We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sixth time in Fanara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Ranked #37 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed August 12, 2013

(English is not my native language, sorry for misspells)
This hotel is not necessarily for everyone, so I can't suggest it without some reservations. We have just spent our sixth holidays in Fanara (my wife and me and kids 7 and 10), so obviously those reservations do not bother us too much. The location is superb if you want to snorkel and dive, since it has a beautuful house reef(s) - including reefs of nextdoor hotels. The beach is not big, but it has sand lagoone for kids. Also (important!) it is protected from the waves and the corral reef is "opened" 24/7 (during daylight ;-). But if you have problems with stairs or walking up the hill from the beach, you should reconsider this hotel - the beach is about 30m lower than the hotel and the climb in noon sun can be chalanging.

The rooms have just been refurbished, but familly villas are kind of worn out. I hope, they start refurbishement there as well (soon!).

The guests were mostly Italian in thew past, but this year mostly Russians were seen. The intertainment is mostly Russian as well and to be honest not really on a high level. But we do not care for this very much, we spend our days snorkeling and diving. Dive center is nice there.

The food is not greate, although it was better this year than previous ones. We were still missing some variation, missing some arabian food, missing lamb, missing fresh fruits (water-mellon, for example) and so on. So - food is getting better but it is still not a higlight of this hotel.

All-in-all, if you are into beach, corral-reef and do not care about entertainment, this could be your hotel of choice (it is ours, since next year we are returning for 7th time:-)).

Room Tip: Hotel layout is very narrow and very long. Normal rooms are close to pool and close to restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FreeDive-AlesK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 1,852 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 weeks in july ... all in all the hotel is absalutely brilliant .. all the staff are very helpful and will do anything for u especially mohammed in the italian restaurant and amro in the main restaurant. The bar staff are very friendly and have a lot of time for the english people ... the food is really bad we asked the chef why the fish and chicken was always raw and they replied its the way we cook it like the beef and lamb ect. But of theres something that is not on the menu if u ask they will cook it for you ... if u are english and looking to stay in egypt I would look at staying in a hotel that caters for english even if it means paying extra because u will be ill if u eat here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lukeus0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2017

Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing jaz fanara resort to [spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by e-mail fo@jazfanara.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.
Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Front office manager
Amro Gamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Just had two weeks at the fanara,playing spot the Brit ! Came across eight all together,and we would not have stayed there if we had known this.Entertainment was very poor,unfriendly russians singing karaoke,was like going to a funeral.No where to walk to,outside hotel,and the private beach was small and jam packed full of sunbeds.Food was bland,and the beer gassy.On the plus side,the staff were very good and the free snorkling was fantastic.One visit to Sharm,is enough for us,and we could not believe the shrubs and plaques.planted for those people who had been to the hotel,eight times or more.It looked like a plot,at the local crematorium !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GillianH2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady i, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Iberotel Club Fanra&Residence to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by e-mail Ahmed.Hosny@iberotelclubfanara.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.
Thank you once more for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Ahmed Hosny
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Me and my husband had a fantastic time at Iberotel Club Fanara from May 25 to June 8 and I must say,really fantastic.First time in Egypt and fantastic!!!
The staff are fabulous,can t do enough for you and all they want in returns is a smile.Our room was always nice and clean and a little suprise every day.Our cleaner was very nice and friendly.
We stayed in room 315,about 10 min away from the beach,but very nice ,quiet.Nice walk to the beach because we spent our holiday on the beach.
The food was good ,everyday had something different,BBQ dinner fantastic and Italian restaurant great.Thanks x
Gardens and pools are lovely,perfect weather and lovely swimming in the Red sea.Perfect for snorkeling,only I think,they need a jetty and people maybe will stop walking and damaged the corals.
Staff from Diving centre are excelent,helped me to get over the fear from the deep water.Thanks!!!
Had an excelent first trip to Egypt and I would like to thank all the staff at Iberotel Club Fanara for an Excelent holiday!!!!! Jana and Igor

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 411Jana67411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from 2 weeks at The Iberotel Club Fanara. What a wonderful place, the people from the room cleaners to the Management were very friendly and always spoke or acknowledged you. The waiters and bar staff were very helpful and friendly and made you feel welcome. We had a superb room overlooking the pools and the sea..As for the Animation Team well, what can I say, they were wonderful always encouraging you to join in their classes and taking time to chat during the day. They worked very hard into the night and put in some good shows.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed staying in the hotel. Reef is nice, food - ok (not delicious, but good enough). Animation ok, but worse in comparison with Turkey. Alcohol is ok for Egypt but nothing more. Service is ok but not the Ritz...:) I recomend the hotel to middle class and to young people. At the same time, you may add some money and find something better.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tabakhov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady i, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Iberotel Club Fanra&Residence to spend your holiday. We would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements in 2013.
However, we must say that your comment about the photographer has drew a lot of our attention.
If you wish to give us more details, kindly write to us on info@iberotelclubfanara.com
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Hotel Managment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 22nd of June 2013 for one week. Having read a few bad reviews on here regarding this hotel my husband and I were a little apprehensive but couldn't have proven more wrong. Staff couldn't have been more helpful on arrival and throughout our stay. Had a gorgeous room by the pool which was cleaned daily. Hotel overall was spotless including reception, restaurant, beach and pool area. Large selection of food at meal times. Didn't get to try the Italian restaurant as my husband didn't bring long trousers with him but staff did offer to go and purchase him a pair which we politely refused. English guests are in minority but this didn't pose as a problem as the hotel catered for all nationalities. Animation team were great with always something going on if u wanted to take a break from sunbathing. Had an excellent first trip to Egypt and would like to thank all the staff at club fanara for an excellent holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairescott23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017

Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#13 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,455 reviews
3.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,484 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
Sunrise Diamond Beach Resort
#43 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberotel Palace
Iberotel Palace
#11 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
Reef Oasis Beach Resort
#46 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence

Address: El Fanara Street | Ras Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#35 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $70 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Club Fanara And Residence
Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Hotel Fanara Residence
Iberotel Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing