We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
Ranked #18 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week long stay at the Grand Rotana. We had an absolutely fantastic time!!

The hotel was stunning-Great size rooms, nice bathrooms and the swimming pool and beach area were both immaculate.

We stayed as all inclusive (this is referred to as ultra all-inclusive by the hotel) and gives access to all the restaurants and the majority of the bars at the hotel. Having stayed all-inclusive in a number of top resorts/hotels, including two in the maldives, I can honestly say the quality of the food/drink and the service provided was impeccable. The drinks available to all inclusive guests included a choice of wines (yes...not just one cheap chardonnay!!) and a substantial list of well made cocktails. We particularly enjoyed the silk road restaurant which feels like a real treat and is a genuine fine dining experience. The other al a carte restaurants on offer included an italian, where again, the food on offer was great quality, varied and the staff went out of there way to be welcoming (the manager in particular was a credit to the restaurant and hotel). Lastly, the palms beach grill was our regular destination for lunch each day and we enjoyed fresh seafoods, salads and grilled meats...YUM. This restaurant also looks beautiful when its lit up at night with a view overlooking the red sea.

I do realise I've gone on about the food a bit much but I can't express enough how impressed we were, especially considering we've always been all-inclusive cynics.

Moving on from the food chat...I should also mention that you have several opportunities to work off the calories...

1: Take a walk in the extensive grounds which are constantly tended to by an army of friendly grouds staff...apparently there are 3000 palm trees!!...

2: The pool is gigantic ... so a lap a day should keep the belly away...

3: Visit the gym and spa (although take note; the massages are fairly pricy, especially considering we've paid less in private spa's in London)

4: Explore the reef...accessed via the pier. Comparable, if not better than snorkelling experiences on previous holidays in the Caribbean, Kenya, Australia, Maldives and Thailand.

We did our research before and it really did live up to our expectations. We had a really relaxing time and wish we could have stayed longer.


Here are a couple of general tips re Sharm;

Unless your normal holiday destination involves crowded beaches, getting abused into buying fake watches and spending the majority of your stay in the bathroom...DON'T stay/go to Naama bay)...

If you would like to shop, Soho Square is a more peaceful shopping experience...it is however, the same fake bags/watches and sunglasses on offer as Naama bay, but haggling is a lot of fun and the shopkeepers have a far nicer sales approach.

If you would like to go on any of the trips on offer...be wary if the price is too good to be true....We did a 'sunset' quadbiking trip that began an hour AFTER sunset...!!! (Having said this... night-time quadbiking certainly is an experience and considering it wouldn't get past the safety regulations in most countries, this may be your only opportunity to try this unique thrill seeking sport...)

Room Tip: Ask not to be on ground floor if you'd like a more private balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DGCRoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and we are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We very look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,016)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 831 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of our Grand Tour of Egypt and it was beautiful. Upgraded to seaview rooms was a lovely touch. It is a big hotel with different 'blocks' of rooms but not too far spread and they do run golf buggies for anyone with mobility issues. Choice of poolside, infinity pool and sea there were beautiful views all around. It was quite quiet but the staff were as helpful as ever, very polite and the resteraunt staff always remember you! 4 choices of food establishments including a buffet type, a beautiful one overlooking the sea, a thai/indian one and an italian (which was visited more than once). The all inclusive had a good selection of drinks, both soft and alcoholic. Lots of trips on offer including boat rides, jet skis, parasailing (which I did, brilliant for just £10 english money). Such a relaxing place, will recommend to anyone who will listen. Room was a good size, a nice balcony and good selection of TV channels. No bath but a huge shower, and two large double beds. Very clean! So many ammenities on site including gym, spa, shop, bank, conference rooms and then 5 minute walk to a 'supermarket' it really is like it's own self sufficient town.

Room Tip: Always ask where the room is if you don't want to be walking to far everyday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Stephanie,

we are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

We hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

nice place good, very good hospitality, nice animation team i love the activities is was very lovely the place is near from the airport and little bit far from the town center that give you the opportunity for more relaxing

Room Tip: Sea View room are the most beautiful rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Peter,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and would like to assure you that your comments will be shared with all concerned departments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been visiting the Grand Rotana since 2008 and 4 years on I still cant fault it. The atmosphere is relaxing, the standards are high and the staff are lovely. It has all the charms of a sophisticated boutique hotel combined with the service and surroundings of a 5 star resort - we love the fact that it never feels crowded or overpopulated with loads of empty beds around the large and sprawling swimming pool.

The food here is great and its no surprise that Silk Road has been voted one of the best restaurants in Sharm a number of times with people visiting from outside the hotel to dine. Prices are similar to London but its well worth it and the quality of ingredients shines through. Osama (one of the Silk Road waiters) is amazing and a real credit to the hotel - all staff are great but Osama really goes that extra mile and makes your dining experience special.

My Fiancé and I again purchased the Rotana rewards card which made a huge difference to the cost and saved us 40% on food and drink throughout our stay - would definitely recommend!. It also meant we could have a late check out from the hotel free of charge and were given a room upgrade to Poolside as well.

The Grand Rotana is definitely a hidden gem with lots of repeat business for good reason. With only a 15min cab ride in to Naama Bay, the hotel grounds are a remote slice of paradise away from all the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HolidayKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Kel,

we are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

We hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend stay without the kids.......heres my summary
1 Weather perfect this time of year.
2 Hotel empty(few kids) so good time for an adult break.
3 Staff very polite and attentive.
4 Service was a bit slow in all but the Silk Restaurant...which was suprising as the hotel was less than 50% occupied.
5 Ramses buffet ok for breakfast but poor for anything else......the Italian great pizzas for lunch and very quick to come....the palm beach grill great food both lunch and dinner.Silk restaurant by far the best.
6 Fantastic reef for snorkelling.
7 Plenty of sunbeds.
8 Went ultra inclusive so most things were covered including use of gym and a great spa.....didnt cover panacke hut which was silly as no one therfore used it. Think would be a good idea to offer some snacks throught the day too and perhaps someone walking around with water.
9 No real evening entertainment...but we were there to chill out so didnt bother us.
10 Rooms clean and comfortable.
11 Recommend the massage treatments.
12 Great pool and infinity Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the sea view rooms if you spend most of your time on the beach..nera in mind the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KRUZINKRUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Kruzinkrush,

Thank you very much for getting in touch with us and i would like, first of all, to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.

Please rest assured that we are taking steps to resolve the mention issue. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in near future.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Travelled as a couple in September for 10days on a b&b basis. We stayed in block 7 which was away from all the restaurants so was nice and peaceful. When we were there we were offered an upgrade to the ultra all inclusive package, we decided against it and by the end of the holiday worked out we saved over £200 by paying for our meals rather than the all inclusive package. We ate in the hotel almost every night- the restaurants are really good, our favourite was the Italian. Breakfast is the same everyday but its a huge buffet with lots of choice.
The hotel has gorgeous gardens and there's so much space you can always find somewhere for some peace and quiet. The coral at the hotel is amazing and snorkelling was great, you can hire everything from the dive centre at a really cheap price.
The hotel has a bus to naama bay if you Fancyc doing a bit of shopping. The resort is tucked away in the middle of nowhere but it was perfect for the quiet relaxing break we were after.
Similar to other people they tried to put us in a twin room when we arrived but with a little bit of encouragement they found us the king that we had booked.
I would definitely recommended this hotel to couples but would advise going on a b&b basis as we saved money doing it this way.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for your kind words and would like to assure you that your comments will be shared with all concerned departments.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Azmi Sami

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

this hotel is defenitely amazing ,
thanks to the excellent staff they were very professional, helpful & decent.
everything were beyond our expectations . spacious rooms they up grade us to sea front room which was amazing, the breakfast buffet was perfect , snorkling there was very interesting you don't need to get out for snorkling trips, nothing bad except the location ,it's somehow far away from naama bay & il merkato but there is a well organized shuttle bus to Naama Bay.
my only comment to the management is to make extra timing for the shuttle bus because 4 PM is too early to go there & 10 PM is too late, as that a lot of people is on B&B basis so they need to have their dinner at 7 for instance so you can make a shuttle bus on 7:00 PM as the bus already is going to naama to pick the people from there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farah1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRotana, General Manager at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear Farah,

We are extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will share your comments all concerned departments.

We hope to have you staying with us again soon.

Best Regards,

Karim Nahas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.0 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,542 reviews
3.2 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,412 reviews
1.7 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#26 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,121 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,363 reviews
7.4 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Rotana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Rotana Resort & Spa

Address: Sharks Bay | P.O.Box:296, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#21 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#47 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#62 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $68 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Rotana Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the idyllic shores of Sharm El Sheikh, a truly inspiring seaside destination, the 5 star hotel has its own 450 meters stretch of private beach, a stunning pool surrounded by a lush tropical landscape with over 2000 palm trees. Sharm El Sheikh is now one of the world’s most accessible resort destinations for snorkelling and scuba diving. The luxury beachfront resort is 8 Km away from Sharm El Sheikh International airport and 2 minutes from Sharm El Sheikh International congress centre as well as the center of Na'ama bay with easy access to the many tourist attractions of the region. The Resort offers 526 luxurious rooms, suites and Club Rotana Executive rooms and suites in addition to 9 Royal villas with four & five bedrooms with private swimming pools. All luxury hotel guest rooms and suites feature a private balcony or terrace overlooking Tiran Island or the gardens. For dining and entertainment, the resort offers ten restaurants, bars and cafe’s catering to every taste expertly blended with the highly acclaimed award winning Rotana standards. Keep up with your fitness routine while you're away from home. The Bodylines Wellness & Fitness Club at Grand Rotana Resort & Spa Sharm El Sheikh features state-of-the-art fitness equipment and our award-winning Zen the spa at Rotana offers you tranquility and pure relaxation to balance your mind, body and soul. The Camel Dive Club is our 5* PADI centre for diving and Snorkeling within easy reach in the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grand Rotana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Rotana Resort And Spa
Grand Rotana Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Grand Rotana Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing