We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Second Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aurora Sharm Resort
Ranked #114 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Our Second Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Having just returned again from the Sol Sharm, what can we say, Excellent as usual.We are looked after so well we would never think of going to another hotel in Sharm el Sheikh.
The staff and management are number one , as far as we are concerned.
Nothing is too much trouble, and no the staff do not always have hands out for tips. Treat them with respect and they will give you the same back. The new chef is excellent and tries to meet everyones needs.All rooms have been refreshed also the lounge area, and more improvements on the way.
We would like to thank Mr Fakher, Emad, Ahmed, Ashraf, and Ismail,and all staff for another great holiday.To counteract bad reviews, any problem sort while there, not bad review when back home . Give the management and staff, the chance to put things right for you, as they are all more than willing to do so.
With best wishes to you all, and hope your future plans go from strength to strength. Hope it will not be to long before we return to our second home again.
Love From Shandy and Mr Keith x

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShandyEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “ShandyEastYorkshire”;

I would like to thank you for expressing your positive comments – especially concerning the hotel team. I will be sure to pass on your comments to our team and share the good feelings you have experienced. Such encouraging comments are very rewarding for our people, thank you once again for taking the time to write and applaud the hotel team’s efficiency.

Looking forward to your future visit, please receive our best regards.

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    269
    123
    91
    51
See reviews for
262
369
58
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2010

Befor comming to Egypt (Sol Sharm) I had read alot of reviews and was a little worried. Fortunatly my friends and I had nothing to worry about (except from the food and drink). Befor flying out I read that the hotel had a few villas that sleep 4 inwhich i emailed in advance and asked if possible if we were eligable for one. Unfortunatly I did not get a reply but on arrival the recepionist informed us that they had one free and that we could have it at no extra charge (as you can imagine we were chuffed to bits). Villas r nice and big with 1 double room, 1 twin room, kitchen, sitting room, dining room, bathroom, toilet and huge balcony!!!! And to top it off we could for some reason get free wifi which was a bonus. Hotel its self is extremly clean and so much better then the brochers make out. Private beach is lovley but a handy tip is to stick round the pool in the moring then go down the beach after lunch as its rammed in the morning (also do the best pancakes all day every day and pizza's after 3pm). Book all your trips with the guys on the beach, they do bug you when you first get there ie, paper boy salon guys, trips and diving guys but listen to what they've got to offer barter with then because trust me you can get them right down and if your not interested be very stern !!!!!! Look out for romany on the beach he's a great guy. Dont get taxi with the lad in the hotel he'll rip ur eyes out, go outside the hotel and get one on the road. All in all the holiday was the best ever so much to do ann the weather wa amazing only negitave was the FOOOODDDDD!!!!!! IT WAS AWFUL MAINLY CATER FOR RUSSIANS....... AND TRUST ME THEY HAVE NO TASTE AND EXTREMLY BAD MANERED!!!!! MACCY S'D KFC AND PIZZA HUT CAN DELIVER TO HOTEL SO KEEP THAT IN MIND!!!!!!! AND EATING OUT IS CHEAP AS CHIPS IN NAAMA..... Beer is nice and rum but vodka is like paint stripper so if you like your vodka good luck!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phillipa_chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “phillipa_chester”;

Thank you for posting your review on your recent holiday in Sol Sharm hotel. We appreciate your kind words and glad you enjoyed your stay in Sharm El Sheikh with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the villa and appreciated the free upgrade offered to you even though your reservation was for a standard room. Happily we are also pleased that you liked our beach and cleanliness of the hotel.

We are delighted that you did have overall a brilliant time at Sharm, but we regret that the food served in our buffet did not match your taste, however we offer an assortment of freshly baked breads (white, whole, with sesame, toast, rolls, baguette, etc.), selection of pastries, cereals, jams, fruit salad, fresh seasonal fruits, yoghurts, mini pancakes, oriental corner with typical Egyptian items, omelet “show cooking” in addition to the usual hot food selection are supposed to provide everybody with the possibility to choose and try, even each day, something different to his/her liking. We feel sorry we couldn’t include you among them.

For lunch and dinner, Fayrouz main restaurant offers a wide range of International choices (chicken, veal, turkey, beef, BBQ, rice, pasta, fresh salad and salad compose, fish, vegetables, potatoes, fruits, cakes, puddings…). At the same time, we acknowledge that there is always room for improvement. We hope you will return in the future to see these improvements first hand and we pleasantly surprise you.

Also we would like to mention that for your own health & safety, and according to the hotel policy, the food delivery from outside is not allowed to enter the hotel premises.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you again for your comments which no doubt help us improve day to day.

Sincerely,

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We arrived me and girlfriend at 11.05pm which was okay apart from the all inclusive we paid for finished at 11pm. So within 2 mins of arriving we were already playing £7 for a drink and £3 for a plate of soggy chips. The room was nice with a small balcony overlooking the larger of the 2 swimming pools.. The hotel was clean and the staff were pleasant enough but became a lot friendlier after they got a tip.. Would have been nice to have people say hello without having to pay them. The pool area is nice with a bar in the pool but its understaffed most of the time when they are there i was served last as im not a young attractive girl. The pool area offers aqua aerobics at 12 and 4 each day which is good.. the salesmen walking around the pool pretending to nice can be a little irritating.. The small beach is a short walk but is shared with another hotel so dont expect a lounger as it is very very busy..

The worst thing about this holiday was the FOOD. It is as bad as ive ever seen. I can only assume it is aimed at the russian tourists but the 1 day they made chips there was a 40 min queue. The chicken served was raw and on 1 occasion after a complaint the chef came out to inform me that some people like there CHICKEN COOKED MEDIUM. I ate salad all holiday.. Yet i still became ill for 3 days while my gf haggled at the pharmacy over medicine oh yeah even for medicine..

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “pbez”;

We appreciate your feedback and having taken some of your valuable time to post your observations.

Firstly, thank you to praise about hotel room, cleanliness and aqua aerobics; we try our best and glad that you enjoyed that part.

Kindly be advised that the all inclusive system starts at 10 a.m. and finishes at 11 p.m. It is important to bear in mind that the all inclusive system’s details are set in the contract between Tour Operators & Hotel. This is a common agreement between both parties.

Regarding your illness, we deeply regret that inconvenience happened to you and feel somehow sorry you did not visit our clinic located in the hotel and open daily (except Fridays) from 13:00 to 14:00. Also, a hotel doctor is available upon request 24hours / 7days. He could have examined you right from the beginning, prescript and bring all the medicines you might have needed and we believe that an efficient medication and expert advice could even lessen the number of days spent in bed and thus increase the quality and enjoyment of your holiday. Our sincere apologies if you were not informed about the existence of this possibility.

It was also unfortunate that the food served in our buffet did not match your taste even though our guest questionnaires’ results show the satisfaction of the majority of our international clientele. Also take in consideration that we have a new Chef who is at your full disposal to support and he will be glad to follow you up by daily special food, prepared according to your request. We also acknowledge that there is always room for improvement. Please rest assured that we will take your feedback to heart and we hope to pleasantly surprise you with the food and snacks on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We arrived at the hotel which looked very nice but after checking in,we soon found out that we had got it wrong.The service in the hotel from the porter to the waiting staff were very poor.The power in our rooms went off a good few times throughout our stay,including the air con.The food was bland,to say the least,so much so,that we ordered in McDonalds a few times just to have a decent meal.Breakfast was good as there was fresh eggs,toast and pastries to choose from.Our friends next door had rubbish under their bed when we arrived and when they complained to the cleaner,he just laughed and shrugged his shoulders.We had to find our own cutlery in the dining room,as tables were not reset when diners left.Some of the waiters were not interested.The pool area was nice but we had constant hassle from the spa staff,newspaper seller,tattooist and hotel photographers,who were snap happy at times!!! Highlights to our holiday were,our trip to Luxor,Arabian night and eating out at Soho square.which was lovely...and,of course.the weather,which was fantastic...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim1201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “jim1201”;

Thank you for having taken some of your valuable time to post your opinion.

I deeply regret that your holiday did not satisfy the expectations you had of our property, and I would like to thank you for taking your precious time expressing your opinion and observations. Letters such as yours are the greatest assistance to us in identifying possible problems that may exist.

Accordingly, I would like to express our preoccupation for the feedback you gave about the Spa’s sales persons, newspaper seller, tattooist and hotel photographers and glad to tell you that their presence by the pool side has just got time-limited recently.

Regarding the food we are really sorry that it didn’t match your taste. Restaurant serves international cuisine trying to meet every guest needs. Restaurant manager is always at your full disposal to support and he will be glad to follow you up by daily special food, prepared according to your request.

Happily we are pleased that you enjoyed trip to Luxor and Arabian night.

We hope to welcome you again in the future to one of our more than 350 Sol Meliã hotels throughout 30 countries worldwide where hopefully you can spend a more enjoyable holiday to your taste.

Please receive my best regards,

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2010

On arriving at this hotel.it did look lovely,the main reception and surrounding area was very nice. However,during our two week stay,although some staff were very helpful,some were not! The food was not good.We are by no means,fussy eaters but even I struggled to find anything edible apart from the breakfast menu...Our waiter was attentive at first but soon lost interest,so much so,that we were having to go and find our own cutlery at times,which was a hassle when your food was sitting on the table...We also came to realise that asking for ice cream was a problem because it was meant to be paid for,even though we were all inclusive...Our friends were staying in the next room to us and between us,the power went out in the whole corridor,probably about 5 or 6 times throughout our stay...this was always mended by the flick of a trip switch,obviously,its an ongoing problem...The list goes on...!The highlight of our trip was going to luxor and the arabian night was pretty good too!!!Oh,we did order McDonalds a few times,which was also a highlight! Soho Squre is lovely with its statues,lovely fountain which changes colour, restaurants and hassle free shopping...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suz1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “suz1304”;

Thank you for your review and kind words concerning Sol Sharm’s surroundings and main reception. I appreciate your feedback as well as your constructive criticism.

I am sorry that you got a negative impression of the staff - something that I am surprised to read as usually I rather receive compliments about my team. However, I can assure you that your comments have been taken to heart, and the participation of our employees will be ensured in training sessions in order to avoid the reappearance of similar remarks in the future. Thank you again for bringing up my attention to these details and I guarantee that we are always looking for distinctive solutions that allow us to increase our standards.

Regarding the food, for lunch and dinner, Fayrouz main restaurant offers a wide range of International choices (chicken, veal, turkey, beef, BBQ, rice, pasta, fresh salad and salad compose, fish, vegetables, potatoes, fruits, cakes, puddings…). Pork is not cooked in Muslim countries. Although, twice a week, the evening buffet becomes the dining place of Egyptian specialties to let our guests experience and savor the authentic local food.

At the same time, we acknowledge that there is always room for improvement, and we are working on it. We hope you will return in the future to see our progresses first hand and we do can pleasantly surprise you.

Concerning ice cream it is important to bear in mind that the all inclusive system’s details are set in the contract between Tour Operators & Hotel. This is a common agreement between both parties. At the same time, we completely share your opinion as regards making points clear. Kindly be advised that ice cream is available for children every day from 15:00 till 17:00 in Aida bar and twice a week there is an ice cream corner in the main restaurant at dinner time.

Although your recent stay did not satisfy the expectations you had of Sol Sharm, we hope to welcome you again in the future to any Sol Melia Hotels of Egypt or to any one of our more than 350 hotels throughout 35 countries worldwide.

With best regards,

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

MY SISTER AND I had never being to Egypt. On arrival at the hotel the staff were polite and friendly. However we had to wait around 4 hours for our room , although it was warm in the reception area it was rather early UK time and we were not happy , luckily we had no young children. The travels who we booked through should have informed us of this matter prior. When we finally got our room it was satisfactory nothing out standing , clean and well presented. The food at the hotel was okay I mean okay nothing fantastic. My sister is a vegetarian and found the food choice quite poor. The pool at the hotel was nice the bar selection was fine , the night entertainment was good and the hotel seemed quite child friendly. There were lots of excursions beyond our expectations, the Bedowin night tour was great , we were told the sphinx was out of this work, also the snorkeling was fantastic. We went in to nama bay which was around £5 in a taxi ride and there were familiar shops and eateries.
The internet at the hotel at the hotel was not free £12 for 24 hours .

In all we enjoyed our stay in Egypt but would probably stay at the Ritz Carlton and the Hilton Retort

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claud39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “claud39”;

Thank you for choosing Sol Sharm hotel and for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback.

We apologize for the inconvenience that you had while waiting for the room. Kindly note that an international check-in time is 14:00 and check-out time is 12:00. As long as the room is ready we provide it to the guest immediately. It seems like you arrived early in the morning and the hotel was overbooked in this period that is the only reason why you had to wait 4 hours in the lobby.

We are glad you appreciated room, pool area, bars and night entertainment.

Concerning the poor choice of food for vegetarians we are very sorry if you didn’t find anything matching with your sister’s taste even though our buffet provides every day fresh tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, carrots, onions, salads, beats and mushrooms as well as mashed, boiled or fried potatoes, pumpkin, green beans, eggplants, squashes and cabbage.

Hope that you will soon give the opportunity to Sol Meliá of welcoming you in one of the more than 350 hotels worldwide.

We send you our greetings with all the best wishes,

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham Lancs UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2010

Hotel was clean and staff extremely friendly weather was excellent but the position was rubbish next to airport noise of aircraft all night. All baron land on front and back of hotel not pretty but hotel grounds were pretty. Nowhere to have a walk in evening. limited choice of all inclusive drinks. Food was not to four star standard and i am not a fussy eater snacks very poor

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yelkcub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solsharm, General Manager at Aurora Sharm Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear “yelkcub”;

Thank you for your review of your stay in Sol Sharm hotel. I am glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the hotel and friendliness of our staff.

Concerning the choice of all inclusive drinks, it is important to bear in mind that we have mineral water, juices, tea & coffee, local draft beer, variety of alcoholic & non alcoholic cocktails, local alcoholic spirits, gin, vodka, rum, brandy & whiskey served daily in the bars and restaurant.

It was unfortunate that the food served in our buffet did not match your taste even though our guest questionnaires’ results show the satisfaction of the majority of our international clientele. Also take in consideration that we have a new Chef who is at your full disposal to support and he will be glad to follow you up by daily special food, prepared according to your request. We also acknowledge that there is always room for improvement. Please rest assured that we will take your feedback to heart and we hope to pleasantly surprise you with the food and snacks on a future visit.

Please receive my best regards,

Fakher KHALIFA
General Manager
Sol Sharm & Sol Cyrene Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.1 mi away
Aurora Cyrene Resort
Aurora Cyrene Resort
#88 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tiran Island Hotel
Tiran Island Hotel
#99 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,771 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sharm Resort & Spa
Sharm Resort & Spa
#82 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jaz Belvedere
Jaz Belvedere
#50 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Palms Resort Sharm El Shei...
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
1.7 mi away
Island Garden Resort
Island Garden Resort
#111 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Sharm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Sharm Resort

Property: Aurora Sharm Resort
Address: | El Montazah Area, Sharm El Sheikh 00206, Egypt (Formerly Sol Sharm)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#102 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aurora Sharm Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Aurora Sharm Hotel 4* hotel has opened its doors in Sharm El Sheikh. Aurora Sharm Hotel 4* is a complete hotel with 214 rooms and suites, bars, restaurants, convention rooms, and a varied entertainment, sport and leisure offer for the whole family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aurora Sharm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Sol Sharm
Sol Sharm Sharm El Sheikh
Sol Sharm Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing