We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Iberotel Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberotel Palace
Ranked #16 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Kent
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been to a number of hotels in Sharm, and elsewhere in Egypt, so we have plenty to compare this against. The hotel itself is lovely, the rooms are spacious and kept nice and clean. The staff are very friendly and we needed up having a laugh and a joke with lots of them. When we were there the hotel was about 50% full, which was nice. I am not sure what it would be like with sun beds and restaurant/bar seating if the hotel was near capacity.

The food was good quality and always hot, but there was not a great variety, which I guess is due to it being a small hotel. I asked for a specially cooked spicy curry on Indian buffet night, which was absolutely lovely. Not a hint of stomach problems for the whole 2 weeks, that's a first. It was made clear that individual requests would be catered for, so I don't understand people moaning about the food having not made any requests for what they want. The drinks started off with individual bottles of coke, sprite etc but after about 3 days was served by the glass.

The entertainment was pitched at the right level, bearing in mind very few hotels in Egypt, with the exception of Sensatori have elaborate entertainment on tap. The duo Christelle were easy to listen to, and also nice people to talk to. We wish them all the best in Vietnam and Macau.

I can't comment on the Thomsons rep as we didn't have much to do with him, but we had a lot of dealings with Danielle, the Thomsons entertainment rep, mainly in relation to the many cats that also inhabit the hotel. We took three kittens under our wing while we were there and made sure they we all fed and watered. Most of the cats are very friendly, and if you don't like cats, just ignore them they won't bother you. Danielle is a lovely lady who is moving on soon, and we wish her well back in the UK.

In summary we had a lovely fortnight, and met some wonderful people.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank SDMKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,772
    611
    129
    33
    16
See reviews for
373
2,638
82
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (878)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Once landed in Sharm airport and clearing customs, the hotels staff make the best first impression. Our transfer manager and bus driver were just wonderful and kept us laughing all the way (no stops at other resorts either which was nice!).

Walking into the hotel you are greeted by a marvellous reception area and smiling staff offering a refreshment. The meet and greet was a little long and would have been nicer if we could have gone to our rooms first, but I guess they are scared that you will disappear into the hotel complex and not turn up.

Our room was a pool view, but actually you could see the sea as well. It was very clean and a good size, with a very comfortable bed and balcony. The private beach was lovely and well kept as were the pools (we spent most time on the beach however). The hotel organises daily games or you can just relax if that is what you prefer.

We both very much enjoyed the food in the hotel, be it breakfast lunch or dinner, with a very wide selection to cater for all tastes. There are nightly themes in the different restaurants as well so it is worth checking before deciding where to go. Overall the food standard was very good. The staff working around the pool in the evening were marvellous, especially Mohammed who always took care of us and insisted that I don't tip him as we were friends!

If you like snorkelling it is well worth jumping in the little boat on the beach and going over to Coral Bay. There has been quite a lot of damage done to the reef there, but it is still home to a lot of fish and corals, all of which can be seen walking in off of the beach.

We would definitely go back to Sharm, and would consider this hotel again (generally we like to try new places!) as it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phase_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Listen , if you want to chill out , get great Service , eat decent food and have all in a very good Holiday then go here !!

The place was spotless , bed changed every day , food varied with a different roast every night.

Entertainment was cheesy , but everyone likes a bit of cheese !

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe room , very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Can only be honest in our review of this place as we have been since my partner and I begin taking/giving tripadvisor advice for the best part of a decade now. We've avoided/enjoyed some great experiences/restaurants/hotels through T.A. But sadly we found this one a disappointment.

We usually DIY it when we are away on holiday but as we have both had a busy working year we planned on having an absolute chill-out, stress free holiday and parting with a reasonable some of money for what we thought would be a decent break. Thomson must make an absolute mint through these holidays, it really is lacking in quality from departure to destination.

Transfer was swift. We had the 9pm arrival flight and it was all a bit awkward at check-in, we were paraded in front of people sat enjoying the hotel entertainment before we were ushered to get some food. It had all been left there to stew by the time we got there. First impressions... Not good. Paraded again with usual carry on bags and duty free still in hands, we were shown to a meeting room where we were given an envelope with welcome letters, keycards, advice notices, all wonky photocopies, just lacking a bit of class.

Room on inspection was OK - just that. Usual furnishings but nowhere near a 5 star room. Everything you need but just 15 years out of date. Nice hot shower at any time of the day apart from one day where they were doing maintenance work 10-5pm. 8 coat hangers provided. Room keepers kept the place spotless, always polite and checking everything was OK. We did have an issue with the air con which had leaked over a clothing item- this was dealt with well by the hotel who sent a maintenance man straight up and laundered the clothing item the next day.
We had a left hand side room, which had the morning sun, far too hot to sit out on the balcony in the morning which is well into the thirties around 7am. Request a right hand side, afternoon sun room. The hotel in general is of a mediterrainien european style which is tired looking and in need of modernisation.

Branded drinks advertised on the shelves is not what you get. No London dry gin, but Oxford dry gin - you get the gist of it.

Food is of a very poor standard. Breakfast is lacking in anything imaginative and it wasn't until our last days that we realised we could have poached eggs which were our most enjoyable meals during the stay.
Lunch offerings were bland, at both the buffet restaurant and the beach shack - the grilled beef burger being the most impressive item. Same situation for the evening meal which was so poor, we went hungry some nights. The same rehashed food on offer from evenings before, lots of choice, granted, but poorly cooked and low in quality and appearance. The bbq items are seen to be cooked fresh and probably the best offerings. The second night I had a beef tortilla wrap but the beef was that chewy therefore for the rest of our stay I got by on rice, salad bits and fries - is that really five star?

We ate lunch on our last day late on in the buffet as we were getting picked up before the evening food slot. When the chefs came out to clear all the food items away. I witnessed one chef collecting the salad items that were in individual bowls and he rearranged them with his bare hands before stacking the bowls still with the salad items in! The same bowls will probably be served in the evening.

However the Italian a la carte restaurant was really good. We had a starter, main and dessert and enjoyed it all. Could not believe we were eating in the same hotel. We tried to book in for a second time (which is chargeable) but it was fully booked.

Our days were spent chilling at the beach as the decent poolside spaces are taken up very early on. Such a small confined area for such a big complex. An adult only holiday with little room for swimming and no deep ends? There are a couple of staff members that go around half heartily advertising the activities which are morning thaichi, or yoga. Afternoons are french boules, or water polo, how uninspiring. We went one afternoon to do the towel art, five minutes late admittedly, but no one was there.

We ventured out on a couple of occasions, what a waste of time. Old sharm, as it is marketed is an utter dump, a smelly, rotten hole full of ripoff merchants and cheap tat. The supermarket offering crisps and chocolate is overpriced massively. The hotel is in such a poor area of Sharm. We walked the el maya cove one day, it was clear to us that our hotel is by far the most impressive, clean and secluded on this stretch of the bay. We were hassled regularly and told to get off the private beach from the 'locals' bar owners. Had to navigate around dog dump on the beach, rubbish and dirty washed up nappies.

Our stretch of beach - it's clean, it is close to the hotel, it is everything you could want really. The downside is the hotel along the cove plays the same repetitive music throughout the day which denies this hotel playing any form of music which would just cause a racket. I have read that there is an ongoing dispute about that. First day we were hassled by locals for water sports, spa and day trips, but we ended up booking with Adam at cfun divers for the days snorkelling trip.
The snorkelling was good and you see amazing fish etc but for one and half hours snorkelling you are on the boat best part of 7-8hours.

We got the free shuttle boat over to the beach at the cove entrance to do the snorkelling, some nice fish dotted about - but coral has been mostly destroyed due to swimmers feet. Snorkel gear can be hired or bought at hotel for reasonable prices.

The pool area is empty at about five pm, which is around the time the sun goes hiding for the night, dinner is served from then but we still had a spell then where the evening was utterly boring. Towards the end of the trip we really couldn't be bothered to spend the time getting dressed up when we would literally go down for food (always tables free at any time) we would then find a lull if we went down too early before the evening entertainment began. What a poor show this turned out to be. Night after night, just drab night after drab night. The resident duo were just awkward, the girl having a nice voice but there is just no interaction with the crowd. The local singers very poor, the dancers and other acts just lack effort. Everything is all geared up for this lovey scene due to it being a couples holiday. It's a bit cheesy.

There are two other restaurants, both empty every night, a pub which showed the english football which we found out held karaoke until 1am by people talking on the beach. We went that night, arrived at 11.20pm with 6 people being in there and they turned the music off at 11.40pm.

One night we got the bus to Naama, it is free there and back if you can fit the time in, but we chose to get a taxi back. About £3, but an awful journey but done quickly despite the hassle you get from the prospective drivers. We eat at TGI Friday which was bad and drank at Hard Rock Cafe, all because we wanted something a bit better and fed up after only a few days of this below average standard we were to become used to.

One thing that bothered us on this trip is that it seemed to be a week where everyone smoked. Of course we know the rules are slack here but at the outdoor restaurant it is acceptable to light up.

The bar waiters are fantastic, they remember your drink orders and your glass is never empty. I guess they are overworked as they are there all day and all night. Customer relations lady took our feedback on a couple of occasions, after we mentioned the poor food she didn't ask us for feedback again!

Have to pay £35 for a late checkout of 6pm. Bearing in mind all flights arrive and depart around 9pm. Every room pays this, how much does the hotel make per day?

If I ever do return it would be because of the reef and the wonders on offer there. Disappointed to not be able to visit mount sinai and st Catherine's monastery due to recent troubles.

Many places in Egypt I would like to travel too but Sharm just is not good enough.

Room Tip: Right hand side, first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LKPAA25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week last November, my only regret was we only booked a week.
The rooms were fabulous, the grounds amazing with hammocks and daybeds dotted around the gardens. The beach was lovely, the food fantastic. Nice, chilled out entertainment. There was an itinerary of events, from blankets on the beach music night to cocktail making classes, a free boat trip and a guided tour round the old market which was a few minutes walk away.
We were hoping to go back in November but Thomson have sadly dropped the Bournemouth flight.
Could not find fault with any aspect of this hotel.
And make sure you try the couple's spa treatment.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittenheelmulegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugeley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

you read all the review,s and everyone mention,s the staff, and how hard they all work, but trust me the bar staff and sabry at the pool bar are amazing.adel with a smile always on his face,mustafa just keep,s going, and the cheeky one fathy who just,s laughs all day.but the real star,s are hany and sabry a credit to the hotel. the hotel is clean, rooms typical for egypt large bed,s, can,t fault in any way. the food seemed a little poor our first few day,s but it got better as the holiday went on.the best part of this hotel was that there were no russians here, and after visiting egypt about 13 times it was a pleasure. the hotel was about 55% full and yet you still had to be up early to get a sunlounger at the top pool, so be warned if you come here when the russians come back. bad point too many cat,s roaming around, so would we come back,i think so which would be a first because we have never gone back to the same hotel again, and that is a credit too the staff here.

Room Tip: the rooms are all the same, but a deluxe overlooks the pool or sea compared to a superior room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iloveholidaysRugeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Third successive year at the Iberotel Palace and the reasons why we keep returning are still as valid as ever. Its a great location with private beach, you can always get a sunbed any time of the day. Good variety and choice of food at the restaurants and beach bar. Exceptional service and friendliness from all the staff, whether that be beach attendants, restaurants, bars, room cleaning, reception, they all go out of their way to try and meet any request you have. Fantastic place to relax and chill out for 2 weeks. Will be booking again for next year. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.6 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,141 reviews
4.5 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,901 reviews
1.1 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,881 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,045 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberotel Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Palace

Property: Iberotel Palace
Address: | Maya Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#6 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Iberotel Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Palace Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Palace Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing