We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wanted a relaxing week in the sun, with good food and time to do what we wanted and that was exactly what we got”
Review of Jaz Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jaz Belvedere
Ranked #45 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We wanted a relaxing week in the sun, with good food and time to do what we wanted and that was exactly what we got”
Reviewed March 8, 2009

The STAFF were good, all appeared to enjoy their jobs...which is always a good start. The FOOD was great, a lot better than we were expecting as we are not fans of the 'buffet'. There was always plenty of choice and variety every evening, but dont go expecting chips... none served all week (a good thing in my opinion), plenty of fresh fruit, fish, vegetables, chicken etc and choice. They cater well for the italians which is great if you are a fan of Italian food, there was a pasta bar each evening and the freshly made pizzas at the poolside snack bar were the best i have ever tasted.
The GYM is not great but adequate, a couple running machines, weights machine, execise bike (which was not working whilst we were there) and some free weights....enough to do a reasonable work out.
The SPA has a sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which is all free of charge. The staff will pester you to book a massage, we had one, they are not cheap but very good and definately relaxing . Avoid going late afternoon as the kids tended to use the jacizzi and were noisy at times. If you book as a couple they have private massage rooms.
We never saw any of the evening entertainment as this is not our thing.
The BEACH was great, clean and well maintained. Lots of sports activities if thats your thing. A bar on the beachfront serving whatever drinks you wanted.
POOLSIDE I agree there was a lot of noisy activities at the poolside throughout the day, all in Italian, but this could be escaped by going to the beach so not a real problem.
LOCATION Having been to Egypt before we had done all the tourist trips etc so stayed on the resort all week so cannot comment on anything nearby. However the hotel is only 10-15 minutes from the airport so the transfer was great.
OVERALL we had a great week and if we decide to go back to Egypt for a get away would definately go back to this hotel over any others. Very good value for money; better than the Hilton in Taba.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alifoz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    419
    160
    77
    47
See reviews for
470
628
57
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Currently in Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2009

This hotel is beautiful, the food is great. Our family had a great time except for the fact that the hotel staff was wildly flirty with me (the young mommy) and their aggressive advances made me feel very uncomfortable and not happy about going anywhere without my husband nearby. Also, keep in mind that the bars and restaurants are all open at various times, so sometimes the drinks/coffees/etc are free and sometimes they are not, depending on the time of day or the whim of the bartender. There are a lot of rules about when and what you can eat and drink, which annoyed us after we paid 5 star all inclusive rates for this hotel. Also the wireless rates for Internet usage are outrageous and you only get Internet access in the lobby - they are way behind the times compared to other beachfront resorts in this entire region.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsturdivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nr London
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2009

Our first experience of Egypt was Cairo airport. Chaos springs to mind.........and then some. Make sure that you have Egyptian pounds on you as you HAVE to get a visa to enter the country.
Getting from one terminal to another was just the chance that some people took to try and take advantage of your inexperience. Just get the shuttle from the arrivals to the departure lounges. It’s free. Next time we’ll book a direct flight to Sharm.
Arriving at Sharm, very late, was another excuse for the locals to over charge on the taxi fair. Having bartered in the beginning they just grind you down. A lesson never to be repeated or forgotten.
Travelling to the hotel, the paranoia starts to set in as the whole area is being developed at an exponential rate (think Spain and Greece in the early years).
However, the Jaz Belvedere was a revelation. First impression was good. The staff were friendly, and helpful, from the moment we stepped into the hotel until the time we left.
The room was very clean and tidy....and large. Nearly all the facilities were great. We say nearly as there was no tea or coffee in the rooms. There were drinks in the fridge (we felt that they should have been included in the overall price....but weren’t). We were hungry and gasping for a drink. There was a 24hour food service, but again, this was extra and quite a bit extra. Why? We ask when we had paid to go fully inclusive.
Our room was situated in a block right on the beach front. View was great. Sun shone all the time we were there (there was also a wind but it did not detract from the overall enjoyment).
With some trepidation we went to sample the dining room food. No need for the trepidation. The food was brilliant all week. A wide range of foods, although we stuck mainly to the Egyptian menu! The staff in the dining room were simply fantastic and a special mention must go to Redas, Dining room Manager, who made us feel welcome from the very beginning and to whom nothing was too much trouble. Special mention must also go to Abdill and two of the Mohamed’s who also made our stay great. In fact we asked them a lot of questions about the region, what we should do in certain circumstances and about their lives in Egypt.
By the way, if it’s your birthday when you visit......well just enjoy the surprise.
Beach was great, although the bar situated there charged for the cocktails that they bring to you but do not tell you that at the time. The service and drinks, again if inclusive, should be free and the staff should be coming to ask what you would like instead of you having to walk to them. That’s the difference between being ok and great.
Overall we were very impressed by the hotel and would highly recommend it to others. It wasn’t a problem for us that we were the only British couple amongst Russian and Italian guests (although some of them can be rude and arrogant, just our experience).

Shops outside the hotel were very expensive (£32 they tried to sell two bottles of sun tan lotion).
Money no problem. There are ATM’s in the other hotels nearby. The perfect excuse to nose around (The Coral Sea Hotel........I don’t think so)
Overall we’d recommend this hotel to everyone and we are going back in the very near future.

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
Thank Rimagenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ont.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2008

I went to the Jaz Belvedere in October of 2008 with my girlfriend and two friends. Although we have done many all-inclusive vacations in the Carribean, this was our first time in Egypt and Sharm el Sheikh.

My first impression of the Jaz Belvedere was that it was a small, nice resort. We got checked in right away, even though it was way before our check in time, and the receptionist spoke very good english.

HOTEL:
The hotel is fairly small compared to the resorts in the carribean, but that is nice because it does not take long to go anywhere. The hotel has pretty much everything you need, a nice pool, good rooms, a few restaurants, a solid beach and some nice activities like volleyball, Bocci ball, nautical center etc...

ROOMS:
The rooms at the Jaz are really what sold us to this particular resort. They are big, modern, clean and nice. The bathroom had a large walk in shower and was all granite.

FOOD:
The food at the Jaz was better than the food I have had in Cuba and Mexico. The buffet always had a good variety. The seafood restaurant was not our favorite, but the service was good and the setting was beautiful.

SERVICE:
In my entire experience in Egypt, I found all the Egyptians to be extremely helpful and accomodating. The Jaz was no exception. The service was good. No complaints here.

ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT:
Radio Italia. Everday some italian guy gets on a microphone with the speakers blasted and continues for about 5-6 hours of non-stop italian jibberish. Everyone who has commented on it on this site is right. It really takes away from the hotel. Bravo, an Italian tour company, has a large stake in this hotel, and as a result they are allowed to do whatever they please. Unfortunately you can hear this italian non-sense at the beach all day. Luckily I like to listen to music on the beach, otherwise this would have really bothered me.

Alcoholic Drinks. All of the 'free' booze at this resort is local. Trust me when I tell you that it is not the best. At one bar they have imported drinks, but you have to pay an arm and a leg to get them. Also, there are no free drinks in the disco, and as a result, the disco is empty. They should do something about that.

Snorkelling gear. If you plan on snorkelling while you are there, I would suggest bringing your own gear, as the resort charges you 8 euros per day to rent a snorkel and fins! Maybe this is a north american thing, but everytime I go to the Carribean this is included!

Location. If you plan on going into Naema Bay a lot at night, the Belvedere is kind of far from Naema Bay. The cab ride will cost you 70 Egyptian pounds one-way and it takes about 20-30 mins. There were some other resorts that are much closer, so keep that in mind.

Overall, it was a great experience and the resort was really nice. I don't think I would go back a second time, but if you want a nice, quaint, clean resort with good food and a nice beach you should check it out. If you are Italian, then definitely go here.

  • Liked — Rooms, Food, Culture, Views
  • Disliked — Italy, Alcohol Selection
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newschool_ski_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

This hotel definetely exceeded my expectation, it was a 5 star hotel, extremely clean and well decorated. The staff were very helpful and professional. The hotel had a beautiful private beach. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that the hotel is geared towards italians, the music played by the pool is italian, the signs are all in italian, it made me feel like I made a mistake staying in that hotel because it feels like an italian only spot, the food was not that greatest but was still edible. Also, one big downside was the fact that the hotel does not have any regular shuttle service to and from the airport and the one available is for 10 euros per person, which is insanely expensive in egyptian term. other than that, everything in the hotel was perfect, the rooms were amazingly clean and had a great view. It definitely felt like a 5 star resort.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, professional staff
  • Disliked — Everything is in italian, no shuttle service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Pazoozu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

this was our first visit after years of nearly going, we only booked for a week which turned out to be a big mistake just couldnt fit all the relaxation in into one week. The hotel was full of Italians and the entertianment was all geared towards them, but the bar staff and waiters were very very freindly towards the Brits, the food in the main restaurant was of high standerd and me being a fussy eater could always find something to eat, we went to the fish resaurant on my birthday and I was on the VIP guest list WOW what a night. The hotel was spotless the gardens same, there were that many sunbeds on the beach you didnt have to put towels on them at any time of day.
Snorkeling in front of the hotel was ok but a 1/2 mile walk to the left of the hotel or 500yds to the right brought you some of the best under water scenes in Sharm, also take a trip to nearby Sharks bay that was good.
We never felt intimidated anywere and our night in Naama bay was one of the most eye opening experiences I have ever had.
Would we go back? yes! Nile Cruise and all the other Resorts

  • Liked — being there
  • Disliked — coming home
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yossi007
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We are just back from Jaz Belvedere .this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in sharm or in all Sinai .
This was an excellent holiday definitely we will return to the jaz Belvedere ..
the Food was good the Service is wonderful .

big thanks to MR Mohamed RECEPTION MANAGER FOR ALL

  • Liked — ALL
  • Disliked — NOTHAVE AFREE BUS TO NAMMA BAY
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank yossi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
11.3 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#36 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,708 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Club Resort - Sharm el Sheikh
5.3 mi away
Jaz Mirabel Beach
Jaz Mirabel Beach
#23 of 31 in Nabq Bay
6,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Iberotel Palace
Iberotel Palace
#10 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,663 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El S...
#30 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Belvedere

Property: Jaz Belvedere
Address: El Montaza Bay | Behind Sharm el Sheikh Airport, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Jaz Belvedere 5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jaz Belvedere Resort is situated in El Montazah, Sharm El- Sheikh with direct and exclusive access to its own stunning beach; making this five-star resort the ideal place for your luxury holiday in Egypt. It is located just 10 km from Sharm El-Sheikh International Airport and around 20 km from Sharm El-Sheikh’s centre of Naama Bay. The resort combines an impressive range of features and facilities, atmospherically styled with touches of traditional Arabian-Moroccan architecture. Jaz Belvedere has been certified to ISO 14001:2004, the Internationally recognised regime that assures first class management of environmental impact and is also a certified Green Star hotel, committed to sustainable environmentally friendly practice. Jaz Belvedere is unquestionably an outstanding luxury holiday resort in Sharm El-Sheikh and one of the finest luxury hotels in Egypt. Attentive individual service, high quality, daily entertainment programmes and unforgettable opportunities for diving in one of the most beautiful underwater environments in the world, adds to Jaz Belvedere's charm and vibrant ambiance. All rooms offer stunning sea or garden views and are furnished to a high standard with a balcony or terrace with furniture. Hotel facilities include restaurants serving light and healthy cuisine with a local and international flair that will satisfy the appetite of any gourmet. You can be as active or relaxed as you choose with a selection of leisure activities including table tennis, floodlit tennis courts (charged extra), beach volleyball and a fully equipped multi-purpose gym amongst other leisure facilities for you to enjoy. The hotel benefits from beachfront pools, bustling bars and super daily animation programs, live musicians in the evening and the Mazazik Discotheque for you to party. Onsite shopping facilities are available and a PADI diving centre (courses charged extra). Wireless internet access is available in public areas free for all guests (higher speed is available at charge) to help keep you in touch, while the in-house doctor is on hand to deal with any medical problems. The 24-hour concierge service will cater to your every need, no matter what time of day and the hotel’s laundry service will keep you fresh. Relax in the knowledge that your children will be royally entertained at the Kids Club with their own playground area and freshwater swimming pool, while there is also an onsite spa centre with free Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room for all guests, with treatments at extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jaz Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaz Belvedere Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Jaz Belvedere Sharm El Sheikh
Sol y Mar Belvedere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing