We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff, poor hotel”
Review of Al Diwan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Diwan Resort
Ranked #221 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great staff, poor hotel”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

me. my partner and our three kids stayed at al diwan after being transferred from its sister hotel the halomy (see seperate review)
our initial impression was of a hotel that needed quite a bit of money spent on it.
the food was at best ok, the facilities were basic, but i have to say the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
our cleaner was first class doing the very best with a tired room
the pool area was infested with flies but kept very clean by the pool man who did his best
regular free shuttle bus to good beach at sharks bay.
people i spoke to generally appreciated that it could be better but was ok as a base
all in all excellent staff who deserve better as do the clients

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    68
    56
    55
    151
See reviews for
99
142
46
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

we spend 3 weeks b&b great hotel not top notch but weel above what we expected for the price, very clean well kept, staff were excellent, seriously , be a moany type you'll get no where , be nice and reaonable these guy will become real freinds not just doing their jobs, the new years eve bash was amazing the chef's really pulled the food off and the nubian village setup was great .we would definately go back, great base, dont stay in hotel even if your on inclusive deal naama bay is great fun sharks bay very relaxed, enjoy it guys , especially the snorkelling/ diving just amazing ! p.s. if you fancy a bottle of real bacardi or whatever, go to soho square within 24 hrs of arrival , with passport etc there is a duty free shop there , after 24 hrs your out of luck and the local rum, vodka etc is ok but not the same... thanks guys we had agreat time

Room Tip: we had small balcon and reception room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank baza007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Its like a ghost hotel! We was ther for 1 week in november the 17-24.. we are 2 girls from norway, and the trAvel agency was apollo. We arived at day time, got our room, witc was wery simple.. Only 1 lightpear henging down the wall, and bed as hard as stones.. Our bathroom was okey, and nice with tv;) the food was crappy! 1000 flyes around the pool, and because of that we had to go to the beach! We eat just 2 times dinner there, it wAs NOT worth the money, but better than the crappy lunch, it was sooo discusting, experiensed other on the hotel get food poisend:( every day we had to order takeaway food from KFC .. We were starving the whole week:( no food near bye.. We rented scooter 5 days, no use for that! Used the hotel taxi:) wAs partying in nama bay, my friend got rohypnol (drug) in her drink! Never went back to drink in namabay after thAt, used all the orher evenings shopping in old marked!!:) nice! Met some nice english people at the hotel and everywere else, seems like we were the only norwegian in sharm el sheik:p only english people ewerywhere!:) a nice trip to EGYPT! But a CRAPPY hotel, we will never go back there.. Xxxx marianne and tonje!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAriannecabincrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

i booked into al diwan for the same reason i expect most people do, it was CHEAP! the room worked out at about 14 quid a night for my stay and that was all inclusive! for this i got a clean double en-suite with balcony and seperate lounge/sitting area. the room was near the pool. the choice of food will not be to everybodys tastes but there is plenty of choice and it is well presented. the staff are friendly and there is a free bus service to the beach 5 times a day (actually the beach is a nice 15 minute stroll away). the most complaints i heard about the hotel were that there wasnt much to do or the food wasnt to their tastes. well i say this..... na'ama bay and old market are a 10 quid taxi ride away (return fare) and you can get all the nightlife and choice of food there that you could ever ask for. OR you can just book a hotel for your trip in na'ama bay, pay double the rates that al diwan charge and STILL get the same buffet style food for breakfast lunch and dinner. an important point some people seem to miss is that booking an ALL INCLUSIVE stay doesnt mean you are trapped in the hotel having to eat their food and drink their drink.you ARE allowed to go out and spend some of that money you saved in the first place by booking here....some guests here are so narrow-minded they complained that there was no bacon offered at breakfast....Egypt is a Moslem country for heavens (Allahs) sake! other points tomake are that the staff are super-friendly and helpful. the room was kept immaculately clean as were the public areas. wifi access is available at 2 quid for 45 minutes. i noticed another review that mentioned they had food poisoning the first night, well food poisoning takes more than a couple of hours to manifest itself so i would imagine they got it elsewhere and just looked to the hotel to blame. all in all i would say the hotel is a great base for your holiday, away from the hassles you get in na'ama bay from the shop traders and close to one of the best diving/snorkelling beaches in sharm el shiekh . if you find yourself getting 'stir-crazy' from the same food and same faces then take a taxi into town or go on a boat trip or an excursion into the desert. please please dont knock al diwan for not being a 5 star resort hotel. remember how little you paid for it and what that would buy you back at home and relax and enjoy everything they have to offer.

Room Tip: book all inclusive. whatever you pay extra you will recover even if you only eat there a few times...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Rue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

You don't have to look to far to see what people are saying its all the same thing and there right !! some of the staff are good as they are lucky if they get paId most leave with no money after weeks i know this for a fact ,As bad as the hotel is and it is, you end up feeling sorry for them but its not your problem you keep thinking ,they have no common sense and don't know what they are doing ,we took photos at back of kitchen they just throw black bags on the floor open that's why there are fly's everywhere in the restaurant by the pool all over you !! its funny but the flys never get fed up with the same food how can a million fly s be wrong ?? SUNMASTER show a second pool on there web site looks nice ten years ago but now its half full green dirty water and you will get bit because it is a breed mozzys and if a kid fell in would die from the stagnant water and no help as no one is ever around. The whole place is filthy and should be shut down.We took photos and got a statement from the rep hotels for u look after sunmaster people hes name is Kereen Hecozy he signed a statement to say the photos and all that we said was true and he could not get in contact with sunmaster so we had no chance of moving !! sunmaster now say they don't know who he is and ignored all the proof and photos we sent to them .. so REALLY do you want to GO ??

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
15 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

As the title say's, you really do get what you pay for and if you want a five star experience you will NOT get it at this hotel. The place is VERY basic and in my experience you literally have to give them an early shot across the bows to put things right. E.G. we arrived at around 6.00 pm local time and were shown to our room. No problem there, basic but ok. Dump the bags and off to the bar. We had our evening meal that was, 'here we go again', basic but passable. The first real problem started at the bar. After an hour or so they ran out of red wine. next news the vodka went down followed by the whiskey and finally, no coke left. Bed by 8.45 pm on the first night of a lads holiday - not good. The following day we had a meeting with the tour rep and informed him that although we knew we had booked a cheap and cheerful venue it wasn't going to be very cheerful in the bar with no drinks. Discussion followed and assurances were given and to be fair from that moment although we continued our stay in a basic hotel, they did their best to ensure that we were kept happy. The manager appeared at every meal and asked if we were happy with that particular meal etc. In terms of the staff themselves, they were really good, couldn't do enough for you and drinks flowed without any further problems. The star of the show was the room cleaner, he was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble, he kept the room spotless and the poor guy never stopped. We saw him mopping floors at 6.00 am one morning and that night at 11.45 pm he was still cleaning out the room next to ours, what a star. So, all in all if you want a top class place pay for it and if you aren't prepared to pay, don't moan

Room Tip: insist on one with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

first night had food poisoning filthy swimming pool no hot water brown rusty water from taps second day no water for 24 hours had to move . when we were checking out management wanted me to write a review when I said terrible he screwed it up n begged me to write another one to say it was good which I refused

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sha1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.6 mi away
Shark's Bay Oasis Hotel
Shark's Bay Oasis Hotel
#201 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#23 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
#99 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh...
#141 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#104 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Domina King's Lake Resort
Domina King's Lake Resort
#125 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Diwan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Diwan Resort

Property: Al Diwan Resort
Address: Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Diwan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlDiwan Resort is a 3 stars deluxe Resort in Sharm ElSheikh that's owned by ElBanna Hotels & Resorts that works in the field of Tourism Investments under the umbrella of ElBanna Group, which is a well established diversified business structure that was found in 1980 by its Chairman Eng. Hassan ElBanna.AlDiwan is one of the most superior & successful 3 Stars Resorts in Sharm ElSheikh. Since its opening in Jan 2000, with the beginning of the new Millennium, our objective is to meet the international standards in ensuring a perfect stay for all our guests from all over the world. We meet our objective through Five main elements; Location, Design, Hospitality, Facilities & Quality.• The resort has a premium location in Shark's Bay, which is very near to the Airport & the Famous Soho Square in the same time. We are located exactly in the middle between the most two well known hot spots in Sharm ElSheikh; Neama Bay & Nabq Bay, 10 minutes away from any of them.• The unique Authentic Arabian design & architecture of the resort makes it a Spot by itself, where guests will experience the indescribable eastern spirit. • Hospitality which is the trademark of our staff, acts in parallel manner with the coziness of the place in making guests feel at home.• There are a lot of convenient facilities inside rooms & in public areas in the resort, to assure the comfort & satisfaction for our guests during their stay. • Last but not the least, is the highest standard of quality control by the management. In AlDiwan Resort, our beloved guests will feel & experience by themselves the uncompromised quality in all our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Diwan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Diwan Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Al Diwan Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing