sheikh’s best reef. Here you will find the most diverse marine life anywhere in the world. The colours of the coral and the coral fish are simply astounding – especially if you catch them in the morning when the sun is on the side of the reef. If you don’t want to snorkel or dive you can also just enjoy yourself splashing around in the shallows or on the soft, sandy beach. It’s all very relaxing either way.

We will make sure it’s all still there for you when you come back in September.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,265 reviews
5.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#69 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,273 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#25 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $81 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures.For more details please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing