We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$244
$135
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Diamond Beach Resort(Sharm El Sheikh)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$129
$107
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh(Sharm El Sheikh)
$185
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$300
$247
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
468
473
253
145
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
468
473
253
145
150
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2008

I visited many hotels and resorts but never seen a hotel like that it was the worst one.

we arrived at 12pm,we were half board and we were in the small reception it looked ugly and very bad, we didn't find a place to sit in till we take our rooms, we were 5 friends together at first they gave us a suit for all of us but when we saw it, it was very very bad,no one can live in it so we came back to the reception to take other rooms we took two double rooms with extra bed in one room (2208-2303)they were not bad with compare to the "suit" and it was 3 o'clock when we took these rooms, we asked the bellman to take our luggage to the room and we were shocked when he said "i'am busy,you can take it by yourselves" we said it's ok and we took it.

Talking about the staff and the service,the staff wasn't helpfull when we talk to every body in the staff to ask about anything the say ask in the reception,the service also is very bad, our conditioner broke down every day in our stay and we call the reception to get us a repairman to fix it and he comes in about 1 hour "every day".

The housekeeping was very active,one night we spend it till the dawn so we took our breakfast and got back to our room to sleep,and about every half an hour we find a one of the housekeepers next to my bed asking won't we make our rooms today and the last one said "will you sleep all the day in the room!!!".

The restaurant,it was very far from our room, the food was very bad also . the breakfast it wasnt that bad because the food was simple,but the dinner OMG we eat the meat having many fats attached to it and not well cooked,the chicken have a smell of fish,the table wasn't clean and u have only a fork and a knife to eat the food and desserts with them and there is no spoons for the soups or coffe or anything and when you ask for them they say that there are on the boufee and when i go there i find nothing.

The pool was not bad but the person who give us the towels treats us like he buyed them for us :D the pool bar was very bad, and you find a lesion says "no smoking","no diving","no jumping" and as the people cant see the "no" word they also smoke in the pool itself.

The beach was about 15 min far from the hotel,it was good we enjoyed our time we didnt find a thing bad except it is narrow and we was in the 5th umbrella far from the beach, but we found later a better place.

Talking about sharm a bit we went to naama bay, we liked it and we found all what we want there, there was there many cafes and discos, you will find there everything.

we went for safari in night, it was good in addition to a small accidents but we enjoyed it,we saw the dawn and took our tea and got back in our way we saw birds and camels the look very nice, the company which planed for the safari came and took us from the hotel and get us back to it at the time.

At last i will come again to sharm but never come to tropicana.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isaac_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed at the Tropicana Rosetta first week of Sept. 2008 after booking a last minute deal. We usually stay at the Tropicana Grand Oasis which is flawless in comparison to the Rosetta which has good and bad points.

The best feature of the Rosetta is the location in that it is about ten minutes walk from Naama bay. Therefore you don't need taxis and can get to all the shops with ease once you have crossed the busy main road. The rooms are a good size and clean within.

As other reviews state, the complex is large and there can be a lot of walking invovled. If you are disabled or hard of walking it may also prove difficult as if you can't manage the steps, there are ramps alongside but they are elevated too high. Taking your luggage down the ramp is like walking down a well oiled slide!

There are plenty of pools and we stayed in the "Jasmine" complex which is a new complex right at the top of the hill at the back. We found that mostly Brits are housed here. The pool is large but can be dirty and litter left around the surrounds overnight are not picked up until the area is in use in the morning. The pool area should really be cleaned overnight when everyone is asleep! There was also an issue with sunloungers and reserving them. There are not enough loungers for the number of rooms and everyone was placing towels on them the night before, much to the upset of some guests.However, this had not occurred the week prior apparantly and this may have just been a busy week.

If you are a light sleeper, sleeping may also be an issue on two counts. Firstly, the hotel is under the flight path. This is not so much a problem in the daytime as only about 2 planes fly in per hour if that. However, there were one or two flights which were landing at 3am and 4am - not sure if they were scheduled so or just late arriving, but this occurred daily and can prove troublesome if that kind of thing wakes you up. The gardeners also come out at night and have loud conversations right outside your door!

Didn't use the hotel beach - "New Tiran" after reading reviews on here about it being cramped.

We stayed bed and breakfast - the food was ok but quite bland - cakes,an American breakfast menu which consisted of eggs, sausages, eggy-bread!, aubergines. Not sure how the American waffle didn't make it, also chillis (for breakfast??), vegetables, bread. Didn't eat other meals but saw long long queues at dinner time as the food is arranged in a line rather than spread out about the room, thus queuing was prevelant.

The room was cleaned daily but the cleaner kept hinting for a tip towards the end of the week. He would have been tipped if it wasn't for all the hints and disturbing us a few times on the last morning. One day we didn't have towels provided, another no hot water. For a few hours we had no electricity also!

Seems a lot of negativity but all in all the hotel was well located but needs improvements in certain areas. The sun burnt down at over 40 degrees each day which was nice.

I would definately stay at the Sister hotel - Tropicana Grand Oasis - if given the choice of the two (see separate reviews!) as although further afield, that hotel is 5* in comparison on all levels. I would rate the Rosetta as 2*. We will probably give the Rosetta a miss on the next occassion.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DFTREW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

My boyfriend and I have just returned from the Tropicana Rosetta. The hotel itself is OK, nothing to rant about and I would say that it is worth the £8 per night that we got it for, however, once we were there we started to wish that we had paid more for something better!

We arrived early morning and checked-in. All fine. Got to the hotel room and was quite disappointed! We had emailed them before we arrived requesting a room in the Jasmine section of the hotel (as we heard this was the nicest/newest part) but we weren't placed there. Our room was right near to reception ... handy as you don't have so far to walk when going out and near to reception if any problems/safety deposit box! But that's about it. The room was dated, the air conditioning was noisey and constantly rattled! The beds were like laying on a plank of wood and were very uncomfortable! There was no toilet paper in the bathroom when we arrived, so we had to go to reception at 3am to request some, with some arriving around 1 hour later!! The shower curtain was dirty and discoloured too! There were also ants crawling around the shower, which were coming out of the cracks in the side of the wall! And every time the shower was turned on, it would spurt out black water. It was disgusting! But we decided to not let it get to us and try and enjoy the holiday anyway, as at the end of the day it's only a room to sleep in for a week or two!

Our room was right next to the swimming pool, so handy to get to .. that's if you can get a sunbed!! You can get towels from 7.30am every day, however at this time, the pool boy had placed towels on beds after being tipped by guests .. so they could get the ones in the best position! However, a lot of the sunbeds are in shade most of the day, or either in the full beaming sun! So we decided to go and check out the other swimming pools further up. These were bigger and the sunbeds were much more spread out! But yet again, not enough sunbeds for us, so we decided to head down to the hotel's beach. If I was you, I wouldn't even bother going!! The sunbeds are so cramped together, the sand is dirty with rubbish left in and to top it all off we found two 4inch sharp screws in the sand by our feet. The beach does not seem to be cared for, unlike some of the others we walked past which looked very nice! We stayed at the beach for about an hour (long enough!!) and went back to the hotel in hope of getting some sunbeds around the pool. We did, but the pool water wasn't clean, one of the underwater lights on the side of the pool was hanging off it's wires!

The next day my boyfriend decided to get up at 7.30am to put the towels down, we would have tipped the pool boy, but hated the principle of having to pay to get a better service. At this time there were only 3 beds left. We stayed by the pool and had lunch there. The menu is basic, food does take a while to arrive, but it was eatable. What really turned me off was when the waiter handed me my plate on the second day with TWO DIRTY FINGERPRINTS on it where he had been holding it. Enough said!!

One of the problems we found is that there isn't anywhere else to eat really, unless you want to walk 10-15mins into Naama Bay, but in the heat you lose all appetite and don't fancy sweating buckets. The pool was small but we settled for it as it was so close to our room. There are people who come round every day trying to sell you a massage/BBQ night etc, which got very annoying! Yes Egyptian people are friendly, but thats only because they want your money!!! The massage guy spoke to us for about 10 minutes about himself, askign us questions about what we do etc etc, but left instantly when he knew he wasn't going to sell us a massage! Oh and also it seems like a lot of them have girlfriends/wives who live in England .. what a coincidence .. again, it's a load of rubbish to make conversation.

So after two days at the pool, we decided that the next day we'll pay to go onto another beach, the Hilton or something. But surprise surprise we got ill! It was absolutely awful! We didn't know what to do/eat as we were 150% it was the food that had made us ill. We drunk bottled water, stayed hydrated, did not drink alcohol, brushed our teeth with bottled water, stayed away from salads etc, used antiseptic gel out and about! People say its the air conditioning which can cause it and the adjustment to the hot and cold, but we've both been to Cyprus on numerous occasions with the air con and similar heat and were fine! We were then stuck in our room for two days ... sickness and diarrhea, we needed to eat but when your ill you dont really fancy eating out in a places that have made you ill in the first place. We decided to order a plate of chips from the pool bar (not ideal I know) but it was the only thing that was plain to eat. A portion of chips was not on the menu, but we saw a group order some the day before, but when we went to order he would not do them for us! As my boyfriend was worse than me, I had to trek to the nearest shop to buy bottled water and snacks. This shop is between the Novatel and the Hilton Fayrouz .. bought some bottled water and a pack of Mcvitie's digestives .. brought it back to the room to discover that the water was out of date by a YEAR and after eating a digestive biscuit, to discover that they were crawling with ants!!!!!!!!! Do not buy anything from this shop, the food must be old and left lying about, everything's covered in dust too!

The cleaner was hopeless too, I left him a good tip on the first day, but instead of sweeping and mopping the floor for the next couple of days, he decided to tidy up the dressing table and line up all my toiletries!! It was sweet of him, but there were more important things that need to be cleaned that weren't!!

So as you have probably already gathered, we did not enjoy our time at the Tropicana Rosetta or in Sharm. I will never ever go back there again! The part where we were staying needs updating, there was a gap underneath our door, where all dirt and creepy crawlies would crawl in, we returned to a lizard one night!!

If you want basic, and I mean basic, then it's fine! But in my opinion I think that it's worth paying a little bit more for a nicer hotel on the sea front with a nice beach, that way if you dont like the swimming pools at least you have access to the beach.

We hated the place so much that we decided to get flights back home only after 5 days there! We had booked for 2 weeks. This was not just down to the hotel only, but our illness was horrible and when your like that you just want to be at home where you can eat things that you know have been prepared in a hygenic environment. I would not recommend Sharm at all, I don't think it has anything going for it, it's too Westernised and Naama Bay is like a Blackpool illuminations. The hassle you also get is annoying too! It put us off going into Naama Bay, but we had to as this was the nearest place to go to eat. When your on holiday you don't want hassle, you want to relax, you don't want to be constantly asked "Hello my friend, where you come from, come here please!!" after following you half way down the street. For us, the people themselves ruin it! They need to learn that if they left us alone, then maybe they would get more business as we wouldn't be so afraid of having a look. Normally I love looking around the shops for little things, but this completely put me off.

We were very disappointed with Sharm. After reading the Tripadvisor forum for months, we were both so excited about going and doing all of the trips, but we did none as we were so ill. The forum also seems to be pro-Sharm and in my opinion dismisses any negative points and focuses on the positives. That's fine, but it gives people and us the wrong impression of what Sharm is actually like.

I really don't understand how people can say they love the place. It has no Egyptian culture about it and way too Westernised for my liking. If you like the prospect of constant hassle, dirty shower water, being limited to what you can eat on a menu and a very high chance of gettin food poisoning, then go to Sharm. If not, then stay away!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank xsungoddessx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

omg! where to start.. my husband and i arrived at the hotel around 9pm. when finally getting to our room, which was room no. 2405! and at least a ten minute walk from reception! we had a twin room, and we paid for a double! the porter held his hand out for a tip, which fair play he did deserve. when checking over the room, we found that the beds had black clumps of hair all tangled up in the linen, and when i peeled back the covers on my bed, it had a huge wet urine stain right at the foot of it!!!! we complained to the hotel manager who, after some shouting, moved us to another room!! this room was ok, but smelt awful, my advice to you is take a bottle of dettol, you will need it. the bathroom was very small, the bath was dirty and the shower was pathetic. the toilet is also small, if u do have an upset tummy, the toilets block very easy. the cleaner did come every day, but hardly ever left any clean towels or toilet paper and we had to ring down to reception most days to complain. the breakfasts are very european, if your a fussy eater i would not recomend it, we went to mcdonalds! its only up the road and you get a decent cup of coffee! if u do get a bad tummy DO NOT BUY FROM THE HOTEL PHARMACY he completely rips you off and charges at least 4 times the amount you would pay in naama bay! if you can take imodium with you, if you forget, there is a pharmacy which is cheap. just walk through the hilton hotel opposite the rosetta, turn right and turn right again at the first street. these shops are also cheap for water and snacks. It does have a very big gorgeous pool, but if your not up by 5.30am you will not get a lounger and you will have to sit on the grass with no parasol, and believe me the sun is hot hot hot! we put our towels down there b4 we went to bed. if your hoping for a cheap holiday tho. stay at the tropicana, but dont expect value for money, this hotel is not 4 star, i would rate it at not even 2*. egypt is not that much difference in price for lager and wine or food than the uk. avg £2.60 for a bottle of lager, £12 for bottle of local wine. a good 2 course meal will set u back around £30 per person.and thats without drinks. we ate out every night as the hotel food was pathetic and the restaurant was always very overcrowded. the staff were ignorant and rude, and moved at only at one pace, which was very slow.i also hated the fact that the safety deposit boxes were downstairs next to reception, and you cannot access them without a member of staff being present. also, if ur male and carry in a bag or rucksack, you will always be serched b4 u enter the hotel, so we just went the back way, it was just less hassle. the beach is a 15 min walk from the hotel and is very dirty and cramped, we went in but we walked straight back out, there is a good beach called shark bay and is only a short taxi drive away, always agree a price with the driver b4 going tho, about 30 LE is plenty, which is £3. we didnt go but wasnt told about it until our last day. when eating out, our favs were the mexican and pomodaros, which is italian and gorgeous food!
the day b4 we left the tropicana, we filled in our comment card, which we felt was truthful, and the cleaner picked it up. the next morning b4 we left, he asked us to fill in another one! because our report was so bad! he also kept knocking the door from 10am to see if we were ready to leave, and check out wasnt even until 12!!! we were told to leave tip for them when we left, as they are not paid alot, but just for his cheek! i halved it!!!!!
the holiday overall was ok, we would not go back, as when youve been to sharm once, you see everything in you first week, then you get bored. if we did go back, we would NOT stay at the rosetta, we would stay at the HILTON which it far better and has a fantastic private beach!!! i would highly recomend the quad biking in the sinai,approx £35 each, and going to see the pyramids and the sphinx, approx £160 each, as you will never see anything like it again.... we went by plane as did not fancy the 5 or 6 hours to cairo by coach.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SouthWalesWelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Myself and my husband travelled here in june 2008, it was rated a 4star hotel with olympic holidays but i wouldnt rate this a 2star.
The hotel is massive and we had to walk 20mins uphill to our room which in 40degrees of heat is tough. The breakfast was terrible and we both had the "runs" for the whole week we were there with terrible stomach cramps. The staff were rude and when we had a shower and a wash every day the water was brown, we felt more dirty when we had a shower then when we first got in. If you like 4star hotels then do not go here. they pester you all the time and never give you change as they expect all your money. Naama bay was ok but again as we were bed + breakfast we had to eat out every day and every night we were really poorly. Overall i wouldnt go back if someone paid me.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank joanne14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews