We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel but beware!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Ranked #60 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good hotel but beware!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Got back from Marriott yesterday, lovely holiday, but some things really annoyed us. First on arrival at the hotel their was no-one at reception so had to wait 20 mins for someone to attend to us. After getting to the room it was too late to have anything to eat as dinner was over at 10 p.m. and couldnt get drink as bar shut at 11 p.m. so after a long day had to walk to Naama Bay to get something to eat and drink. Went on all inclusive package, and as others have said drinks were not free on the beach, we had 2 cans of there stella from the beach bar and cost nearly £7 in our money which was the most expensive we paid, so found Amirs beach party pub just further down and had 2 bottles for £3 quite a difference. You can only have drinks in beach side with your lunch in their dinning room but every time we went it was full so walked back over to mountain side. We have never been on an all inclusive where drinks on the beach were not included, and you need drinks as it was soooo warm on the beach. As others have said bit of a pain signing every time for something to drink, but heard whilst there that they are looking into having wrist bands which im sure will be better for them, although they will have cashiers out of jobs. We was on third floor room 737 overlooking the pool, and very nice it was too. Room was nice and clean and air con great and needed. Our cleaner was one of the nicest chaps ive met and nothing was too much trouble so we tipped him well. Bar staff and waiters were good too, Sofia in the dinning room was a treasure, she even peeled my husbands boiled eggs lol. Went into Naama Bay a lot as found it very quite round the pool bar on the nights and they shut at 11 p.m. so after that nothing to do. Read reviews before going and some complained of road between the sides, but i found it amusing that the cars wouldnt even stop half the time for the lollipop men to cross us over. Would go back to Marriott if they changed the all inclusive to apply to both sides. Definately going back to Naama Bay next year. Haggle the taxi drivers it should only be 20E to Naama Bay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fattyannie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi , manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Hotel during your recent visit to Egypt. We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your vacation here with us and we were particularly pleased to note your very kind comments on the houseman who was taking care of your room cleaning, the bar staff, the waiters and Sohier the hostess. We will be delighted to share your kind comments with them.

We have noted your comments regarding the bar timings and we will review the same going forward.

We do hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion and thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,095
    590
    229
    116
    75
See reviews for
506
828
76
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

we stayed 2 weeks on beach side: very noisy ... local music all day long at the pool, inside, on the beach. no quiet place to enjoy a drink. piano bar but never use the piano ! gardening people talking loud at 5.30am, housekeeping from 7am to 10pm making noise in the corridors. On the beach, continuous traffic of motor boats for paraglidding and pther stuff ... and no women, only men in this hotel, like in sharm el sheik. never again in this place and country hiding its women !

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank thierryP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi, manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time sharing us your constructive feedback following your recent stay at our resort.

Your comment regarding the unacceptable noise levels from Housekeeping, Engineering and the Boats has been noted and corrective action will be taken to avoid any future disturbance. We very much appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of these issues.

We have several ladies working in the hotel and they are all on duty with the restaurant hostesses team being all female as are the guest relations and I am sorry you did not get the opportunity to interact with them.

We apologize for the evident inconvenience that you experienced and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our resort in the future when we are confident you will see the necessary improvements.

Once again we appreciate you taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

First of all I would like to say we had a really lovely holiday at this resort - exactly what we wanted and thanks to the tripadvisor reviews we had a good idea of what to expect. To start with the downsides though I feel we would have been very disappointed if we had only gone with what the Marriott claim is included/not included and how the 2 sites are set up. To confirm along with others on here if you are all inclusive you will be in the mountainside or have to walk across the road to this site if you want your free drinks.

We were taken initially to the Beach side but then told we were not here so had to go over the road to the mountainside - to be fair this was probably more the transfer company rather than the hotel and they soon sorted us out with an upgraded pool side view room and brought our bags over. Over the week here we came to realise that actually we were much better off here compared to the number of people we met who were at Beachside but had to walk over the road every day to spend the day on the all inclusive deal.

Slight niggles for me would be the ridiculous system of having to sign for every single drink and strangely how they often put far more on the slips than you have had - for goodness sake how many people do they employ to sit at the computer inputing hundreds of slips when a band would tell them all they needed to know. We also used the bakery for internet access which is not all inclusive and quite frankly we found a couple of the staff here pretty rude when it came to getting codes even though we were buying lots of wine.

Aside from that we found the staff to be very friendly and the food to be really varied and tasty - different themes every night and the steak is cooked perfectly. Not sure what more people would want really as they did cater for pretty much every taste. Entertainment was not really our bag but it was there if you wanted to join in. Bar was open long enough hours for even the hardened users of all inclusive like us! Room was lovely and just what we needed for the small amount of time we were in it. The cleaners are excellent and very trustworthy and the general standards of cleanliness around the hotel were fine.

Overall ...Great holiday - as someone else has said go with the right expectations and please don't be disappointed with getting the mountainside its fine and even better its free.

Room Tip: Poolside view rooms are great but get one on the 1st floor or above if you like a bit of privacy on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelskii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi, Manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us and sharing your kind constructive feedback following your recent stay with us here at the resort.
Your comments relating to the staff attitude at the bakery will receive our immediate attention and review and I reassure you that this is considered totally unacceptable as we pride ourselves here on the levels of hospitality we deliver. Your comments regarding the check signing will also reviewed and revised as applicable.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice, and then some. Quiet, good service and nice rooms. Remember to tip early, this will give the little extra. Breakfeast is good, pool and beach is very nice. The hotel has nice staff, it's very clean, but shows signs of the need for a renovation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Magnar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi, manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for writing your kind review of your recent visit to our resort. We were pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and have noted your comments that require our further follow up.
We do hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from the Marriott this morning.The hotel is beautiful and kept very clean.The service of the staff in reception and the management team in particular Islam was fantastic in resolving some issues we had.The service in the restaurants and pool bar was not as good.Drinks at the bar were regularly served warm and you have to sign for every drink even though we were all inclusive!!Not all drinks are all inclusive so you have to pay for cocktails.If staying all inclusive you stay at the Mountain side.There your drinks are included from 10:00 if you are up before this you can only get a drink in a small glass from the restaurant.No drinks are included at the beach side other then with lunch served at the Beach side hotel. The food in the restaurants is very good but most of the time not be able to even order a drink before you finish eating.The best part of our holiday was the animation team.In particular Bob and Reah who usually work around the Mountain side pool.They are genuinely really nice will all guests and will do anything to make sure you have the best time!!We would recommend this hotel and if booking bed and breakfast can walk into centre of Naama Bay in 10 minutes and can eat at many nice restaurants that are good value.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlmiller1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi, Manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We were delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay at our resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback of the hotel cleanliness, staff service, the management and Animation team,
We have noted your comments regarding the lack of service and drinks in the restaurants and pool bar and this will receive our immediate attention and we apologies for the evident inconvenience and annoyance this caused for you. We hope this did not detract from the overall enjoyment of your vacation and we thank you for sharing your constructive feedback with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel from 24th September to 2nd October. Upon arrival we were given an upgrade to a pool view room. The room decor looked aged but a sufficient quality, as to be expected. Thr shower head was broken, and when I called At your service (AYS) team, they sent an engineer within 15 mins. The engineer changed the shower heard and all was well. Generally the AYS are good but can be hit and miss. The shower head example was a good one, and requesting ice for pre-party drinks, they always gave us plenty. However i recall requesting a knife to cut my apple, and they didnt send it. I called again, and they said it was coming, but after an hour, it still hadnt come, and in that time I ate my apple anyway.

Breakfast is limited. It was always the same thing daily. Rashi and Yasser at the Omlette station are great, and always smiling no matter how strange the request (4 Egg white omlette daily). The breakfast service team were prompt with bringing coffee and tea so much so I tipped one on the last day who i felt gave us excellent service during our stay.

The maid who cleaned our room daily (638) was very efficient and pleasent, always happy to honour requests we had and cleaned with a high quality. We agreed a time he should come and he was always on time, as we were leaving for breakfast. Never once did i feel insecure leaving our phones and ipods in the room as he cleaned.

Bob and his animation team were always lively and good fun, always involving people and getting them up and moving, we particularly like the (SEVEN; WOO WOO) we could hear as we were in our room or poolside. Great animation team led by Bob.

The beach side has a smaller pool, but the gym and sauna are onsite as well as being close to the beach.I personally dont feel I missed out on anything being on the mountain side, infact, to be honest, when we were over the beach side, we wanted and often did go back to the mountain side resort, which is just a 3 min walk across the road, with the help of an usher always stopping traffic at the pedestrian crossing.

All in all I enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend this hotel to couples or families.

Thank you Marriot mountain for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the Mountain side. Its a true holiday on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kamraino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi, Manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your kind positive comments following your recent stay with us here at the resort. We will be delighted to share your kind remarks with the associates mentioned and ensure they are recognized for the extra efforts you so kindly appreciated. Your comments relating to the breakfast selection and the maintenance issue you encountered during your stay will receive our immediate attention and review and we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

i took my grandaughter to the sharm cliff in may and what a fantastic time we both had the staff are fantastic the rooms could do with a facelift though ,i found the food ok you dont go hungry i would like to say i big thankyou to the pool staff who looked after me when i hurt my foot i am looking forward to going back again mybe in march 2013

Room Tip: we had a ground floor pool room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott S, Ali Mansi, Manager at the hotel at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind words regarding your holiday that you and your grand daughter enjoyed at our resort. We have noted your comments regarding the room product and will be delighted to share your positive comments to the member of our pool team who assisted you when you injured your foot.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
5.3 mi away
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
Concorde El Salam Front Hotel
#65 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#28 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
4.6 mi away
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Gold...
#77 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh Fayrouz Resort
Hilton Sharm El Sheikh Fayrouz R...
#36 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort

Property: Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Address: Naama Bay | P.O.Box 27, Sharm El Sheikh 46619, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#56 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#59 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover five star luxury at Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort. Centrally located within walking distance of the city's vibrant night life, Resort offers outstanding service and amenities for your Red Sea holiday. Stretch out in one of our 520 elegant hotel rooms, spread among two distinctive buildings beach side and garden side , with spectacular views of the sea ,pool and garden. Our 5 star hotel in Sharm El Sheikh boasts a variety of exquisite international fare - including sumptuous cuisine at Parmizzano, our fine Italian restaurant, and the award-winning Japanese restaurant and bar, Kona Kai. Our resort in Sharm El Sheikh is pleased to offer wireless Internet access in public areas, a swimming pool, and a fully equipped health club with a gymnasium, sauna, steam, and massage rooms. Venture outside and take advantage of our hotel's wide range of water activities, including scuba diving and snorkeling, or simply relax by the beach. Extraordinary experiences await you at the Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Marriott Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing