We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sharm El Sheikh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ghazala Gardens Hotel
Ranked #87 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Ok, I'm going to start with saying that we would definitely stay here again but, and its a big but, if you are not prepared to stay in mediocre rooms and eat average food that is Germanic in orientation and put up with small glasses of beer and no tonic for your gin then this is not the place for you.
However, if you want somewhere that is clean, with a fabulous pool, very nice gardens and in what is probably the best location in Naama Bay then I would highly recommend staying here!!
We stayed here in a group of two families both with two adults and two children. our relatives had younger children and payed extra for adjoining rooms. The travel agent sent a request for us to have the same (without paying extra) and we also had adjoining rooms at no extra cost so if you've got teenage kids I'd take the risk as it seemed every room has this option! The rooms were basic but had phenomenal air conditioning and were cleaned twice a day with fresh towels whenever we needed them - and there was plenty of hot water and free 2 ltr bottled water provided every two days (and more on request if you needed it). You also get beach towels provided and they will be changed every day if you leave them outside your room.There is intermittent wifi in the hotel lounge area but not in the rooms.
We stayed during October half term and the weather was fabulous although the sun does start to go down early (after 4 pm its getting beyond sunbathing). I mention this as the there is a lot of shadow in the gardens around the pool at this time of year and you are probably best trying to get a bed on the artificial beach if you want to stay in the hotel all day and sunbathe.
The pool itself is a meandering shape that doesn't lend itself particularly well to swimming but is great for the kids and is set in very nice, very clean and very well manicured surroundings. In the evening when it is lit up it is quite stunning.
The food in the buffet (breakfast, lunch and snacks) is ok but that is about it. In general, if you are after cruise quality food, you wont find it here. That said, you will always find something to eat and there are recognisable cereals and fresh milk at breakfast but lunch and dinner is very European and certainly aimed at the German tourist market.
The hotel does have three themed restaurants Italian, Mexican and South American. You have to book these a day in advance but it is worth it (the Italian and Mexican will give you as much as you want if you ask for more). However, there are a couple of things to note: the reps will tell you that you have to book between 0900 and 1000. We tried this the first morning (for the day after) and all the restaurants were fully booked by the time I got there. So, I went and queued every morning at 0800 to ensure we got a table - admittedly we needed a table for 8 but even so, I'd go early, it is worth it (and if you're still hungry you can go to the buffet after). The South American restaurant is by far the best but you will have to pay a supplement for the best dishes.
The beach is about a 7-8 minute walk away across a main road and through the sister hotel (Ghazala Beach). There is a dedicated crossing patrol between the hotels who will ensure you get across the road safely, so no problems there and the beach area is private to the two hotels and seemed very safe. Sun beds are provided free of charge but hotel staff on the beach will want to show you to a vacant bed and expect a tip. We tipped a couple of US Dollars a day and we always got 8 loungers together, being remembered every morning. There's an all inclusive bar on the beach, but as mentioned earlier, don't expect full glasses!! The beach though is great, with the reef only 20 meters from the shore and you will definitely find Nemo and his friends there with just a pair of swimming goggles and snorkel required - if you want to try diving to see the fish don't bother, you won't see anything more...
You will get hassled on the beach to go to the spa or try water sports but a polite 'no thanks' is all it takes for the reps to move on.
You can have snacks at lunchtime which comprises chips, pizza, hot dogs etc in the sister hotel by the beach. If you want more variety you'll have to go back to the main hotel.
Just in relation to tipping, we had been advised to take lots of Dollar bills to tip but actually we never really needed them apart from the beach. We tipped the hotel bar staff the first few times but they were indifferent to the gesture. The only other exception was in the hotel themed restaurant where it was very gratefully received (and remembered).

The local area:
The main shopping and drinking/eating areas of Naama Bay are only a 5 minute walk away from the front of the hotel (turn right and you'll soon see them). Most of the bars were doing offers when we visited, possibly due to the lack of tourists (as a consequence of the trouble in Cairo?) so it was cheap to drink out but there seems to be no draught beer at all in Sharm and not much alcohol in the cocktails, so I'd stick to bottled drinks!! In respect of the unrest, we saw no sign of it and only minor evidence of additional security (apart from a visit to Soho Sq where there were lots of armed police guarding the entry and exit points but who didn't bother tourists).
The shopping here is heaven if you're after fake handbags and watches etc though you will get hassled to come into shops, but, as on the beach, they are quite happy with a 'no thanks' and in general, the locals are incredibly friendly.

All in all, we had a great holiday and will go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

665 - 671 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Lovely people. Great atmosphere. Made some true friends here, love the animation team made me feel like part of the family! Some maintenance issues but staff always happy to help if they can. Second visit here and will certainly return. Make sure you have plenty of mosquito repellant if visiting in November and December.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jackline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffice, Guest Relation at Ghazala Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Hello Jackie and Dee.
It was lovely to see you both again for the second year running.Thankyou for choosing Ghazala Gardens again for your recent holiday.
It was lovely to read you had another great stay and that our dedicated team members provided you a relaxing and very welcoming time.Our team are very proud to read such commments from our guests and this tells us we are on the right track.
We look forward to welcoming you back again next year.
Best wishes to you Jackie and Dee.
Your Ghazala Gardens Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at Ghazala gardens, had a brilliant time,the hotel is in an excellent location just a short walk from Naama bay and the beach,i loved the pool and garden area,i found the food in the mexican and O'Fogo's was ok, and the room was clean only down points was the food in the buffet restruant was terrible and our air con never worked despite asking reception 3 times to repair it... I found the hotel staff were freindly and the drinks were constantly flowing and topped up.A special mention too Emma and Jonny in the animations team who kept us entertained with the saily volleyball..oooooust!! and were brilliant throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_THFC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hi, our names are Mr and Mrs Terry and we have just returned from the Ghazala gdns again. 3rd time to this hotel. Before we flew out I sent the hotel an email to request a particular block and room, and as soon as we arrived at the reception, we got what we had requested ( good start). This was arranged by a girl called Jane, who works as the guest relations girl , working for the hotel, and is responsible for all the english tourists. She was very helpful and supportive throughout our whole week, 10 out of 10. We stayed in block 5 which is away from the entertainment center, nice and quiet, and blocks 3, 4, 5, have all been rebfurbished. They have 3 restaurants here, all a la carte, easy to book up through Jane.O Fogos, Little Italy, and Fajitas. All excellent food and service. Be careful not to choose priced items on the menus as they are not all inclusive.This hotel is ideally located, 10 mins from main town. Pool towels are provided every day. To get to the beach it takes 5 mins. You have to cross a busy road, but this is no problem at all, because a warden helps you cross at a certain point, just left of the hotel at the front. The beach has an all inclusive bar on it . Ghazala cafe is great at night for your entertainment. Jane advised us to buy our Egyptian money out there, at the atm machine, outside of the bank, next to the hotel to get a better rate. You do not have to vacate your room untill 1hr before you are picked up from the hotel, at no extra charge. All staff are very very friendly and polite. Special mention again to our Rep Jane, and also to the German Rep Katrina, who was just as helpful when Jane was on her day off. As I mentioned above in the title, it should be renamed Fantastic Gardens.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wayne037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMOffice, Guest Relation at Ghazala Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Dear Wayne,Bev and the Gang.It was wonderful to meet you all,and thank you for letting me share some of your time with you.
Our absolute pleasure was to have the chance to host you here again at Ghazala Gardens.We are happy to know that our dedicated team have managed to deliver a little bit of personal care,as it is our goal to provide extra service to each and every one of our guests, to feel most relaxed and comfortable.We will surly pass on your feedback to all our colleagues and personally to the persons mentioned.We do put alot of effort to achieve and maintain the highest standards of service to satisfy our guests requirements.Thank you for your kind recognition.
We place great value on your custom,and your continued relationship with Ghazala Gardens.
Warmest Wishes to you Wayne,Bev and all the gang,
Your Ghazala Gardens Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Just returned from a 7 night stay at the Ghazala Gardens. First trip to Egypt and wasn't disappointed. Travelled with Red Sea holidays, their reps are FANTASTIC. Hotel rooms are a little tired but you can't fault the location or the service at this hotel.

Plus points:
Great Location - just short stroll into Naama Bay for large choice of bars & restaurants, and Solo Square is just a short taxi ride away.
Fab Beach - accessible via the Ghazala Beach hotel, snorkeling is great as reef is just off shore, and fish are visible from the shoreline.
Little Italy - great Italian restaurant, lovely pizzas

Negative point:
Standard rooms: just a little tired & in need of redecoration... but you don't go on holiday to sit in your room.

Great value hotel in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the junior suite, those with pool access are lovely. That particular pool is heated durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpo253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Here at Ghazala for the 7th time! Can't stay away. Yes, the food choice is limited for average Brits.. It serves a large German contingent, but we have never had a problem. The secret of Ghazala is, the people. Simple. They make us feel so welcome and valued, always. Total relaxation in a beautiful place. From Martin at the top, down to the gardeners, they are always welcoming. No pretensions. Just value for money and the friendliest people we've met.If you can't see this for yourself, you're in the wrong place!

Room Tip: Don't judge by British standards. The service here is impeccable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonbray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

This is my eighth or nineth review of hotels where previous Reviewers have given poor reviews which I always seem to have to contradict.....very frustrating and the same applies here.

Agreed, the Hotel tries to be 5 star and nearly hits the mark
+Points
Modern complex with 5-6, 2 storey bedroom blocks scattered around an amazing swimming complex consisting of one main pool area + man-made beack all with connecting 'rivers'.
We were in Block 5 ( Room 5013) which was spacious enough, good bathroom facilities and fairly comfy bed
Rooms serviced everyday and liked the idea if having personal pool towels in your room in canvas bag
Bathroom and pool towels changed daily if you so wished.

Main restaurant has two floors serving very similar food and has different theme nights during the week.
Reasonable selection of meals and snacks throughout, By far the best meal of the day is probably breakfast
Should also try the 3 a la carte restaurants as much as possible, the best by far being Al Fogo's ( brazilian theme but not really) The food here is top notch....ok some items on the menu you have to pay extra for but well worth it.
Good gala dinner but need to be at a table very early....6.30pm. Don't turn up at 8pm or later as you will struggle to find a good table and the best food options will be scarce.

Weather in October magical and although you might pay slightly more than going to say Turkey
AI, Sharm beats it hand down for sun and temperatures.

Late check-out facility good option

- Points
Not happy with transfers from/to the airport. i know the cost was supposed to be included in the price of the holiday but could have run to the hotel quicker. Would certainly consider a taxi on next visit.

Upset by the early bird reservation of sun loungers. It was hot enough to sunbath/swim from say 8.00am but that doesn't mean people should be getting up at 6.00am to reserve sunbeds then troll off for 2-3 hrs for breakfast etc. Anybody wanting to find a sunbed at 9.00am or later will struggle

Poor after dinner entertainment and the location wasn't helpful because of the lack of seating/tables

Generally excellent short break and would definitely return for late season holiday

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bittlenutuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghazala Beach Hotel
Ghazala Beach Hotel
#96 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
871 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,179 reviews
1 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#10 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#14 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,571 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
The Grand Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
#68 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ghazala Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghazala Gardens Hotel

Address: El Salam Street | Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Ghazala Gardens)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#84 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $73 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghazala Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a five minute stroll from the centre of Naama Bay and five minutes to the beach it shares with The Ghazala Beach Hotel, the Ghazala Gardens offers a perfect balance of scale and facilities. The delightful gardens teem with exotic plants and a lagoon pool that give it a truly tropical feel. You can even swim right from your terrace with our poolside rooms! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ghazala Gardens Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Ghazala Gardens Sharm El Sheikh
Ghazala Gardens Egypt
Ghazala Gardens Hotel Egypt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing