We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Great place, a must if your visiting Sharm”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lounge

The Lounge
Ranked #43 of 307 Restaurants in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Typical British pub style. British owned and managed. Homemade food. Casual dining. Live entertainment every night of the week.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Great place, a must if your visiting Sharm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Great bar with friendly staff and great food. I've visited the lounge many times on my trips to Sharm el Shiekh and can recommend everyone pay it a visit. The bar is run by Diane a lovely English lady who has a great knowledge of Sharm and Egypt so if you need any advice while on your stay she is the lady to talk too. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming and there is usually some form of entertainment. The food is all freshly cooked and I can definitely recommend the Sunday roast! The bar staff Bret and Ahmed are friendly and welcoming, the bar is clean and has a nice relaxed chilled atmosphere. Definitely if you are in Sharm it is worth a visit. I'm looking forward to returning for a nice cold beer soon.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretteriah, Owner at The Lounge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hi Andrew

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor.

We're so glad that you enjoy your visits to The Lounge and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    20
    11
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
1 review
“5 star food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

had a fabulous beef fillet steak and chips. done perfectly. service excellent, very very friendly staff and a warm welcome for the manager. who can ask for more?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzy-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretteriah, Owner at The Lounge, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi Suzy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about The Lounge here on TripAdvisor. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“so glad we found this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

just returned from sharm and seen this place on trip adviser before we went so was determined to find it.The food was lovely,great atmosphere and great prices.went back a few times it was that good.the staff are great,gave kids board games to keep them occupied in there.the karaoke night was good too.will defo be returning when we go back to sharm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank natc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretteriah, Owner at The Lounge, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Hi NatC2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review here on TripAdvisor. We're glad you enjoyed your visits and we hope that should you visit Sharm El Sheikh again, you'll come and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food super service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Went to lounge bar end of June food was superb drinks cheapest in sharm went back 4 times for our evening meal 4 children 5 adults we all loved it

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beattie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretteriah, Owner at The Lounge, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi beattie87

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about us here at The Lounge.

We're glad you enjoyed your numerous visits and it was a pleasure having you here. We hope that should you return to Sharm in the future, you pop in and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Brits abroad management and style has its place anywhere in the world but fails miserably at The Lounge. Menu cheap and cheerful but food was blatantly out of the packet and into the microwave. Partners meal was cold, dry and inediblle whilst the Egyptian waiter was friendly and apologetic, it was disappointing the British management wasn't up to scratch. The man in charge was rude, abrupt and wouldn't even make eye contact. All in all a shabby establishment in need of Ramsay shake up!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretteriah, Owner at The Lounge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Johnathan

Thank you for taking the time to post a review here on TripAdvisor. My sincerest apologies that you weren't happy with your visit and that there was a problem with one of your meals. All our food is cooked fresh and by our British chef, not from a packet as you stated, I'm sorry you weren't happy.

As for your comments regarding our staff and establishment, we do make every effort to speak to all of our guests, but during busy periods this can be difficult and I'm sorry you felt that the service wasn't upto scratch during your visit. Our establishment is new, having opened January 2013, so I'm surprised you found it 'shabby' and again I do apologise. As for your opinion of it needing a 'Ramsay shake up', we offer a relaxed and casual dining experience and not that of a more formal venue - but we will of course take this, and all your feedback, on board.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lounge also viewed

Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai
 

Been to The Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing