We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Garden Resort
Ranked #110 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Save your money”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our third visit to Sharm and the first (and definately the last) visit to the Garden Resort. The rooms were very basic which isn't a problem as we only slept in them-they were however clean and new towels each day. Having arrived there late in the evening were unable to look around until the next day. The staff were very welcoming and overjoyed that a British family had come to join the only other 2 English guests, questioning us why so few English came to the hotel. Umm what can i say.........I hate to stereotype any nationality and apologise to any one that this offends but in all our travels and holidays we have never been treated so badly by rude, impatient people. I can only add that this sort of behaviour is condoned by staff-purely as it is their lively hood-they will however tell you quietly their own thoughts. Our children were pushed out the way in the dining hall by adults -in a corner specifically for kids-the chef however when witnessing this came to our table and told us he would prepare food especially for them-which he did. We were pushed out of the way at the bar and when we addressed this were met with a torrent of 'Russian' abuse and taunts. Fights and arguments between guests . Pool heater broken-unable to use as so cold, no entertainment i could go on. It was a miserable 2 days until we decided enough was enough and rang the holiday company who got us moved the next day. It really was a horrible experience which is a shame as the Egyptian people are so welcoming and helpful, but not once did i hear a please or thank you from the greedy abusive 'guests' staying in this hotel. We were moved to their sister hotel Island view, 5 minutes away, which was a very pleasurable experience. Stay away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    700
    458
    188
    90
    88
See reviews for
479
497
38
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2013

It was a perfect holiday esp in december holidays ! Sun , sea and relaxed atmosphere . Me and my family of four had a fantastic time.Food was great , staff were friendly and always there to help out.They went out of their way to keep my , my wife and 9 and 7 year old kids happy. It had the relaxed feel to it and for the price paid it was more than we could ask for. Motaz at restaurant , aleem at the pool , Wael at the pool bar , all were exceptional. Would strongly recommend people to visit it because i would . Dr Haroon Ali Shah

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are less noisy if you want to have a quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroon2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This was my second visit to Sharm and first time at the Sunrise Island Resort, and it is very unlikely I would stay here again. The front receptionist was extremely rude, very unhelpful and could not even crack a welcome smile! Only 2 out of 3 rooms were ready! The request of placing my grandparents on the ground floor was ignored and instead they placed my brother there! (We later swapped off course) This room had no slippers, toiletries or hand towels until end of day 2 after 5 complaints!!
Rooms are a decent size but showers were not in the best condition! Rooms were cleaned around 3pm daily which was a bit of a nuisance as this is when the sun starts going down so we head back to our rooms to find they were not yet cleaned or being cleaned. You have to pay for bottled water and the bar run out of vodka and red wine nearly every night (possibly could be the Russians)
This aside the food options was great and different everyday (although beef was nearly in everything!!) and the restaurant manager and chef did go out their way to prepare separate dishes to suit my families requirements! The restaurant manager is brilliant and very accommodating and friendly. The pool side was very clean, but pool side snacks was terrible! Same thing of pizza, beef burger, chips EVERY day! Had to always ask the staff to reheat my burger as it was served half cold! Description says the hotel has a heated pool- it did not! Also says it has a casino, which again it didn't!
There is two Island resorts and the other one looked nicer than ours! The spa massage was great! But disappointed to find out we have to pay for sauna access.
If I was to go back I would most likely stay in the Hilton Sharks Bay like the first time I visited Sharm. However my grandparents did like the sunrise hotel as everything was easily accessible and close by within.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijal2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

we have just returned home from this hotel 15th november. The rooms in the hotel was very basic and could do with a bit of updaing especially the bathroom. The food was very good a great choice and a different theme night every night, the pool area was clean and there was someone always there to take your empty glasses away, the staff are very helpful and freindly, the towel station staff were great and made the effort to talk to you making sure everything was ok. the animation team didnt seem to bother with the english guest and only spoke in russian. there was only 3 animation team and in other hotels we have been in in sharm there has always been about 6 to 8 staff which at least 2 of them spoke english. the bar staff were great though always asking if everything was ok. we had a cocktail night with the management staff. they were asking what improvements they could make to the hotel. the new manager has only been there for a month and is going to make this hotel the one everybody wants to go to with the changes he has planned. we complained about the poolbar toilets to him been dirty and within 10 mins they were spotless.. so overall food very good staff excellent cleaning staff a bit lazy management excellent we are returning back to this hotel next september and you should all give it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

this is a very nice hotel very friendly staff great choice of food cleans room clean hotel if u have a problem with this hotel u need see a doctor i cant wait to go back there always there to help u they dont hasel u egyptian are great people and im thinkin of moving out here best hotel ever

Room Tip: all rooms are good sleep anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mechelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Even when you complained almost every day about minor things that wouldn't take long to take care of you didn't get what u wanted or even needed, the people at the reception were always willing to help though.
It could be such a nice hotel if the manager actually cared. The staff, ecspecially in the restaurant, were the only thing that kept us there, though the cleaners are terrible, they just want to mess about outside the rooms instead of actually clean them, they never cleaned the balcony for us once and we were there for 14 nights.
We ate out every night and spent nearly as much as the holiday cost.
Very quiet hotel up until school holidays or eid for example that's when the nice food comes out and everybody's a bit nicer.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same.. Most of the things in them are broke
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Selina Parkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from island garden
Staff were fantastic and looked after us really well especially my 9 year old son.
The boys that worked round by the pool were even protective of him and watched out for his safety, as well as letting him help out and then taking him to lunch.
It almost became a competition between them who would produce the best towel art by his sun bed.

A complaint would be don't go at eid as lots of egyptions attend and all food and entertainment is aimed for them.

Hotel needs updating and would benefit from a couple of extra staff at times but having said that it did not spoil in any way our holiday.

We are aiming to return soon as such a great time was had. You do get what you pay for and would not put it at 4 star however staff are 5 star quality

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poshbir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#63 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,169 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#101 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,773 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jaz Sharks Bay
Jaz Sharks Bay
#31 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#34 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Island View Resort
Island View Resort
#73 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,537 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#102 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Garden Resort

Property: Island Garden Resort
Address: | Sharks Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#97 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#101 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Island Garden Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This comfortable, relaxing "All-Inclusive" 4 star (country category) Resort with a centered pool lagoon is divided to various 2 floor buildings with tasteful decorated rooms offer you a relaxed atmosphere for a family vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Island Garden Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sunrise Island Garden
Sunrise Island Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing