We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,289)
Filter reviews
3,289 results
Traveler rating
2,594
484
128
42
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,594
484
128
42
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschurchill barwaterfall barroyal clubanimation teamorchid blocka la carte restaurantsswim up roomspecial thankswelcome homefish restaurantmain poolguest servicesmain restaurantamazing hotelfront office managerspecial mentiongreat holiday
Filter
Updating list...
2,238 - 2,243 of 3,289 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at Sunrise GSABR last week in October , first week in November , booked with the knowledge that it was only partly opened ( soft opening is the term they use ). It meant that of the 6 planned restaurants only 2 were available , not all of the pools were funnctional but the available facilities were more than adequate for the number of guests .
The first few days coincided with the muslim festival of Eid-Ul-Adha so the hotel was very busy mainly with Egyptian guests , this gave the general impression that the opening had been rushed to catch this trade .
The entrance drive up is still incomplete but when the lighting and fountains are working it will be stunning . The rooms are good standard but in places the decorative finish is poor , paint splashes , plaster splashes , poorly fitted tiles again giving the impression that it has been done in a hurry . We had 2 queen size beds in the amply sized room ( 2 adults , 1 teenager ) .
airconditioning excellent , mini bar , TV ( no english channels though ............but we are in Egypt so shouldnt complain ............BBC world news would have been good though )
The location is excellent , 10 minutes from the airport , fabulous view of Sharks Bay , Tiran Island .The hotel is built across 5 levels so lots of stairs ( there are plans to build a vernicular type of cable car - train to travel up and down from the beach area which will be quite an engineering feature ) , reception area is stunning ( with a few bits to complete ) , free WiFi , bar area and tea room on the same level . next level is the main restaurant area for breakfast and dinner in a self serve buffet . Other restaurants will be on this level but were not complete , there will be a Greek , French , Thai and Indian .
Main pool area , swim up bar , pool bar , plenty of very comfortable sunbeds , 2 waterslides onto the next level which were great fun . The next levels were not fully open but they will be the more expensive suites with private pools etc .
The beach front is a good sandy beach , plenty of beds , jetty and Italian restaurant which was available for lunch and a good quality evening meal if the buffet didnt appeal ( we ate there most nights as the buffet was very average )

The staff are led by the superb Mr Nagy Arafat and Mr Sayed Saleh who are extra friendly and very high profile around the place , always available to talk to , making sure everything is OK .They are obviously the top managers in the group who have been brought in to make sure this very high profile project works .
Guest relations , Lauren and Natalia , very helpful and visible around the place without being overbearing , unlike the concession sales reps , salon , massage , boat trips etc who really do annoy after a few times of being told no , not unique to this hotel though .
Animation team work very hard against dificult conditions , trying to please a multi national multi cultural audience but must be doing something right if they managed to get me to do aqua robics and even get on the stage to do the time warp - or maybe that was the very generous all inclusive alcohol , local sprits , wine and beer are very good quality and the bar staff in the reception bar areas are excellent , no waiting for drinks which is often an issue for English guests who are used to going to the bar to be served .
The fish restaurant ( not complete ) overlooking the beach will be very special with a superb view of the bay
Overall apart from the concerns over the variety of food in the buffet and the poor decorative finish is some areas which the management are fully aware of it was a good week. The staff tried very hard but still have a long way to go to hit the true 5* that they are after but having seen the enthusiasm and commitment of the management and staff have no doubt they will get there . Look forward to visiting again when all will be completed

Room Tip: a completed one
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank alsmith111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Arabian Beach Resort -Grand Select-, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, your feedback is highly appreciated.

We are sorry that you felt that the resort opening had been rushed. The hotel had been in soft opening since the end of August so we took the reservations for EID knowing that we had had the opeining experience for almost 2 months. This is always a busy period in all the hotels in Sharm el Sheikh.

Your comments regarding the finishing touches have been passed to our construction company. Yes we will have a shuttle bus in operation very soon, to make it easier for our guests to get to and from our beach

We have made sure that all of our Televisions now have BBC world news, we have also updated our channel list to make it easier for the guests to know what channels are english, we have 10 english channels available.

We are happy that our staff here made your stay enjoyable, all your comments will be passed on to the revelant people.

We hope you will return to SUNRISE Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort so that you can experience more of our restaurants and facilities that were not available whilst you were here.

Thanks again for you feedback.

Best Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the Sunrise Grand Select Arabian Beach from the 25th of Oct. till 30th of Oct. 2012, 85 rooms out of 420 were open ( still soft opening) but yet it was amazing , To start with, the hotel is fabulous one of the best we have ever stayed in and with a little more facilities & services it could be compared with Steigenberger Al Dau Beach in Hurghada, First I would like to thank Mr. Ahmed Faheem (Reception S.V),he was outstanding, did everything he could to ensure we had a great time during our stay at the hotel.
For the food, it was excellent, not a huge variety but tasty, also I would like to thank Mr. Abd El Maboud & Mr. Khaled & the rest of the team on their great job at the beautiful Italian Restaurant located on the beach, Also Mr. Ismail at the main restaurant who used to call my daughters Doctor & Engineer, Ehab & team of waiters on the pool bar. There are a number of pools at the hotel but not all in operation yet, the sun beds are very comfortable also there are two water slides which my daughters enjoyed.
There was also a good animation team led by the excellent Sokar. For the Rooms not a fault, about 85% are Sea view, we were at # 1224 & 1225. We also used the gym which is kitted out with all new equipments and had a small sauna, small steam room and hot tub for the time being which is not very good but the main Spa is still not operating.
There is also a beautiful private jetty which is lit up on a night and over a beautiful coral reef.Snorkling is recommended.
Here Are Some Negatives from my point of view, 1-we went to have our room which was still occupied by a guest(I think it will be the first & the last time)-2-Golf cars are not enough need a bus to the beach every 10 Min.-3- the pool bar is under the ground level ,very hot ,need more staff to supply the pool area.-4 mmmm water by glass mmmmm -5 Pepsi is not canned -6-ice cream is great but from 3:5 only.-7- no meat or chicken main dishes for lunch on the beach bar.
8-Turkish cafe is not in the A I -9- no station for hot drinks in the main restaurant.
A word to the management:
With spending few Egyptian pounds this property I think will be ranked from the best 5 hotels in Sharm El-Sheikh.
The Staff is doing their best but still not enough need more staff (all areas).
Sorry for the negatives but I really like this place & wish it to be improved.
All in all it was a great stay and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: When u r looking to the sea Rooms on the right r shady ,left r sunny. Higher floors have a better sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank yhamdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Arabian Beach Resort -Grand Select-, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your view on tripadvisor, we appreciate all feedback that is given to us.

We are sorry that are Spa was not in full operation whilst you were here,however we still provided a Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room for our guests in both our suites. Suites are small but was adequate for the amount of guests that we had.The Spa will be in operation from 12.12.12, should you visit again.

We will have Shuttle buses in operation very soon on both sides of the resort every 15 minutes to make sure that our guests can easily move around our resort. Also water is replaced daily in eachroom, and if you ask at our bars they will gladly provide you with a bottle of water.

Please note that all your comments have been passed to the relevant departments to ensure that all our guests enjoy their holiday.

Thank you very much for all your comments, we hope that you will visit our resort again soon

Best Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sunrise Grand Arabian Beach from the 13th of September till 24th of September 2012 and although the hotel wasn't 100% open we had an amazing holiday, for a start the hotel is fabulous one of the best we have ever stayed in and we have travelled far and wide, the management of Mr Nagy Arafat, Mr Sayed Saleh and Mr Ahmed Faheen was outstanding they did everything they could to ensure we had a fabulous experience at this hotel.
Then there is the food, it was excellent, 5 star a la cart food every night which was prepared by amongst others Chef Wahedy from a menu put together superbly by Chef Robert who is the top chef for Sunrise resorts in Egypt, these were served at the beautiful Italian Restaurant located on the beach by Ahmed Maboud and his team of waiters, the Bleu Bleu Mediterranean Restaurant by Esmail Mohammed, Sameh and their team of waiters and also in the very luxurious French resteraunt by Ismail Syed, there was also lunch served at the pool bar by the very brilliant pool bar men Mohamad Howary and Ehab who also kept the cocktails and the great banter coming all day long. There are a number of pools at the hotel we mainly sat by the large main pool, it's huge and the beds are very comfortable with an endless supply of towels if you want them handed out by Ramadan who is very funny and the rest of the recreation team, we also used the two water slides which our niece loved.
There was also a great animation team led by the excellent Sokar with Katia and Emma also coming in for praise for keeping the niece entertained everyday. We stayed in a family room, which was massive we had a super king size bed in our part of the room and there was two double beds in the part where our niece stayed with a very spacious bathroom which was very clean,with lovely bathrobes and slippers.
We also used the gym which is kitted out with all new equipment and had a sauna, steam room and hot tub which are very good.
I had a couple of massages while we were there too, which are amongst the best I have had and I have had massages in a lot of different countries,
There is also a beautiful private jetty which is lit up on a night and over a beautiful coral reef.
All in all is was a fabulous holiday and we would not hesitate to recommend it, we already have to friends and family, and we have already booked out next trip in January.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Funkytraveller1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Arabian Beach Resort -Grand Select-, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable holiday with us here at SUNRISE Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed all of our facilities and restaurants so much.

We really appreciate your comments regarding our staff, its nice to hear that our staff can help make your holiday so unforgetable. Your comments will be passed on to the relevant people and departments.

We hope too see you again at SUNRISE Grand Select Arabian Beach Resort

Best Regards

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunriseArabianBeach, Guest Relations Manager at SUNRISE Arabian Beach Resort -Grand Select-, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews