We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All inclusive or ultra.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
Ranked #20 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
1 review
“All inclusive or ultra.”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hi this is a message for the hotel

I stayed here in March 2008 (I had my birthday in a cabana on the beach on 6th march) and am planning a trip back this year in September but would like to know what the altra all inclusive includes before I book.

Also how much does the ultra all inclusive cost if booked at the hotel we I arrive?

Also can you up grade to club Rotana when you arrive this would just be for the purpose of breakfast.

I don't think you'll be able to answer my next question but is it possible to tell me what room I stayed in we had a beautiful room which faced the sea and pool area which you could sit outside off and see the beautiful gardens I think it was below reception level.

Thank you Lorna

Room Tip: Fantastic holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lornafrancis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us and for choosing our resort to spend your next vacation. It is only through your valuable comments that we can continue to improve our products and services for you our valued guests.

With reference to your inquiries regarding the reservation formula and room blocking and for such details, appreciate to contact us directly at grand.resort@rotana.com and it will be our pleasure to assist you in all your inquiries.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Rotana. We look forward to welcoming you once more to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,

Azmi Sami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,096
    373
    131
    67
    51
See reviews for
618
558
72
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We visited the Rotano Grand Resort & Spa – Sharm in November (booked through Thomas Cook). Driving up to the entrance it all looked very grand & checking in went without any problems although no-one was waiting with the usual welcome drink. Our room was outside of the hotel complex but was spacious and clean although needed refreshing. Supplying you with the usual dressing gowns & slippers (nice touch). The hotel itself could do with refurbishing (looking very tired, in great need of some tlc). All staff were their usual friendly selves always out to please you – very helpful & accommodating. The hotel was only 30% occupied so there was more than sufficient sun beds available & Amgad the towel man always ensured we had our desired space complete with towels awaiting our arrival. The music around the pool started off very relaxing until 10 am when the ‘Good Morning, Good Morning’ by Doris Day would ring out, initially a fun way to start your day, but after 2 weeks listening to the same tape over & over throughout the day (did get on your nerves) also make sure you don’t sit in the middle area of the pool as on one side you would have that in your right ear & music from the Italian in your left. The A la carte restaurants were excellent too only problem was that this was not part of the” All inclusive” package – allowing only 1 visit per weeks stay, further visits incurring a charge. The restaurant unfortunately was not up to our expected standard. Food there was cold & after 3 days repetitive. We did take it up with the customer relations lady who agreed to take it up with the hotel kitchen staff. For a couple of days the plates & food were at a hotter temperature. Unfortunately this was not to last & food was served up once again cold. The restaurant manager & head waiter did apologise & we were given a free meal in the Asian restaurant by way of an apology. They agreed to monitor & speak with the kitchen staff & chef. During the evenings the chefs would all come out & stand outside the serving stations not sure why (were they expecting praise for cold food - in my opinion they would have been best placed inside monitoring the food & temperatures). Food was kept hot under lamps rather than use the hot plates. Obviously due to the occupancy the food was not refreshed often enough. Tables were dirty so best time to go when restaurant first opened. Although staff were vigilant especially Gamel who looked after us, some of the staff had been laid off so there was extra pressure for them. It was also nice to get a mug for your morning cuppa. There was only one bar outside in the evening which was part of the All Inclusive, where the entertainment was also held, so did get busy of an evening, sometimes difficult to get a seat (thank goodness the hotel was not full) & was plagued with mosquitos for which they did eventually supply sprays, but if you wanted to sit & chat with friends you had the loud music to contend with. Reception bar would have been nice to sit & relax had it been available to us. After a week we did ask reception if it was possible to change rooms as we were kept awake at night by the security dogs barking all hours. They accommodated us straight away (probably because they were not full). Be warned if you are in Block 7 & beyond. By the end of the 2nd week there was a Health conference being held at the hotel, the quality & temperature of the food improved as did the choice………we were obviously not worth the effort. So if you do want to go to this hotel, my advice would be to check out if there are any events being held in order to get the best out of the hotel. Not a patch on previous hotels we have encounter in Egypt!

Room Tip: Blocks 1,2,3 were best situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Alan,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa and for taking the time to write to us. We greatly appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly strive to achieve the highest quality standards. We read your comments, with great concern and I have discussed your comments with the Departmental Managers concerned, and have personally followed up to ensure that the appropriate corrective actions are immediately taken. Hopefully you will notice the difference in quality and service during your next stay with us.



Best regards,

Azmi Sami
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I took a quick 5 nights break at the Grand Rotana between the end of Oct - early November 2013.
Although I have stayed at this hotel several times before since it opened, I always enjoy returning for some rest and relaxation.

The only down point this time around was that, the effects of the problems which have occured in Cairo have impacted on the running of the hotel ie: tourist trade affected and the number of staff employed appears to be significantly decreased which in turn puts a huge strain on the staff who are working as they appear to have to work even harder to ensure guests are catered for fully.

I expect this has been the case in all tourist resorts and is by no means a reflection on the commitment this hotel has and is making to ensure all guests have a enjoyable break which is a credit to them.

With regards to food/restaurants, there are several places to eat including a beachfront grill which literally is a direct seafront location which is very pleasant.
There is a main restaurant serving various culinary varieties and they have themed evenings so there is a decent choice of food on offer on each night of the week. They cater for breakfast lunch and dinner and my favourite is having the chef do your eggs exactly to your liking at the omelette station.

In addition, there is an excellent Indian/Chinese restaurant which has both outdoor and indoor seating which is nice as either are extremely pleasant. Meaning a choice of Modern decor within or a beautiful view of the palms and sea from the terrace area seating outdoors.

The pasta/pizza restaurant is located near the main pool area and although that may not sound appealing to some envisioning people splashing on their food!, it is positioned back from any foot traffic near the pool which is nice. Having said that, I have never experienced this hotel to feel as though anyone is getting under your feet as there is ample space and the site on which it is built is large enough to always have the feel of space.
At my last visit, they were building a new English style Pub which should now be completed, I look forward to seeing this on my next visit.

The gardens at this property are beautiful, extremely well kept and maintained by the groundsman and there is a huge main pool, along with a separate infinity pool and a children's pool along with their own play areas, all extremely well looked after and maintained. The pools are always kept clean and lifeguards are always visible which is good.

For those who like the use of gym/spa facilities, this hotel has an excellent gym and a spa with extremely well trained staff to be on hand.

Some room types need a little updating and did have the feeling of being abit run down which is easily rectifiable but for the majority, the standard is good however upon arrival to our room, I did come across soap that appeared to be used and put back into the box! This may have been due to a previous guest, however, it was not piked up by housekeeping.
The rooms themselves are cleaned daily and in general, the standard to which they are cleaned is good.

Overall, our stay was excellent, and a much need R&R break which was much needed.
I would mention that some staff have been working here for several years and you always receive an extra special welcome as they remember previous guests by name and do all they can to make your stay that bit more special which is lovely.
Osama and the staff at Silk Road restaurant are such an asset to this hotel, along with the waiters that work in the main restaurant. I would especially like to mention Nasir who I miss working in the Sky Lounge as he use to really liven up the place and use to make your time there that much more enjoyable.
Malak at Mezzaluna is also one to mention, extremely friendly and another exceptional employee.

Thank you to everyone who looked after us during our stay including management.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LailaLaila1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Laila,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only through your valuable comments that we can continue to improve our products and services for you our valued guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and share the good feelings you have experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you once more to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,

Azmi Sami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lebanon, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

very beautiful resort and great great great great service..recomend it to evryone want to vist sharm..huge pool,and jaccuzi..restaurants so yummy n deliciuos..warm atmopsher,and lovley spa..great value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharif D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Sharif,

Thank you for your kind words and we would like to assure you that your comments will be shared with all concerned departments.

we hope to see you again very soon.

Regards,

Azmi Sami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Family of 3 (young son of 18 months) stayed for 8 nights 23/12 - 31/12. We followed someone else's advice and went for the Club option rather than all inclusive - THANKS for the recommendation. This was great because of the outstanding service (thanks so much Hady, Mohammed and Reda!). We had breakfast there instead of at the big buffet, we had snacks throughout the day, non-alcoholic drinks all day and we had lunches elsewhere and weren't that hungry in the evening, we just partook in the substantial evening snacks instead of dinner most nights and had a couple of beers (all included). If your not drinking and eating a lot, this is the way to go - especially because you get a room in the best and quietest location in the resort in 'Block 1' and have wifi access in the club.

For kids - heated pools (main pool like ice this time of year), a kids club that I wouldn't leave my kid at because the Russian staff don't seem interested in kids, all other staff incredibly friendly and interested in kids, small playground also available, some things for older than toddlers on some days by the beach, great snorkelling for slightly older kids.

Food - great breakfast at the club; Ramses restaurant has pretty standard buffet fair - wouldn't ever choose to go there if I wasn't at the resort but it fills the gap (desserts provide a great reason to diet) lovely fruit; ate at Mezza Luna (Italian) once - slow and pretty tasteless but fine; Silk Road was good - restaurant level food and service this would be our pick of the bunch. Great location and views from the seafood restaurant - was good food but not amazing - good service. Ramses were very happy to make something special for our son but we didn't need it, didn't try crepes at the cafe lido but great setting.

"Beach" - loads of lovely areas to lie in the sun, hammocks, loungers etc - no problem at this time of year to find a quiet spot - best spots close to the cafe. No real beach as the coast drops off to a reef and when rough it is better to get in from the pontoon/jetty. This provides for amazing snorkelling in a limited area. There were some activities organised on one or two days when we were there but not really sure what they were.

Dive Centre - good service, great dive on the boat but you don't leave from the jetty for this you drive into town and leave from there, had a couple of dives from the jetty so I could be with family in between - worth it for a doodle about. BOOK ONLINE IN ADVANCE AND YOU WILL GET A DISCOUNT.

Great relaxing time, excellent value and brilliant service from Hady and the team. I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Lyall,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. your comments will be passed on to the team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed from 5th to 12th and thought we would us Silk Road on the second night so that we could use it again or other of the a la carte restaurants if we wanted to. The Silk Road was excellent and would have had no hesitation in returning but the food in the main buffet restaurant was so good we really didn't need to.

All the staff that we had reason to interact with were both helpful and friendly.

The occupancy level was quite low and thats a real shame because it's a nice hotel and the staff work hard to please so hope the guests return soon for you all. I am sure we will be back and no reason to look for a new place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank JBUKSOUTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Sir,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only through your valuable comments that we can continue to improve our products and services for you our valued guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and share the good feelings you have experienced.

I look forward to welcoming you once more to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa or any of our Rotana Family of Hotels in the near future.

Sincerely,

Azmi Sami
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We arrive for a 10 day stay,,our room (upgraded) was ok,,has some leaks and wood damage in bathroom.
The service and food each day was good to excellent. We used the spa facilities also,,very nice and relaxing.
The sire facilities and pools were nice,,main pool area was ice cold, very few people in it,,,
We enjoyed more views of the grounds keeping as seeing other hotels,,we had very nice views and better care,,not piles of rocks and trash at entry areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry201358134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Jerry,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only through your valuable comments that we can continue to improve our products and services for you our valued guests. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and share the good feelings you have experienced.

We place great value on your custom, and your continued relationship with Rotana. I look forward to welcoming you once more to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa or any of our Rotana Family of Hotels in the near future.

Sincerely,

Azmi Sami
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,999 reviews
4.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,237 reviews
3.5 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#60 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#26 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,113 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rotana Resort & Spa

Property: Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
Address: Sharks Bay | P.O.Box:296, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#21 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Rotana Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the idyllic shores of Sharm El Sheikh, a truly inspiring seaside destination, the 5 star hotel has its own 450 meters stretch of private beach, a stunning pool surrounded by a lush tropical landscape with over 2000 palm trees. Sharm El Sheikh is now one of the world’s most accessible resort destinations for snorkelling and scuba diving. The luxury beachfront resort is 8 Km away from Sharm El Sheikh International airport and 2 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International congress centre as well as the center of Na'ama bay with easy access to the many tourist attractions of the region. The Resort offers 526 luxurious rooms, suites and Club Rotana Executive rooms and suites in addition to 9 Royal villas with four & five bedrooms with private swimming pools. All luxury hotel guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony or terrace overlooking Tiran Island or the gardens. For dining and entertainment, the resort offers ten restaurants, bars and cafe’s catering to every taste expertly blended with the highly acclaimed award winning Rotana standards. Keep up with your fitness routine while you're away from home. The Bodylines Wellness & Fitness Club at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa Sharm El Sheikh features state-of-the-art fitness equipment and our award-winning Zen the spa at Rotana offers you tranquility and pure relaxation to balance your mind, body and soul. The Camel Dive Club is our 5* PADI centre for diving and Snorkeling within easy reach in the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Rotana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Rotana Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Rotana Resort And Spa
Grand Rotana Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing