We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Royal Holiday Resort
Ranked #35 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
epping
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Travelled from the 18th July for 11 nights, 2 adults 3 children ages, 6, 15 and 16. Lovely hotel, clean, tidy, rooms really spacious, had superior rooms courtesy of Thomas Cook no extra charge! The weather was bearable, in the 40's most days, however at times I did pray for some rain! You can just jump into the pool when you got too hot, although we were unable to book day trips as I just didn't want to be in the searing heat with children. We were advised not to eat or drink outside of the hotel so bearing this in mind we spent most of our time in the hotel. We did venture out a couple of times, firstly to the sister hotel, I cant remember the name of it now! Which had a bar and towel facilities for guests from the Royal Hotel. My son and ex partner did some scuba diving, we didn't go through Thomas Cook as I had read reviews previously on Trip advisor with people recommending Mickey Blue Eyes and Diamond Geezer at the sister hotel, they only charged £30 English per person, my son who is 16 said it was an amazing experience and one he will never forget, in the sea with sting rays and tropical fish circling them! As for the food at the hotel there was always something that would take your fancy, pizza, chips etc for kids, vegetables, fish and meat dishes for adults daily. The only thing I would say is that as there are only two restaurants to eat in it can get a little boring, the al a carte restaurants were not ready when we visited, but however were not part of the all inclusive, neither was the mini bar in the room, a bit upsetting as I love this on holiday! They have a sky bar which I situated as you can imagine on the top floor however drinks are chargeable here. The only negative would be the evening entertainment which was truly disastrous, probably the worst I have encountered in 12 years of family holidaying all over the world, but I believe this may have been due to the hotel being new, you would literally sit at a table waiting for entertainment, this would last 40 minutes at the most then that was it, the music would play from a cd player till 11pm the that's your lot!! The all inclusive finished at 12pm so if you wanted to stay up you would just sit at the table with nothing going on, except of course if you had the pleasure of great company! A visit to Naama Bay is a must, to haggle for the handbags and purses etc, just take a taxi from the from of the hotel approx. £5 English each way, just nice to get out of the hotel, and we also went on the evening visit to the shopping arena Soho Square with Thomas Cook, this trip worked out cheaper than taking our own taxi, again it was nice to visit somewhere different. Lastly if you are unfortunate enough like me to suffer from the stomach problems and the runs, trust me you will know when you get them because the pains are awful, do not suffer in silence, I brought remedies from Boots at home but they don't work at all, go to reception and request Antinal, it costs around £1.30 English and is their own antibiotic medication to rid the bug, it started to work for me after just 3 tablets, remember to continue the course, its very common in Egypt to get it, they call it 'Pharaohs Revenge'! I was the only one out of 5 that had it, also sun cream factor 50 is a must in August, keep hydrated and continuously hand wash, all in all we had a lovely trip and I would return in the future.

Room Tip: We had room number 3406 and 3408, they were by the childrens pool and perfect as they were not to cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Monise,

Thank you for your recent vacation at Le Royal Holiday Resort and for posting your stay opinion. We did gather that your family and you had a wonderful sojourn despite that you have felt unwell for a very short period of time for which we are sorry. We understood as well that you will revisit us in the future and we are very appreciative.

Yours,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,278
    372
    157
    57
    29
See reviews for
961
437
17
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (467)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Came back from two week stay on 26/8/13..first off,I'm not one to put a downer on my stay but a few things were disappointing.overall the hotel is very good,but be aware that during the two week stay at the hotel there was no hot water(something that was known by Thomas Cook but not told to us previously)the food is not 5 star,imo 3 at best & the organisation in the resturant could certainly be improved,trying to get a coffee or cutlery can take a lifetime.we went all inclusive,the mini bar in room isn't free nor is the sky bar or al Le carte resturants(which aren't even finished yet anyway).all our party had the dreaded Egyptian tummy,tho the Thomas cook rep said only 2% of hotel guests had it,something I find hard to believe as most people I spoke to had needed to dash to loo for a few days whilst there. Special mention to Mowab around the pool bar by first pool,an excellent service provided.also the entertainment team of Adriano,Leo,Kim,Gina & the polish girl whose name I can't recall(sorry) were top notch,terrific bunch of people.all in all then a 5star resort that in a couple of years may actually deserve its 5 star rating

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tlcgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Tlcgolfer,

We are grateful for your feedback and thank you for visiting Le Royal Holiday Resort during the busy period of August and at the highest temperature of the year.

We are glad that you rated the hotel overall very good and enjoyed the excellent service of some Employees while you have found others to be top notch.

I certainly apologize for the hot water disruption due to an event on the main gas line in the region. As this issue was lasting, we have converted our boiler to diesel combustible which was a project and needed some time to be completed. We are now providing, as previously, hot water to all guestrooms.

I am sorry to learn that you have felt poorly at some part in your stay. During the same month of August the temperature have reached 30 degrees or so in some areas in the U.K. for only a very short period and has affected medically many people. The same work in Egypt, heat-related illness, when not accustomed to and sensitive to high temperatures which were averaging 44 degrees during this time.

We hope to have the privilege welcoming you once more and have taken note of points to improve.

Cordially,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We've just arrived home from an 11 night stay at this excellent hotel. On the plus side: the pool staff (especially Chicken Wings!) were so friendly and always very helpful. The restaurant staff were also very polite and helpful and we have to say 99% of the staff were brilliant. We went knowing the hotel is still not finished and I'm sure when it's all completed it will be the place to go in Sharm. The water slides and pools are well designed and great fun. The accommodation (we had room 1907, a poolside view with balcony, and it was brilliant. The guy who cleaned our room was excellent too. We used Micky Blue Eyes to book our trips as they were much cheaper than Thomas Cook and he was excellent! On the down side: the food in general was OK but not great, very repetitive and we ended up eating out 6 nights (recommend the Pomodoro in Naama Bay!). There is no gym, no health spa, the hotel entertainment is poor and a couple of the pools were green and cloudy, not clear - which we think was why many people had stomach upsets. The rooftop bar is really lovely and always empty (because you have to pay for the drinks!). The sister hotel, The Sonesta, is OK for the small beach but it's full of Russians so expect a lot of rude, stern faces!

Room Tip: If you have young children ask for a room near the slides. We had 4 teenage girls who wanted to sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear StuartWarren,

Le Royal Holiday Resort is appreciative of your returns and stay during this summer, which summed up to be enjoyable with the contribution of a large number its Team Members. We are sorry for the 2 pools which were treated at the time of your vacation, fortunately , 14 others were available.

Thank you for coming with us, wishing to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have not long been back from here and we had a brilliant time. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very friendly. It was nice that the restaurant changed their food every night, from Italian, Asian, English, Egyptian, it was all great. The water slides were brilliant, we all had such a laugh on them. You wouldn't believe that this hotel had only been open a few months and it will only get better. Best family holiday we have had in a long time. If you get the chance to do a very bumpy jeep ride in the dessert, camel ride (not the ones outside the hotel mind you), visit the Bedouin people and snorkelling is a must! Thanks to all the hotel staff and our Thomas Cook reps for making our holiday what it was, excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saundersbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Saundersbex,

At your service! We hope to be again of assistance, thank you for residing at Le Royal Holiday Resort and for providing your feedback.

Cordially,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks from 17th July 2 adults 1 child(10) weather at times was unbearably hot, although for july/august its to be expected.
great hotel, impressive frontage & foyer when you arrive, friendly staff, but slightly lacking in some areas, good sized rooms, lovely big shower, excellent food, could always find something that we liked to eat. hotel Water park is excellent, although not every slide was always open (the hotel had some staffing issues)
Pools were generally clean & the grounds are really nice, well maintained, lots of people with upset stomachs in the hotel & I think in general all over sharm, not blaming anything in particular maybe just the heat & change of food.
There was not enough to keep teenagers entertained at night in the hotel, although we were told that pool tables e.t.c. Were on order.
The area outside the hotel was not so nice (a few dodgy characters hassling tourists), but we did meet a few really nice locals.
All in all good value for money!
Would like to return some time as they have plans to build an amphitheatre & a lazy river could eventually become a top hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheapholidaysforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Cheapholidaysforlife,

We appreciate that you have taken the time to post your comments after your recent sojourn at Le Royal Holiday Resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation and have summed up some of the right reasons affecting customers on vacation, who represented only 2% of our total in-residence patrons in this period.

We wish you to return soon, witnessing the many additions to the resort to come.

Gratefully,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North west
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff were excellent and the resort was spotless, the whole package made our stay a brilliant one, the kids loved it and cried when it was time to leave!!! We will defo return. Ifb you a family with 2 rooms the interconcting rooms are worth requesting for with your travel agent, just makes life easier. The rooms are cleaned daily abd cleaned with great attention, no faults on this Hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank febabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear ‘Febabe,

We would like to take the opportunity and show our appreciation for your stay at Le Royal Holiday Resort that was dimmed to be excellent, a resort which was highly well maintained during your holiday.

We trust to have the privilege of your presence again soon.

Kind regards,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clanfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived on the evening of 5 August and stayed at Le Royal Holiday Resort for two weeks through Thomas Cook.

Thomas Cook staff did not make it clear to passengers that we did not require a visa upon arrival as we weren't leaving Sharm. It would have been helpful to know this, but this is no reflection on the hotel.

The transfer was quick and smooth to Le Royal Holiday Resort, however upon arrival things were not so smooth. We were told to leave the bags outside and check in which we did. The receptionist asked us to then return outside and put the tags on our luggage. We went back to where the luggage was at the bottom of the steps to be told to wait aside while the staff loaded all the guests' bags onto a golf cart and drove them up to the front entrance. We then climbed back up the steps and asked if we could take our bags and go to the room. We were told we couldn't and we had to wait. We weren't sure what we had to wait for and no one informed us. My husband then went in search of someone to explain - we were just told to wait by our cases. Again - what for? We had the room key and just wanted to get to the room. Essentially they waited until the entire coach party had checked in and then gathered us into a group and took us on an embarrassing walk through the hotel grounds and shouted out block numbers as we went to identify where rooms were. This is certainly not 5* and herding people like cattle through your hotel is quite frankly appalling. Issue guests with a map at reception, circle the building they're in and let them go and find it themselves if they want to. If you were to clearly identify the blocks by numbering them on the sides facing the pathways it would make it a whole lot easier.

The food at the hotel was excellent in our opinion. There was always a lot of choice and they tried to cater for everyone. It was unfortunate that the breakfast cooking station did not offer omelettes for vegetarians as they used the same frying pan with meat in. The service in the main restaurant was inconsistent everyday. We usually had some items of cutlery, crockery or glassware missing from the table and had to find staff to ask for these items or drinks. We did occasionally leave breakfast without having coffee as it was difficult to get one. Like some of the other guests who have left reviews on here, we found the earlier you ate the better the service was. Our major gripe was that in the mornings occasionally there was a queue for breakfast and rather than use the two entrances to the restaurant that are (currently blocked off) in the lobby we were left waiting outside in a long queue in the hot sunshine. Many guests were complaining and it didn't feel like the best start to the day.

The food court by the pool at lunch was good and the pool bar was great. We were served by staff who were courteous and helpful on all occasions. Our son was happy to get his own food and drink from these areas during the day too. Milad was such a hard working employee and always made sure we were kept topped up with drinks from morning until late afternoon. We certainly didn't expect such great service and had to remind ourselves to go to the bar every now and again just to stretch our legs!

The shortage of sun loungers does let this hotel down in our opinion. We were having to wake up earlier than we would normally choose to on holiday in order to secure just two sunbeds everyday. It is a shame as again you expect a five star hotel to stop sun lounger reserving. Still, we didn't let this spoil our stay, it just wasn't what we would choose if we had known.

Like a few other guests we were unfortunate enough to be in the bar at the time the incident between the guest and staff occurred and my husband was hurt as a result. The hotel were very good to us and we received prompt medical treatment and follow ups for which we were exceptionally grateful. It is an experience that did affect our holiday but the hotel, especially Mr Mohamed Musa, went out of the their way to ensure we enjoyed the rest of our time.

The rooms are well appointed and clean. We could only ask for some drawers to be installed as there were cupboards, rather than drawers, which is awkward but not really a 'problem'. This is us being exceptionally picky too. The safe was high up in the wardrobe which meant it was difficult to see inside it and we found that frustrating but were thankful to even have a safe in the first place.

We found Walid and Mohammed from Thomas Cook to be helpful and sensitive to our needs. We booked a trip through them and it was good value and the guide (another Walid) was great fun.

We had the opportunity to drink at the Sky bar courtesy of the hospitality from the management which was a lovely touch, thank you. Not many resorts will invite you to a reception where the management circulate and introduce themselves and ask about your stay. We also went back on another evening when the hospitality was not in effect and it is a shame that the place is lacking guests but I would expect this where guests are asked to pay for their drinks and yet the other bars are offering them as part of the all inclusive. Hopefully it will pick up in time as the view is lovely.

We found the entertainment at the hotel wasn't really our scene but that's personal choice. We have one child of 12 who required less 'organised' activities and more of an 'area' to hang out in with his friends. I understand the hotel are addressing this which is good to know. We would prefer to have a band, singer or musician than bingo and games but we could be in the minority so don't expect that the hotel will be able to cater for everyone.

The sister hotel, the Sonnesta Beach, is not of the same standard as Le Royal Holiday Resort and is very tired from what we saw. The beach is okay, quite crowded but the sea itself was very nice for swimming and snorkelling. We didn't realise that Le Royal Holiday Resort guests had a designated area for sunbeds, towels and drinks and at first we were a bit miffed that we couldn't sit where we chose to but in the end we were grateful as it felt more private and exclusive than the other guests' areas. We did take the bus a few times and also walked. No hassles either way. The bus driver was great too.

Overall this was a very good holiday and we knew it wouldn't be perfect when we booked to stay in a newly opened hotel and were quite prepared for things not be as you'd expect at a five star hotel that is more established. If you're willing to forgive the little things while they work them out then please do give this hotel a go. If you're a perfectionist who likes to complain then I'd give it a while before you book so things have been ironed out.

We hope return soon. Thanks again for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmsCW77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis D, General Manager at Le Royal Holiday Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear EmsCW77,

Thank you for mentioning the very good holiday spent at Le Royal Holiday Resort.
I sincerely apologize once again for the incident related and I trust that we have quickly reacted as needed. As you have narrated, we are tuning up the few services issues stated to further guests’ experience.

I sincerely hope to welcome you in the future for a smoother experience.

Very best regards,

Denis Dernault
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.2 mi away
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Sonesta Collection Luxury Resort
Le Royale Sharm El Sheikh, a Son...
#87 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
601 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#16 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,208 reviews
1.8 mi away
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
Domina Hotel & Resort Harem
#23 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Jaz Sharks Bay
Jaz Sharks Bay
#32 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#26 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,709 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Club
Sonesta Club
#117 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Royal Holiday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Holiday Resort

Property: Le Royal Holiday Resort
Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Royal Holiday Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Royal Holiday Resort Sharm El Sheikh is the latest addition of Le Royal Hotels & Resorts, a brand celebrated for premium standards and a hallmark made of excellence and comfort.426 luxury accommodations, 12 exclusive Food & Beverage outlets, state-of-the art Wellness Center, extensive Aqua Park are just a few of the top facilities featured . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Le Royal Holiday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing