We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont be going back till 2014!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Ranked #141 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed October 2, 2012

3rd time at this hotel and unfortunatley under nw management this time and 3 restaurants were closed whilst refurb was going on. Great staff and food though and loveley location!
Animation team are fab! Pool staff are loveley but watch out for the paper boy! he will sell you a sun and come back for it when youve finished to sell to someone else!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BirminghamRolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 856 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in June for 10 nights and it was by far the best holiday we have been on for a long time. the staff were so friendly and couldn't help us enough, rooms were immaculate everyday and same with all areas of hotel. Entertainment team were wicked and you can book all activities in the hotel so if you were uneasy of going outside you didnt need to. The bus service to the beach was brilliant if you were to lazy to walk or disabled we walked most of the time as it only takes 5mins from the main building NOT 15mins as others have stated. All in all we can not say one bad word about this hotel and have recommened it to many of our friends who will be going very soon!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leighanne186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just had 10 days at Pyramisa, was not told that the hotel had changed name from sea magic, caused a bit of confusion at airport trying to get our transfer. On arrival missed evening meal by 2 minutes but they took us into restaurant and gave us a plate of cold food that looked awful, stuck to beer instead. At reception they gave us a form to sign that said we were from netherlands and an envelope of information all in dutch ( we are English) good start. Booked through co-operative and thought we were with cosmos, but found out we weren't and had no rep. Food was acceptable most of the time, waiters very good kept bringing glasses of beer without having to ask. Not much to do at night except sit at pool bar and get eaten by mozzies. Got a dodgy stomach but I think it is because at pool bar they only rinse the glasses instead of washing in hot water. Have to fight with towel boy every morning, he wants to carry your towel for you, quite capable of carrying it myself. Boat trip to Tiran Island with scuba diving very good booked it with Mustafer at coral diving. 3 restaurants closed down, snacks were left overs from breakfast usually a few danishes only. Don't go through shopping arcade, very persistent. Went to Naama bay in a taxi from outside hotel, very scary, no seatbelts, light on dashboard flashing, no air con, fumes coming up through back seat from exhaust and they drop you off at their friends shop and they expect you to buy something, avoid it like the plague. Got a taxi through the hotel to soho square, very nice slightly dearer but very professional and cool. All in all not a bad holiday for 1st time in Egypt, but would not go again, flight too long with no leg room and sick of the dodgy stomach, will stick to Greece in future. Also got ripped off at airport, they charged us thirteen pounds each to get a visa for excursions or day trips, but was told later at hotel that he should of said if we were going to go to Cairo or out of Egypt not just day trips!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

1) On arrival with a delayed flight (actually checked in on 09/09/12) all outlets shut; no food on plane; couldn’t even rustle up a cake & cup of tea; told to go to room & order room service-no leaflet in room with what numbers to call or what was available for room service-which would have been charged. The receptionist at this time was rude, surly & unhelpful. (ZB246 London Gatwick 08 Sep '12 14:55 Sharm el Sheikh 08 Sep '12 21:05). Thankfully we never saw him again & rest were helpful & polite. Should also provide trip details & prices in room too.
2) Do not know who our rep was as never saw or heard from them once; by chance we discovered the notice board on day of departure when going to business centre to try & phone to see what time our pick up was for the airport!
3) No tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
4) On arrival to room; distinct weird smell-most likened to skunk (!) probably a chemical possibly to deal with the cockroach infestation?
5) Many times a day in bedroom & bathroom I killed adult & larval stages of Blatella Germanica-cockroach species-we also saw these in the large buffet restaurant too.
6) Many minor maintenance issues not dealt with-In room broken toilet roll holder; broken toilet lock; ceiling falling down in bathroom; drawer in chest of drawers wouldn’t shut etc. This issue is true across the hotel site.
7) Bed was like sleeping on a stone!
8) Single occupants only get 1 key card; so every time you leave the room you have to take the key out of the ‘electric meter’ so room boils up; drinks in fridge go warm etc.
9) At 10-00am every day by main pool animation team come out to same boring load tune & do the same dance bellowing out what activities are on for the day-the same things everyday at same time-why not display this on a prominent blackboard & keep the peace! The animation team however, are nice, friendly & helpful-particularly Ahmed & ‘Mr Jamaican’!
10) All the waiters & bar staff by pool & piano bar & main buffet are friendly & helpful & can’t do enough for you-and endure the most rude behaviour from many of the Russian guests; who don’t seem to know the words for please, thank you or what common courtesy is at all.
11) Food at buffet caters for the 90 per cent occupants who are Russian-and not enough middle eastern fare. Breakfast fine; but lunch/dinner became very repetitive; gald I was not staying for longer than a week. Drinks all taste a bit weird; don’t try rose & or white vino you will lose the enamel of your teeth!
12) Only the large & small buffet restaurant open in day for breakfast & lunch-no snacks in between, or after lunch anywhere. In evening we tried Chinese one night turned up without booking it was 75% empty & were told we couldn’t eat because we didn’t book; said well it is quite full!!! They did then seat us (as one waitor recognised us from buffet in the morning); but it was a set meal; not Chinese & very, very salty. Did not try Indian. All other outlets were shut for food during our 1 week stay.
13) I was not ill-but both of my friends had stomach upsets.
14) This hotel is not in Sharm el Sheik; Sharks bay is a £8-10 taxi drive from main Sharm el sheik & old town & market. No bus service; shuttle does go round resort though.
15) Beach very disappointing-mostly gravel pits; furthest is sandy, but only a 10 yard sandy bit at far end to enter sea. Snacks at this bar not too good!
16) Cleopatra’s deal in the Spa was relaxing & good value if a little rushed!
17) Coral Diving to Ras Mohammed National Park-3 stops good value; but the instructors need to be calmer for first timers-even made me nervous & have scuba dived & snorkelled on many occasions! Good value though.
18) On departure (ZB247 Sharm el Sheikh 15 Sep '12 22:20 London Gatwick 16 Sep '12 02:45) we had to pay to keep room till 20-00 despite the fact we did not check in till 09/09/12 so we effectively had 6 days food & room & paid again for 7th.
19) In short this is not 5 star, it is not 4 star it would struggle to be a 3 star! Managers here need to take a trip to 5 star hotel in Caribbean/Thailand to see what they need to do to bring this up to a 5 star standard. If you want 5 star DO NOT go here!

Room Tip: If you hav a push chair, or are infirm don't go here hundreds of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a one week stay at the Pyramisa. It got off to a bad start as our flight was delayed so we arrived late Saturday night. There was no offer of any refreshments on arrival, we had booked all-inclusive, and when we asked about a cold drink and something to eat we were told we could order room service, at a cost. The chap at reception didn't seem to be aware that we had reservations and it took about 20 minutes to get the single room sorted out and one of our group was taken to her room. Two of us were then schlapped out of a completely different door from reception, across the grounds, through the swimming pool and down a load of stairs to a room on the other side of the complex from our friend - to be confronted by a double bed, when clearly we had requested a twin. I did phone reception to complain about the room and that our friend was completely on her own in a totally different part of the hotel, when we had requested interconnecting rooms. We then were schlapped back the way we had come and taken to another room, which was a twin and opposite our friend's room. We were all starving, thirsty and tired. We were not impressed.

The rooms were not up to 5* standard - the bathroom ceiling tiles were literally hanging off as was the toilet roll holder. There was very little wardrobe space for two people's clothing. A couple of dead cockroaches (we had killed) were not cleaned up throughout the week. The decor of the hotel was tired and there was an air of lack of care. The food was also nowhere near 5* standard - the choices were very limited and lunch and dinner menus very similar. Both were fine if you liked rice and/or partially cooked potatoes, fried chicken or very chewy beef. Breakfast was actually quite good, although there was a serious lack of houmous, which I would have thought would have been in abundance in a North African hotel. There was also not a grain of couscous - the chefs did seem to cater to the tastes of the tourists from the predominant country, Russia. Although those surly guests did not seem to appreciate anything.

The pool and surrounding area were kept very clean and would have been enjoyable except for the constant buzzing of excursion reps trying to sign you up for their various trips (every day) - which competed with the eardrum bursting noise of recorded music starting every day at 10am, with a recording of a cock crowing and various farm animal noises, and continuing until late afternoon. It was impossible to relax with the boom boom boom of hip-hop and disco music constantly booming out over the pool area - interspersed with some inane dj trying to get everyone up to take part in various exercises or animation. Every opportunity was taken to swamp the area with loud, nerve jarring noise - making it impossible to have a normal conversation. My friends and I had to shout to each other to be heard, even though we were side by side.

The restaurant staff were actually excellent, being very helpful and charming. The bar staff were also equally helpful. Unfortunately both the alcoholic and soft drinks were practically undrinkable. The rose wine - which was the colour of urine - tasted like sump oil mixed with spirit cleaner. The white wine tasted like nothing I could describe, nor would want to. The red wine was passable. The mixers were not diluted correctly, they were not bottled, and tasted sickly sweet. I mostly drank water and soda water.

The only part of the beach you could enter was right next to a jetty where the boats used for snorkelling/diving trips kept driving up to, at quite a fast rate of knots - it was not much fun to be swept up in the swell of one of these boats and get slammed into the other swimmers.

The weather was great. I would definitely go back to Sharm el Sheikh, but would steer well clear of the Pyramisa. Next time I shall be going to an internationally renowned chain hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judy3good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We visited this hotel for two weeks for our Honeymoon and after reading the bad reviews, we thought it can't possibly be that bad... it was... what we can't understand is how there are good reviews because the few English people we spoke to all felt the same. There are good parts to the hotel, which I will list first:- The initial appearance, ie lobby, pool area, view of the sea are tremendous and give an excellent first impression. Our room (we stayed in one of the junior suites) was lovely and was cleaned to a good standard every day, the bathroom was dirty and in need of redecorating. The hotel has an animation team, most of which are really good and make you feel welcome, special mention to Ahmed who we became friends with. Most of the staff are friendly but some are over friendly and irritating. The spa, gym and games area are very good.. now the bad things...

The Food!! Anyone who finds this even remotely acceptable clearly has never had a decent meal. There is far too much wrong with the buffet to list but the majority of the food on offer, I would not feed to my dog. There are two set menu restaurants, a Chinese and Indian, the food in here is even worse. The rest of the restaurants were closed and when we asked the staff why, they said it was because there were not enough guests. This forced us to eat out several nights, which was extra expense we didn't need.

Drinks... The alcohol served is disgusting. The beer is awful and generally warm and flat, the spirits are worse, the vodka tastes like gin, the gin tastes like varnish. The hotel staff have no idea what measures are and normally give you 75% spirit 25% mixer, the majority of the time we just drank soft drinks. After 6 days of our holiday, the bars REFUSED TO GIVE BOTTLED WATER and we were told to use tiny plastic cups at the dispenser. A dispenser which is never cleaned, we discovered that this was the cause of the diarrhea we both had for most of the holiday. The only bottled water we were able to get was the one that the cleaners left in the room at around 1500, which was warm.

Maintenance issues... On the third day, the air conditioning unit above our bathroom ceiling leaked, we found water all over the floor at 7 in the morning and immediately reported this to reception, 12 hours later two men came to look at it. They fixed it by putting duck tape around the leaking area and left the bathroom and hallway in a complete mess, 3 hours later a cleaner came to get rid of the mess. Naturally the same problem occurred later in the week, this only took 3 hours to fix using the same method.

The guests... sadly, 75% of the guests are loud, arrogant, obnoxious pigs, more commonly known as Russians, obviously this is not a fault of the hotel, what is the hotels fault is that these people get priority treatment by ALL of the staff, despite the fact that they treat staff like dogs. I would say avoid these people, but they will do that for you as they have no intention of even acknowledging English guests.

The toilets... Like the majority of the hotel, the toilets resemble those of a 1-2 star hotel. They are disgusting and not fit for human use. In one case someone (most likely a Russian) left their stool on the floor, this was there for a good hour before an unfortunate cleaner picked it up.

The beach... This hotels "private beach" is basically a gravel pit. The walk down to it is certainly not worth the trip although there is a shuttle bus that will take you to and from. Save yourself the trouble though and stay by the pool.

Reception... The staff on reception consist of 2 or 3 ignorant male staff who do not care in the slightest if you report a problem. They have no customer service skills whatsoever. On checking out i was looking forward to being asked how our stay was. I was not even asked the question, not a single comment to acknowledge our 2 week stay.

Hassling... Egypt is renowned for this but you do not expect it at your hotel. Round the pool you will be constantly harassed by people trying to sell you excursions and when you say no they persist until you tell them to go away. There is a shopping centre in the hotel. If you walk down this you will be practically dragged into shops as they attempt to sell their rubbish to you, avoid this at all costs.

Wifi.... I paid about £10 for 24 hours use of the hotel wi-fi. The speed of which was so slow it took about a minute to load my home page. I paid for this to try and stream a football match, obviously this was not possible.

To summarise, this hotel was a massive disappointment and had we not met some lovely people, went on some great excursions (NOT BOOKED WITH THE HOTEL) and had some nice meals out, our honeymoon would have been ruined. My advice... do not go to Sharm El Sheikh but if you must, avoid this hotel at all costs.

Room Tip: The junior suite is nice but you are likely to have problems with the bathroom. A sea view is much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We have enjoyed in this beautiful hotel days, especially in the presence of animation team consisting of Adriano and Masha, Ahmed Mustafa, Bob and Angelina Arena.This team, which gives pleasure to the hotel, I want to thank this team interesting special thanks to your friend Mister Pyramisa

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moudy993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.5 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#63 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,398 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#65 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,159 reviews
3.3 mi away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#117 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,533 reviews
7.4 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#20 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort

Address: PO Box 101 Shark Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#86 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#123 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $132 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 861
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star All Inclusive resort ideally located on the heart of magnificent Sharks Bay. Resort facilities include 861 rooms, chalets and villas with exotic sea and pool views, the largest swimming-pool in Sharm with artificial waves, indoor swimming-pool, 5 restaurants, bars, disco, kids club and SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Otel so you can book your Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pyramisa Sharm El-Sheikh Resort & Villas Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Pyramisa Sharm El-Sheikh Resort And Villas
Hotel Pyramisa
Pyramisa Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Pyramisa Sharm Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing