We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, shame about food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Ranked #58 of 230 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good hotel, shame about food”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is only 10mins away from airport, so very quick transfer. the room and restuarant staff are lovely and helpful though Reception staff are rude and slow in their service.

i would not recommend to use the excursion service at the hotel, they were very expensive and also had no creativity or excitement in their trips. locally organised trips by street vendors are a lot more fun and you will get a bargain (if you know how to haggle)

there is variety of food avaialable but dont expect too much taste. It felt like everyday, the same sauce is used for cooking the meats (totally bland). though desserts were great. Not really veggie frienfly unless you like roasted pumpkin, cauliflower and aubergines with your rice everyday,

Room Tip: Dont choose a pool view room unless you like noise from the pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AS123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review following your recent stay here with us in Sharm El Sheikh. I was extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding the rude reception staff as we pride ourselves here on the high levels of hospitality we deliver and we have clearly badly let ourselves down on this occasion. Your comments regarding the hospitality you received from the restaurant staff were appreciated. I will review your comments regarding the food variety with our Executive Chef and ensure that corrective action is taken.
I can only hope that the shortfalls in product and service you experienced did not deter from the overall enjoyment of your holiday.
I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future when I am confident you will see the necessary improvements in place.
Once again we truly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind constructive feedback with us.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,108
    594
    231
    117
    76
See reviews for
515
832
77
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott mountain some nine years ago on our first trip to Sharm, so already knew the hotel. After seeing the hotel advertised for £740-00 each for two weeks all inclusive, we jumped at the deal and stayed from 13th-27th April.

Check in was swift, and we were allocated a large pool view room with king sized bed. Everything in the room was fine and very comfortable. Ibrahim the room cleaner was fabulous. A very friendly guy who kept the room clean and tidy on a daily basis. He even followed me down to the reception as we were leaving to hand me a charger we had mistakenly left behind.

The pool is lovely. Unfortunately I think the heating had beeen turned off as we arrived as it was rather fresh. However, the temperature rose dramatically whilst we were there and the pool was quickly following.

The bar staff were a little hit and miss. Some were extremely friendly and helpful, whereas one or two others were miserable and spent more time faffing with paperwork rather than serving people. I think Marriott need to sort this issue out. Asking guests to sign for every drink or snack is an obvious encumbrance to guests and staff alike. An all inclusive card would be a far better idea.

The alcohol was also a little hit and miss around the pool bar. Sometimes the beer was nice, other times it was flat and tasteless. Far too often the bottled water was warm, but the staff would always provide glasses of ice to chill it if you asked. The all inclusive snack menu was extremely limited and low quality. A separate snack area with baguettes, pizzas, salad etc would be a great addition with what's already on offer.

The food in the main restaurant was well prepared and plentiful. At no time did we struggle to find something that we liked. Yes you do have to cross the road for lunch at the beach resort, but this is no issue and well worth the short walk as the food was always lovely.

There is an animation team at the hotel, but they are certainly not overbearing, and they are all very friendly. However, if you do not wish to partake in any of the activities they immediately respect your choice.

Naama bay is a ten minute walk down the road where you will enter it by the taxi rank and be hassled continuously. Far better to walk through the beach resort and down the promenade so that you enter it the back way. Some of the locals here are extremely annoying, but not all. Naama is totally safe and well worth the trip. There is a British bar called The Tavern which is not on the main front of Naama, but if you ask for it you will be pointed in the right direction. For British tourists this is one of the best places to go as it serves fantastic British food (including pork), has a sunday carvery that would beat most places at home and shows all of the sports on the big screen. Well worth a few visits!!

Overall I found the hotel good value for money and the majority of staff were excellent. There is certainly room for improvement, but for the price we paid I have no complaints at all. If you want premium booze and gourmet dining then pay the price and that's what you'll get. If you want a clean, well maintained and pleasant hotel that's close to all local amenities then you can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor overlooking the pool are the best if you can get them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvertonBluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing Marriott and posting such an extensive and constructive review following your recent stay with us.
We were extremely pleased to know that overall we met with your expectations and you enjoyed your time. The points you noted for improvement regarding the bar service and limited all inclusive snack menu will be reviewed and the appropriate corrective action taken. We truly value you taking the time to share your kind constructive feedback with us and we do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Marriot Mountain last week and although we had a great holiday this hotel is not a 5* it would probably rate a max 3* in the UK. We have stayed in 5* hotels all over the world and this is wth worst 5* hotel we have ever stayed in. The whole place is tired and dated and to get to the pool you have to walk through the eating area.
The service was non-existant for the first 2 days then improved to poor for the remainder, the rooms are quite basic and the bed had a "topper" fitted as the matress was quite lumpy, and there were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
In good 5* hotels there are dressing gowns and slippers, not in this one. There is no pool service, you have to go to the pool bar, the Pagoda, to get drinks and as the food at lunchtime is served in the Marriot Beach resort there are only snacks available, a total choice of three, burgers, chicken fingers and salad all with an option of fries, none of which were hot, that was always assuming you would be served.
The food was OK, but varied in heat from cold to tepid, nothing was really hot apart from the soup. It was chaos in the restaurant and we always had difficulty getting things like cutlery and drinks and the staff were sometimes overzealous in clearing tables whilst you were getting main meals or sweets. The salds were very good and the sweets were OK but main courses were variable depending upon what people like as food, we had one evening meal where nothing available was to our liking and we dislike very little where food is concerned. If you wanted eggs for breakfast there was always a long queue waiting for them to be cooked but at least they were fresh and hot.
The wifi is only available for a period of 3 hours at a time, the log-in is from reception and changes every 3 hours and you cannot receive it in your room, it has to be in reception.
The pool area is fine and the hotel was very clean, the pool staf were very helpful and the room cleaners were good but that was it. The entertainment is dreadful, not even amateurish would cover it and not worth watching as it is embarassing.
We had an enjoyable holiday despite the poor hotel and will certainly return to Sharm but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing Marriott for your recent stay in Sharm El Sheikh and taking the time to give us your candid review of your time here with us.
We were particularly pleased to note your very kind comments relating to the pool bar staff, pool area, the hotel cleanliness, the salads and the desserts. However your comments and observations regarding the food service, the tea and coffee facilities and the animation entertainment have been reviewed and your feedback shared with the responsible managers for their corrective actions.
We do hope that you will re-consider returning to our resort when we are sure you will see the necessary corrective measures are in place and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.
Once again we truly value you taking the time to share your candid and constructive comments with us.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

stayed on the mountain side of the Marriot in Sept 2012 with my girlfriend. Had a fantastic time, food was great.... fresh bbq every night. The pool is huge and the animation team do a great job of getting rid of the women for pool aerobics for an hour every morning to give us a bit of peace and quiet ;-) Cheers Bob!!

pool bar is lovely and snacks freshly cooked to order throughout the day. beer was very drinkable... especially when the bar staff get to know you and keep it in an ice bucket next to the pool for you. A couple of quid tip certainly helped me get that i am sure. Rooms were cleaned everyday, bedding changed reguarly. its not a Marriott 5* in a European sense but it was lovely and i would certainly recommend it to couples.
go on the trip to Tiran Island (although be careful with the food they provide.......) amazing snorkelling. We also went to Cairo for the day to see the Pyramids etc..... we flew, some friends got the bus......lets just say im glad i paid the extra to fly! Had a great day and I would certainly recommend it.

I couldnt faolt the Hotel..... if your bothered about walking across the road to the beachside hotel to get lunch then perhaps you need to reevaluate your life as its 200 yards.... who cares?
the pool is also better on the mountain side in my opinion and if I went again I would certainly stay at the mountainside.

My only negative isnt about the hotel but of Sharm itself.... it is starting to get a bit 'chavvy' which is a shame. If you have booked here already.... I am jealous! have a good time! If you havent... do it!

Room Tip: get to know the barstaff, they can sometimes ignore 'new' people but i dont think they do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollistermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we are glad to know that overall you enjoyed your time here with us. We were particularly pleased to receive your positive comments regarding the friendliness of the animation team, the room cleanliness, the swimming pool at the mountain side and the food.

Thank you for choosing Marriott and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I would never use this hotel again! I stayed there with a group of friends for a weekend. We had booked sea view rooms however were given rooms with garden view. My room and another friend's room were not clean. When I complained to the Reception staff, I was told that the hotel is fully booked and that there was no possibility to give me a different room (although it was obvious that this was not the case).

The Reception staff were rude and aggressive. The room service staff (all men) were too familiar and chatty which made me, as a woman, very uncomfortable. The beach Restaurant staff were very disrespectful and the food was terrible. We kept calling for them to serve us and waited an hour for a disgusting meal.

The hotel is nicely located, though, in Naama Bay and gives on a beautiful sandy beach which was ideal. However, and after my recent experience, I wouldn’t recommend this hotel for people looking for a nice vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avril0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your candid review following your recent stay with us. We were extremely disappointed to learn that the levels of service and hospitality extended to you were not those that you would rightly expect from our resort. Rest assured this will be looked into immediately and appropriate corrective action taken. We pride ourselves here on the high standards of quality and service we deliver and we have clearly badly let ourselves down on this occasion. I very much appreciate you taking the time to share your constructive feedback with us and I can only hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future when I am confident you will see the necessary improvement in the service levels you experience.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed in April 2013 with my partner. Rooms very large and comfortable, air con brilliant, complimentary toiletries good :) many thanks to our cleaner who made the room up every day!

All inclusive package slightly strange but overall good. Breakfast was my personal fave, lots of choice and freshly cooked pancakes and eggs to order! Lunch buffet was ok but over at the beach hotel, or mini snacks at the pool bar .. These were very nice but got a tad repetative, but the ice cream tubs made up for this for me :) Dinner was adequate, I'm fussy and I ate every night! We went for dinner twice just to have a change of scenery and a break! Drinks in the hotel were good when skicking to wine or spirits, beer at bar tasted a little watered down. Bottles of water good!

Location of the hotel brilliant, walking to narma bay is hassle free and takes about 15 mins, lots of lovely restaurants on route on the beach.

Both pools at each hotel are lovely to chill at, the beach is a five min walk across the road and brilliant for sunbathing, snorkelling and water sports!

A big thanks to our rep Mohammed Abdo with ETS travel .. Friendly, smiley and helpful :) trips booked were all brilliant, 35 English pounds each got us a tiren island boat trip where we saw dolphins, quad biking in the desert and a trip to soho square! (Soho square is expensive and hard to spend 3 hours at - i wouldn't recommend this!)

Can't wait to go to back soon!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0sebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Marriott for your recent stay in Sharm El Sheikh. We were delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience and we thank you for sharing your kind positive feedback.
We very much hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.
Many thanks for taking the time to share your review it is much appreciated.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We enjoyed are relaxing stay at the mountain side,The only thing I found of Marriott standard was bedding and towels (best pillows ever.) Having said that the drinks were very good. As stated by other reviews the rooms were tired but large clean and comfortable. There was no outside dinning.The location is great 10mins walk along beach road to Naama Bay. All in all we though very good value for money.

Room Tip: all twin rooms have 2 double beds, top floor mountain view very quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
We were delighted to read your positive review following your recent stay with us here in Sharm El Sheikh and we thank you for choosing Marriott.
Your comments regarding the room have been well noted.
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us and we do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#19 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,786 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#71 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,218 reviews
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#70 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,054 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 230 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort

Property: Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Address: Naama Bay | P.O.Box 27, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover five star luxury at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort. Centrally located within walking distance of the city's vibrant night life, Resort offers outstanding service and amenities for your Red Sea holiday. Stretch out in one of our 520 elegant hotel rooms, spread among two distinctive buildings beach side and garden side , with spectacular views of the sea ,pool and garden. Our 5 star hotel in Sharm El Sheikh boasts a variety of exquisite international fare - including sumptuous cuisine at Parmizzano, our fine Italian restaurant, and the award-winning Japanese restaurant and bar, Kona Kai. Our resort in Sharm El Sheikh is pleased to offer wireless Internet access in public areas, a swimming pool, and a fully equipped health club with a gymnasium, sauna, steam, and massage rooms. Venture outside and take advantage of our hotel's wide range of water activities, including scuba diving and snorkeling, or simply relax by the beach. Extraordinary experiences await you at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Marriott Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing