We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six years on the trot!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Co. Durham
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Six years on the trot!”
Reviewed June 7, 2010

We went to the Reef Oasis Beach Resort in April this year for the sixth consecutive year. Our visit was memorable this time for three reasons: meeting old friends, meeting the senior management team and the volcano eruption in Iceland.

We find it very difficult to understand any negative comments from other guests as we have never had anything but very good, usually excellent, service in the six years we have been going there, indeed that is the main reason we keep going back. We have always found all the staff from the room boys, pool attendants, bar and reception staff pleasant, attentive and eager to please and now, as repeater guests, it is wonderful to be remembered from previous years and welcomed back with open arms.

Every visit has been special for different reasons but this year the hotel excelled themselves in the way they handled the crisis falling out of the disruption caused by the volcanic ash and the closure of most of Western Europe’s air space. Not only did they make certain their own guests were well looked after they received two additional delayed Thomas Cook flights from Belfast and Dublin. This was an unprecedented incident and there were very many worried people with a variety of personal concerns and needs, and the staff at the hotel did everything they could to accommodate and meet these needs, sometimes under intense pressure, and dealing with extremely demanding customers. From our own experiences, and those we witnessed, the reception and front office staff and the hotel management should be congratulated and thanked by all who were affected.

Will we go back next year – definitely, as long as the planes are flying!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMJCDRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your feedback. It is nice to hear such positive comments from our repeater guests and we are glad that we met and exceeded your expectations for a 6th year.

During the volcano crisis, we tried to work quickly and efficiently to make sure the guests did not experience anymore disruption than what they had already experienced from their cancelled flights home. We can proudly say, that the majority of guests appreciated our efforts and understood the unusual circumstances everyone was experiencing.

We are pleased to hear that the staff made your holiday more enjoyable. This is an endearing quality which the hotel is proud of, as we receive a lot of feedback about the staff being so friendly and attentive.

Once again, we are glad that you had another enjoyable holiday in our Resort and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,523
    963
    292
    130
    106
See reviews for
1,112
1,083
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We have just come back from a 2 week trip to the Reef Oasis and have had a fantastic holiday. When we arrived, check in was very efficient, we were taken with our bags on a golf buggy to our room (which was very nice, all newly refurbished). It is very very hot and we did all get upset tummies but be assured it is the heat, definately nothing to do with the food. There is a chemist on site who gaves us some tablets and we were fine the day after. There are three restaurants and all serve great good (something for everyone) bear in mind the hotel is catering for EVERY nationality, not just the English and they do a marvellous job. The beach is just fab, the snorkelling and diving is amazing to see the fish and the coral reef. The beach bar is great, serving snacks/drinks all day. Some of the pools could do with updating, but the newer pools are gorgeous and very clean. The staff are absolutely super, so friendly, will do anything for you and they love the children. Some of the waiters absolutely made our holiday very special. My children loved the Mini Disco, we know all the songs and routines!!!! The resort is very clean, the staff work tirelessly in such heat. Our room was spotless, clean towels and bedding every day, great cleaner(thanks Abdy)xx Yes there are lots of mosquitos but how can people moan about this when they are going to a Country in Asia and the temperatures are 40+!!!!!! For goodness sake take plenty cream and fly spray for your room and eats lots of garlic!!! Take Antisan in case you do get bitten (i did twice and they were gone in a few days) The hotel spray the grounds daily and do everything possible. I have been to Greece and Turkey and the mosquitos are ALOT worse!!!!!!!!It is very very hot in May, I couldn't imagine going during the Summer months. Would definately return again between Sept and May.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2010

i only got back from reef oasis beach resort last night and i Can't put it in words how utterly amazing it is.

it was my fifth time to this hotel and i want to go again, so they must be doing something right!!

about the sickness bug, its nothing really, if you go to the pharmacy in the hotel it is soon sorted in a day.

entertainment was not as good as previous years but to be fair to them they were short staffed. the shows were average, but every holiday i go on around the world it seems to be exactly the same shows just different people.

food was great, lots of choice and waiters at both at the bar and the restaurants are so kind.

our room was cleaned everyday. the cleaner did a fantastic job, you can't knock him at all.

the pools were fantastic, so much choice. the aqua park is so fun.

the sea is amazing aswell, you can see for miles.

brilliant.

worth every single penny.

i can't wait to go again in august. hope you share my feelings of the hotel if you do decide to go.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xnikkiax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

That's the second time we have been to this hotel, once this year in March (just my husband and I) and second time 2 days ago (with the kids) and it keeps getting better!! If you are looking for relaxation or family time or just fun everything it there. The complex is big but stay in the country style, there are plenty of entertainment and lots and lots of swimming pool!! The food is very good even in you are never protected from a stomach bug (but if you are a bit careful you should be fine!). The staff is a mazing and always with a smile and a good word!! The second time around our room was wonderful in a colonial style and the kids had their own room!! I have only one word for this and it is just simply 'unforgettable' holidays! Looking forward to our next trip there!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear Guests,

It is nice to hear that in such a short space of time, you have visited our resort twice. It is lovely to know that your children enjoyed the Resort as much as you did the first time and that you found plenty to keep you occupied. We are a family orientated hotel, so we endeavour to make sure the facilities cater as much for the children as for the adults.

Thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Resort very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
totnes, devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I booked this holiday (all-inclusive) 1 week before departure. I essentially chose the Reef Oasis purely from Trip Advisor reviews..
I am very well-travelled, but this was my first all-inclusive, and I was dreading it a bit! My partner has been on 7 or 8 all-inclusives, and she said this was the best by far.
Food- excellent, fresh, lots of choice. The pizza on the beach was literally the best I have ever had, and I used to live in Italy! Well done Mohammed! He needs to be in the restaurant..
Service- Unlike Turkey or Morocco, the Egyptians are a very smiley, funny and welcoming people. We tipped at the beginning of the week, and received the best service ever. Faultless.
Tipping- tip your waiter, your barman, your cleaning staff and anyone else you think necessary. I used £1 coins and spent less than £10 all week. Take a few £10 notes as the staff get a collection of coins that they cannot exchange at the bank. The staff work really hard for very low wages, so spread the love!
Room- we had room 830 which backed on to a gorgeous pool and bar. It was really quiet and peaceful. The room was immaculate, with a bathroom to die for! The beds were really comfortable with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets.. Puts my bed to shame!
The aircon was quiet, arctic, and didn't give me a cold like they normally do.. Didn't see a single bug all week, even outside.
Guests- without sounding Xenophobic, they were mostly Italian and Russian. The Italians seem to like standing around shouting all day making racist comments about the Egyptians, but as long as you don't understand Italian that shouldn't bother you. It did bother me on the boat trip, but I'll come back to that. The Brits say 'thankyou' and 'please' which goes a long way. The staff said the Brits were their favourite guests for this reason alone. (and we tip!)
Beach- we always got a shaded sun-lounger, the beach food was great and it was not crowded at all. The water was bath temperature, and the snorkelling was better than The Great Barrier Reef and The Indian Ocean put together. I am an experienced diver, and this is as good as it gets. Aussie divers come here.. Plenty of sea life and coral, but have some respect; I saw many Italians and Russians standing on the reef which drove me nuts! Coral takes decades to grow tiny amounts, so DO NOT TOUCH IT!
Weather- HOT! We arrived on the 8th May and it was 36 degrees, when we left a week later it was 41 degrees. I have no problem in this heat, I love it, but my partner started to struggle at 40+ degrees. Not a single cloud all week, and very little sea-breeze. Perfect!
Excursions- Take the 1-day boat trip to the Ras Mohammed National Park, it is absolutely stunning, and the snorkelling is world-class. It was a calm trip, and the food on board was really nice. We had a boat full of brash, shouting Italians who just wanted to show off, but some ear plugs or an Ipod soon sort that out. Try and go mid-week as it really stretches out the holiday. Take underwater cameras.
Sickness- If you get sick it is your fault. Brush your teeth in bottled water. Don't drink too much beer in the sun. The food WILL NOT make you sick. Not washing your hands might, but that is still your fault for having a weak immune system. This is a very foreign country with very foreign bugs. I accidentally brushed my teeth in the tap water and felt a bit rough for a day, but might have just as easily been too much beer!

All in all, 10 out of 10. We tried to think of something to complain about, and at the end of the week all I can think of is that the pool table needs to be either free or payable by the game, not by the 1/2 hr.. that is really scraping the barrel! In other words, no complaints whatsoever.
We will be going back next Spring, probably March or April.

A very special thankyou has to go to Lovely Line and Anwar the Tunisian Romeo for making our holiday.. You guys are welcome in our home any time you are in the UK!

Tips for the management- nothing, just keep up the good work!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caspianTotnes_Devon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable time in our Resort. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed snorkelling in our reef and appreciate that we work hard to protect it as best we can.

It is nice to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you were impressed with the service you received. There is no discrimination between guests’ nationalities; however, guests who give a positive response might have a better experience than those who might be impolite. We continuously receive excellent feedback about our staff and we hope this continues to leave a good impression with our guests.

Once again, thank you for such kind comments, and hope to see you back hear very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

Read mixed reviews before me and my bf went to the reef and thought that as we were booking wiv Thomas cook that it wouldn't and couldn't be that bad. We were wrong. Standard and cleaninest was very poor, the bathroom never got a proper clean-just new towels and a quick wipe down of the sink. Me and my bf were ill 5days out of 7. We both took the advise of not washing teeth wiv tap water and avoiding ice cubes etc, used antibacterial hand wipes etc but still had Egyptian belly. We found the food poor...wen we could actually face eating it. Our air con didn't work the first nite and our fridge never worked. The staff appear to prefer the Italians and Russians,and we found they were better treated. Be careful wen asking for orange juice or ice cream as these are chargable. We also got covered in bites by mossies. We have been to Dom rep and jamacia and never had that many bites there. We have voiced our issues to Thomas cook however we are still waiting for a response. We tried to leave a comment on there website but it has not been published. They just do not care. Their planes are small and have no room. We will defo not travel wiv Thomas cook again...first and last time. We will stay wiv Thompson and first choice in future, who gave friendlier airline and checkin staff and better hotel choice.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarlSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelations_10, Guest Relations Manager at Reef Oasis Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry to hear that you were sick during your holiday. It sounds like you were careful during your stay, using bottled water to clean your teeth, using hand wipes etc, however unfortunately there are many different reasons why you can get a bad stomach when visiting Egypt. Often the drastic change in weather condition can make you sick, along with alcohol consumption, excessive use of air conditioning etc. It is unlikely that you were ill due to the food as it would have made many guests ill during your stay – which is just not the case. We have 3 restaurants which are part of the all inclusive system as well as numerous snack bars serving hot and cold snacks. To comment that the food quality was poor is slightly condescending when there is so much choice on offer throughout the day. We have various theme nights which cater different cuisines such as Oriental night, Italian night and Gala Dinner which are very popular amongst our guests as we cater for all palates. Also, please be assured that we use bottled water to make the ice-cubes so there is no need to avoid having these in your drinks.

It is with regret that your air conditioning did not work on the first evening of your stay and that your mini-bar was not working. This could have been easily rectified if you reported it to a staff member. Please note that sometimes guests will mistake the mini-bar not working as they do not get as cold as a regular fridge. The rooms are cleaned daily and the service includes changing towels, making/ changing the beds, dusting, cleaning the bathroom and cleaning the floor. These daily tasks are also checked by a supervisor on a daily basis so I doubt very much if your room was not cleaned to this standard throughout your stay. The only reason I could possibly see why this might have happened is if you were staying in your room a lot whilst you were sick. If this was the case, then obviously the Housekeeper would not want to disturb you unless you asked for the regular service which we provide.

The complaint about mosquitoes is something that we work hard to keep control of. However, you cannot compare different countries when it comes to the amount of insects you might come across. On a daily basis we spray the entire resort to keep the mosquitoes and other insects at bay. We also provide plug-ins or a room spraying service to guests who request it. Unfortunately, mosquitoes are a problem in Egypt but we work hard to control it as best we can.

We hope that after reading our feedback, you would reconsider your comments as sometimes not being well can cloud your normal judgement. We hope you would consider returning to Reef Oasis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

I agree with the previous review the Tunisian animation team were brilliant especially Unwar and Joe. They were so enthusiastic and I have never known an entertainments team to speak to everyone around the pool every morning. Well done.
Saying that the evening entertainment programme was rubbish Miss Reef Oasis, Mr. Reef Oasis and a few other awful evenings. On one occasion they emptied a bucket of water over a poor girls head and thought it was funny - I would have been so angry we couldn't beleive what we were seeing.The hotel needs to develop the entertainment programme as they have a captive audience within the complex and you could see people were totally bored.
The hotel has a lot of good points, I would book the superior rooms if ever I returned. Negatives are they do not have wine at the 24 hour bar and we couldn't understand why as they do serve wine in other pool bars, the orange juice is awful - please, please, please serve fresh orange juice it does make a difference to our drinks.
The best restaurant by far was the restaurant looking over the beach, view and service was terrific.
Hated Nama Bay and was glad to return to the oasis of the hotel.
We all experienced Egyptian Belly and I think you are lucky if you do avoid it.
Overall a good experience and the good points outway the bad - would I return I am not sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PontypriddCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Veraclub Queen Sharm
Veraclub Queen Sharm
#109 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#35 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
Reef Oasis Blue Bay Resort
#80 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
Faraana Reef Resort
Faraana Reef Resort
#108 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
750 reviews
1.3 mi away
Iberotel Palace
Iberotel Palace
#9 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reef Oasis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reef Oasis Beach Resort

Property: Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Address: Marine Sports Club Street | Hadabet Um El Sied, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#66 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Reef Oasis Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 718
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Reef Oasis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reef Oasis Resort
Reef Oasis Egypt
Reef Oasis Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Reef Oasis Beach
Reef Oasis Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Reef Oasis Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Reef Oasis Hotel Egypt
Reef Oasis Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing