We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #25 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed August 2, 2010

We have just returned from a relaxing, luxurious week long break at The Savoy. The hotel is just as beautiful as it looks in the pictures, if not more so!

On arrival at the hotel, it is obvious straight away that the staff are going to look after your every need. Our suitcases were whisked to our (upgraded!) room whilst we checked in, which took all of 5minutes. After a short tour of the hotel’s main amenities, we were shown to our room, which was swiftly converted from a Twin to a Double by the Housekeeping staff.

Our room was spacious and kept very clean, not to mention the beds being turned down for the evenings. The balcony was huge and had excellent views of the main pool, the sea, and the island opposite. It was lovely to relax there in the evening with room service enjoying the stunning views!

The three swimming pools catered for all tastes, but my favourite was the huge shallow pool for relaxing! Every morning, the pool boys would put your towels out for you, and put up/take down the umbrellas. The swim-up pool bar serves tasty cocktails and light snacks for lunch, if you can drag yourself away from sunbathing! Waiting staff are in the pool area throughout the day to take your order/deliver your drinks, who are extremely helpful without being intrusive. The hotel is situated right on its own private beach, and if you are into snorkelling/diving there are lots of tropical looking fish to swim with!

There is so much choice of where/what to eat in the evening. We really enjoyed “Morgana”, which serves a variety of international style meat dishes, and provides lovely sea views. The “L-Entrecote Steak House” which is across the road on the Soho Square complex, serves delicious steaks and you are looked after from start to finish by the extremely friendly staff who can’t do enough for Savoy guests! Another favourite was the hot rock dining experience at the “Caligula Disco” where you cook your dinner on a hot stone brought to the table. Our host, Hanna, was so attentive and friendly, and has lots of magic tricks to amuse you with while you wait for your next course. We did not stay S-Class (All Inclusive) but almost everything we ordered we signed to our room and paid for every couple of days. It made the whole experience completely stress-free!

Finally, a special mention has to go to Mr Joseph Hanna, Front Office Manager. He is one of the most helpful, attentive and friendly people I have ever met!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anitasvacanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,988
    857
    277
    111
    68
See reviews for
1,489
1,722
143
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (768)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We have just arrived back from a 11 night stay at this hotel well what can i say. The hotel was just stunning. The staff were very helpfull and polite, room service was very punctual, food was amazing nice bars and restaurantsLarge srip directly outside with lots of bars and restaurant which you could eat and drink if all inclusive but the hotel was so nice you did not want to go out there. It was very hot so i would suggest going a bit later on in the year but i cannot wait to go back again next year

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tinaallen60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Booked through travel republic and spent two weeks at savoy. Had mixed feelings going out due to tripadvisor reviews some good and some bad. I think overall some people just like to complain about everything (glass half empty and that sort of thing.
The bottom line is that we enjoyed our stay. Hotel 10 mins from airport, pre-book transfers.

Word of warning if you have a child age 12yrs or over they are classed as adult in the hotel with a severe price hike so make sure your booking is accurate before you leave UK or you will need to pay full rates!!! We had a big problem and shock with our booking and hotel was not helpful so first few days were somewhat spoilt by that.

Rooms are average, but not 5star, having said that if you are not happy complain to reception. I would say that Lauren at guest relations was very good and helpful, so please talk to them for advice and issues. Rooms were cleaned and fresh towels everyday. Overall service good and facilities also good. They do try to please.......Evening entertainment is good, bars are good.

I would definately recommed going S class all inclusive. wide variety and flexibility in restaurants and food. Lunchtime and eveing buffets are good, a la carte very good, food hygiene good (yes despite this we did get the runs, but hey ho). Staff at restuarants, bars, pool and beachside very good. Worth tipping your cleaner.
For s class you can eat and drink what you like (in hotel and in soho square) and it does include alcohol (exc. specific drinks) some food like lobster on menu you pay a supplement for but that is to be expected. Also S class adult guests get vouchers for spa, bowling, laundry, gala dinner, aqua sports - one set each week.
A la carte resturants (part of hotel group) are located 3mins walk into Soho square, where some shops and supermarkets are located (Bombay - best curry ever, Tepanyaki and steak house really good, Hot rock dining an experience!!!). So you eat well without having to dig into your pocket!!
You can buy your snorkelling gear over there but haggle down price (20% from what they say) and dont go for too cheap unless you only plan to use it only on this trip.

The pools are great, staff (Ahmed the towel/pool guy especially) will help you find recliners same on beach and will also bring you drinks. Even trainee staff was good. If you need help just ask. It wasn't too crowded either, we never felt overrun. Yes there are Russians but they were friendly and did not hog the buffets etc (I think some people exaggerate). We met a lovely family from UK and had a great time. Beach is very good and the snorkelling the best ever. Dive centre is just off the beach (Natalie and Karim very helpful) we did PADI refresher and the Tiran Island boat trip with snorkelling and scuba diving - well worth price, and on board lunch very good.

Namma bay is 15mins away by taxi (hotel taxi very pricey but comfortable and safe) local taxis are hit and miss Price around 45-55 Egyptian pounds each way (haggle) and tell them to drive slow before you get in. Make sure seat belts are worn. You are hassled a lot by sellers but stand your ground and walk away if you don't like attitude or price, plenty of shops! Worth trip to old market also. Shisha pipe guide price medium size 145 egyptian give or take ten, include tobbacco and coal, see if you can get better!

We did Cairo by air, I wouldn't go coach unless really short of cash and you have no children with you. Even tho' very long and tiring day. Pyramids great, you must do camel ride, 50 Egyptian pounds. Contact Sharm-club excursions (Hanna our guide was good) you can book online with small deposit and pay balance (UK stirling) on meeting rep in hotel. We went to Papyrus shop during day and I felt they were rude there to anyone who did not buy. Cairo airport terrible, cattle market with delayed or cancelled flights (make sure you bring some snacks and water for end of day). You can get free breakfast box from hotel. Our return flight to Sharm was delayed by 3 hours, the next day Sharm club rep met us and gave free glass bottom boat trip, even tho' delay was nothing to do with their company they were very apologetic, so would recommend them for excursions. Note other companies may take you to local restaurants near Pyramids for lunch (not good) whilst Sharm-club take you to Hard rock cafe (food average, but clean).

I did not see a single mosquito at the resort, or outside - they do fumigate, so do not worry. I stopped using the mosquito killer after day 3 and did not need to use repellant. But keep doors closed in evening just in case.

Buidling work. Yes there is some around one section were they are updating. It is not noisy or intrusive. Next door they are levelling land for a new complex again not a real problem. We were almost next door to this and I could not hear them in morning or evening. During day you are out by pool or beach.

Yes- I would recommend hotel.
Yes- I would recommend Sharm club
Yes- I would recommend boat trip to Tiran island with Sharm-coast dive centre. Nice way to meet people.

Get typhoid and Hepatitis vaccinations done early.

Change your UK Stirling in Egypt you get much more than UK rates around 8.7 Egyptian to each UK pound.

You only need a visa if you are travelling out of Sharm to Cairo etc.

There is a dress code for restaurants – shoes and long trousers, smart casual.

If you plan to take lots of photos of fish and coral suggest you hire the digital camera from dive centre 35 euros for one day although you can hire it for a few hrs. It includes download of images onto disk for you.

Finally watch out for extras on your bill….we were charged for drinks at night club that we never even went to.

I would avoid Namma bay hotels and beach – far too crowded. Ok for lads and ladettes but not families.

Warning, when out shopping site seeing, do not accept anything from people trying to give you ‘gifts’, once in your hand you will never get rid of them, unless you pay. Most prices they give you are 30% mark up.

Charter flights awful, but cheap you get what you pay for. Bring small blanket for children they turn down heating to get you to buy their neck pillows, blankets etc.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ironman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Just got back from our 10 day stay at the Savoy, I've read damning reviews, and I've read glowing reviews - holidays can either remain in the memory as an exagerrated nightmare, or an over-romanticised good time. My attempt at a balanced opinion is that this is a nice resort, it has its flaws though. The headline is that it's poor value for money - as such I wouldn't recommend it as there are simply nicer places you can visit.

Addressing the common gripes about this hotel -

The rooms - they are poor, there's no two ways about it. Tired, dated and the bathrooms aren't good. Our first room there had a bathroom that was dirty and you would expect better at a travelodge. We had a king size bed, but they could only put a single quilt on the bed.... 5 star? No way. Our second room, after an upgrade, was better but still falls short of the standard.

Other reviews have complained about Russian guests, there are more Russians than brits, but their conduct around the place was perfectly fine for me. If you were a prude, you could complain about the topless sunbathing (you will see a lot of flesh), but you can choose to ignore it, or let it bother you. They also smoke a lot, so expect to inhale a lot of smoke, on the beach, in the restaurants etc.

The prices - we went S-class but still noticed how expensive everything was. Expect to pay £10 for a cocktail, £17 for a malt whisky (single measure) etc.

Good aspects are the pool, grounds and beach - these are all superb. Soho square is really useful on the hotel doorstep, it has a surreal 'movie set' feel about it though and a downside is that the hotels restaurants and bars are deserted at night as everyone heads out to Soho Square.

My overall take is that the parts you expect a hotel/resort to deliver on - they don't. The food isn't great (its ok, but not anything special - Zen was the only restaurant i'd pay to eat in at home), the service is poor for drinks unless you want to tip every time (despite the menus all saying that service was included in the price).

My biggest complaint about the resort was the S-Class all inclusive policy, make no ends about it, the system is designed to catch you out. Certain bars will only let you drink at certain times, so you have to move around to get your drinks. Want to order a beer and a whisky chaser at the same time? You can't, the policy is 1 drink per person per order, want to have an assortment of starters in a restaurant? You can't - one hot and one cold starter per person. These are the sort of things that arent in the small print and as such means it can't be classed as 'all inclusive'.

I will salute the guest relations at the hotel though, both myself and my partner became ill for a 3rd of the holiday - Lauren on Guest Relations looked after us really well, upgraded our room, covered our medical bills and sorted us out with extended check out period so we didn't have to wait around for our flight. If the service elsewhere in the resort lived up to her standard then there'd be very few complaints.

In summary, it may take twice as long to get to Jamaica, Mexico etc - but its worth the extra travelling time as you will have a much better time and much better memories.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikedc2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had read so many reviews of various hotels before we finally chose the Savoy with the S Class package and we certainly werent disappointed !

On been driven up to the hotel reception it certainly looked the part of a five star hotel. The reception was equally impressive and we were greated but a much needed cold drink and friendly staff. I had already contacted the hotel to tell them this was a special ocassion and this resulted in us being allocated a great room - complete with a wonderful fruit basket ! Reception continued to be very helpful through our stay with Shilab on hand.

Our room was clean and tidy, of good size and the balcony accomodated a small sofa and a couple of chairs which were perfect to lounge on post sunbathing! Our room cleaner - Mohammed, looked after us on a daily basis, even a knock on the door in the evenings with a chocolate just to check things were ok.

The pool consisted of 3 areas. The larger shallow pool and then 2 further quieter areas. All the areas were very clean and the pool immaculate. Shrubs, grass and plants surrounding the hotel were also well maintained. The pool bar waiters were very attentive, our morning bucket of ice and bottle of water was always delivered to us without us even asking in the end! - well done Amer, Nader & Phillimon!
We typically visited the beach - White Knight every afternoon. The beach was also very clean and the snorkelling was enough to keep us entertained all the time. The visability was great and being near a reef meant plenty of things to see - other people were being brought by boat just to come to this beach! I'm really fussy with beaches and this one was fine, and although you werent allowed to go in the shallow water because of the reef, once out on the platform there was easy access to get into the sea.

The food at the Savoy couldnt really be faulted. I have a very picky husband who is used to high standards and he was impressed! The buffets in the hotel were full of variety. In the afternoons as well as the snacks by the pool side there was also the salad and fruit bar which gave you platters to munch on by the poolside which felt like a real treat in the hot sun. As we had gone with the S Class package we made full use of Soho sqaure which was a very short walk outside the hotel. Equally the restaurants within the hotel were lovely with outside venues as well as inside, we loved the Rosmarino italian and the Eest restaurant down near the beach.

We must mention the Safari bar which was a real favourite of ours. My husband chilled out with a whisky many a night waiting for me to get ready. The decor was great and just a really nice atmosphere - made even better by the bar staff Mina and Samuel !

Food from the various restaurants in Soho sqaure was authentic thanks to the Indian, Thai and Chinese chefs. We ate a 4 course mealmost nights and in the end we just felt completely spolit eating so much every day! We enjoyed the night club Pangea, with varied music to please everyone and were delighted to see that even our drinks in the club were included in our package. Post night out the kebab bar was our naughty treat and still included. There were plenty of drinks bars to visit and in fact in our week away we didnt get to all of them!

In summary we really loved our holiday and felt completely looked after by staff that just couldnt do enough for you. Maybe the rooms could have been glammed up a little more to fit with a five star hotel but everything else was five star!

We met with Joseph as we left, Front Office Manager and told him we will be back - very soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nickola_gipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

One of the best hotels I have ever been to! Amazing surounding, wonderful service, professional stuff, delicious food, great rooms and other facilities. Spacious and comfortable in all aspects. Elegance and luxury wherever you step! Everything to make your holiday a memorable one! You will not wish to leave this hotel at any time :) They will make you feel a VIP each step of your way there, for all they do is with the aim to please a guest and serve their wishes!
The hotel also provides perfect conditions for families with young children.
It is more than a value for the money!
I recommand it with all my heart! I have been to more than 20 different countries of the world and stayed in many great hotels, but this one definitely deserves the title of the best I have ever been to! We love you Savoy Sharm el Sheikh!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marta0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

We have recently had a chance of spending our holiday at Savoy Sharm El Sheikh and we have admittedly enjoyed every single second of being there!! The hotel has an excellent sandy beach and a large swimming pool, very spacious and comfortable rooms (especially terraces with a sea view), and what we have appreciated most was the kindness and helpfulness of the hotel staff. The hotel has very diverse amenities and evening entertainment, and in case this is not enough for you, there is always a chance to take a walk to Soho - a specially built market place with shops, restaurants, sliding centre, cinemas, etc which is situated in front of the hotel, or you can visit nearby Naama Bay and experience the magic nightlife of Egypt.

In one word - thank you very much for making a dream out of our holiday! My lovely and beautiful girlfirend and myself are looking forward to coming again to Savoy!!!

P.S. Best regards to the hotel manager and Mr. Jack from reception and thank you for having been so kind to us!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BokiAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
4.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,149 reviews
0.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#71 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#23 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,395 reviews
0.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El She...
#3 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Address: SOHO Square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#17 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#25 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 414
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh is located near Ras Mohammed National Park inside SOHO SQUARE, the 5-star hotel offers 136 sea view rooms, 55 pool view rooms, 161 garden view rooms, 46 triple rooms, 2 special care rooms, 13 diplomatic suites, and 1 presidential suite. The hotel also features a private beach, 5 swimming pools 3 adult pools (2 heated in winter time) and 2 children's pools (1 heated in winter time) , 5 Bars (1 pool Bar) , and 6 restaurants Savoy hotel offers different types of meal plans that ensures you trying everything starting from the hotel’s main restaurant to Soho Square different restaurants and cuisines; standard Bed and breakfast, half board, full board, S-Class (ultra all-inclusive concept) , and half and full board dine around option (which SOHO Square restaurants as well) Diving or at least snorkeling with a PADI approved dive school on the beach. In the hotel we can find tennis, squash and beach volleyball courts as well as a modern gym facility . Sauna and Jacuzzis, as well as a range of beauty and spa treatments. Each room features adjustable air conditioning, WiFi access, mini-bar, en suite bathroom and hairdryer, and a private terrace overlooking our gardens , pools, or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing