We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,330)
Filter reviews
5,333 results
Traveler rating
3,943
900
294
116
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,943
900
294
116
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewss classsoho squarehot rockrocky pool barseafood islandtirana restaurantseafood restaurantice skatingrestaurants and barsall inclusive packagesea viewfishspecial thanksspecial mentionprivate beachroom numberkids club
Filter
Updating list...
3,562 - 3,567 of 5,333 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2010

First time in Hotel for me, first time in Egypt for partner. Went on all inclusive+ basis with Thomas Cook. All food and drinks free in Hotel and in-house restaurants plus external restaurants and bars in Soho Square. Outstanding value, avoid B&B - food and drink expensive otherwise. Fantastic weather this time of year. Staff very polite and could not do enough for us. Room was comfortable, not spectacular, but we spent little time in it. 3 large pools, plenty of room to sunbathe, caters well for couples and families. Beach a bit cramped. Choice to either do nothing or plenty of activities available. Clean, good food - bars/restaurants regularly inspected no incidence of illness amongst guests (Clinic was empty!!!!). 10 mins from airport and 10 mins from Naama Bay (which you have to experience just once - Blackpool on Speed). Avoid Royal Savoy at moment as there is an extension programme during winter and there is thus building work - but this shouldn't put you off main Hotel. Staff very honest (lost sunglasses in bar and they held them out for me), don't hassle for tips and couldn't do more to help. Definitely going back in 2011. A stress free, hot, relaxing break which was outstanding value for money. Tips - Hot Rocks Restaurant and Seaood Island recommended, cocktails vary in quality, Cape Bay wine very drinkable, local beer not bad.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ShippyandBollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

We stayed at the Savoy for one week, to catch some sun. The hotel is very nice and the staff go out of their way to help you. Particularly aound the pool and in reception. We were concerned about previous comments made about hotel staff in Sharm staring at the girls. The staff at the Savoy were pleasant and polite as you would expect in a 5 star hotel.
If your thinking of going to Sharm El Sheikh, the Savoy is a wonderful place to stop. The reef is amazing and so are the restaurants in the hotel and in Soho Square. We got free tickets in our room for one of the concerts they hold in the square and thought it was a nice touch by the hotel.
Heathy;-)

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Heath2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

So, lucky enough to be the third time I have stayed here. Yet another fabulous break before the ravages of winter descend. Want to pay particular praise to Samy B on Reception - the perfect host. Samy at the Pool Bar - THE main man and one of the reasons we continue to back. And a new entrant this year - Harry the manager. What an almighty coup getting bruno brookes to gig on his last night. This hotel is a taste of luxury with excellent friendly service. No need to go to the toursit trap in Naama - stick with the sights, sounds and tastes of the Savoy and Soho Square. And definitely recommend S Class - no faffing about with money - everything charged and paid for before you arrive. Going to Thailand next year for my wife's 40th but will be back in 2012. And to the East European dancer outside the Oxygen Bar with the excellent aim - what an unforgetable moment. Loved it - see you soon.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harrywrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Cannot fault the Savoy or the staff and cannot understand some of the negative comments about this place.
Before we booked we had a look at the reviews/comments about the Savoy on Tripadvisor, and was worried about some of the more negative comments (room cleanliness, Soho Square, Restaurants, food quality causing upset stomachs etc) and thought we would email them to get some kind of reassurance. Nadia at Guest Reception politely replied and told us not to worry as we would be well looked after. (We wanted something special as it was our 20th wedding anniversary during our stay) So we went ahead and booked!
We stayed 9 nights 28th Oct to 6th Nov and booked through JET2 Holidays. We booked the S-Class (All Inclusive) package and it is well worth the extra £65 a day Per Person above the B&B option. The reason why is that you can easily pay £65 for one meal and a few drinks, so you get your money back instantly. The S-Class package also gives you a raft of other benefits, just go on the Savoy website to find out, you'll be amazed.
We found that the JET2 price was over £500 per person cheaper than Thomas Cook for exactly the same package from Manchester. I know JET2 is a 'no frills' airline but is it worth paying Thomas Cook £500 for a slightly comfier seat and some entertainment?
The transfer from Sharm airport to Savoy, with JET2's agents Marhaba Tours, was straight forward and getting a visa was a simpler process than people had led us to believe. (We needed a visa as we planned to go to Cairo)
On arrival at the Savoy, at approx 19:30, the booking-in process at reception was a breeze. Everything was explained to us in an understandable & coherent manner and we were taken to our 'Garden View' room (6130) by the polite bell-boy who didn't stand around waiting for a tip.
We must point out that we were the only two customers of JET2 arriving at that time so can't comment on what the procedure would have been like if a coach load had arrived.
Our room was spacious with a large balcony, king size bed, TV & kettle etc, large bathroom with hairdryer, bath robes and slippers, plenty of cupboard space, and an easily to operate 'free' safe. The only negative point about the room was in the bathroom, ie the grouting/mastic around the bath, and the shower screen are due for renewal (which has been commented on by others)
As we were late we had our evening meal in the Tirana restaurant and were really impressed with the quality and choice of food and overall decor & cleanliness of the dining hall and courtesy of staff.
Up about 10 on our first day and the vista from the balcony was stunning - a view across the Red Sea taking in Tiran island, awesome!!! We went down for breakfast in the Tirana and what a choice you have. Something for everyone, no complaints what so ever. Only negative is the omelette man - he could do to crack a smile now and then (apart from the 500 or so eggs each morning!).
Then down to the pool & beach to look for a free sun bed - and our only problem during our stay - non available. (It was the end of the 1/2 term week and was very busy)
We asked at the towel station on the beach if there were any sun beds and were given the glib comment of "you have to be up at 4 to reserve a bed before the Russians get them"
Not what you say to my wife!! So off we went to Reception and that's when we met the lovely Manchester lass Lauren.
Within 10 minutes, additional sun beds were being sent from sister hotel and would be in a prime slot on the beach with our names on - go girl go!!! We were told by Lauren not to get stressed, go for some lunch and she would make sure our stay lived up to our expectations. And so it did.
Saturday seemed to be quieter (change over day/end of half term?!) but got a pair of beds in prime sun spot next to the middle pool and bar early on. This is where we lounged each day for the rest of the stay. (The pools were a bit cold but the heaters were put on towards the end of our stay). Thanks Philamoon and rest of the bar staff for excellent service (ice buckets with water as soon as you arrive at poolside and any other drink you prefer within a few minutes of asking during the rest of the day)
Restaurants - Plenty of them (12 or 13, most 'a la carte') within Savoy & Soho Square and the ones we visited were of exceptional quality. Din't do them all as some are not to our taste but five did stand out - L'Entercote Steak House in Soho Sq for it's brilliant steaks and outstanding service (visited twice). Caligula Hot Rock within Savoy - cook your massive steak on a 'hot rock', again lovely venue and outstanding service (visited twice). Bombay Indian in Soho Sq, wonderful food and great service and very friendly people, especially Tilak & Raef (visited twice).
For our anniversary lunch we went to the Seafood Island restaurant overlooking the beach, the Red sea and Tiran Island, what a beautiful setting and wonderful food with Egyptian bubbly! And on the night of our anniversary we went to the very romantic setting of the Rosmarino within the Savoy - truly lovely place and wonderful food (and more bubbly) served by smart, courteous staff. (as it was our anniversary we were given an anniversary cake in our room in the morning and another cake with our evening meal - thanks L?!)
Also visited the Zen Chinese, again lovely food and friendly staff (they are the same staff that serve you in the Bombay as they are linked restaurants).
Soho Sq (see separate review) is right outside the Savoy, clean, hassle free and poles apart from the grubby Naama Bay strip. Also went to the Old Market which is even worse than Naama Bay.
Visited Cairo by plane with Sharm Excursions (see separate review) - not for the faint hearted!
The Savoy is an excellent hotel for taking in the sun in wonderful surroundings. There was some work being done at the Royal Savoy but you'd never notice.
There are a lot of East Europeans and they can be ignorant & bolshie but so can some British!
And of course you have the warm alluring and beautiful tropical fish tank that is the Red Sea - just at the end of one of the two private jetties - an absolutely stunning snorkeling experience!
Whether it's European 5* hotel class I wouldn't know as not that fortunate to have stayed in one!! Does it compare to other 5* in Sharm, again I wouldn't know but from listening to people we met on the Cairo trip and what they got for their money, in their respective hotels, I think we had the best of the lot. Yes the Four Seasons might be classed as proper 5* but do they give you the freedom of 13 restaurants, a (free) night club and a spotlessly clean shopping area with music and fountains - all within walking distance?
All I can say is don't be put off by the few negatives; this is a real gem with very friendly, honest and hardworking people who just want you to have a fantastic holiday.
PS Neither of us got stomach bugs OR food poisoning and we did we eat and drink quite a lot (even in Cairo)!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2010

The reviews on tripadvisor were so positive about this hotel, and also the price was not that high, especially compared with others like eg. the Four seasons hotel.
But all in all i can't say it was worth the money i had spent.
It already started while checking in. The knowlegde of English was so bad, we hardly could understand them. We were immediately told to have a seat while he checked if the room was already available. After 20 mins i asked if there was a problem with the room. We were again told to wait and have a seat. After 50 mins, and several other guests who didnt need to wait we were brought to our room.
We had a standard room in the 6xxx range (very far from everything) The room was quite plain and again: dissapointing for a 5star hotel. In the bathroom there were several brown spots on the floor and it didnt smell fresh.

The pools are large and quite nice. There is enough space around it, and the staff is very helpful to provide towels etc.
We mostly stayed at the beach. There was enough room until about 10 o'clock, then ppl had a difficult time finding a free spot. However staff was very helpful to clear a spot for you.

There is one main restaurant with a large buffet. We could hardly call it a restaurant, but more a cafeteria really. There were also no real waiters, but only ppl who cleared tables. We frequently had to ask such 'waiters' if it was possible to bring some water. Mostly, they didnt come to the table or it took 15 mins or more.
Hygiene seemed ok, there was regurlarly a check by the staff to see if the temperature of the dishes on the buffet was ok.
We also tried the italian restaurant. We found it quite inexpensive (except for the wines) but the level was (again) dissapointing. Wine enthousiasts: we tried some white wines. They cost about 50€ and were really not drinkable. And i'm not speaking of the egyptian wine, but italian and australian varieties.

We saw that most ppl went to soho in the evenings. The 'cafeteria' was not popular to say the least.
So, if you really want to stay there: only book breakfast. You will thank me afterwards ;-)

If you're not into high quality service and good food. Save the extra money and book a 4star resort.
If you do: be prepared to spend extra on a 'real' 5 star resort.

And oh yes: we got ill after 3 days at exact the same time. So we concluded it had to be the food. If you do get ill in sharm: don't go to see the doctor, but find a pharmacy right away. I think there are at least 2 of them in soho.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews