We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!! NOT A SINGLE FAULT!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #20 of 233 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It's all in the title. There was not a single fault with this hotel/resort, rooms clean, pools were clean, surrounding garden areas were clean, restaurants and other snack bars were clean. Very friendly and helpful staff. 5* treatment and call backs to room to see if everything is 'okay'. The resort is amazing with Soho Square and the private beach within walking distance even though there is a bus service to the beach. We did book our package with Kiss FM (25.06.12-02.07.12) and they hosted every night we stayed at the hotel so I suppose some of the other people who stayed at the hotel didn't enjoy their holiday as much as we did due to the loud music and other general banter. We booked a trip by plane to Cairo with a 3rd party travel agent for £125 and as our flight was at 04.30 the hotel provided us with a breakfast box to take with us. I suppose the only downside was the price of the excursion with the hotel (£220) but that is understandable and is up to the individual to do their own research.
I do advise to book Premier-All-Inclusive as this will give you more discounts within Soho Square.

Room Tip: We (three 26 year olds) stayed in a second floor triple room and it was a perfect size. Book Premie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jsingh28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on trip advisor. We are pleased you have described your holiday as amazing. We aim to ensure excellent service and standards in all areas of the hotel and it seems you certainly got this. As you have mentioned with our Premium all inclusive guests also enjoy drinks in to bars in Soho Square and 35% discount in Soho restaurants. It is however unfortunate that you found your excursion so expensive, we encourage people to check all prices with local agent and companies before booking as these are not part of the Sierra Hotel. Excursions are booked via sales desks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,261 - 2,267 of 4,757 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2012

Following all the good reviews of this hotel we were really looking forward to our visit, unfortunately no one told us Kiss FM were going to be in Sharm the same week so the hotel was full of young people looking to drink and party 24 hours a day.
Lets start with the positives.
This is a lovely hotel which is maintained to a very high standard. The majority of the staff work incredibly hard and cannot do enough for you. In particular i would like to mention Samuel the bar man at the Oasis and Ahmed (?) the pizza man. How Ahmed works in that heat with that noise and customers being rude to him (as we witnessed often) and still maintain his great sense of humour i will never know!
the rooms are well decorated and cleaned to a high standard daily.
The Spa/gym is well equiped and the massages fabulous.
The negatives
Distance from airport - whilst sitting in the main restuarant you can watch the planes taxi ready for take off
Main pool - music very loud most of the day so it is impossible to relax. We also noted that there is only one public toilet near the pool and never a queue to use it despite all the heavy drinking from 10 am. It did cross my mind that the main pool is probably the biggest urinal in Sharm,
Oasis pool - this is intended to be for over 16 years olds only, but families were using it to escape the noise at the main pool (and who can blame them?)
Sunbeds - most (some days all) sunbeds at the Oasis have towels on them shortly after 8am but many were not occupied until a lot later in the day..
Food - only one main restuarant on site (there are other restuarants in Soho square where you can get a discount). Food was repeative despite theme nights. Service for drinls in the main restuarant was slow and we never got asked if we would like a refill.
Noise - every morning between 3 and 5 am we were woken by people coming back to the hotel speaking loudly and then having parties in their rooms.
Checkout - we had to checkout by midday at which stage our wrist bands were removed so if we wanted anything else to eat or drink we had to pay for it. i know it said this in our deal but our friends on the same package did not have their bands removed. We have been on many all inclusive holidays and never know the band to be removed before we leave the hotel.
At checkout the receptionists were asking customers if they enjoyed their hoilday. i observed a few people say no (mainly due to the noise) and they were thanked for their comment, customers who said yes were given a customer satisfaction questionaire to complete.
Finally, our coach to the airport was delayed fom leaving whilst they looked for a customer who hadn't settled their bill. The mystery was resolved when someone advised that the customer in question was still in their room on a drip!
i am sure if this had not been a Kiss FM week i would feel more positive about the hotel but this was not the relaxing week i had paid for!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianking006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Sierra management would like to apologize that you did not enjoy your holiday as much as you should have. We appreciate that you have shared your comments and we would like to assure you that we take all comments seriously. As this was the week that the hotel hosted the Kiss FM party I’m sure you can appreciate things were a little different than usual at the hotel.

The music at the main pool is not usually so loud and usually the animation team controls this which means we have some music in the morning and afternoon only allowing time for people to relax during the day. As noted we do also have quiet areas in the pool and we have 8 swimming pools to choose from, we appreciate that these became busy as so many people tried to find quiet areas.
Our lifeguards work very hard to supervise our pools as you probably noticed there is extra attention on the main pool, so as much as we cant guarantee we find it unlikely people would have used the swimming as a toilet. There are toilets situated just inside the main hotel, toilets outside and as you would be aware most rooms are next to the pools making it not far to walk to get back to your room for such things as the toilet.
Regarding the noise in the evenings the hotel’s team did their best to manage. As our aim was to ensure other guests continued to enjoy their holiday
It is hotel policy to remove all wristbands from guests on check out at 12pm; Wristbands can be kept until departure at a small cost. Your friends may have paid the charge or the hotel would have had other reasons for them keeping the bands. All our customers are asked to fill in a departure questionnaire where you have the chance to pass on your positive and negative comments, these comments are checked and monitored by all departments in the hotel and action is taken, I’m sure you are also aware that it is part of receptions job that on departure they ask each guest if they enjoyed there holiday.
bad stomach and dehydration which can usually result in being put on a drip for a few hours, this is especially given to people who are due to fly home to help them rehydrate quickly, once again this could have happened to any guest and may not have been someone who was part of the Kiss FM group.
Once again Sierra are very sorry it was not the holiday you had hoped for, we sincerely hope you will return to the hotel in the future and we are almost certain it would be the relaxing, peaceful holiday venue that you think it should be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Location
I can’t understand why more people have not mentioned the location of this hotel! I’m astonished! The front gates of this hotel face the perimeter fence of the airport. I was extremely disappointed that there was no mention of this in the brochure as it may have made me re-consider my choice of hotel. Laying by the pool you could see planes taking off and landing. It was annoying at times if you were nodding off as it was quite noisy. I think maybe the people who have reviewed before obviously sat at the main pool where the noise of the aircraft is probably drowned out by the pumping tunes!!

The hotel is not beach front. When booking this was a sacrifice I was willing to make given the facilities which were advertised. One thing I didn’t appreciate was just how hot and humid it would be. So in principal it was fantastic that there was a minibus which ran up and down every half hour to the beach from 0830 til 5.30 but in reality you had to queue in 43 degrees with no shade and although the distance wasn’t far to walk we didn’t even attempt it. The beach facilities were good. There were toilets/changing rooms/beach bar serving drinks and snacks/watersports/diving school and the all important pontoon onto the coral reef. House reef was great for snorkelling.

Grounds & Facilities
Staff were excellent. Couldn’t do enough for you. As with many hotels in Egypt there is an exuberant animation team but thankfully they are banned from harassing people who choose to spend their time at the quiet pool. That said, given the deafening sound of the music from the main pool, the quiet pool wasn’t all that quiet!!! The quiet pool barman Ehmad was excellent, providing waiter service all day coming round asking what we would like and remembering and bringing round about 30 drinks at a time. Excellent service. If you like it busy the main pool had the usual water aerobics/volleyball/games etc. on a daily basis.

Grounds were well maintained, sprayed twice daily for mossies etc. There were a few quiet corners with comfortable seating you could escape to. Our room was clean and recently decorated however I felt it had too much furniture crammed in to it which meant that there was not a lot of space. There was an armchair between one bed and the balcony doors which had to be clambered around when you wanted to pass by. Cleaning staff were fantastic and rooms were immaculately kept. TV in the room with a few British channels including BBC world news and CNN.

Evening entertainment was available in the bar with bingo/singers etc. They also showed the Euros on big screens in rooftop bar. Shisha available on the terrace outside the main bar.

Restaurants
Good selection of restaurants which were never overly busy and there wasn’t the mad dash to get to the main restaurant for opening time which I have experienced when staying Egyptian before. Choice in the main restaurant was fairly good, as long as you aren’t fussy. Breakfasts are omelette station/fruit/cereals/porridge/toast/waffles/pancakes/beans/sausages etc. Didn’t go to the main restaurant for lunch so not sure what was offered. For evening meal I was surprised they didn’t offer things like baba ganoush, humous and tahini. Starters were a bit limited with just a couple of soups and salad. Theme nights every night of the week inc Chinese/Russian/British/BBQ. Decent selection on offer. No chips etc so if you don’t like to try different things you may be better to eat elsewhere on site. The main restaurant could also have done with some ice-cream for dessert. If you don’t like petit fours (which I don’t) then the only other option on the nights we ate there was fruit.

During the day beside the main pool there was a gazebo where a chef prepared mini pizzas while you waited, these were a lovely snack. There was another gazebo where you could get burgers, grilled chicken fillet sandwiches or tuna sandwiches and also chips. This was open between about 12 and 5 if you didn’t want to get dressed to go into the main restaurant. Lunch was also available at places in Soho Square but we didn’t try that so I can’t comment on what was on offer. Ice cream available only from main pool between 3 and 5. Bit of a pain that they didn’t offer these at the other pool bars or before 3pm, and they enforced the times!!
Other accessible restaurants are outwith the hotel grounds in Soho Square. This is only a 2 minute walk out of the back of the hotel. We ate in Akuna Matata which is the restaurant people in previous reviews refer to. It’s an underground hall which is similar to shopping centre food courts with several counters with menus up on boards. Food is either BBQ/fish/Chinese/Moroccan/pizza/Egyptian. You can order starters and mains from different places which is good and all food is prepared to order. I think this is perhaps the best option for families as it offers the most in terms of choice. The BBQ offered things like burgers/half roast chicken/hot dogs and chips for people who don’t like to try more adventurous food. Pizzas were stone baked and very good.

I would have to agree with previous reviewers that my favourite restaurant was Cafe Chino. This is a Lebanese restaurant which is also in Soho Square. An example of food there is starter of hummus or tahini with delicious freshly made flat breads and Mains of lemon and garlic marinated chicken kebabs with rice or mixed grill which consisted of veal, lamb kofta and chicken kebab with rice and salad. It may not be for everyone as it has much more of a cafe feel with the decor etc. It was, in my opinion, definitely the best food we ate whilst there so I would recommend you give it a try.

Just to pick up on the issue of dress code. There are signs in the main restaurant indicating there is a dress code of long trousers and no sandals for men in the evening. However while we were there this was definitely NOT enforced. The only places we noticed the dress code being enforced was the paying restaurants in Soho Square.

SOHO SQUARE
Soho square itself isn’t actually a square! It’s a street! It separates the Savoy which is a beachfront hotel from the Sierra which is behind and is part of the same chain. The street is manned by security at either end, cars are charged to drive along the street so most don’t come through. People from hotels further along Sharks bay also come in and use the facilities. The street consists of a selection of modern Egyptian shops (clothes/bags/knickknacks etc), a traditional shopping bazaar, HSBC bank, duty free shop, movenpick ice cream shop, a supermarket, juice bar, Ice bar (closed for refurbishment), Ice rink, Culturama which was like a cinema showing cultural films. There was a large outdoor bar called Fontana which was one of the all-inclusive bars which faced one of two outdoor stages showing nightly entertainment (mostly singers/bands). There is also a nightclub and a selection of other restaurants which are not included in the all-inclusive package. Just off the street is the Queen Vic pub which is part of the all-inclusive package, and a ten pin bowling alley.

ISSUES
This will not affect all travellers so please bear this in mind. There was building work outside being carried out behind block 6 which was where we stayed. This involved grinding concrete from 8am til 8pm. Another guest mentioned they had been told it was another swimming pool being constructed. It was extremely noisy and could be heard above the noise of the air con/TV. Now I know you don’t go on holiday to stay and your room, but I also like to relax and not set an alarm in the morning and get up when I would naturally wake. There was no danger of this here! I know from speaking to others they had no such issues, so if you are travelling soon I would say don’t let this put you off, but do not accept a room in block 6.

There was other building work going on beside the Queen Vic, noise wasn’t the issue here. There are contractors who cut through the hotel a couple of times per day. You will know who they are immediately as all hotel workers wear uniforms with the Savoy/Sierra Logo. These men have red security badges but are wearing scruffy dirty clothing. I noticed that one of the workers was videoing the ladies in their swimming costumes by the pool using his mobile phone. I think this was completely unacceptable and made me feel extremely uncomfortable.

Overall
Its location, not being beachfront would probably be the main reason I wouldn’t choose to go back to this hotel, no other reason. Facilities are excellent, so if you aren’t fussed about going to the beach then I would definitely go and give it a try. Although I commented about the aircraft noise you cannot hear this at the beach! Staff can’t do enough for you and really appreciate a tip as they are so poorly paid. Soho square makes it unique from some other hotels where you are stuck in your grounds with nowhere to go unless you take a taxi to Naama Bay. Having Soho Square on your doorstep makes you feel like you can get out for the evening.

Room Tip: Avoid Block 6 at the moment due to building work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mugs-and-Nick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 3, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for posting your valuable review. We are always keen to hear the guests’ feedback in order to improve our service your feedback is very much appreciated.

Sierra is located 6 km from Sharm El Sheikh International Airport. This information is available in our website and communicated to our entire business partner.

Concerning the noise from the main pool, actually, we have 8 swimming pools in different parts of the Resort; therefore, the noise can be heard hardly.

Regarding the Sierra Beach, it is a walk through Soho Square; however we have a complimentary shuttle bus that runs from morning time till sunset every half an hour there and back also. If you prefer to walk, it takes approximately 5-7 minutes.
The room which you were allocated is a standard room, we would not call our room small – our standard rooms have on average 25 square meters. Each room has air-conditioning, complimentary safe, TV, telephone, cable/ Wi-Fi internet connection, tea & coffee making facility, bathrobe and slippers – all of this is complimentary and in our opinion not every hotel offers such facilities/services. Pillow menu is available and the guests may choose the most suitable pillow. The back seat of the chairs in the rooms have soft textile.

In regards to the comment on food at the Sierra we serve a wide variety of food for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Every day there will be a meat option such as beef or veal, a chicken and a fish option. There is a selection of rice, potatoes and freshly cooked pasta to order. In addition to this there is a wide selection of salads, bread and desserts. Each evening in the restaurant there is a different theme such as oriental, English, Italian, international and a BBQ night. We try to cater for all food tastes and nationalities. Moreover, we provide a free dinner at Akuna Matata (SOHO square food seller) which is including several restaurants inside such as: Pizza, Chinese noodles, BBQ, local food, international and sea food. Furthermore Café Chino (Lebanese Restaurant) is also available complimentary of evening meal. We heard a lot of positive comments regarding both alternatives for dinner. The restaurant staff are more than happy to fulfil your requests if you inform them. We are surprised that you didn’t find Egyptian food such tahini that, actually, is available daily in the salads buffet.
Concerning the ice cream, we appreciate your advice as the Sierra Management always works on improving the service.

Please be informed that there is no building work on the link 6, it was just soft touch up by the pool area closer to link 6, when you informed Guest Relations team, you got an apology and free late check out as a courtesy.

Regarding the workers at the Soho Square, as soon as you reported to Guest Relations team, all need actions have been taken.

Concerning the dress code in the restaurant, if you saw few people in shorts, just because they got the food from the main buffet, however, they are sitting on the terrace where the dress code is not obligatory.

We sincerely hope that we will be able to welcome you back at the Sierra in the future and change your opinion about our hotel.

Best regards,
Sierra Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

just back from a week away with my girlfriend and we did not want to leave. cant say enough about the staff who were brilliant all the time we were there especially a lifeguard Aziz and one other (dont know his name but top guy) and the top waiter in all of Egypt, Sameh Adel...Sam the man! all genuine people who cared alot about the people staying in the hotel and helped make the holiday as good as it was.
met some very nice people whilst there as it is a very friendly atmosphere at the hotel where everybody talks to everybody.
soho square is brilliant and just outside the hotel. definietly get to the restaurand "akuna matata" and the "fontana bar".
will be going back in a few years time...one of few places i would happily go every year!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

lovely hotel with staff that could not do enough for you .check in very quick.suitcases taken to your room ..room cleaned every day with clean towels flannels slippers and dressing gowns provided.towels provided for the pool or the beach.plenty of sunbeds around all the pools.nice seating areas around the pools and outside the restuarant.food was good with enough choice for most people.plenty of snacks in the afternoon.cornetto ice creams between 3 until 5.bar staff made sure you always had a drink.i have never stayed in a hotel with such friendly helpful and cheerful staff that work really long hours.soho square is really nice with a lovely water fountain also good that you can use your all inclusive in some bars and eating places in soho square.i have not a bad word to say about this hotel even although i had the dreaded bad tummy that alot of people get in egypt .some advice dont bother with imodium go straight to the pharmacy
and get egyption medication imodium does not work

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Enjoying the sun, in our fab hotel, hotel is relaxed with friendly staff on hand. Good hotel entertainment, and right next to soho square for shops and night life, so you can relax my the pool, or beach by day and enjoy a few drinks at night. Rooms good size, food good, and a few pools to lounge by - would recommend if you want a bit of everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank livelifeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

This was our 3rd visit to the Sierra and we absolutely love it! The friendly and helpful staff are what make this holiday so great. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the rooms are nice and have everything you need. The pools are amazing and there are plenty of sunbeds. The food is fine, even for children and fussy eaters like me! Soho square is great if you fancy a change and the bowling, Ice skating and culturama are worth a visit. We love this place so much and it really does feel like returning home when we get there. We are now saving to return again!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minniemouse321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#37 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,723 reviews
4.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#2 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
Hilton Sharks Bay Resort
#66 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
7,533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#4 of 233 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Sharm El Sheikh

Address: SOHO Square, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#14 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#20 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#27 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#60 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $79 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sierra Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short drive from Sharm El Sheikh international airport and Na'ama Bay, the Sierra Sharm El Sheikh hotel is the perfect destination for those who want to explore the Red Sea and beyond or alternatively kick back and relax. The Sierra Sharm El Sheikh is superbly located next to Soho Square where you will find a variety of restaurants and bars, ten pin bowling, ice skating rink, the Ice Bar, daily entertainment shows and live bands. This is an exciting destination with enviable all year round temperatures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sierra Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing