We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fntastic holiday”
Review of Iberotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Iberotel Palace
Ranked #10 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fntastic holiday”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from ten days at the Iberotel palace, we chose this hotel because it is a couples hotel, I must say that when we arrived the first impressions were very good, and it continued to be very good, the food was excellent, a very wide choice, a different theme every night. The superior room we had was large enough clean and well appointed. John the Thomson rep was very knowledgeable always ready with tips and advice, always cheerful, nothing is too much trouble, the staff were attentive and polite. Any issues were attended to quickly and efficiently, I must mention Muhammed Said from the lobby bar who really made us feel special, he was always happy to chat and was interested in what we had done and where we had been, I played boules on the beach every morning under the control of Youseff who made it great fun, I can say that when we return to Sharm El Sheikh it will definately be to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in block 4, which is a little bit away from the main centre of activity, try and get block 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Colin-Parker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,860
    620
    133
    34
    16
See reviews for
434
2,655
83
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

There were only a couple of things that let the iberotel palace down.. Only a few tweaks needed and this will be a perfect place for a relaxing holiday!

_ the staff... The entertainment staff and spa staff were lovely but the day staff in the restaurants and bars were mostly grumpy, they wouldn't have a smile on their face and didnt make you feel welcomed. they'd forget a drinks order, we wouldnt mind but we wouldn't get an apology and ended up going to get it ourselves. Osama at the beach bar however was an exception to this, he made a great effort with you and to keep the other staff in line.
In addition, the staff in the toscana restaurant were AMAZING!! For my birthday meal we decided to eat here, they had flowers sprinkled over the table which was a really nice touch and had a surprise for us at the end of our meal too, they made me feel really special and i had a great evening!!!
I also got a happy birthday card from iberotel and another note from the thomson rep John which was very thoughtful.

The other downfalls i think were,

_ mini bar... You have to pay for the mini bar which again is fine for us but didnt make sense when you are in an all inclusive resort. You get the same drinks in the mini bar as you would do in the normal bar so unsure why there would be a charge for those. Also the minibar wasn't restocked with beer and coke until we asked for it, you do get bottled water every day but only 2 bottles.

_ air con... talking to other guests some said their air con was freezing and others said their's didnt work very well. When ours was on it didnt feel like it made a difference! We reported it to reception who said they would check it but it was still just as warm as before. It was bareable but would have been better if it was colder.

On the positives
The check in procedure was painless, we arrived late at about 10.30 and were greated with drinks and they made sure the restaurant had some food for us.

_ the room.. is lovely, huge and had a massive bed. Lovely balcony and lots of storage space too! You dont get the towels made up into funny things like swans on your bed by the maids which would have been a nice touch and is done in alot of other places we've been. The black out curtains are awesome too and rooms were cleaned every day.

_ evening entertainment... Was hit an miss some nights however Grace and Lee (his and hers) duet acoustic performances are fantastic. They done a motown night, chill out songs on the beach in the evening by a fire. They take requests and if they dont know them they will go and learn them. They are both really talented and we had s great time when they were on the stage.

_ the beach... is lovely and sandy and big enough for everyone! Although it was tooo hot to walk on bare foot some days! There was no waiting staff taking your drinks order from the beach whch again would have been a nice touch but not really a problem as long as you get a sun lounger closer to the beach bar which is on the far side of the beach. We never struggled to find sun loungers and they are all accompanied with palm trees or huts for when you neee some shade.

_ the restaurants... The food is yummy in both la couple and blue marine buffet restaurants althugh we did prefer blue marine for dinner. Its a smaller restaurant and we found had a better atmosphere amd better food, either way none of the restaurants were ever over crowded, they had different dishes every night so you had a wide variety of food to choose from which is needee in buffet restaurants.. we didnt have a bad meal. The beach bar is definitely the place for lunch where you can order off a menu rather than buffet. We didnt eat in the ali baba restaurant and never saw anyone in there, we tried to book a table and there was no staff around. The toscana restaurant had delicious food and amazing staff, make sure you book early. One meal is included with your stay for la toscana.

_ the spa... Is well worth a visit and is reasonably priced. For two of us, we paid £150 for 2 x full body massages with a coconut scrub and use of the saunua steam room and swimming pool on one day of our choice. Included also was another 2 x full body massages on a separate day. They were 50 minutes each and not a bad package for £75pp. You could probably try and haggle this but we didnt bother.

Excursions
##Avoid##
The diving boat tour... By Cfundive. We were approached on the beach by a gentleman who works at iberotel selling this tour so we thought he would be trust worthy... We were wrong. He told us we would go to 3 diving spots, there would be no kids on board, only iberotel palace guests, only English speaking and a max of 25 people on board.
We did go to three spots where we snorkled and others dived. You had to pay more to dive.
There were however children on board, those that worked on the boat and those doing the tour. There were 30+ people on board who wernt all english and from a mixture of resorts too. We were given lunch (which was just about edible) at 2.45pm after being told it would be served at 12.30-1pm and there was no fish option as promised for the vegetarians. Speaking with other people they had been told the same things too, We wouldn't have minded as much but prefer not to be lied too. We had to be ready for 8.15am as you have to sort put equipment, wait for other hotele to arrive and get on a bus to the marina to sail at 9.30 and were told we would be back at the hotel at 4.30 and didnt get back till 5.30, a long day and wasn't really worth it. The tour was only £20pp but I wouldn't recommend taking a day out of your holiday to do it. Get the free snorkeling gear from the hotel and go snorkeling off the beach at your own leisure... Alternatively look into the sun n fun discovery boat which u can book at the watersports hut on the beach.

##Amazing##
Cairo by air.... This is well worth doing but be prepared for a long day! For the early morning make sure you request a breakfast bag from reception for the journey if you want some grub on the way. We booked through Thomson and it was £150 pp and was a fantastic, well worth it! Our tour guide muhammad was brilliant and got us into one of the tombs down in the pyramid, take a torch if you are planning on doing this as its pitch black down there and very hot too! You also get lunch on the nile although we were sat in the middle of a conference which was going on, the food wasnt great but it was an experience. You also go to a mosque and a museum... Would recommend paying the £10 to go into see the mummies in the museum, some still have their hair skin nails and face all in tact! The only downfall was the journey either end. Our pickup was 4.25am, the airport is about 15 minutes away and our flight didnt end up leaving until 7.30am. For a domestic flight you dont need to be there this early.
Also on the way back we were told our flight back to Sharm would be at 7pm but wasn't untill 8pm so we had to spend 2 and a half hours sitting in cairo airport where there was nothing to do and had run out of beer! Also quite worrying was (who we thought to be) a Thomson rep asked every male member of our tour group to take a spare part on the plane for him and drop it off to someone in sharm airport... The security at cairo is so relaxed and this really shocked us. All in all though a really good day.. Apart from the waiting around.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Josie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My first knowledge of the Iberotel Palace was from trip adviser reviews. The reviews were not wrong, and I made my holiday booking based on them. The hotel is for couples only and we appreciated the peace and quiet, especially as the plane was full of screaming children. The hotel is well placed next to the old Sharm market, which provided us with all of our gift needs. The reception is exactly what you expect of a highly dated modern hotel. Standards of customer service and cleanliness are very high. Staff went above and beyond to ensure a fantastic holiday. There was no bickering for tips, the hotel has a box where you can make a donation at the end of your holiday.
Don't worry about culinary needs as the variety was sufficient and varied to last a two week holiday. If they didn't have it they would make it for you. We twice sampled the Italian a la carte menu, which was superb. Yes, you do need to wear long trousers but it's no effort really!
The pool and beach were spotless and had plenty of beds and parasols for all. Yes,
some felt the compulsion to get up early and put a towel to reserve a place. We never found it was necessary.
Thanks to the entertainment team, for keeping us suitably entertained. I thoroughly enjoyed my daily boules match with Youssef, who is truly Mr.Kool! I was kept laughing all the time.
The hotel has it's own house reef for snorkelling , which is visited for free using a boat shuttle via the beach pontoon and captained by the renowned Mr Aziz, (who is very helpful and a true gentleman). You do need beach shoes at low tide and provide your own gear. This can be purchased locally for a small number of Egyptian pounds.
We got engaged on our stay and the management organised us a romantic dinner table in their Italian restaurant, and the staff made us feel very special.
We went on two trips, one a tour of Sharm in which we visited a mosque,Coptic church and the recently opened Genena city museum, which has replicas of all the items found in tutankhamun tomb. This gave us a great opportunity to take photos, you are not allowed to take photos in the Cairo Museum. We finished in Naama Bay to do some shopping and had a Mc Donald's , Egyptian style.
We went on the Cairo trip,which involved an early morning flight. Although it was an extremely hot day, it was well worth while. We visited a mosque, a papyrus shop, lunch on a Nile house boat,the Cairo museum, pyramids and sphinx. Yes we had some hassle from vendors, but it was predominantly good natured. Security forces were on show but at a low level. We never felt in danger at any point.
I qualified as an open Water, PADI diver. I used a local dive company called Red Sea Easy Divers (http://www.easydiversredsea.com) who were amazing considering I was a bit nervous to start with. I completed 11 dives from shore and boat. My guides and instructors were brilliant. The Red Sea is such a fantastic natural spectacle. I saw so many different varieties of fish. Whilst I was there we spotted barracuda, rays, shark and moray eels.
As the reviews state, the hotel will accommodate you when ever possible if you email them in advance with any preferences. I booked room 2318, and I was not disappointed. It was central to everywhere. The balcony got the sun in the afternoon, great if you want a lie in. Although it was a bit too hot to sit there during the honest parts of the day. The only noise was mid afternoon when they played water polo and when the early evening entertainment was on. But this was finished early enough. The room did not get disturbed by the mosque chanting, or any nearby discos.
We thoroughly recommend the Iberotel Palace. Don't be put off by what you hear in the press about Egypt. 50% of the population are directly or indirectly employed in tourism. The country needs your business and will welcome you with open arms. We will return to Egypt again and would definitely stay in the same hotel

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this fantastic Hotel.. no negative comments,,, every one from gardners to management are superb.. this is our second time here 3 years ago we loved it, and it certainly lived up to all the marvellous reviews.. too many people to mention, but obviously Becca, Ailisha and darling Youseff, they made each day lovely.. Ayman with beach towels all and I mean all the waiters inmain restaurant, The Blue Lagoon and excellent boys at the beach bar, fabulous weather, very clean rooms with fantastic creations by our great cleaner, will be back asap, fantastic hotel and staff, could knock spots off any we have been to in the UK

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank angelcake42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Having stayed at the Iberotel Palace for our honeymoon, we decided to come again the mark our 1st anniversary and to gain our Open Water PADI licence.

This is the first time we have every returned to the same location for a holiday. We are very glad we did...

I dare say there are hotels that are superior from certain individual aspects, but (in this price range) as a package I think this place is hard to beat.

The location is great - I much prefer 'old' Sharm to the areas around Nama Bay.

The snorkelling is excellent - this is one the main reasons we came back.

The service is excellent - staff are friendly, attentive but not over-bearing.

I'm not really into hotel entertainment anywhere, but they did put on a varied and fun array of performances. My favourite being the solo Spanish guitar player - he was brilliant.

we were upgraded to the same room we had on our honeymoon, which was a very nice touch.

Food could be a bit samey - the range is smaller than other all-inclusive hotels that I've stayed at. However we still ate like kings and had some very nice meals.

No kids!

Two comments for improvement;

I thought charging for the beers in the bedroom was a bit tight. I enjoy having a quiet drink on the balcony and I don't see why this isn't part of the all-inclusive deal.

It would be good to have larger signs stating that people should not touch the coral. It is infuriating to see it carelessly ruined by people. If the reef is not preserved then this hotel will lose a very big selling point.

All in all; loved it, would recommend it and will hopefully be returning to do some more diving.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ydnA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Suffolk, England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and we were very impressed from the moment we entered reception! Our room was room 2305 which had a view of the gardens and excellent views of the entertainment arena-fabulous for the Egyptian Night! Our bed was enormous and the room was spotless. We got the courtesy boat out to the reef which takes less than 5 minutes and the coral and marine life was breathtaking, we snorkelled 3 times. The staff really do work their socks off and are very friendly and cheerful, especially Sabry from the pool bar, Aziz who 'captained' the boat out to the reef and Youssef, the crazy hat and wig loving entertainment guy! There is plenty to do to keep you entertained, and the food is of a very good standard, plenty of choice for everyone! We would definitely return! Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday in this hotel, I can honestly say this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in, from the outset we were made very welcome, our Thomson's flight from Edinburgh was delayed (nothing unusual about that as our return flight was also delayed) when we arrived at the hotel around 12.30pm we were greeted by the hotel staff who gave us a cool drink and a cool towel to wipe our weary brows.

We were then escorted to our room and our luggage was delivered soon after, the room was excellent, the beds are huge and very comfortable, due to how late our flight was the restaurants were closed but we were supplied with a cold buffet in our room (which we did not expect).

What can I say about the staff that most people have not already commented on, they were very attentive, from the staff around the pool to the bar staff (especially Sabry) they could not do enough for us even bringing the beach towels and drinks to our sunbeds, the only downside is the poolside furniture could be doing with being upgraded as they were very tired looking.

We ate in all the restaurants and can honestly say that the meals were excellent and there was always something for everyone even my wife who is a very fussy eater. I would definitely recommend the beach bar for lunch as the food and service was excellent.

We booked through Thomson's and although as previously mentioned we were delayed everything else went really well thanks to John our holiday advisor and a special mention to Rebecca our events co-ordinator who has an excellent singing voice also and can haggle with the market traders and get you a good discount on all the fake stuff they sell.

The hotel has also got 2 guest relation staff Annette and Maria who will come round every day to ask if you are having any problems with your room/stay and is so they will sort these out for you.

There is a good selection of cocktails and the beer is not too bad either.

The hotel is very clean and the main reception is stunning, the fact that it is a couple only hotel is also a bonus, no children running around the pool makes for a very relaxing holiday.

I could go on about this hotel all night but all I will say is if you are thinking about holidaying in Sharm El Sheik then I would definitely recommend this hotel. We will definitely be back thanks to all who made our holiday so good.

And do try the Spa the chocolate massage is very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stuart m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,302 reviews
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#11 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,065 reviews
0.8 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#3 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
#36 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,708 reviews
10.8 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,983 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Palace

Property: Iberotel Palace
Address: | Maya Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#10 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Iberotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Palace Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Palace Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing