We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for our diving holiday”
Review of Luna Sharm Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Luna Sharm Hotel
Ranked #207 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Luna Sharm was exactly as we expected for the price we paid, with good sized, clean rooms, comfy bed and adequate food, with the added bonus of very friendly staff, and lovely gardens. The Hotel is not luxurious but if we had wanted 5* we would have chosen and paid for a 5* Hotel. As we go to Sharm-El-Sheikh to go diving (and have been several times before), we usually look for a smaller Hotel which acts as a comfy base for our diving holiday.

The Bar and Restaurant staff in particular were very friendly – Reda the Bar Manager is a lovely man and always made sure our glasses were topped up. Although I never have high expectations of all-inclusive food, the staff made a big effort to try new dishes according to the different nationalities staying, and there was always a large selection of dishes available. Although we ate out in the evenings for about half of our stay (as we enjoy going into Naama Bay for a change of scene), I enjoyed breakfast every day, with plenty of choice and eggs made to order. Yes, I asked for butter every day but I always got it straight away without any problem (asking nicely helps, which I’m sure not everyone does!). Mosquitoes are a big problem in the whole area (including neighbouring 4 and 5* Hotels!), not just in the Luna Sharm Hotel, and we are very fortunate in that we don’t suffer allergic reactions/didn’t get badly bitten.

Our only tiny complaint was that there were two karaoke evenings during our stay - we booked this Hotel specifically as there was no ‘entertainment programme’. But I understand that the staff were just trying to cater for the guests, and we just about managed to drown it out with a DVD and headphones!

We will definitely return to the Luna Sharm in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VixFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 582 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Sadly as with many hotels in the resort they use the water from the sewage tanks to spray the gardens every night, so lots of people with sickness and diarrhoea including myself 10 days later I am still ill. Also lots of people with infected insect bites for the same reason. If they cleaned up their act I would go back, staff were really friendly and a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardConroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I cannot begin to describe our first experience in Egypt. Hotel tired, Cockroaches, mossies, gardens sprayed with sewerage and food was awful. Only decent meal was breakfast as you could have an omelette. The hotel was overfull with locals and the crap menu was made worse as they changed it to all local food.
On the good side the staff were superb.

Room Tip: pool view upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daddy920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked 9 nights all inclusive (I have been to Sharm twice before, but not this hotel). We arrived at 7.30pm just in time for dinner. The food was exactly as I expected and pretty similar to all hotels in the area. (Choices of fish/meat/potato/rice/pasta/salad/breads- similar most nights but just slightly different shaped potatoes). Puddings were fluffy coloured spinge cakes, jelly, or a random textured jelly/blacmange type thing and some random fruit every now and then. Every few days they would do some amazing mini doughnuts, and also a BBQ which has amazing koftes or chicken.

When we checked in to our room we notice the fridge wasn't working and it was changed immediately.

The first night 3 out of 4 of us got bitten badly by mozzies. By the following days this happened again and we got infected and had to see a doctor (seems to me that they all want to get money out of the insurance companies in the UK). Had jabs, pills and creams.

We spoke to our rep (John) and found that they had not ben spraying the hotel for weeks and he was trying hard to get them to do something about the mozzies (Not helped by the fact that every day at 4pm they would water the grassed areas with stagnant sewage water which stank....and attracted more mozzies).

The pool towel I got given was gross, it stank old and dirty! I didn't bother picking one up any other day.

The rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily (I did have to ask for towels on 2 occassions though as they had been taken but not replaced).

We did ask them to spray our rooms with mozzie spray which they did do. And by day 3 they came round with this huge machine that sprayed diesel smoke round the grounds which did help rid it of mozzies. On a day this wasn't done I got bitten again (allergic reaction, another trip to a doc, more jabs, a drip, creams and tablets).

The staff were fab on the bar (Reda/Osama you were amazing and when i come back- if I don't stay there, I will definitely come by and say hello).

Our rep John was also great and we booked the Jeep Safari trip with him and had an amazing day out (Hi John).

The All Inclusive would have been much better if it was from 11-11 or 12-12. Drinks served by the glass and they were very hot on finishing A/I by bang on 10pm!

Having choice of some premium drinks after A/I finished would also be great (i'd be prepared to pay for some decent tasting wine- the AI stuff is NASTY!- or some premium spirits).

There is no entertainment except for the Karaoke night on Sundays, no pool games or anything. The music that was played at the bar/pool area was pretty good though most of the day.

The beds were hard (good for me), the bathrooms definitely needed some TLC.

The guys who work in the Shops inside the main reception were nice and friendly and not at all pushy (Hi Marco).

Everyone we met there (English) were lovely. Each group of people had at least one ailment....either mozzie bites or dodgy stomach (Myself and 1 friend had both). Do not use the tap water even for teeth cleaning...unless you want to be on the toilet all day or not be able to go at all and be bloated and bunged up.

Twice we were hungry out of hours and they made us burger and chips which was nice. You can also get a delivery from Pizza Hut/KFC/Maccy Ds to the hotel (amazing!!)

Seriously though, if you have nothing to compare this hotel to and havent stayed in Sharm before, you may like it and enjoy it (I did have a good time thanks to the staff and guests making things fun- and the amazing weather).

Breakfast is a little bit odd. But if you like pastries you will be fine. (Great choices).

Some tips if you decide to stay here:

1. It is basic, it is one of the cheapest on any booking website so be prepared that you do get what you paid for.

2. Cover your legs in the evenings- you will get bitten alive! (Not just in the hotel-but everywhere in Sharm)

3. Bottled water only (stock up from the shop inside the hotel rather than waiting until it is closed and getting it from the bar as it is half the price in the shop). The ice at the bar is mineral water as it the water they serve you.

4. If you have any problems then speak to John the rep as he is helpful and friendly and will try to do all he can for you. (if you need a doctor he will have one for you in half an hour)

5. Make friends with the bar staff, they are a good laugh.

6. Be aware of the rude Russians!

7. Try Kanzaman fish restaurant in Naama Bay for THE BEST seafod platter ever!

8. Do the Jeep Safari trip. Best £35 spent all holiday, (Jeep through desert, bedouin tea, camel ride, snorkelling in the Blue Hole, amazing lunch and shopping in Dahab).

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank croydonlocation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were sold this holiday as an all inclusive 4* hotel. The hotel was more like a 3* & the all inclusive was 10am-10pm. That being said, we loved our stay. The hotel staff were so friendly & very helpful, if the food wasn't to your liking it was no trouble to make you something. The pool was like having our own private pool, as the hotel is small, & wasn't too busy. The rooms were basic, yet clean, the bed was huge, but the mattress was rock hard! However, ask & they'll give you another. If this holiday hasn't been mis sold, we wouldn't have complained about anything, & that was not the hotels fault! These few staff members deserve a mention! Reda, Sherif & OuSamma were a credit to the hotel. We'd definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty0973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We arrived at Luna sharm late at night and the hotel was not expecting us. We were not offered anything to eat or drink, even though we had travelled all day and we were all inclusive! We were placed in a room which did not lock so we had to keep our bags in front of it over night. The room was not cleaned for us, used towels on the side next to the sink, ants all over the floor and in our beds! After complaining to the manager about our room, they explained that because we were not expected we had to stay in that room for the night and we were going to be moved the next day. They did move us the next day but it was the same standard just with a pool view. We did not have a hot shower for the whole of the holiday and had to ask for towels every day. The rooms were very spacious and the beds were a very decent size. They fertilised the plants at about 4pm and it smelled like human sewage, which made us gag, and seemed very unhygienic. Our rep Johm, was very helpful and made our holiday bearable. The excursion organiser ADAM was extremely abusive towards us because we did not book anything with him. He abused us on a couple of occasions, shouting at us across the pool in front of everyone so we went to the manager and we got a personal apology from him. They didn't change our bed every day. The security of the hotel is poor, there is a open entrance around the back which leads right onto the main road for anyone to enter the premises! The food was poor, we are not fussy eaters however we still ended up eating out every night because there was flies over the food, and the food was pretty much the same every night. If anyone is wanting to eat out around this hotel there is a nice food and shopping court down the road called Il Micarto, or there is naama bay. We also went to see the pyramids and we booked with Sharm Excursions prior to visiting Egypt which was much cheaper! I know we paid less for this holiday but the hotel was definitely not worth the money we paid and it is not a 4* hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank brennan078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We arrived at the Luna sharm at 10 pm on 24 th September 2012 .the entrance didn't look very inviting and neither was the smell it smelt like sewage everywhere it was awfull , we never got a welcome drink or anything to eat and the all inclusive bar finished at 10 in the evening which I thought was early , so we went to our room it looked tidy but I had to wash the bath because it was dirty before I could have a shower , the bed had what looked like fleas in it . The towels was all grey we had to ask for more towels we only got one between us a few times I had to help myself to some we did ask but never got any .the towels for the sun loungers where old and worn , the pool wasn't very big some of the tiles where broke and some where loose it was very slippy , the food was ok but it was very much the same every day we ate out a few times which was good, at breakfast we had to ask for butter all the time it was like asking for gold you had to get a drink from the bar to take in the restaurant at meal times, the bar manager reda he is a funny guy he made us laugh. I found some staff not very helpful and our rep wasn't good neither. The only good thing bout this holiday was the really hot weather and the nice people we met. I WOULD NOT RATE THIS HOTEL and I certainly would not recommend this hotel to anyone . Anne D

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casper213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.6 mi away
Desert View Hotel
Desert View Hotel
#151 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Verginia Sharm Resort
Verginia Sharm Resort
#153 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
Aida 2 Hotel Naama Bay
#172 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Viva Sharm Hotel
Viva Sharm Hotel
#215 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
787 reviews
2.7 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#109 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Sharm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Sharm Hotel

Address: City Council st, | Om El Sid Cliff, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $11 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luna Sharm Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luna Sharm Hotel is an attractive low rise hotel that is located amongst palm trees and beautiful scenery. This hotel offers comfort and great value for money and is ideal for families and couples. This elegantly designed hotel is located in heavenly place of Om El Sid Hill only in a few miles from Naama Bay the center of Sharm-El-Sheikh. The Old Market of Sharm and famous street "Il Mercato", where you can find a number of cafes, restaurants, shops and even an Aquapark are nearby. A cozy hotel is proud of its excellent service, spacious and comfortable rooms and good food. The convenient location of the Luna sharm Hotel allows to inspect the Sharm-El-Sheikh or to visit Naama Bay independently. In addition, the hotel is close to the bus station from where buses depart to Cairo and Dahab. The hotel complex is represented by two two-storey buildings, whose facades are decorated in typical Arabian style. The interior is without any frills: everything is very easy and very comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Luna Sharm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Luna Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Luna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing