We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beach Albatros Sharm
Ranked #103 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The hotel in parts is basic but they are refurbishing it. The food was outstanding a great choice everyday (they alternated the food so you were not bored). The hotel has its own private beach which is kept clean and tidy (as is the rest of the hotel including the gardens). There are 2 swimming pools. My room was cleaned daily. The staff cannot do enough for you. There is a mosque outside which sounds 5 times a day but you get used to it. One of my friends arrived very late in the evening and they'd already kept some food back from the restaurant for when they arrived which is a gesture that sums up this hotel. Lovely hotel, lovely staff, lovely beach!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curly13Huddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbatrosGRM, Hotel Management at Beach Albatros Sharm, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Dear our guest,
Sunny greetings from Beach Albatros in Sharm El Sheikh!
First of all, let me thank you for choosing PICKALBATROS Hotels & Nile Cruises and Beach Albatros for your past holiday.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Beach Albatros as a member of Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises.
We would like to thank you about your nice comments for our sunny & lovely Resort.
Looking forward to welcome you very soon again to our beautiful resort.
Thanks & regards,
Your Beach Albatros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    427
    115
    66
    54
See reviews for
444
462
73
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have just arrived back from our January visit to the beach albatros hotel.
Firstly we arrived on a Saturday evening, initial thoughts of the hotel were better than we expected reading the tripadvisor reviews, reception was clean and well maintained, reception staff were friendly. However, we were given some speil about our room being damaged in some heavy rain a a week earlier and we were ushered to a taxi elsewhere, we kicked up a fuss and refused to budge but the staff (and i think the manager by this point), assured us the villa was a 5 minute walk from reception just on the edge of the resort, after much protestation and counter-reassurance, we wearily aggreed to get in the taxi. The Villa it turns out IS on the edge of the resort, its about a 10 minute walk to reception. The villa itself is actually very luxurious, and spacious with its own pool, and a fridge full of pastries, beers, soft drinks etc - you could just help yourself to. I think our initial refusal to go to the villa was a paranio - caused probably by listening too much to reviews on tripadvisor. We were also assured that we could arrange a free transfer whenever we wanted too and from the villa, something we did do initially but thereafter we decided to walk.
The facilities in the hotel are fine. The gym is better than I expected. There is a shop where you can buy souveirs etc (though you must haggle down the price). The pools are clean, there are atleast 4 bars, and plenty of sunbeds to go round. The pools and in fact the whole place is very clean. The pools though are not heated, in fact we were the only people we saw using the pool. Oh and the jacuzzi you have to pay for - but i wouldnt botther, the water in it is very murky.
The beach is very good, and not too crowded, the sea here is very warm and excellent for snorkelling - though you MUST wear something on your feet when you go in the water my feet got ripped to shreds by the coral. We saw cuttlefish, angle fish, sea anemena and much more. You get a bit of hassle for spa and excursions etc, but nothing too pushy. We booked a quad bike trip here, and would highly recomend it, though you must haggle, we ended up paying £30 pound for two, the first price offered was £30 each. You must take a scarf to cover your head, and sunglasses, but the scenary driving through the mountains was amazing; really worth it.
The food, there is plenty of it, and plenty of choice, but by the end of the week i dreaded going to the restaurant. Anyone who thinks this is quality food doesnt know what they are talking about. All the meat and fish cooked are cooked to death. The breafast is aimed at the Russian guest (mashed potatoes, makorni etc), and is poor. One night they did fresh pizzas to order, they were good. Another night they did barbcue lamb which was so overcooked i couldnt swallow it. On the plus side, most nights they did a fresh pasta section which they cook to order in front of you, whihc was good. All the sweets are laced with coconut and sugar and are not good.
The all inclusive drinks are better than I expected, the beer you have is in half pint glasses, the spirits are not the same as what you get in europe but are fine.
Other reviews I have read have said the staff dont like the britsih but i did not see this, they seemed very chatty and liked the fact we were polite. Tipping, we spent about £20 pound coins tipping for the whole week, it didnt seem a big problem if you did not tip.
The entertainment on an evening like everything else was aimed at the majority of the guests who are russian, and they can keep it, it was hilarious, and not when it was meant to be, they had a singer on two night who had leather pants on who was terrible - but funny. And two dancers who who thought they were gods gift but looked like max and paddy doing it for a joke, one of them really looked like maradonna when he was at his fattest - that was funny too. And the guy who looks after ther pool tables is greasy and very slimey.
We visited Naama bay one day, and I can definitely say its not worth it, its seedy you get loads of agressive sleazy hassle, its dirty and the beach is poor and the snorkelling no good, despite what the guide books say.
What is worth a visit is the albatros's sister hotel the aqua park, its a 5 minute walk away, and costs 150 egyptian pounds each, including lunch, and is definitly worth the visit.
Overall i was pleasantly suprised by the hotel. And looking at some of the other hotels in sharm, i think it was a good choice. If the food were better i would definitly go back. The staff work hard to make your stay a good one. And the view of the mountains is amazing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalAlbatrosGRM, Hotel Management at Beach Albatros Sharm, responded to this review, March 14, 2010
Dear our guest,
Sunny greetings from Beach Albatros in Sharm El Sheikh!
First of all, let me thank you for choosing PICKALBATROS Hotels & Nile Cruises and Beach Albatros for your past holiday.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again at Beach Albatros as a member of Pickalbatros Hotels & Nile Cruises.
We would like to thank you about your nice comments for our sunny & lovely Resort.
Looking forward to welcome you very soon again to our beautiful resort.
Thanks & regards,
Your Beach Albatros Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2010

we booked the aqua blu through on the beach. we arrived at the airport, about to get in a taxi to the aqua blu, to find out we werent staying there. pls pls pls dont use on the beach. good deals but not worth it. dealt with it sooo badly. proceeding court action now.

we spent most of the with holiday wishing we were home due to everything going wrong. we were miserable and just tried to keep our heads down and get through it. looking back the food was always very hot, with reaonable amount to choose from. no tummy troubles. nice bar in the evening. met a few nice members of staff. ppl do try to sell alot but i think you get that in most places. just get engrossed in a book and be vague.
it is a bit of a mission getting to the beach, especially if you suffer from chlostrophobia as there is a big lift twith the panels hanging off to take you down! spent last few days at the quiet pool which was lovely.
unfortuntely we spent the whole time comparing this hotel with what we should of had but all in all a nice hotel if you want a cheap getaway.
ps the shower is nightmare, curtain keeps sticking to you and goes hot and cold while it dribbles!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjtay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

We booked Beach Albatross through Travel Republic but beware when booking this hotel, they will tell you on arrival that there is a flight delay and move you to another hotel but its simply overbooking as we discovered from others who had to spend up to 3 nights at a different hotel to the one they had booked.

Make sure you have your paperwork stating that you have paid for a room with a balcony or patio as when we eventually checked in to the hotel they tried to offer us a tiny room with a small window and no balcony or patio. We were eventually moved to a small dated Chalet but at least we had somewhere to sit out.

There is no rep for Medhotels or Travel Republic so no-one to seek help from.

The hotel is in a nice location and the beach is okay but don’t expect to relax as you will be constantly hampered by the chaps who want to sell you diving trips, snorkelling, papers, massage, submarine, tattoo, quad biking! After a while this gets a bit much! You will also be hassled every day by staff from the hotel trying to sell you barbecue night, tombola, Italian restaurant, seafood plate, even after you have said no they will continue to ask you again and again.

There was no information on how to get snacks from the beach bar, you had to go to the end of the bar, order your food, give your room number and then take a ticket to the other side and give the ticket to the chef where he would then make your order.
Not much to choose from, pizzas or sandwiches.

The food in the restaurant was good, not too much to choose from but enough to fill you up. The pizza night was best and you occasionally got ice cream. The bread made in the clay oven was delicious.

The drink was awful and everything just tasted the same, you could drink all day long and not feel an effect what so ever. The red wine was chilled and mostly ran out in the evening at dinner.

You could see people in the morning putting several pastries etc in to their bags and many people would leave so much food on the table uneaten, this was an awful waste.

There was nowhere to sit inside at night and while we were there it got quite cool at night, sometimes too cold for me to sit out even though I had a jacket on. There are loads of mosquitoes and ants about at nights so you will find yourself being bitten which ever bar you chose to drink

The mosquitoes caused big problems, as well as having loads of bites myself despite using skin so soft, Dr Johnsons, insect repellent wipes, garlic pills and having a plug in in the room you could see folk with bites all over them.

A few evenings there was no hot water and I ended up having to dry myself with the hairdryer as I was freezing.

The entertainment was total rubbish! There was a bingo night and my neighbour won, she won a glass bottom boat trip for one and another person could go half price! When she tried to claim her prize she was told that the boat was out of order for 10 days and that she could go to the Casino instead! The animation team put on a comedy show but again it wasn’t worth watching.

If you get a taxi from the hotel you will be asked how much you are willing to pay and when you give a price you are told no anyway? We got a taxi to Namma Bay for around 30 Egyptian Pounds and when we arrived the taxi door was opened by someone who immediately shuffled you into his shop to try and sell you something and it took us a good 5 minutes to get out. This put us off getting a taxi again so we didn’t really venture out of the hotel much but when we did we had someone pretending to be a chef from the hotel trying to take us to a shop in the old town plus there were taxis pumping their horn at you every few seconds, we almost had one run us over!

The Old Town was a nightmare, we were hassled from every direction and had to get out quick! Not my idea of shopping.

The staff at the hotel are extremely hard working and pleasant, how they can manage to work all those hours with such little sleep is hard to believe. The chap serving drinks in the restaurant is very friendly and will tell you the football scores.

A big thank you to Gill and Malcolm for leaving behind such a fabulous gift!

All in all it was nice to have a break in such a nice location but there were too many bad points to consider returning.

We contacted Travel Republic and as you can guess we are still waiting on a reply, I wouldn't use their services again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Just back from yet another fantastic holiday at the Beach Albatros hotel in old Sharm.

The hotel is old but being refurbished over the next few months. Some rooms have been done and they look great.

The hotel is located in the most fantastic location on a cliff top over looking the bay at old Sharm. Access to the beach is via a lift or for the more energetic, a stair case. (yes some mad fools do use it!) There are pleanty of sunbeds to go round and towels are provided free of charge. There is a snack bar on the beach so lunch is available without the drama of leaving the beach. There is also a bar for drinks adjacent to the snack bar. Both of these are staffed by the most wonderful people. Kaled the chef is quite mad, if you see him mention 'Georgie two shoes', he will giggle for ages. The bar is staffed by Mahmoud and Mostafa, the are so hard working and will do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay.

The down side to the beach is the animation team who appear to be employed to chat up young girls and ignore the rest of the guests. That said, watchng their pathetic antics is quite entertaining in it's self. There is a legion of young sales folk who will try to sell you diving and snorkelling trips, boat rides, massages, Turkish baths, beauty treatments, quad bike trips and much more besides. They will leave you alone once they get the message that you are not interested but that may take a couple of days to get across. But hey ho, that is their job and the do deserve to make a living don't they?

The main restaurant is clean and there is plenty of food. Of course it will not all suit everyone but there is a huge choice and there will definately be something there that you will like. Chicken features on every menu so be warned! There is always a choise os soups, a fish dish, an orriental dish, low cal dishes for the dieters and much more too.

If you want to relax and enjoy the sun and the sea this is the place for you. If you want masses of water sports, loud discos, casinos and jumping nght life then Nama bay would be a better bet. Old Sharm and the Albatros is perfect for the 40 plus brigade. (Yes, I am in that group)

Will I go again YES!

I hope that this helps you choose this hotel

Lord Martyn

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sladest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

A little late on my review, but here goes...... the hotel was pretty good, rooms basic, food basic. Location.....AWESOME if you like being on the sea. there was some great snorkling from the hotel beach, nice and quiet as well. Some other reviews had mentioned the high number of rude russians. There were alot, but all were great, not alot of english, but to be expected. Overall I really enjoyed my stay there and would stay again, good value, great location (short walk to the madness of Old Sharm). Only part I'd change is the dive shop next to the hotel, they are small and actually forgot to book my trip out to the Thistlegorm with one of the big shops, but luckily they had room let me on the boat anyways. would stay there again in a hearbeat!

Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank porkchopfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Second time to this Hotel and as good if not better as first stay, After a rocky start due to Hotel Overbooked we where put into the Apartment Block for first night but was moved into the hotel grounds next day. Food was excellent fantastic selection all hot food very good choice of 2 soups deserts and huge salad bar mostly different every day with show cooking good selection of local drinks and hot drinks all served up to midnight , staff all very friendly and Management staff cannot do enough to make your stay a truly memorable and enjoyable From my observation if you speak to them in a friendly & civil manner they will treat you with respect some guests we saw looked down on them and spoke to them with an attitude problem. view overlooking the sea was great and swimming in the sea in late november and december was fantastic temperature around 27 to 28 during our whole stay evenings just need a cardigan walk to old market fantasia or get taxi to Namma bay about £3 each way dont forget to barter and arrange price before getting in taxi

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
Aqua Blu Sharm
Aqua Blu Sharm
#41 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,001 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#31 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,646 reviews
0.7 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#11 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm el-Sheikh
0.4 mi away
Iberotel Palace
Iberotel Palace
#14 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,612 reviews
1.1 mi away
SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare Resort
SUNRISE Grand Select Montemare R...
#18 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Albatros Sharm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Albatros Sharm

Property: Beach Albatros Sharm
Address: on the cliff of Ras Om El Seid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#44 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#95 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Beach Albatros Sharm 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LocationBeach Albatros SSH located on the Sharm Elmaya bay. Only 20 minutes from SharmInternational Airport, the Hotel is built on an area covering over 137,000 sq. m.• 20 minutes to the airport• 10 minutes to Na’ama bay (Center of Sharm El Sheikh)• 05 minutes to the old town• Shuttle bus to Na’ama bay (extra charge)Rooms & Amenities• Number of rooms: 228 Rooms• Double rooms 194 rooms with Terrace or Balcony, Maximum 3 person's occupancy, Air condition, direct dialing phone, Sat. TV, Mini Bar, Hair dryer.• Chalets 34 rooms two bedrooms + Living room , and one bathroom, with stylish windows or terrace 1 - 4 persons, Air condition, direct dialing phone, Sat. TV, Mini Bar, Hair dryer.• Number of floors: 3 in the main building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Beach Albatros Sharm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Albatros Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Beach Albatros Egypt
Beach Albatros Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing