We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for kids”
Review of Al Diwan Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Al Diwan Resort
Ranked #221 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Nairn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not for kids”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel was ok , not really that clean , staff were excellent , what nobody tells you is that this hotel has only been reopened for 5 months after been closed since 25 th jan 2010 due to the troubles in Egypt . Only half the hotel is open , the food is ok but does not cater for British people , so if your looking for your traditional full English I'm afraid too say you won't get it , apart from the that the price you pay is what you get . Nothing for kids too do at hotel .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    68
    56
    55
    151
See reviews for
99
142
46
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in this hotel - lucky that most of the days I was only leaving my luggage here whilst i was on excursions - The hotel staff were nice at first but towards the end they were rude and was only focused on my nationality. The hotel room was ok however when i left the air conditioning on overnight the room was flooded with water. The toilets are not that clean and the toilet paper only had like 10 sheets. The hotel is filled with mosquito and i spent some nights fighting with mosquitos before i could sleep. I could not leave the balcony door open due to the 4-5 stray cats infiltrating. The cat broke the ashtray and they charged me. I also witnessed them charging other guests as the had left hair dye in the towel. The hotel is far from naama bay and other popular locations. Some taxi drivers do not know where the hotel is so they miss the turning. I decided to leave and stay at another hotel due to all this !!! Make sure you take mosquito repellents !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momo053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at Al Diwan resort from 4th - 19th July.
Pros - Sharks Bay beach, snorkelling in Red Sea, lovely clear water, friendly and helpful staff.
Cons - Terrible accomodation. A real health and safety hazard. Broken tiles, dark walkways, exposed electrics. Dirt dirt and more dirt. Not as advertised, Second pool filthy and out of use, no gymnasium, sauna or beauty treatments. Unimaginative food. No second restaurant.
Been shut for some months following Egyptian revolution and in dire need of some tlc. Not a holiday for families, little for children (or adults for that matter) to do.
In summary, regardless of being at budget end of scale, hotel just doesn't measure up. One to avoid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Rdalgleish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

we have just returned from egypt for the fourth time we went to the diwan five years ago and had a good time so thought we would go again what a terrible mistake the beds were dirty the water in the bathroom was thick black tar the food was diabolical i would say unfit for human habbitation we moved within twenty four hours we had to stay over night and woke bitten to hell we found out that the hotel had been closed for nine months the room hadnt been cleaned since last used !!!!!PUBLIC HEALTH WARNING DONT GO !!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: not a good place to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaricum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I was really pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We got a very cheap deal and I saw some bad reviews here, so I was not sure what to expect but we really had a wonderfull time! The room was spacious, beautiful, clean and had a good mini fridge. The staff was very friendly, there were good sunbeds at the swimming pool and I loved their beach in Sharks Bay with the wonderfull coral (you should definitely go snorkeling there, equipment was 15 LE per day)!

Ofcourse there were some downsides too: the food didn't taste very well (is a problem in a lot of hotels in Sharm), our television didn't work, the swimming pool was sometimes a bit dirty with flowers and there's no animation (so I would not recommend this hotel for families). The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, butttt if you want a hotel in a lively area you should choose for example a hotel in Naama Bay and there you will not find the amazing coral beaches of Sharks Bay! And if you want to go out the hotel has a free shuttle bus to Naama twice a week and ofcourse you can take a taxi (but don't use the hotel taxi as they are always much more expensive than the ones on the street, best thing to do if you go out a lot: ask for the drivers number and call him every time you want to go out, you will get much better deals!) or a mini bus on the street.

Anyway, if you are looking for a nice budget hotel and you're not planning on clubbing every night Al Diwan is an excellent choice!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FlorianneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

the al diwan hotel in sharks bay is the worst hotel i have ever experienced. The good bits were the staff they was great now all the bad bits there is nothing at all for kids what so ever not even a cold ice cream in that heat no entertainment pool was filthy snacks was just a couple of cakes your all inclusive was from 10am till 11am one hour a day no pool bar the restaraunt was discusting full of flys and dirty table cloths same food every day rice and pasta everywhere you went you needed a taxi because you are in the middle of no where your balconys were full of bird droppings the rooms was filthy with broken wall lights with live wires hanging out all round the hotel tiles cracked all round your pool and walking area roof terraced full of rubbish and holes your children will not be able to play around this hotel as its too dangerous man hole covers missing this holiday was booked with on the beach who rate this as a four star but its not even a one i wouldnt put my dog in this hotel if you think you can go on this holiday without spending alot of money think again if you need to no anything else about this hotel please feel free to email me on ddc3security@hotmail.co.uk to see the real al diwan please look at photographs

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed in the Al Diwan Resort in May 2012 and found it really nice. Basic you pay for what you get but found it really clean. The staff were all excellent, especially the bar staff Mohammed and the man in the shop Aish who makes you tea if you like.

The pool was clean and their was plenty of sun loungers. The food was a bit repetative, but good if you like pasta and chicken. I really couldnt fault this hotel and the rooms were very clean.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. And pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lara034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.6 mi away
Shark's Bay Oasis Hotel
Shark's Bay Oasis Hotel
#201 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
17 reviews
2.2 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#23 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,255 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
Sharks Bay Umbi Diving Village
#101 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Dessole Pyramisa Sharm El Sheikh...
#141 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
852 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Look Hotels International
Grand Oasis Resort Managed by Lo...
#104 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
213 reviews
1.8 mi away
Domina King's Lake Resort
Domina King's Lake Resort
#125 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Diwan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Diwan Resort

Property: Al Diwan Resort
Address: Shark's Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#146 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Class:3 star — Al Diwan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AlDiwan Resort is a 3 stars deluxe Resort in Sharm ElSheikh that's owned by ElBanna Hotels & Resorts that works in the field of Tourism Investments under the umbrella of ElBanna Group, which is a well established diversified business structure that was found in 1980 by its Chairman Eng. Hassan ElBanna.AlDiwan is one of the most superior & successful 3 Stars Resorts in Sharm ElSheikh. Since its opening in Jan 2000, with the beginning of the new Millennium, our objective is to meet the international standards in ensuring a perfect stay for all our guests from all over the world. We meet our objective through Five main elements; Location, Design, Hospitality, Facilities & Quality.• The resort has a premium location in Shark's Bay, which is very near to the Airport & the Famous Soho Square in the same time. We are located exactly in the middle between the most two well known hot spots in Sharm ElSheikh; Neama Bay & Nabq Bay, 10 minutes away from any of them.• The unique Authentic Arabian design & architecture of the resort makes it a Spot by itself, where guests will experience the indescribable eastern spirit. • Hospitality which is the trademark of our staff, acts in parallel manner with the coziness of the place in making guests feel at home.• There are a lot of convenient facilities inside rooms & in public areas in the resort, to assure the comfort & satisfaction for our guests during their stay. • Last but not the least, is the highest standard of quality control by the management. In AlDiwan Resort, our beloved guests will feel & experience by themselves the uncompromised quality in all our services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Diwan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Diwan Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Al Diwan Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing