We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #30 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly what I expected”
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay at the Sensatori 18 November- 2 December. The reason for only giving four stars is mainly down to just a few areas which could be improved ie pools too cool, free wifi should be included in all areas and international drinks should be included.
Having read lots of previous reviews the hotel was just as I expected and there is nothing more that I can add apart from suite information.
We stayed in sensatori suite 2514 which is on the top floor and overlooks the main pool and sea. It is a large suite with lounge, small kitchen with espresso machine, microwave, kettle and drinks makings. There is a toilet off the lounge a large bedroom with bathroom with large jacuzzi bath with shower over but no freestanding shower. There is also a walk in wardrobe with plenty of hanging space. Outside is a large balcony with corner sofa day bed and table and chairs.
Our thanks go to Mohammed who looked after our room, he is a kind diligent worker who ensured that we had everything that we needed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Christina L,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your comments on TripAdvisor. Thank you also for your special mention of Mohamed.

The all inclusive concept is stated on booking and its tailored based on local alcohol and limited free WiFi.

With regards to the pools, these are acclimatised during winter and readings are taken daily to ensure the temperature is maintained.

I am pleased we were able to meet your expectations and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,379
    1,419
    509
    107
    61
See reviews for
1,646
3,557
25
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,282)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed for a week from 14th November and really enjoyed our stay but it was 4 not 5 star. So the plus points
The staff were fantastic The setting was lovely with a beautiful sandy beach which lead out to the pontoon with such easy access to the most amazing coral reef. The food was delicious and so varied.
The reasons it was 4 star
The all inclusive drinks were so disappointing. I enjoy a pina colada on holiday but I tried several and there was no flavour of pineapple coconut or rum! We asked for amerettos but had to pay the equivalent of £6 per drink it was not included
The bathrooms had everything necessary but the design and finish was terrible
On the whole we had a great holiday but there is room for improvement

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolphindevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear dolphindevon,

Thank you for your comments, both the positives and the negatives. Regarding the all inclusive concept, this does not include imported alcohol and this is mentioned in the terms and conditions of the all inclusive at the time of booking. The drinks available on all inclusive can be made stronger or weaker and adjusted to taster accordingly, please just speak with the bar man next time and discuss your preferences and he would gladly try to adjust the cocktail to your liking.

With regards to the finish of the bathrooms, there is an ongoing refurbishment program in the hotel which includes the tiling and grouting in bathrooms as well as restoring the room as a whole.

Thank you again for your feedback and I hope we can welcome you again soon.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 21 November for one week. First impressions were really good and these stayed with us for our entire stay. Rooms very comfortable and nicely furnished with ample storage. Great choice of food in the restaurants, always freshly cooked and hot. Even though the hotel was 80% full there was never wait for tables or food. Great choice of pools with a family pool and quiet adult one. The beach was fantastic with huge shades. The sun beds were plentiful with thick padded mattresses; quite heavy to shift around but the staff were always on hand and ready to help whenever you needed them. Waiter bar service on the beach as well as round the pools. Even brought round crisps and little bowls of fresh fruit.Shuttle bus available to take you into Soho Square etc. although we did a couple of trips with Thomsons who have their own Sensatori Customer Service lounge available 8am to 8pm every day and provided excellent help (special thanks to Anja and Hany). Entertainment was good (air con in the theatre was fierce so wrap up) Our weather was fantastic - high 20s/low 30s for the entire week. I was travelling with a friend and did not wish to share a king size bed which Thomson UK staff advised were the only beds available, so we paid for a family room with second bedrom which had two small sofa beds. However when we arrived we found that there are some rooms with twin beds which would have saved us some money. I cananot close without mentioning the hotel staff. They were EXCELLENT; very friendly, courteous and helpful, A real credit to the Hotel.
.

Room Tip: Some of the high floor rooms involve a lot of steps. Ask for sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila187057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Sheila187057,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and thank you especially for your kind words about our staff. I am very proud of my team and the hard work and efforts they make every day; your comments are a true reflection of this that I shall definitely pass on.

I am happy you have enjoyed your week with us and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back as our returning guests soon.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Visit number 4 to this great place. From the moment we returned we were recognised as returning guests and were given many benefits which recognised our loyalty. The benefits included 25% off the pay restaurants , 25% off spa treatments, a complimentary mini bar which contained soft drinks, red and white wine , beer and chocolate which were replenished on the odd occasion we indulged. Another big benefit was a complimentary late room check out until 18.00 hours if required. There were another 10 or 12 benefits as well. Food in the Fountain View and all other areas was good and the 2 pay restaurants were good value although the wine is too expensive, we left this alone. All areas were extremely clean as on previous visits although we thought our room was not cleaned as well as in March when we were here last. Everyone mentions the friendliness of all of the staff and nothing else needs saying about this , they are fantastic. We tipped the staff who regularly served us around the pool on the beach and in the restaurant half way through our 14 day stay, because they deserved it. If the service was not up to the standard we would not have tipped. We enjoy snorkelling but both of our own snorkels packed up so we used the benefit of free hire from Aquarius who were helpful even if the equipment was not the best. The free hire was one of the benefits as a returning customer. What was disappointing once again was the inability of some male guests to purchase a decent shirt or two and a pair of trousers for evening dinner , it was a shame to see the ladies dressed up accompanied by a bloke who looked like he had just delivered a quantity of building materials to the site. The entertainment was of a good quality with the show cast and acts from the uk. However I am not sure if kids kicking a ball around the theatre just prior to the evening entertainment was really on , with the parents doing nothing about it. Perhaps some time at school may have helped.!!!!. sort em out Shelley. . The sports team were always visible and we attended several archery sessions which were fun and slightly competitive. we aim to return in March 2014 and introduce our son and his girlfriend to this excellent hotel. Thanks to everyone at the resort and good luck to Adam , Carly and Mikeala in their next ventures at Turkey , Jamaica and back in the UK. We visited from 17th November to 1st December 2013 .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davidbosworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Davidbosworth,

Thank you once again for your review and your continued support of our hotel. It was our pleasure to have welcomed you back for your fourth stay and we look forward to your fifth visit next year. In case I could be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Apart from the freezing pools the hotel was amazing but if your like us and like to go swimming a lot then this hotel is not off you. Resturants 5 star, rooms good except the second bed is not a bed ok for children but not a adult. Creach was brilliant

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrskents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear hayley2008,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

At the end of the summer we experienced abnormally cold weather for the time of year, the pools started to be heated but it takes time for the temperature to adjust in the large amount of water. All pools are acclimatized during the winter months and are being currently maintained at 27 degrees.

I am glad that overall you found the hotel amazing and hope that we could welcome you again soon as our returning guests.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This is the best All Inclusive hotel in Sharm El Sheikh that we have stayed in.

We booked with Thomson, and flew from Doncaster in the UK. We stayed between the 11th and 25th November 2013, and during those dates, it was very warm with daytime temperatures, in the high 20 ºs possibly at times reaching the low 30ºs, with evening temperatures of around 15º to 16º.

The only downside to travelling at this time of year is that the sun sets at about 4.15pm, so it can be a fairly short sunbathing day if you don’t get up early in the morning

There are a lot of informative reviews on here, so I will concentrate on the things I wanted to know before I booked. This is a long review because I got a bit carried away, but should be more informative than boring (hopefully)

This is a very large complex, which is beautifully maintained. Apparently the hotel was 84% full during the time of our stay, but because of the size and layout of the place it never really felt busy or crowded, especially during the day.

Our Room
We booked a standard double room with a sea view.

We tend not to upgrade unless it’s free, because we don’t see the point. We don’t come on holiday to sit in the room all day, so why pay more for something you are not going to use?
But our standard room was wonderful, it was a nice size, and had a massive double bed which was very, very comfortable.

The Room was well equipped with Air Con, a Fridge (water only), a 32 inch TV, a Hairdryer, a Free Safe, a Clock / Radio with IPod docking station, Tea Making facilities, an Iron and Ironing board, and plenty of storage space for clothes. It even had two Sensatori embroidered bath robes and two Sensatori embroidered pairs of slippers in the wardrobe.
In the bathroom there was a bath with a Jacuzzi button and a shower above it, mood lighting, and even a speaker to listen to the TV channels and piped mood music. All very nice

There is a slot by the door where you need a key card to activate the Air Con and the power in the room, but when we walked in there was already a spare towel card in it, so it stayed there for the whole holiday. If you don’t have something in yours, just ask for another key card at reception

Something I have never seen in a hotel room before is the “Cleaning Required” (blue) and “Do Not Disturb” (red) lights outside your door next to the door bell. These are operated from switches next to the bed. Get to know where these are and how to use them when you first get in the room because they are not labelled and it’s not obvious what they are or what they do. You do have to switch them on to get them to work, but if you have the wrong one displayed in error you could either have someone walk in on you at an embarrassing moment, or return at the end of the day to find your room hasn’t been cleaned.
There are also the usual “Cleaning Required” and “Do Not Disturb” signs you can hang on the door handle, but I think the lights are a great idea.

We did have a couple of maintenance issues with the room but they were sorted immediately. If you have any problems there is a dedicated number you can dial from your room phone – I think it was 77 – and they sort it from there.

Something I had read about in other reviews, but couldn’t initially understand, were the comments about the balcony’s being open plan and not very private. This is what they mean:

The “balconies” for the majority of the upper floor rooms consisted of a small and partially enclosed seating area about 5ft deep with a table and chairs. But your “balcony” then opens up onto a terrace area, which in our case extended another 30ft to a wall and railing overlooking the pools, the sea, and a lovely view of Tiran Island. But because the terrace runs the length of the block of rooms adjacent to yours, and is not fenced off, it was open to anyone to walk past your room.

I didn’t like this for the simple fact that a balcony generally gives you more privacy and security, but both of these are lost with this layout. The 30ft terrace also restricted your sea view because you had to walk the 30ft to the railing to enjoy it. Admittedly it gave the feeling of space, but personally I didn’t like the layout and would have preferred a larger balcony and some privacy.

A few people have said they emailed the hotel with room requests before they arrived, with mixed results, so I decided to do the same. I asked for a quiet room on a higher floor away from the lifts and the night time entertainment, preferably in the adults only area – our booking with Thomson was already confirmed as a double room with a sea view.

My initial email went unanswered so I resent it to all the email addresses I could find for the hotel. I did get a standard acknowledgement but I’m not sure if it’s worth recommending this approach.

We were allocated a room on the top floor with a sea view, but it wasn’t in the adult section, it was right next to a lift and stairs and was just about as close as you could get to the piano bar, which plays live music until midnight. Go figure.
In fairness the rooms were fairly insulated against most of the noise, and the air conditioning drowned out most of the rest, and I’m sure that if we had asked for it, we would have been offered a room change, but it was a lovely room, and once we had unpacked we didn’t want to move.

Water
Water was in plentiful supply, so you will never be without it. Large bottles are left in your room every day and small bottles can be obtained from any bar at any time during opening hours. There are always bottles on your tables in the restaurant, with additional ones piled on tables for you to take away.. So drink plenty, don’t spoil your holiday by becoming dehydrated.

Restaurants
The All Inclusive Restaurants in the hotel are very good. They maintain good hygiene standards, and there are anti-bacterial hand gel dispensers in all them. We couldn’t fault any of the food in the hotel, the quality, standard and variety was all good, and with all the choices available you won’t go hungry.

The main buffet restaurant is the Fountain View where you can eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is an adult’s only section if you want peace and quiet.

You can also have lunch at the Tiran Diner and at the snack bar by the activity pool, but we didn’t use them for lunch, favouring the buffet in the Fountain View

For your evening meal the other All Inclusive Restaurants in the hotel are:
Marhaba – Middle Eastern restaurant
Casa Bianca – Italian restaurant
Tiran Diner – American Diner

You do need to make a reservation to eat in any of these three restaurants, and can make them for two days in advance. The reservation machines are located at the Guest Relations Lounge, concierge and outside the luggage room. The machines are touch screen and you need your room key to operate them, they are open from 10am to 10pm each day, and there really is no need to be standing there when they open to get a table.
We ate at all of them and the food was always good, just be aware there is a dress code for the evening meal in all restaurants – men are required to wear trousers

There is no air conditioning in the Tiran Diner, but it was a nice temperature of an evening so this wasn’t an issue for us

There are two restaurants that are NOT included in your all inclusive package
Stonegrill –Steaks and Seafood
Gokan – Asian, Teppanyaki & Sushi restaurant

We didn’t eat in either of these restaurants

Bars
The bars available to you in the evening are the Lobby Bar, the Piano Bar, the Terrace Bar, the Club House, the Billiard Room and the Sinai Theatre (when the shows are on)

All bars close at midnight

Our favourite by far was the Lobby Bar. We had seen in other reviews that they served Champagne (sparkling wine) in the Lobby bar at 7pm for half an hour, but this isn’t advertised anywhere in the hotel, and I really don’t think many people are aware of it.

On our first evening we headed down there to check it out and were greeted by Waleed, who became our favourite member of staff in the hotel with his great smile and sense of humour. After that we were there every night at 7.

The Lobby bar is quite small and fortunately it was never really busy, but we found it very peaceful and relaxing in there.

Quick note if this does appeal to you – the Champagne half an hour is at the Terrace Bar on a Tuesday evening when they hold the Sensatori Soiree

We did drink in some of the other bars, and they may appeal to you more, but we always ended up back in the Lobby bar, and almost before we were seated Waleed was there with our drinks a bowl of crisps, a smile and a joke.

He was an exceptional character, and a credit to the hotel, so if management do read this review, please pass on our thanks, and kind thoughts to him. We are missing him already, the 7pm evening routine will never be the same without him

Pool information
There are three separated pool areas:
The adult pool, in the adult’s only area at the back of the hotel close to the beach
A very appealing children’s pool with slides and other activities, which was tucked away at the front of the hotel near the hotel entrance (which you could easily miss if you didn’t have kids).
And the main pool area, containing the Activity pool, infinity pool, and another small pool.

The pools (and the beach) all had large wooden sun beds with very comfortable padded mattresses to lie on. These beds were either singles or doubles, and unlike other hotels they were well spaced out, and not crammed in next to each other like sardines.

There were also lots of parasols and shaded areas, so you could always keep out of the sun if you wanted to.

The pools did have stacks of the normal plastic sun beds available for the busy periods of the year, but I only saw these being used at the Adult pool.

On holiday we usually use the designated quiet or adult pools, but the adult pool here filled up very early in the morning and in my opinion didn’t have as much shade as the others. I also noticed that the majority of its sun beds were doubles, which are a great idea and ideal for couples, but not very practical if one of you enjoys laying in full sun all day and the other partial shade. So for this holiday we stayed around the Activity pool.

The Activity pool area was unlike any other we have encountered.
Because the Sensatori experience is designed to give you a hassle free relaxing holiday, they list all of their activities on a weekly “flavour sheet” that you can pick up from the Guest Relations office next to the Piano Bar. That way if you want to get involved, it’s up to you to go to the activities, and not for them to come to you. This means that “no one” pesters you round the pool “EVER”, the only people who approach you are the bar staff who regularly bring you drinks and snacks.

The only activity I saw around the pool was the daily 30 – 40 minute water aerobics session at about midday, and that was the only time the music ever went on. Apart from this small “interruption” this was just another quiet pool, and it suited us just fine.

The hotel does have an 8am rule for reserving sun beds, so at 8am the hotel reserve the right to remove any towels or personal possessions left on any unattended sun beds. We never experienced this, but only because we never went down to the pool until after 8am each day, but even at that time over 70% of the beds were still unreserved. So if you are booked or planning to go here in the near future, there really is no reason to set an alarm and rush down towel in hand. In fact I don’t think I ever saw a time when there weren’t a number of free sun beds around the pool.

One reason for that may be the fact that at least 90% of guests appeared to be British, (read into that what you will in terms of reserving sun beds), another may be the ongoing conflict in Egypt (but that may as well be a million miles away from this resort, because it will have absolutely no impact on your holiday here) or maybe it was simply due to the time of year.

Bar service was good at the Activity pool, with bar staff regularly coming round to offer you drinks. There were two bars at the Activity pool, and one of these served a lunch menu, though we didn’t eat there. You could also help yourself to ice creams at that bar between 11am and 3pm (I think those were the times) another nice touch is the packets of crisps and small bowls of fruit that are brought to your sun beds at different times of the day.

You get a towel card when checking in – exchange these for clean towels when you need them from the towel shacks around each pool. You really don’t need to take your own towels on holiday any more

Snorkelling
The snorkelling is excellent from the beach, with a floating jetty that takes you straight to the coral reef. So even if you haven’t tried it before give it a go. The sea is warmer than the pools in the hotel and most of the time the sea was incredibly clear and calm. Once you are in its like swimming in a tropical fish tank, so don’t miss out on the experience. And go on the first day, if you get hooked you have the rest of the holiday to enjoy it. One tip – if you don’t have your own fins / goggles / snorkel you can buy them from the parade of shops just outside the hotel. Go to the promenade by the beach, turn right and it’s a two minute walk. Never accept the first price, and always barter. I have left a few other monetary tips at the end of this review.

You can rent snorkelling equipment from a shack on the beach, but I understand it can be expensive, especially if you do it every day

The beach
We are not beach people – but they have a vast expanse of private sandy beach here with plenty of the comfortable sun beds and parasols

Walking
I walk every day and this hotel is perfect for getting out for a walk.
Go to the promenade at the beach and you can turn either left or right for two different walks.
If you turn left you can take either the beach or the promenade to the next hotel, and once you are past that you can literally walk along the beach for miles. I would recommend that you take suitable beach shoes if you go this way because the sand is made up of ground coral and it may be a bit gritty
If you turn right you can have a nice 40minute walk all along the promenade. You will come across a white picket fence across the promenade after about 10 minutes when you get to the Coral Rotana Hotel, but just walk around it on the beach and keep going past the unfinished hotel. The promenade eventually stops some distance past the other hotels.

It’s perfectly safe out walking on your own, and no one bothers you.

Entertainment
The entertainment was perhaps the best we have encountered on a holiday. We generally give it a miss when we are away because it tends to always be the same tacky type of show performed by the hotels own entertainments team, but here they fly in a couple of acts each week from the UK.
Admittedly everything is down to personal preference and taste, but some of the entertainment was really good, and it’s certainly worth going along for a look.
They also have UK comedians at 11pm on a Monday at the clubhouse near the beach, but this really is too small a venue and they should hold it in the Sinai Theatre. We went the first week and had to sit outside because it was full, but the first act was cringe worthy, two brothers who were just like the kids act The Chuckle Brothers, but with lots of swearing, yet the guy who followed them was great.
As I said it’s all down personal taste. All the entertainment information is on the weekly flavour sheets I mentioned earlier.

The Piano Bar, had entertainment every evening with a pianist and others performing at various times around the piano, with a daily 11.15pm show. This really wasn’t for us, but it was very popular, and other reviewers have raved about it. Just unfortunate I suppose that it was so close to our room

Last comment on the entertainment, I’m no expert, and I may even be tone deaf, but I think the sound equipment, or perhaps the sound engineers could do with a little adjustment. I often couldn’t hear what the acts are saying or singing – the girl singers sounded like they had sucked on helium – and some of the sound tracks were being played just that little bit faster than they do on my generic mp3 player. Just an observation

Wi-Fi
Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and is free 24hrs a day in the reception area including the Piano Bar and Lobby Bar, but it is painfully slow. There are lots of mentions about this in reviews and the management always respond by saying this is being resolved and improved.

Well it’s still very poor. We were able to connect in the Lobby Bar and reception of an evening, but it was as much as we could do to load a web page, checks emails, and send a few messages, but even that took forever and was extremely frustrating. We did try to connect in the Piano bar during the evening, but were never successful.

When no one was around during the day it was better, but don’t go here expecting a good fast connection, because it’s not going to happen. They are obviously too far away from the exchange!

All Inclusive
A small moan, I am of the opinion that all inclusive should at the very least mean that all your food, drinks, and Wi-Fi at the hotel are included in the price, but that rarely seems to happen. In fact we have only ever experienced it in the high end hotels in the Caribbean. We have yet to stay in a hotel in Egypt that is truly all inclusive.

In this hotel you have to pay to use the two of the restaurants, which by all accounts is not cheap

The included drinks and cocktail menu is very limited, and annoyingly the spirits and cocktails we drink were chargeable! (Apparently the small charge for the upgrade to international branded drinks is £24.00 per person per day!)

There is no free mini bar in your room. If you want your fridge filled with beer and soft drinks you have to pay for it!

The free Wi-Fi is too slow, and is not available throughout the hotel.

The hotel is very clear, both on its website and in the Thomson brochure about what is and what isn’t included in its package (with the exception of the very limited drinks menu) But with the prices they charge and with Thomson claiming this to be a flagship hotel, they really should consider making this an all inclusive hotel which really is all inclusive. I fail to see how this would be anything other than a benefit to the hotel.

Outside the hotel
Even at night it’s safe to walk near the hotel, and there is a parade of shops just along the promenade that I mentioned earlier that are open late and sell just about everything, there is also a pharmacy along there.

Hovering nearby is the man with the camel, and there are more of them further along the promenade. Just be very wary of this extremely friendly man. He is only trying to make a living but before sitting on the camel or even taking a photo of it, ensure you negotiate a price, and tell him you won’t pay any more!

The hotel will warn you about him if you go on the walk around tour of the hotel on your first day, but according to them, once you are on the camel, which is fairly high up, you can find yourself in a situation where the price increases before he allows you to get back off again. This is only what we were told, but one woman was apparently forced to pay 900 Egyptian Pounds (£90 UK) before she was allowed off

We did witness one couple who were charged £35 (UK) for a short camel ride into the sea and back during which he took a few photos with their own camera; it lasted no more than 15 minutes!

Remember these camel guys are nothing to do with the hotel, and the hotel can do nothing once you have paid.

Despite this the camels are lovely and worth going to see, most evenings we took apples and other fruit down for them, and the guys are more than happy for you feed them.

Tips
Most of these tips are NOTHING to do with the hotel; they are just things about Egypt and the resort that I have picked up on that could be useful to you. They are the sort of things I’d like to know, that could make your life easier, I just wanted to pass them on:

Money Matters
The local currency is Egyptian Pounds – “NEVER” exchange your money at home before you go out there because you will always get a better rate if you change it in Egypt, and as the rate is set by the government you don’t even have to look around for the best rate because it’s the same everywhere.
It will always be better than in the UK.

My tip is to just take cash – just as much as you are likely to spend – together with a credit or debit card as a backup. (There is a free safe in the room to lock it all away)

My Reasons for this are:
Firstly: you will find that most places are quite happy to take English cash (or any other currency) in payment for just about anything – Excursions / Gifts / Souvenirs etc – so you can spend your cash without ever needing to change it. The beauty of this is that you know exactly how much you’re paying, and because you have cash you can barter for the best price. They all sell the same stuff and the same trips so if the first place you go to won’t accept your price, move on to the next one. You can always go back.

Secondly: if you do find you need to change any money, simply take your cash to the ATM machine outside the bank in the hotel, just down the hall from the piano bar (there is another one a few yards away, but by all accounts this one is easier to use). All you do is press a couple of buttons feed in your money in and it gives you Egyptian notes in return, complete with a receipt. So easy, and as you are making a cash transaction there is no card fee.

Or if you want it even easier, simply get them to change it at reception, but just be aware they only do a simple conversion rate of 10 Egyptian Pounds to the £1, which is just slightly less than you will get from the machine, and they don’t always have money to change.

We only changed money for tipping, but found it difficult to get the lower denomination 10 and 20 Egyptian Pound notes (£1 / £2 respectively) so it was a bit frustrating.

It was only in our second week that we found out that reception had a very simple system in place for tipping. They would exchange your English notes for English Pound coins, which you could then use to tip the staff. The staff would the change the pound coins back into Egyptian pounds at the reception – so much easier.

In previous hotels in Egypt and around the world we have always been asked by staff to change all there pound coin tips up for British notes so that they could exchange them, so no matter how many tips we gave out we always ended up going home with bags full of pound coins. This system is so much better. Well done Sensatori

The Flight
Very quick note on this – if you are flying with Thomson’s and don’t already know this, there is no in-flight entertainment, and you can’t pre-order meals on board their flights to Egypt.
So take a book, load up your tablet / Kindle with movies, or sort something else to keep yourself and the kids entertained for the five and a bit hours it’s going to take you to get there. And unless you want to pay inflated prices for the food onboard, stock up with snacks for both out and inbound flights at the supermarket before you go.

The Airport
Arrivals
You may have read this in other reviews but on your arrival be aware of the guy at the airport who simply lifts your suitcase from the road into the transfer coach to the hotel and then demands £2 for doing so. If you do encounter him just say no, or decide on your own appropriate response before you get there (I had mine all ready), then simply ensure your cases are on board and walk away. It’s so much easier to deal with him when you are expecting him, because he could be deemed intimidating. So stick to your guns, unless of course you genuinely believe he has warranted £2 of your money.
If he bothers you complain to the reps, they are not far away.
I have seen more than a few references to him on this site, its amazing the Sensatori management haven’t given him the boot – it’s not a great first impression!

As you get to the coach you are given a registration form to fill in and some fact sheets giving a lot of interesting and helpful information about the hotel. Check in is really quick, just hand over the completed form together with your passports to receive your keys and towel cards

Departures
Firstly, and a good thing to know, you “are” allowed to take water and other fluids through security on your flight home from Egypt. So if you want to save paying the airport prices, take a few bottles of water with you from the hotel. Things may change, but I doubt it, so just take water with you and keep it in your hand luggage through security. It won’t cost you anything, and if things change they can only take it off you!

You get told on the transfer coach to keep an eye on the screens for information on when your flight is boarding, the rep will warn you that they don’t make flight announcements until the last minute, and that if you are still there when you hear an announcement, you will probably miss your plane. Sound advice!

Our flight was boarding at gate 8, but the screen wasn’t working, and the only other screen only showed that our flight as on time. As a precaution we sat in the restaurant area close to the working screen. However about an hour before the flight was due to leave I saw movement by the gate but could see there was no updated information on the screen near us. Fortunately I checked it out because it had actually started boarding. As we went through the gate they made the announcement, which as you can imagine resulted in a lot of panicked people rushing the gate with meals and drinks they had only just purchased. Surprisingly we were all on board at least 45 minutes before our departure time and took off about 30minutes early! A result because we landed early in the UK.
I’m assuming everyone was onboard, but just be aware.

Hotel walk round
Do go on the hotel walk around tour, which they do every day at about 11.15 at the Sinai theatre after the welcome meetings. As I said before the complex is large, and it helps you to get your bearings and to see where everything is located

Well that’s it, the end of my review; if you have got this far you must have a very high boredom threshold. I have made a few criticisms here but they are only my personal observations and my honest opinion, but isn’t that the whole point of a review?
But I firmly stand by my original statement that “this is the best All Inclusive hotel in Sharm El Sheikh that we have stayed in”

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. Overall it is a fantastic hotel and if you go here you will have a wonderful holiday. We will certainly be back

So – Waleed – “Get the Champagne and beers in! We’ll see you soon”
Steve and Julie

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank Technophobe220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Technophobe220,

Many thanks for your very comprehensive review. It may be long but there is so much information there I am sure future guests will be very glad you have taken the time to write it all down.

As you have mentioned, the free WiFi is something that we are working on. We have already been able to improve on this but understand that during peak times, mostly in the evening, there can be some connectivity issues. We are looking for other ways to improve this further to avoid receiving such complaints in the future.


Thank you also for your suggestions on the all inclusive and the sound system in the theatre. Both of which have been taken on board for discussion.

Finally thank you for your special mention of Waleed, your kind words shall be conveyed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and in case of any special requests for the next stay you may feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed for 14 nights late Oct/early Nov in an Adult Swim up room. Overall we would rate this a good 4 star hotel, and very good if travelling with kids - alas we were not. People who state this is 5 start standard have clearly not ever experienced 5 star & I'll state why below. Saying that we had fun & got what we paid for & met some fun people.

Room
The room was a good size & looked out on the adults only pool - the only area of the hotel that is just for adults. The bathroom wasn't finished to a very high standard & one day water came through one of the inset lights. We called for maintenance to come out & whilst they stopped the leaks (took over an hour & we were waiting to go out) they left a mess all over the bathroom, including bits of plaster on the floor. I mentioned this to guest relations - nothing happened. No turn down service was provided nor was any towel art (although I see other guests got this).

Pool area
We used the adults pool each day & only ventured to the main pool to do aqua aerobics. That was fun, but the Zumba not so much, I think more calories were burnt walking to that pool. I found it unusual that there were no whirlpools around any pools & no swim up bar - again something I would expect of a 5 star resort. Drinks were plentiful around the pool as were crisps & fruit bowels. The adult pool bar was quite chilled, but the plastic chairs could have been to a higher standard.

The restaurants
Buffet breakfast was the usual. We didn't eat there in the eve, eating in the a la carte each night. Yes you have to queue to book at 10am but it only takes 15 mins max & for us was worth it. We ate 3 times in the Stone Grill, very nice & 3 in the Fusion which was our favourite. Both of these were under £100 for 2 courses & wine & had lovely views over the hotel. The Italian that was included was quite tasty but kids running round, even at a 9pm sitting. The Egyptian had great food but v lacking in atmosphere, felt like you were eating in a hall which was disappointing. The Tiran has a great location being on the beach, and the food was just OK. Better in the eve than at lunch & service for drinks in there tended to be slow.

Entertainment
We never made a show but enjoyed the piano bar entertainment. The pianist would take requests & people would sing along, lots of fun.
We tried archery & my husband & I were separated which was a bit awkward as it was only my 2nd attempt & I was out with some unfriendly people. We played tennis once which was good.

Drinks
This was our 5th visit to Sharm & we're pleased to say that the quality of wine is much improved. In the inclusive restaurants you are not allowed to enjoy a bottle of wine, and especially in the Tiran they'd only give you a v small glass - what's the point of that when you can drink as much as you like & it just makes more work for the waiters! Alas any other alcoholic drink, whiskey or beer aside you could hardly taste. I renamed Tequila Sunrise, a sunrise! A G&T you needed to ask if any gin was actually present. Whilst I think the staff are trained to give small portions, as the spirits were not a good quality you just couldn't taste it! My tip, stick to wine or beer. Again this is not 5 star...

The Spa
I had a 70minute Balinese massage & it was amazing & pretty reasonable, I'd recommend it for sure.

Trips
We did just one adults VIP snorkelling boat trip. It wasn't great. No alcohol served on board & guest relations said it was all inclusive & yet we had to pay for our snorkelling equipment. Good job we had some cash on us.

Would we go again, maybe for a week (out of half term) & only if we needed to save some money. It's relaxing for sure - away from the kids.

Tips
If using the adult pool you do need to get out at 8 to get a bed.
From 7.30 - 8 in the main bar you get Prosecco included just for half an hour.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Evitaesther123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaarawim, General Manager at Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Evitaesther123,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback on your holiday at Sensatori Sharm el Sheikh.

In addition to the adult only section of the hotel you have stayed in and the adults only pool area, there is also an adults only section in the Main Restaurant. However, it is not a hotel exclusively for adults and therefore whilst much of the day can be spent away it can also be expected to find children around the hotel in the general areas.

With regards to the maintenance work, I am sorry that you felt the need to stay, however maintenance is regularly undertaken during the absence of guests in the same way as housekeeping is often done on a daily basis. There is no risk and housekeeping will always clean up after the maintenance work is completed. It will be investigated as to why this has not happened on this occasion.

I feel sorry that you felt the hotel was not up to 5 star standard in your opinion, however hope that overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back again as our VIP returning guests, whereby as returning guests extra services are offered, including turndown service.

Regards,
Mohamed Shaarawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
7.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,981 reviews
4.6 mi away
Coral Sea Holiday Village
Coral Sea Holiday Village
#23 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#9 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,688 reviews
5.1 mi away
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
Coral Sea Waterworld Resort
#48 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,062 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh

Property: Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh
Address: | Ras Nosrani, Sharm El Sheikh 102, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#20 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#22 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sensatori Sharm El-Sheikh Resort puts you just footsteps from the sand. It is set on a beach overlooking Ras Nosrani Bay across 37 scenic acres of landscaped gardens fronting a stretch of over 600 meters of pristine sandy beaches. Sensatori Sharm El-Sheikh Resort is located across Tiran Island and close to the world-famous Ras Mohammed National Park, both considered to be two of the best diving spots in the world. The resort is also conveniently situated near Sharm El Sheikh Airport, the city centre, marina and the various attractions in and around Sharm El Sheikh. BALANCE and CHOICE, running through the whole Sensatori experience. On the one hand there are action-packed activities; on the other, ultra-relaxing spa treatments. Likewise, gourmet cuisine sits alongside fast food. The secret to it all and the main focus lies in the attention to details. The hotel offers 470 guest rooms and suites categorized to 19 room/suite types, all dressed in modern stylish fixtures and furniture. All rooms are equipped with electronic key lock, 32” LCD television and 40” in suites, mini bar, safe box, iPod docking station, iron/ironing board, tea and coffee kettle and a luxury bathroom with a Jacuzzi bathtub and mood light. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Coral Sea Sensatori - Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sensatori Sharm El-Sheikh By Coral Sea Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Conrad Sharm El Sheikh Resort
Sharm El-Sheikh Conrad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing