We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Disapponting.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Tivoli Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tropicana Tivoli Hotel
Ranked #183 of 229 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disapponting.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Hotel staff were great, however the bedrooms left a lot to be desired - old, tatty and broken furniture, dirty curtains and walls, bathroom (shower only) was very very unpleasant. Bring a kettle if you want tea/coffee in your room - hotel will provide one but at a cost, I picked one up in the old market which was cheaper than 'renting' one from the hotel. There is a free hotel shuttle bus to the very small 'private' beach (10 - 15 mins) but there are a lot of steps which may not be suitable for some. Sun loungers are free here but are packed in really tightly so I personally didn't find it very relaxing/pleasant.
On the plus side, the pool/ pool area is lovely and they do put on a good breakfast buffet with a wide choice. Would I stay here again? No, which is a shame as staff are so good.

Room Tip: Pick an upstairs room to avoid listening to noisy stiletto heels 'clip clopping' on tiled fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lyn811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    80
    43
    42
    26
See reviews for
28
103
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Having read previous reviews knew the hotel was tired - but our room was definitely grubby and had to ask for clean bedclothes because of hairs. Bathroom had peeling ceiling and verdigris hanging from showerhead. A/c was on or off and some of the lights worked. Signs of blood spots on wall, together with boot print. Had to ask for clean bath towels most nights (they did arrive). Staff were helpful and friendly.

Apparently other rooms were refurbished and even had towel sculptures in their rooms - obviously where the housekeeping staff spent their time.

Room Tip: Pool rooms appear to be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1248mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Wanting a quick and cheap holiday, a friend and I decided to head to Sharm. We trawled through Trip Advisor for a cheap hotel and found Tropicana Tivoli. The reviews were a real mixed bag: some complaining, some raving and some simply saying it does what it says on the tin.

Were some people being over-critical with expectations above the price they were paying? Or we were about to walk into the holiday from hell? We decided to take a chance.

Considering how cheap the hotel was (like £20 a night cheap - and we travelled during half-term!), we took a gamble and it paid off. The rooms were clean. The air conditioning worked. The bathroom was modern which was a nice surprise. It had a big raindrop shower with terracotta tiles. Looked as though it had just been redone. The staff were friendly. I would describe Tropicana as simple and sometimes that's all you need especially if you're doing it on a budget.

The hotel is very small, and the pool is not gigantic, but as we pretty much only wanted to relax in the sun, it suited our needs. It was never over-crowded either. A regular shuttle bus takes you to the beach or to main strip, but after one night there we had had enough of Blackpool Meets Las Vegas Tourist Tattville. The meal we had was bland and horrible.

Instead we took to eating at a traditional Egyptian restaurant just around the corner (It was actually called The Corner/On The Corner or something like that) which also has an Egyptian club playing proper music with belly dancing.

The hotel's achilles heel, and for some people it will be a biggie, is the food. The breakfast buffet was...strange. The only thing we ever ate was toast and fruit. My advice would be that if you choose to stay here, definitely get breakfast or dinner. The poolside menu (chips, pizza) was ok if you got peckish between brekkie and dinner.

If you book here, don't expect some snazzy all-inclusive resort. And I'd say it's not the best place for children, probably better for couples or friends wanting a mellow vibe.

I'd be very happy going back, but I doubt I'll ever go back to Sharm itself. There is nothing there!

Room Tip: We were by the pool and that worked for me. It was not a bustling place, so we had not worries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth england
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Was lovely to see all the staff again and always so friendly. Unfortunately my best friend was
here with us and died while out here, but the staff went out of their way to help us especially
Azmy helping me to get through the hotel security to find his wife and calling at the hospital.
This is a small but very friendly hotel and while it is basic, you cannot fault it. People must be very sad if they have to complain about a few small hairs in the bathroom. Take time to visit this hotel and see for yourself. Not sure when i can return but will definately go back sometime

Room Tip: They are all good rooms, but if your not happy dont complain just ask the staff NICELY
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldsilverfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khimki, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Rooms: very dirty (hairs), dirty bathroom (lots more hair) in shower, very small bathroom.
The room itself was fine for a 3 star hotel.
Food in buffet is quite poor.
Walk to the nearby street Il Mercato, where you can eat very tasty.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IlyaPavloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sharm El Sheikh hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

What a delight this hotel turned out to be. On a limited budget this time I took a risk and booked a package deal - flight and accomodation (with breakfast). For the price of less then $30 a night I was not expecting much. However my room was 10 steps away from the wonderful pool, was very spacious (with a seperate TV viewing area), clean and more then adequate for my needs. THe pool had its own bar and food - steaks, pitzas, sandwiches, pasta - all cooked in front of you by the pool bar chef. Breakfast in the restaurant wasx typical Arabic - not my forte but I sttled for omeletted and franfurters every monring. Most of the clientelle were Arab - from Egypt. Few Westerners and few Russians. Staff were friendly and professional. Naama bay (and all its wonders) is a 15 minute and $5 taxi ride away. Ill stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to be upgraded to a pool side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BrendanKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

Brilliant location , excellent staff...coffee was abit naff though...briilliant pool and pool bar and the atmosphere was fantastic along with the food ..

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank trixxUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
1.8 mi away
Xperience St. George Homestay
Xperience St. George Homestay
#43 of 229 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 stars 4,426 reviews
4.2 mi away
Falcon Naama Star
Falcon Naama Star
#97 of 229 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,364 reviews
2.0 mi away
Falcon Hills Hotel
Falcon Hills Hotel
#81 of 229 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel
Concorde El Salam Hotel
#79 of 229 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 stars 2,800 reviews
0.6 mi away
Logaina Sharm Resort
Logaina Sharm Resort
#185 of 229 in Sharm El Sheikh
3.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
16.5 mi away
Sea Beach Aqua Park Resort
Sea Beach Aqua Park Resort
#122 of 229 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Tivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Tivoli Hotel

Property: Tropicana Tivoli Hotel
Address: Ras Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh 5331, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#130 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tropicana Tivoli Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropicana Tivoli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing