We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, great restaurants.....but guys remember your shoes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #39 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great restaurants.....but guys remember your shoes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2010

10 minutes from the airport and you arrive at the fantastic Savoy.

So many restaurants to choose from both within the hotel and just outside in Soho Square which is owned by the hotel. Thai, Indian, Seafood, Italian, Chinese the list is endless, infact, in the 2 weeks we were out there we never once eat in the main buffet restaurant. Best restaurants are the Italian in the Hotel and the Indian in Soho Square. All-inclusive people (called S Class) don't pay a penny in any of the 10+ restaurants, inside or outside the hotel. Best novelty restaurant is Hot Rocks inside the hotel, where you cook your own steak on your table on a bit of slate heated to 400degrees. Best waiter of the hotel works here, Hanna, watch out for his magic tricks!

WORD OF WARNING GUYS! You've seen in the 5* brochures when tour operators dramatise about gents wearing smart evening wear etc and then you turn up and there are people in leisure wear/shorts and wonder why they said it! At the Savoy and imparticular the Soho Square restaurants they actually mean it. Wearing a smart shirt, smart linen trousers and smart brown sandles I actually got refused entry because of my sandles. You have to wear shoes into the restaurants, rediculous when women can wear sandles. If like me you hadn't any shoes or indeed no trousers, the restaurants actually lend them to you, although they are the most hideous things you have every seen!

Hotel caters for B&B, Half Board and All-Inclusive. Would strongly reccomend going all-inclusive as food and drink is very expensive. Couple of beers in a bar in Soho Square £18, average 3 course meal for 2 people in the restaurants in Soho Square £100+, of course if you go all-inclusive this is all free! All inclusive also includes brand drinks like Barcardi! You don't get tradional all-inclusive wrist bands to wear which is great, although that does mean you have to sign for everything, v interesting when you see how much it would have cost.

Breakfast is ok...but not the tradional fry up! Beef bacon and baked beans which are kidney beans in tomate sauce, look awful! Loads of great fruit, yoghurts, pancakes, waffles, omlettes etc. Dining area can be a bit noisy and echoey during school holidays, my advise is go outside for breakfast. Just watch out for the milk if you eat outside, they leave it in jugs on the table in the full sun and it goes off quickly.

If like me you are obsessed with gym, the gym here is amazing. Top notch equipment, although only 2 tredmills and 2 cross trainers which are therefore limited to 30mins. To be honest even though it has air con, its so blummin hot 30mins is enough before you hit the vast amount of weights.

Bank within hotel has a lot better rate than if you were to change money in UK.

Reception staff very very rude, but everyone else is so so lovely you wouldn't believe they worked at the same hotel.

Paid for pool view and on arrival didn't get it at first, had to go back to reception to complain. Make sure you take your booking confirmation as evidence.

Lot's of russians and germans at this hotel. Bit of a problem with securing a sun bed, everyone seems to go to bed early and get up very early in the morning; therefore, if you can't beat them join them and get your towel out at around 8am! Leave it beyond 9am and you won't get a brolley to shade you from the sun.

Overall great hotel, just takes a bit of getting to grips with the rules. Ignore reception when they say bottles (including water) aren't included in all-inclusive.

Work in travel industry and have stayed all over the world and this is a true representation of a 5* hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maltby77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,686
    803
    264
    105
    63
See reviews for
1,243
1,676
129
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (748)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2010

Perfect in every respect. I was there during the Volcano ash problem and we stayed 3 extra days and finally found a flight which was taking off in 90 minutes. Mohamed Badra sorted everthing out for us from helping us pack, getting a taxi, escorting us through security and customs and getting us on the plane wih minutes to spare. I cannot give him and all the staff enough praise.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nudger53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

We have just returned from a week at the Savoy - followed by an enjoyable yet unplanned 6 days in Cairo due to the volcano. To be honest I had pretty low expectations about our trip to Sharm, however, I was more than delighted with. We travelled with our 3, 10 and 12 year olds and it worked for all of us. The Savoy is probably not a 5 star as we might understand but the rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The resort itself is beautiful with lovely gardens that are constantly maintained. There is the odd kitsch quirk such as speakers disguised as pandas and dogs, but that aside it felt a very pleasant environment. Staff were great and fantastic with children. There are pools to suit all and the beach is great (but you need to get there early in the morning to reserve your beds) with a pontoon that goes out over the coral reef so even if you can't face getting in the water you can still seeing the amazing fish. We choose not to stay all inclusive (S Class) as we booked so late the prices we much higher. We didn't hold back on eating and activities and still didn't spend anywhere near the extra cost for S Class. There is a good choice of restaurants in the hotel which are of a reasonable standard. Just outside the resort is Soho Square which is an entertainment area with an amusing array of bronze statues of either wild animals or children set on a vast expanse white marble! That aside there are more restaurants to choose from a few shops including a small supermarket, pharmacy, gifts and bars. The great thing about Soho Square was that it extended the hotel facilities and gave you the opportunity to go somewhere else without having do anything more than walk out of the entrance. It's hard to compare to the other hotels without seeing them. We would have liked to stay in the Four Seasons which is around the bay but they were full. Having stayed in the Four Seasons in Cairo I'm sure the experience would have been enhanced but we found the Savoy perfectly suited to our needs.
Negative points would be - kids club - our three year old was too young and didn't want to go anyway but it didn't look very structured so I wouldn't rely on it. Not saying this is a negative but there were more Russians than English but they seemed perfectly nice.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank popkitmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOW
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

A very good hotel for complete rest and relaxation. I was fearing an overly busy resort with lots of tacky elements as I had never done an all inclusive 'lazy' holiday before, but was impressed with this hotel. I question it's 5* rating on European standards, but it was definitely a nice place to stay. The beach was lovely as was the pool area - we spent our time at the beach as my husband wanted to snorkel (he rated it 6/10 - so pretty good). Most of the service we had was very good, if a little slow at times. Staying on 'S class' meant that we could eat at the a la carte restaurants and avoid the buffet (it wasn't a bad buffet, but it was standard mass produced food). There are a wide variety of very good restaurants, my favourites were Eest, Bombay, Saffron and Morgana. The rooms are a little tired and could be a bit cleaner - but nothing dreadful. I enjoyed my holiday here and if I need to stop and do nothing but read books again will certainly be thinking of this as an option.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annie_robbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

We stayed 6 days at the Savoy after a 4 days in busy Cairo. We had a room on the upper level of block 5 with sea and pool view. The rooms (interconnecting) were very nice and clean and the personel was vey careful. The hotel and its facilities are very nice and clean. We stayed most of the time at the beach and although you can't really swim from the beach which is very common in this area, we had lots of fun swimming from the jetty and snokeling. The lifeguard and personal on the beach were great and also very friendly with our children (6 and 8). Food in the hotel is good but could be better in the asian restaurant. We also ate at some of the Soho restaurants which are really worth the visit. We will come back for sure and strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FredMLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2010

Just returned from six days at the Savoy and had a wonderfull time,I have read posts saying the Savoy is not a "real" five star hotel and this may or may not be true as I have
neither the funds nor the desire to stay in a "real" five star hotel but the Savoy lived up to and exeeded my expectations.The service was superb but not in your face,the food varied and delicious,and the rooms comfortable and clean,add to that a wonderfull setting,great dive centre and fantastic weather what is there to complain about..
If I had one very minor complaint it would be that the beer in most of the bars was not quite as cold as I would like but even then if you mentioned it you where presented with a large ice bucket to place your bottles of Sakara in,problem solved.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waxer666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful reef so you can stay there during your vacation and do some snorkeling or scuba diving with no need to go any other place. Rooms are spacious, clean and with nice view of the sea. It's not very luxurious and those of you who wish and can afford the best should look into the Four Seasons.
Food is definitely not their strong point though it is really hard to find great food in Sharma anyway. The hotel created a small mall which also features few restaurants, which serve better food than in the hotel itself (we recommend Saffron the Arabic restaurant).

Overall we had a great vacation!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedSeacool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.9 mi away
Cleopatra Luxury Resort Sharm El Sheikh
5.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel
Concorde El Salam Hotel
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#13 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
Sierra Sharm El Sheikh
#52 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Savoy Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
Address: SOHO Square | PO Box 169, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#11 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Savoy Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 412
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savoy Sharm El Sheikh is located near Ras Mohammed National Park inside SOHO SQUARE, the 5-star hotel offers 136 sea view rooms, 55 pool view rooms, 161 garden view rooms, 46 triple rooms, 2 special care rooms, 13 diplomatic suites, and 1 presidential suite. The hotel also features a private beach, 5 swimming pools 3 adult pools (2 heated in winter time) and 2 children's pools (1 heated in winter time) , 5 Bars (1 pool Bar) , and 6 restaurants Savoy hotel offers different types of meal plans that ensures you trying everything starting from the hotel’s main restaurant to Soho Square different restaurants and cuisines; standard Bed and breakfast, half board, full board, S-Class (ultra all-inclusive concept) , and half and full board dine around option (which SOHO Square restaurants as well) Diving or at least snorkeling with a PADI approved dive school on the beach. In the hotel we can find tennis, squash and beach volleyball courts as well as a modern gym facility . Sauna and Jacuzzis, as well as a range of beauty and spa treatments. Each room features adjustable air conditioning, WiFi access, mini-bar, en suite bathroom and hairdryer, and a private terrace overlooking our gardens , pools, or the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Savoy Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Savoy Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Savoy Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing