We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acqua Gymmmmm!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Ranked #60 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Acqua Gymmmmm!!!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Me and my sister in law have just returned from a week here on the Mountainside. We had a fantastic time.
The staff at the hotel were absolutely amazing. Special mentions go to
Giuseppe and Kate in the animation team. Everyday very happy and Guiseppes Acqua Gym was real fun even if you were only joining in from your sunbeds. Also the animation team had different trips every night at all the places to be in Sharm i.e. Hard Rock, Pacha, Pattaya Beach, etc.
Also special mentions to Walid, Eslam, Wael, Abdallah, Kareem and Mohammend in AYS and Reception always looking after us whatever we needed. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them.
All the staff at the Pergoda Bar on the mountainside were very good and friendly.
You could not complain about the service you receive at this hotel.
The only thing that let it down is the food. I wouldn't say it was bad but it wasn't good either
I would definitely return here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Nbfox,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent holiday with us here in Sharm El Sheikh with your sister-in-law. I was delighted to know that you enjoyed your time and thank you for your kind positive comments regarding the hospitality and service extended to you by many members of our team.
I have noted your comment regarding the food quality which will be shared with our culinary team and the necessary corrective actions taken.
Thank you for choosing Marriott for your break and we do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,098
    590
    229
    116
    75
See reviews for
508
829
76
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here in February for our Honeymoon and it was an excellent choice. As it was not the busiest time of the year we never had issues finding seats in the restaurant, near the pool etc. Food was excellent, you have so much choice between the more european food and local dishes. Staff are excellent, they were so friendly we were amazed. We work in hotels ourselves and would love our team to have these high standards at all times.
The only downfall with being so quiet is that the entertainment in the evenings did not have many people to involve so sometimes they were performing for themselves, however they did get my husband to dress up as a giant baby so all good there!
Definitely recommend this hotel, rooms are spacious, great shower, eveything is clean and food loads of choice.

Room Tip: Go all inclusive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Ria

Thank you for choosing the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Red Sea Resort for your honeymoon. We were delighted to know that you had a great stay here with us and us thank you for taking the time to give us your very positive comments on our product and service delivery. This is much appreciated especially when it comes from fellow hoteliers.
I do hope you have many happy memories of your time here with us and we would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your very positive and kind feedback with us.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A summer 5days beach trip : The staff attitude and willingness to serve guests was far away from usual Marriott standards. We had better vacation and services in Sharm than the one at Marriott. Lack of coordination, management and staff education. Staff smoking shisha at the beach bar during operations, for me unacceptable, morever the service provided during lunch time delayed by staff rest time at the beach bar. Only exception were the service staff at the beach bar serving drinks and meal directly to the sunbeds of teenage cash-guests from UAE & Saudi Arabia in the beach. Pitty for lack of peace in the beach, all UAE and Saudi youth had music docks at each sunbed, so we couldn't hear each other voice. Last but not least, the food variety (breakfasts and dinners) was surprisingly poor. Lunch served at the beach bar (a la carte) wasn't made from fresh ingredients. Pitty for Marriott in such a lovely destination

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel462009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Mel,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your very constructive and candid review of your recent stay. We very extremely disappointed to learn of the issues that you encountered with staff levels of service and hospitality, service delays, food variety and noise from fellow hotel guests.
We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your kind constructive feedback with us and I can only reassure you that all points that you mention will be given our immediate attention and corrective action will be taken.
I can only hope that the issues you encountered did not completely deter from the enjoyment of your short break here with us and please accept my sincere apologies for these product and service shortcomings for which there is absolutely no excuse. We pride ourselves here at Marriott on the high standards of product and service we deliver and we have clearly badly let ourselves down on this occasion.
Once again I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I can only hope that you will consider returning in the future when I am confident you will see the necessary improvements in place.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
136 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

First impressions of the Marriott upon arrival were very positive. The reception staff were very courteous and explained where the rooms were and made sure that we had enough key cards for each of us.

The room itself contained two queen sized beds, but the receptionist said to ask if we needed a different configuration.

We arrived at around 4pm and whilst the hotel wasn't busy, there were plenty of guests milling around.

Our room on the second floor overlooked the pool area and was far enough away for any noise not to be a problem, through at night we had to keep the bathroom door closed tightly due to the loud humming of the fan which couldn't be turned off.

The room was air conditioned, but we kept everything turned off as we weren't in the room in the day time and the evenings were a little on the cool side, but as we weren't in the room other than to sleep, we needed neither heat or cooling.

Though comfortable, the room was a little dated and beginning to show its age, particularly in the bathroom which isn't up to the standard expected of an international hotel and was below what we expected of a Marriott.

That said, everything was as it should be and was clean. There are plenty of staff and for the most part, they are friendly, helpful and efficient and are not constantly on the look out for tips like certain other places.

The are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, meaning having to use the restaurants or room service, but even in an all-inclusive resort, I do prefer to have some independence as far as drinks are concerned, so it was good that guest services called me on day two and asked if anything could be improved - so asked for a kettle and one was promptly delivered. No tea, coffee, milk or a spoon though!

Local spirits aren't up to much and we stuck to soft drinks at the one bar we could get them all inclusive and also at meals. No branded alcoholic drinks were available without extra charge.

The only issue we had was the ludicrous arrangement where you're restricted to eat in certain places at certain times. Speaking with guests at other all inclusive resorts suggests that they had much greater choice of foods and restaurants.

The food though was excellent and the variety was good and service was very good too, with attentive staff who were very helpful.

The restaurant uses a buffet system which works well even when busy. The choice of food was brilliant, to the point that myself and my 12 year old son, who are both pretty fussy eaters, had no problems at all and tried more than on any previous holiday or break. That speaks volumes in itself.

It would have been good to be able to get our own drinks rather than have to rely on waiters though and perhaps this is an area the hotel could look at, since it would have made our mealtimes run a little more smoothly at busier times.

Back to the subject of drinks, the all inclusive ones are served only at meal times in the restaurants and until 11pm at the Pergola Bar by the swimming pool. The problem with this in February is that the evenings are chilly and the bar has zero atmosphere and about as many customers, so you soon get the impression that its just not worth the trouble to visit. Perhaps that's the idea!

As other have noted, the hotel is split by a main road, though the hotel employs people to help guests cross and this works fine. At each door though, when entering, bags have to be x-rayed, airport style, though the door staff are friendly and not at all like airport staff.

Having spoken with guests of other local (and not so local) resorts, there seems to be good and bad at all and each one has its own advantages. The main one at the Marriott is the heated pool, at least in February, as the non-heated pools are very cold and so is the sea.

Unlike some hotel pools, we didn't experience too much sun bed hogging, which was good, because having to get up early in the mornings to grab a space by the pool or the beach would have been a real spoiler.

Wifi is free in public areas apparently, but during our stay we couldn't get it to work and neither could other people. In a scenario like this, the hotel should have provided room credit to get online, but all that was offered was an apology and the rather lame excuse that something must be wrong with the service. It was.

All in all, our experience as a family of three on this occasion, was very good. On the whole we were satisfied with our stay rather than overwhelmed.

We booked with Marriott because we hadn't tried this brand previously but thought that it would be good quality. To be fair, it didn't disappoint but there were one or two areas that could be improved upon.

Room Tip: We stayed mountain side and had no regrets as this is where the food is most of the time. If ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eggbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Eggbilly,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to give such an extensive review of your recent stay with us here at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Red Sea Resort. We were delighted to read that overall you had a good holiday. However please be assured that the comments that you make regarding the issues you encountered will receive our immediate attention. I was very disappointed to read that we only delivered you a kettle when a full tray set-up is in place and this is what you should have received and I can only apologize for this not being extended to you. Your very positive comments regarding the food set-up and service are much appreciated and will be passed on to our culinary team. I am sorry that you suffered the problem with your wi-fi access and the lack of efforts that were made by the team to resolve this situation for you and I thank you for bringing this to our attention to allow us to take corrective training with the team for resolving such issues that are brought to their attention.
Once again I thank you for taking the time to share your kind constructive feedback and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My wife and I are about to return to the Marriott Beach Hotel in Sharm-el-Sheikh for our 9th stay and we would like to personally thank every single member of staff in the Marriot Beach Resort (Sharm-el-Sheikh) for the most wonderful series of holidays.

We have stayed in hotels throughout the continent of Europe and, in my case, I can add North America – and we can honestly state that the staff in the Marriot Beach Resort (Sharm) are second to none. We have stayed in newer hotels with superior facilities in many countries – but, we have never seen one more well kept (or cleaner) with such an exceptional staff - that created such a feel-good factor - that we want to return again and again. They were all immaculately attired in their various uniforms and we failed to pass any single one of them, gardeners included, without a smile and a pleasant greeting – no matter whether it was at the start of their shift or at the very end of a long and arduous day.

I would go so far as to suggest that the staff are exemplary to such a degree, that staff at other Marriot hotels in the chain should go there, as part of their in-service training, to see exactly how good customer relations works in practice and how it engenders such a strong desire, on the guests’ part, to return.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor in the Summer season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Gill

It was wonderful to read your kind positive comments following your recent stay with us. We truly thank you for your loyalty to Marriott worldwide which is much appreciated. Your kind positive comments on the staff and service are very much appreciated by the entire team here at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott and we will strive to continue to continuously improve in all that we do. We pride ourselves here on the high levels of hospitality that we extend to our guests and I thank you for endorsing that we are indeed being able to achieve this and ensure our guests maximum satisfaction.
We thank you for taking the time to post your very kind review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Very Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel the last week in February 2013, we stayed on the mountain side, the room was clean and basic - everything we needed!

The food was good - we didn't get ill and it was quite varied - Mexican night & seafood night!

It had 2 pools one heated and another on the beach side, we used these briefly however we found ourselves on the private beach most days! We loved it - towels provided by the Marriott. They had a lovely beach bar/ restaurant, this was not on the all inclusive however it was fairly priced.

The entertainment was not to our taste but the main area of Sharm was only 10 minutes walk away!

The only complaints of such are that at lunchtime there were not enough seats to cater and also on our departure day we were advised that our transfer details would have been sent to the hotel 24 hours prior however the hotel workers were pretty clueless signposting us to different members of staff including across to the other building - when we eventually received our transfer time we only had ten minutes to get ready.

Overall we had a really good trip - would recommend for winter sun!

Room Tip: Email in advance and ask to keep the room for late check out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahL88109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Sarah

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent holiday here with us in Sharm El Sheikh. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and took time to relax and enjoy the beach. I am glad we were able to provide the food and beverage to meet with your needs and you found the cleanliness and hospitality to Marriott standards.

Please accept our apologies for the confusion over your departure transfer time and I will review our process for managing this with our front office team to ensure that our future guests do not suffer the same inconvenience. Thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention it is much appreciated.

I do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments.

Best Regards

Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I stay at Marriott hotel 20 times from 2009 to 2012 it's very nice hotel and I met with wonderful animation team from Italy , Giuseppe Restivo , Elena , Valentina , Irma and Gabriele . Them are the beast team in Marriott Sharm

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kegenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Kegenman

Thank you so much for your loyalty to the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Red Sea Resort it is very much appreciated.

I am delighted to know that we offer a product and service that matches with your needs and to note your very kind positive comments regarding our animation team.

We very much appreciate you taking the time to share your kind feedback and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards

Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#26 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,705 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#62 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,124 reviews
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#76 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,972 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh Fayrouz Resort
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh Fayrouz R...
#36 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort

Property: Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Address: Naama Bay | P.O.Box 27, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#58 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover five star luxury at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort. Centrally located within walking distance of the city's vibrant night life, Resort offers outstanding service and amenities for your Red Sea holiday. Stretch out in one of our 520 elegant hotel rooms, spread among two distinctive buildings beach side and garden side , with spectacular views of the sea ,pool and garden. Our 5 star hotel in Sharm El Sheikh boasts a variety of exquisite international fare - including sumptuous cuisine at Parmizzano, our fine Italian restaurant, and the award-winning Japanese restaurant and bar, Kona Kai. Our resort in Sharm El Sheikh is pleased to offer wireless Internet access in public areas, a swimming pool, and a fully equipped health club with a gymnasium, sauna, steam, and massage rooms. Venture outside and take advantage of our hotel's wide range of water activities, including scuba diving and snorkeling, or simply relax by the beach. Extraordinary experiences await you at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Marriott Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing