We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, delightful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Ranked #60 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, delightful staff”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is our fourth visit to the Marriott Hotel Naama Bay, this time and last we stayed in the Beach Side and prior to that twice in the Mountain (heated pool but further from the beach) Both are fabulous. This time I am reviewing the Beach. Great service from check in to check out. Lovely Reception with a refreshing chilled drink of juice, very welcome. Lovely room, cleaned well daily (thanks Mohamed) We stayed B and B, lovely Breakfast buffet, nice omelettes made to order if you wish and the choice of foods is endless. Thank you Inas on reception, Mohammed and Walid, and, of course, Rabee (love him). The private beach is nice, plenty of space between loungers, towels provided (thanks guys) and nice service in the beach bar (thanks Hassan and the Mohammeds) We enjoyed a fabulous meal in the Kona Kai Restaurant (Rabee again!) Harry's bar is nice for a last thing drink at night (thank you Mahmoud) Lovely staff on check out - and we met Elaine the General Manager who was very interested in our stay and feed back and very helpful. Finally we had a minor security issue while staying and give our thanks to Wageeh who sorted this out for us and reassured us. In summary, lovely hotel, the staff make it and are the reason we return again and again. And location wise its perfect. You can stroll along the prom for about 20 minutes to the busier area of Naama Bay where the Bars are, there are loads of restaurants a stones throw from the Marriott, yet you are far enough away to have a peaceful nights sleep. And gorgeous warm sea with exotic fishes even in the shallows. One of our favourite places - we make new friends every time we visit and we cant wait to go back again - it will certainly be the Marriott!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CarolHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Carol

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a fabulous review of our resort following your recent stay with us. It was a true pleasure to meet you and I very much look forward to passing on your kind words to the team members that you have recognized. We are delighted that you had a great stay and we were able to make your time here with us memorable. We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon. In the meantime I hope you have a fabulous trip to Australia and I very much look forward to hearing about it when you next visit.
All good wishes from the team here at the Marriott.

Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,103
    593
    230
    117
    75
See reviews for
511
830
77
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic hotel, Great location (a stroll away from shops and restaurants), Lovely facilities. Stayed here with a friend and was the perfect place to get away and relax! Rooms were spotless and beds comfy! The hotel staff were very friendly, even down to the bell boy explaining the hotel facilities. Would reccommend to a friend, see you soon Marriott Sharm :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torioria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Torioria

I am delighted to read that you and your friend had a great stay with us. Your kind comments regarding the bell boy’s hospitality and product knowledge was great to read and we will make he is recognized for this.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon and we appreciate your kind review of our resort.

Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Resort Mountain side over christmas and new year. The hotel was extremely clean and well looked after, our room was upstairs with a beautiful view of the pool, unfortunately our room was underneath the airconditioning units and there was a slight hum at night (my husband couldnt hear it) and as i am a very light sleeper this kept me awake, however after a quick word with reception we were moved to a room on the ground floor with patio doors opening out to the poolside. The staff at the hotel were fantastic, from the security on the door to the guy who came to clean our room everyone was so welcoming and helpful, I must give a special mention to Mohammed and Naseer who looked after us extremely well in the Pergola Bar making sure we always had a drink and giving us local advice a big thank you to them two! The beach was almost adjoined to the beach side of the hotel which was literally across the road, that always had a guy on hand to help you cross. I was worried before we went about the food but we found the meals to be lovely everyday. The only critism I have is that we booked all inclusive and it took us a couple of days to find out which parts of the hotel was all inclusive and which werent, the receptionist told us they dont have all inclusive they have full board extended which in my mind was not what I had booked, maybe this is more to do with the travel agent than hotel??? All in all we had a wonderful time in Sharm and would definately go again and I wouldnt think twice about booking into the Marriott!!

Room Tip: I would definately choose a ground floor room to avoid the noise of the air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Claire

We were delighted to receive your kind review following your holiday here with us at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Red Sea Resort. I am so pleased to read of the great time that you had and I will most certainly pass on your special thanks to Mohammed and Nasser at the Pergola Bar. I am sorry that you experienced confusion with the all inclusive package and I will personally ensure that our front desk agents are fully briefed on the different packages that we have to ensure this does not happen again. Please accept my apologies for any annoyance this caused during the first 2 days of your stay. Once again we thank you for your great review and very much look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you all back to Sharm El Sheikh sometime soon.

Best Regards

Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We are a family of 4. Two kids plus me and mrs. Had a great stay at Marriott Beach. A good comfortable room with good amenities. No internet or wifi though. It was very pricey and was not broadband. Breakfast was good. The same everyday but good. Ismail at the omlette station was amazing at multi-tasking. Great guy. The pool was great, kids enjoyed it. I never had any food at the hotel except breakfast so I can't comment on this. The room cleaner Ibrahim was also good at his job. Everyday mess was cleaned and room left spotless. Bathroom was average size , clean and stocked. Minibar was loaded but none of us touched it. The towel guy , Gamal, was polite and helpful. Remember to tip. Regular tips everyday made a difference. Next stay is being planned for August.

Room Tip: Beach resort is super. Pick rooms facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ravikumar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ravikumar T


Thank you very much for reviewing your Christmas family holiday here with us in Sharm El Sheikh. We were extremely pleased to know that you enjoyed your holiday and are planning to come back in August. We very much value and thank you for your loyalty to Marriott.
I will pass on your special thanks to Ismail, Ibrahim and Gamal who I was pleased to note made sure that you had an enjoyable visit and took care of you during your stay.
I have noted your comment regarding no internet and wi-fi as I will have our IT Manager look into this as we do have wireless internet throughout the resort and we offer it complimentary in the Bakery food and beverage outlet and I apologies if this was not advised to you.
Once again we thank you for your time in reviewing our resort and we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back in August.

Best Regards

Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Marriott Sharm made my trip very special and worthwhile. The warm welcome I received upon my arrival, the hospitable staff and the comfortable rooms made every penny spent in this trip worth it. Marriott Sharm on the beach provides a rare combination of luxury and an excellent location, just close to anywhere you want to go.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool have an excellent view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamal-John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Jamal – John-H


It was a real pleasure to read your review following your recent stay and I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time here with us so much that you felt like being at home. We aim to provide exceptional value for money and it is great to see that you found this to be the case. I sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you
‘home again sometime soon.


Very Best Regards
Elaine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We travelled as a a couple with a 3 yr old. Stayed in the Marriott Mountain side, 1st week of January. We had all inclusive, and for 7 nights, paid £360, which was the cheapest online price for this time of the year (holiday season & new year) that we could find.

The hotel was absolutely massive, and unfortunately for us, upon arrival we were put far inside the hotel, approx. 7 min walk from reception to our room, on 3rd floor with no lift. This proved to be difficult for us, especially with the child wanting to be carried all the way there! One of the main reasons we booked here was the heated pool. Funnily enough, it was an outdoor heated pool, and was great. Food was absolutely fantastic! Not boring same old everyday, but instead, something different daily. The waiters and waitresses were exceptionally friendly, and made us feel at home. They always came looking for us with a sincere smile on their faces. Some of them became our favourites; a couple of Ahmeds, and an Abdul Razaq and Miss Soheir, to name just a few. Freshly cooked food counter was also very nice. Eggs made in front of us for breakfast, and other food cooked freshly for lunch and supper. Lots of different kinds of bread, and buffet menu with approx. 10 different foods twice a day. We were spoilt, and must've put a few kilos on!!

We had expected an area in the lobby with a free wifi hotspot - as is found in European hotels. Unfortunately there was no free wifi. There is a bakery outside the front entrance which had free wifi codes for 30 mins at a time though, but we felt uncomfortable to go in there and not buy something. In terms of entertainment, there was a belly dancer and a 'spinning man' who came once to the hotel. There were other forms of evening entertainment at 'Harry's Pub', but as we're not pub-goers, we were unable to participate in these. Kid's activities were held in Marriott beach hotel, across the road from ours, but we did not have the details of what was on when, and so were not able to sample them. The 24 hr access to complementary gym at the beach side hotel was very good, equipped with exercise machinery, sauna and steam room.

As the walk to our room was far from reception, we obviously had to ask for a change of room. After a couple of days of asking and eventually complaining, our request was granted, and we were placed into a poolside room on the ground floor, only a minute's walk from the restaurant. This was fantastic. Both, first room and second room were very spacious and comfortable. The view of the pool was refreshing, as well as the ease of opening the patio door and being just a triple-jump away from the pool! We made the most of it!! The hotel was generally very well maintained and a high level of attention was given to detail. Tidy made up and regularly watered gardens, and the rooms were cleaned, mopped and bedding and towels changed daily.

About half way into our stay, we received a courtesy call from someone asking how our stay had been so far. We explained our situation to the person honestly, all the good bits, as well as the whole room swapping saga. They were extremely apologetic and arranged for us to meet with a manager in order to improve their services for future customers - how wonderful. The manager, Mr Islam Shaheen, was a really nice man! He couldn't have made us feel any more welcome. Treated us like his own family, although he didn't have to - we were happy enough already. He explained that he wanted to be as hospitable as possible, which is standard for Arabs. Just as a gesture of goodwill, he offered to give us a free upgrade to the Marriott beach side for the remainder of our stay, as well as activated a premium rate internet for us which we could use everywhere in and around the hotel, and even on the beach, complimentary for us.

In summary, we enjoyed ourselves very much, and hope to return to the Marriott mountain side in Sharm el Sheikh annually. We have also recommended the same hotel to our parents, who visit Sharm regularly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazydadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Crazydadz
We very much appreciate you taking the time to review your family holiday with us. It was great to read your positive comments and to know that you enjoyed your time in our resort. It will be my pleasure to pass on your kind comments to the associates specifically mentioned. We strive to provide all our guests with an exceptional level of hospitality and it is great to see that we were able to meet your expectations. I was sorry to note the inconvenience you experienced with your first room being far from reception and delighted to note that we were able to take care of this for you and move you to a more suitable room. Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your comments and to recommend our hotel to your friends we very much appreciate this.
We sincerely hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Marriott Sharm El Sheikh in the near future.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked the holiday with Ola Holiday (after taking your money, they will not help you if you have any problems) specifically because they were able to book the 'Beach Side' of the Marriott Read Sea Resort with an all inclusive package. We had specifically enquired about this and made it quite clear that we did not want to stay on the Mountain side as we had read many unpleasant reviews about the Mountain side on Trip Advisor. After paying a premium to stay on the beach side and having all invoice evidence that we had indeed booked the 'beach side', we arrived to find out we were booked for the Mountain side! The reception staff told us that we would not have booked on the beach side because the 'all inclusive' package only exists with Mountain side guests. This was the first time we have heard of this, as well as the fact that we simply could not even order a drink whilst on the beach! What type of all inclusive package is this and plus you only get the choice of one restaurant, so beware!

After speaking to very unhelpful staff from the Marriott and local travel agent representatives, we were told "not to waste any more time" and advised us to stay in the Mountain side. The local agent and Marriott reception staff went as far as lying to us, telling us that they had spoken to the manager at the Marriott, whom had told him that if we wanted to stay on the beach side, we would be required to pay a premium of $150USD a night, as it was peak season. We confirmed this lie, because the manager at Marriott, Islam, had told us that he had heard of no such request (Sadly, we were not able to talk to the manager until the second last day of our visit, due to terrible reception staff at the Marriott)

We were told by local travel representatives to contact your travel agent in the UK to sort out our problems. However, as we arrived on Saturday night and during the Christmas period, and also the fact that Marriott had asked us to pay for all internet and phone services (at steep prices) shall we wish to sort this out, we were unable to contact anybody to help us.

Our holiday was ruined upon the first moment of arrival and in addition to this, the hotel had BED BUGS, which meant we had to move rooms halfway through a resort stay with itchy bites all over my body. After coming home, I then had to take all measurements to ensure the bed bugs do not spread to my own house.

Only the Marriott customer representative at the Marriott manager Islam, who found out about this problem on the 9th day of our stay, tried to help us and compensate all of this for us by moving us immediately to the beach side and provided us with a meal for compensation. However, we had already spent 90% of our holidays in a hotel which we did not want to stay in and spent a lot time explaining and stressing.

Absolutely poor, and expected a lot more from Marriott. It may seem like its not your problem as it was the travel agents fault, however they fail to understand that it is their responsibility to make sure they select reliable travel agents and provide them with the correct information.

Will never stay at another Marriott again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amychanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Elaine Watson, General Manager at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Amy

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us your feed back during your recent stay here in the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott.
I was extremely concerned to read about the issue you encountered with your room and I reassure you that this matter received our immediate attention. I apologise for the evident inconvenience you experienced. I was disappointed to know that you did not receive the assistance that you would expect from our Marriott team here in the resort How ever it is good to know that Islam our Front Desk Manager was able to assist you albeit sadly late in your holiday.
I hope that you will reconsider and stay at Marriott in the future when I am confident you will have a product and service experience to meet your expectations.
Once again please accept our apologies and thank you for sharing your experience with us.
Best Regards
Elaine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#24 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#63 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,169 reviews
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#74 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,009 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort

Property: Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Address: Naama Bay | P.O.Box 27, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover five star luxury at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort. Centrally located within walking distance of the city's vibrant night life, Resort offers outstanding service and amenities for your Red Sea holiday. Stretch out in one of our 520 elegant hotel rooms, spread among two distinctive buildings beach side and garden side , with spectacular views of the sea ,pool and garden. Our 5 star hotel in Sharm El Sheikh boasts a variety of exquisite international fare - including sumptuous cuisine at Parmizzano, our fine Italian restaurant, and the award-winning Japanese restaurant and bar, Kona Kai. Our resort in Sharm El Sheikh is pleased to offer wireless Internet access in public areas, a swimming pool, and a fully equipped health club with a gymnasium, sauna, steam, and massage rooms. Venture outside and take advantage of our hotel's wide range of water activities, including scuba diving and snorkeling, or simply relax by the beach. Extraordinary experiences await you at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Marriott Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing