We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sharm Plaza Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Crowne Plaza(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Fitness center
  • Spa
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Sharm Resort Hotel(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Beach Resort & Casino(Sharm El Sheikh)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,783)
Filter reviews
2,783 results
Traveler rating
1,946
553
172
68
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,946
553
172
68
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantcafe fresconaama bayclub roomfishsea viewprivate beachfour seasonsbeach restauranthalf boardcoral reefkids clubeach eveningspecial thankssoft drinksscuba divingshuttle bus
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,350 - 1,355 of 2,783 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

My husband and I just spent a wonderful week in this hotel. We requested a high floor room with a view and were given a junior suite overlooking the bay - perfect. A sun lounger and table and chairs on the balcony - great for those evening sundowners. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. Because the hotel was quiet the ice machines were not in service, so we asked for ice from room service and every evening thereafter, when we returned from the beach, our ice bucket had been filled for us. The hotel is set in stunning grounds and is made up of attractive terraced villas in gorgeous gardens. The pools are beautiful and the snorkelling off the jetty (swim to the left up to the Regency Beach) is amazing. Careful on the jetty though as it is a floating jetty. We enjoyed eating on the terrace at Sala Thai, sharing the appetiser selection and a bottle of Zaman Tempranillo. The Souk is fun to dine at and very atmospheric. The Cascades lunch menu is lovely and we also enjoyed the laid back dining at the Beachfront at lunchtime - although we did find that the staff are so attentive, it's not unusual to be asked 4-5 times during your meal if everything is OK - just once, mid-way through would suffice, thanks. we thought it would be expensive to drink and dine in the hotel and had planned to eat in N'ama Bay most evenings - we didn't go out at all in the end. What you need to remember is that this is a 5* hotel - you are paying for the luxurious surrounding, the excellent service, the relaxed experience and the quality and presentation of the food and drink. We spent under £100 per day on lunch, drinks on the beach, coffees, dinner, cocktails and a bottle of wine every night. The only grumbles we had are (1) that the breakfast egg station chef needs some more training in how to do the perfect poached egg, and a fluffy omelet; and (2) the bay is home to the most beautiful reefs on the coast and it attracts up to 17 dive and snorkel boats on at least 2 afternoons a week. The hotel did call the police while we were there because some of the 'booze cruise' type boats were making too much noise - the boats owners were reprimanded by the police and there was no more noise after that. The sea was a comfortable temperature on some days, but on others we could have done with a rash vest or shortie wetsuit - we are getting on and starting to feel the cold I think! all in all we had a great week and plan to return next year for some winter sun.

Room Tip: Either email the hotel or make your special requests via your travel agent or your Hyatt Gold card account if you have one and the hotel do all they can to meet your needs.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear Mrs Dawn

Thank you for staying with us at the Hyatt and for your detailed feed-back. It is very nice to read that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and were satisfied with the services offered, including the daily ice bucket refill.

Indeed we focus a lot on gardening and landscaping which now with increasing temperatures can be a challenge - but surely well worth and setting us apart from other hotels in the area.

Good point with regard to the apparent over-service, which shouldn't occur, something i will bring up with our F&B teams to look at.
Also your feed-back with regard to the "egg-man" and his skills are well taken and our new Executive Chef Hartmut will take necessary corrective action.

It is indeed that occasionally the boats are getting too much - unfortunately - and now and then we need to call the authorities to get involved. On the positive side it is proof that we are very fortunate to have one of the nicest reefs in the area, attracting beginning divers as well as professionals and snorkelers to stop by.

Last but not least, we hope you make it back again soon and if we can be of any assistance please do contact us at your convenience.

Kind regards

Stefan Gaessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is paradise made in desert, comfortable hotel rooms, excellent food, friendly staff, many swimming pools, big garden, very nice beach and great opportunity to see corals and fish direct from the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms in Hibiscus building near the beach - nice vue and quiet place
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YulianaBulgaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. It is very nice to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and services provided.

It would be our pleasure to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future, if we can be of any assistance in the meantime please contact us at your convenience.

Kind regards

Stefan Gaessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Hyatt Regency and as the title says, it was good value for money. The service was very good - from the front staff to the restaurant staff to the room boy. Definitely the level of service that one would expect from this calibre of hotel. The food was good - the breakfast buffet spread had a brilliant range of items on offer, as well as the Souk restaurant. The chef at Wok at the Souk restaurant is worthy of mention, always turning out great wok dishes, and even went the extra mile of preparing something that was not on the day's menu on request. I was a little disappointed with the duck breast I ordered at the Souk restaurant - the bird I was served was dry and tough - I had it to return it! I must mention the Sala Thai restaurant - absolutely fabulous and a must visit if you stay at this hotel. The snorkelling from the Garden bay was great, and the proximity of the sea to the resort is a huge plus if you are interested in snorkelling and/or diving. The kids club was fabulous - My daughter begged to go there daily. On the whole, we had a pleasant experience and for a holiday that offers good value without breaking the bank, I would recommend this hotel. There are a few items to mention to the hotel management for improvement:

1. The rooms are big and spacious, however, they are a bit tired and could do with some renovation. We stayed in the Acacia block and it is a bit worse for wear and should certainly be renovated.

2. Some parts of the hotel are worse for wear and need refurbishing. The decor is tatty in places and in need of renovation. For example, at the Cafe Fresco, the paint/wall paper is peeling in some places and even on some of the steps coming up to the toboggan/cafe fresco, there is some paint that is peeling and this is not acceptable for a hotel of this standard.

3 Wifi is not free. You are charged approx 49 Egyptian pounds for 30 minutes and 139 Egyptian pounds (approx 20 USD) for 24 hour connection. This is outrageous and wifi should be provided as complementary to guests in this day and age.

4. Having to ask for mosquito tablets every night instead of just being given enough for your entire stay upfront. Obviously we were provided with one tablet on day one of our visit. We forgot to ask for a tablet for day two and my 4 year old woke up completely devoured by mosquitoes the next morning. Please provide enough tablets upfront to your guests as they might not remember to request this daily or supply the rooms daily during the room make up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mizmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you for staying with us and your valuable feed-back which will help us to maintain and to further improve our standards.

It is nice to read that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us and services provided, in particular with regard the restaurants and quality of food, which I will pass on to our culinary teams.
Indeed the Sala Thai restaurant is I would proudly say one of the best restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh, well know for its authentic and consistent food.

Your comments with regard to renovation and upkeep are well taken and I can assure our ongoing commitment.

I agree the price for Internet is an issue, which is something we are looking at to eventually come up with a better solution in the near future.
For the time being we offer free WIFI for guests who have booked Regency Club, in the Regency Club lounge, in addition to limited speed in the hotel lobby.

Good point with the Mosquito tablets, in addition we continue to fumigate the property early morning and again at sunset.

We would hope to see you back at the Hyatt and it would be a pleasure to be of assistance now or in the future.

Kind regards

Stefan Gaessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have been going to the Hyatt for around the last 8 years or so, I have stayed at about a dozen other hotels and always try to return to this one. The rooms are spacious and well decorated and the beds are really comfy.

There is a brilliant array of restaurants from the outdoor courtyard that serves different types of food for all the family. There is a great beach restaurant and a night in the Thai Sala is well worth it. The breakfast buffet means that you will definitely need to she'd a few pounds on your return.

During the day there is a fantastic house reef and a friendly dive centre on its doorstep. Whether you are an accomplished diver or just like to snorkel then the aquatic life will blow you away.

Once you've had your sea-fix then you can lie back on the beach or around any of the three pools. Adults and kids love the 80m waterslide followed by a gentle drift along the lazy river.

There are cheaper hotels and one or two that are more expensive but I would say that this offers great value. Just as a little plug, if you are interested in learning to dive then we can complete the theory and pool work (the boring bit) on your PADI open water course before you go!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OysterDiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Dear Hyatt Guest

Thank you very much for your continuous loyalty having made the Hyatt your preferred hotel in Sharm El Sheikh. Please drop us a mail when returning next time, to send a bottle of wine to your room with our compliments.

Very nice to read you enjoyed the F&B offerings including the Sala Thai, with Chef Awon and her team mastering the woks.

Indeed our house reef gets continuously great feed-back, very well liked by professional divers and snorkelers alike.

The colleagues from the Dive center will always be there for assistance, I can highly recommend them for their professionalism and personal care.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon to our resort,

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having stayed here many times before the the magic never diminishes. We had already been away for the first six weeks of this year in the Far East and we returned home to cold wet weather. We decided to spend a week relaxing in this Oasis (literally). Everything was perfect. From the relaxed amazing buffet breakfast to the beach with the fantastic snorkelling. The grounds are spacious and beautiful, the restaurants are outstanding The service is excellent, the rooms large and luxurious. Given all the bad publicity about Egypt nothing is further from the truth in this resort. I cannot imagine a safer, better place to be. The experience cannot be described you should just go there. A week of everything you need without leaving the hotel grounds.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaveB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Gaessler, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Sharm El Sheikh Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Mr Dave

Thank you for staying with us again and hopefully many more times in the future.

I am very pleased to read that again you enjoyed your stay with us and services provided and surely will pass on your comments to our teams.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort in the not too distant future,

Sincerely and with kind regards

Stefan Gaessler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews