We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Man's Mexico”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Ranked #31 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Poor Man's Mexico”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The Hotel facilities are nice, however, the staff need lessons on how to cater to patrons. There were many times, servers were not as courteous as they should be.

The drinks are OK and the food is mediocre. They need a better way of deterring flies from their food such as removing or cleaning spills by the buffet.The manager was very nice and listened to our complaints. The rooms were good and clean; the beds comfortable and the A/C was working great.

We spent most of our time by the (fair-sized) pool as the beach attached to the hotel is not very nice.

The best part of this is that the price is excellent for an all-inclusive resort. You can't beat that.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmartez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing jaz fanara resort to [spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by e-mail fo@jazfanara.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.
Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Front office manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    898
    509
    144
    63
    32
See reviews for
529
533
160
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Just returned today after a week in Iberotel Club Fanara. Overall impression very good hotel with amazing views and the food is excellent - the best I have experienced in Sharm for variety and taste. At lunch time they have outdoor buffet with BBQ which is excellent so relaxing sitting looking over the red sea. The majority of staff are excellent and all have excellent english.

This hotel is mainly Italian based but there were a few english speaking guests more than I expected. The animation is based around the Italian guests but everyone is welcome to join in - thank you Iman - this guy is very very friendly and makes all nationalities very welcome but I will say that not all the animation team are as friendly.

The hotel comprises of one large swimming pool which was heated - very nice - beach is very small and it is very strange that there is no jetty out over the coral. So if you are not a strong swimmer you may find it difficult to see any fish as you should not walk on coral and the hotel does not provide a jetty.

Our main problem with the hotel was regarding the rooms - we booked through Travel Republic for 2 people originally then changed booking to 3 people - we had paid extra supplement for a Superior room. When we arrived very late at night the hotel only had a booking recorded for 2 people (original booking) in Superior room - the hotel insisted that a 3rd bed could be fitted in the room no problem. When we saw the room we were astonished at how small they were you could not fit a 3rd bed in (Travel republic had taking a booking for 3 adults in this Superior Room and we paid in full). They tried to give us a camp bed as the 3rd bed which we refused. Eventually we got upgraded free of charge - to a family room which did fit 3 adults with ease. So please note all rooms Superior, sea or pool view rooms only fit 2 adults they are so so small - smallest I've ever seen in Sharm.

We also had a problem with our cleaner and the dirt in our room - we did not bring it to Customer relations attention until near end of holiday as I was unwell with ear infection and just couldn't be bothered - but we did go and speak with Chiara (customer relations) and she came to view the room with housekeeping manager - in the 5 days we were there not once was our floor cleaned or washed etc. They said it would improve following day (yesterday) yes room was tidy but again floors unwashed - we found this unacceptable and nobody followed up to see if we were happy or not??? Not even when we checked out were we given a comment sheet which is unusual (as I feel for all hotels it is important to get customer feed back).

As I stated there is one pool and this is where animation team are situated - so at times very very noisy - and really the music at the pool needs to be looked at - up to date music in morning and relaxing music in afternoon. It should not be down to what animation team wish to listen to after all we are the guests and a variety should be played at an acceptable level of sound. Animation team put on shows go see MTV very good and DJ Miso (excellent - with a wonderful friendly manner) in the night club everynight after show till midnight - good fun.

The above are the reasons why this hotel is not 5 star and at times may struggle with 4 star -even the family room we stayed in could have been updated - very tired looking. What needs to be fixed here is not difficult and could be done in general to bring up it's rating but they need to listen to their guests. They have a wonderful staff and the feel is very relaxed in this hotel and the information leaflet you receive needs to be updated and map attached (as we only got map by chance it was not given to us).

Would we go back - I may but the other 2 girls will not.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank irishMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 20, 2017
Dear Guests,

thank you for choosing jaz fanara resort to [spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback.
Our whole team is extremely committed to delivering the perfect holiday experience for each and every guest. We are very sorry that we didn't accomplish this for you. We welcome any suggestions for improving and developing our service. Please contact me by e-mail fo@jazfanara.com in order to discuss your impressions in more detail.
Thank you, once more, for your visit to our hotel. We would also like to apologize again for not fulfilling your expectations.
We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

Front office manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Please read this recent review first, as it was one of the best I have seen lately
From beachlover30
I printed this off and the information was spot on,
We were there from 16th Feb to the 23rd Feb for a relaxed chilled out holiday, and that is what we got.
Airport was a bit hit and miss, finding transfers was a laugh, no reps in the airport, and suitcases for 4 flights on one baggage belt was a bit of a bun fight, coming back, long queues for both scanning of cases and through customs, beware you need to fill in an exit visa card as well, so have a pen handy or ask for extra cards on the plane coming out,
General room On arrival at the hotel, we were greeted by the desk manager with a drink and cool hand towels to refresh, who explained all the hotel and that we were the only English couple in today, we were booked for the garden section, but were told we were upgraded to the superior rooms facing the pools with the extra added, the good wife still thinks I had planned this, but did not, the room was as excepted , good size with walk in shower, fridge, coffee tea and kettle, safe (free) plenty of electric points, TV ( World news and 2 English movie channels.
Beach. The Hotel is right on the beach so the location is superb, although it is a few steps down or a ramp., Basic sun beds no mattresses, beach bar only beer and soft drinks, Don’t pick the beds closest to the sea, because when you climb the hill for your lunch, the tide comes in quite quickly, and soon your belongings are a bit wet, (got some good video of and the attics of the people on return) Although the beach was very popular we mainly stayed around the pool.
Food. The all-inclusive give you a great choice, but there was a few niggles, Breakfast was between 7:00am and 10:00amso the best time was before 8:00am if you require a relaxed meal. Hot food was mainly a choice of 2 egg dishes omelettes to your choice, or fried eggs, sausage was small beef sausage ( sorry no pork or Bacon ) assorted cold meats cheeses bread etc., and plenty of fruit. This was a great place to people watch and see the attics of other nationalities on how they eat, it is impossible for the food to run out as it is well stocked up but why take platefuls of everything and cover their tables only to leave it, and the amount of fruit that was disappearing out of the door was unbelievable,
Again Lunch was an experience but you need to time it well, normally served outside around the pool, but at 12:30pm the masses arrive from the beach, and swarm in onto the serving areas, queuing 40 deep at times for the grill section, again fresh fruit disappears as fast as it is put out, best time is around 1:30pm when the crowd has returned to the beach, and it becomes more relaxed with no queues. There is an excellent choice to pick from so should not go hungry.
Evening meal is in the main restaurant, and again you need to time your entrance it opens from 6:30pm to 9:00pm but we found 7:45 to 8:00pm was fine, and we were always given a table (see tipping)
The other choice is to take a short walk up to the Italian restaurant at the top pool ,around 10 minutes’ walk from the main complex, which is so much more relaxed and quiet, no queuing, etc., yes it is a buffet service, the pastas you decide what you want from the many bowls and the chef cooks it for you, pizzas are well stocked up , but there is a lot of other choices, from duck, chicken , veg, soups and starters and sweets, opens 6:30pm to 9:00pm but is much more relaxed and you can sit outside around the closed pool area, plus a small indoor Bar attached. Of the two restaurants I preferred the Italian just for the relaxed atmosphere.
Cliental It was not until the last day we found another English couple, from Maidenhead as it is made up of eastern European cliental and a lot of characters if you go into people watching. Not sure why the British are not booking here, as it is in a prime location, and offers all the facilities you require, the staff are the best I have ever saw in a hotel all hard working and make you welcome,

Tipping Yes we tipped , and I am glad we did, it was not a great deal, but the service we got back was perfect for the holiday, The room cleaner we tipped roughly 10 or 20 LE pounds every other day total of 100LE pounds, it was worth it just for the towel designs each day, Restaurant staff again 10 to 20 Le pounds each day, they share the tips but as soon as you enter the restaurant , your table is found, and drinks are constantly brought to you, either breakfast, lunch or evening Meal.
Mainly sat in the main bar perched on a stool, again found 30 to 50 LE at the start and again midweek found we were served straight away ahead of the queues that were forming from the bar staff, so total for tipping was 300LE pounds for the week (around £30-£33 depending on the rate.)
And that was all we spent.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, who just wants to chill out, meet some wonderful staff, and do nothing for 7 days,
PS Even on leaving the local rep, missed us and phoned the coach driver to speak to us, to wish us a safe Journey home, now I have never had that service from a TIU rep yet, just made the holiday complete. Are we going back, YES first chance!!

Room Tip: ask for a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank briansintouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We decided we didn't want to spend a fortune on our half term getaway and so settled on Fanara as it seemed to have good facilities and a great location at a reasonable price. We are a family with two children - age 4 and 7 - and overall we thought Fanara was excellent. As many others have said, the staff cannot be faulted - they genuinely seemed to enjoy helping us out and were lovely with the kids, chatting to them and taking the time to sneak them a 'secret lollipop' or get them an ice cream. I would say the food was what we expected for the price - lots of choice, some delicious some not to our taste but with lots of Italian and Russian guests as well it would be impossible to please everyone. The al fresco lunches were the best for me, freshly cooked meats and lots of salads and vegetables, eaten overlooking the sea with a cold wine - lovely!
The room (a family suite in the residence section) was a bit tired and dark, but for the price we paid perfectly adequate. Hot showers and clean sheets every day, plus being a little bit away from the pool area made it quiet in the evenings. We enjoyed the evening entertainment - very cheesy, shall we say we laughed at them rather than with them, but it was all done with the best of intentions and the kids loved the singing.
The pool area and the beach are absolutely lovely and where we spent most of our time. The main pool was heated, luckily, and the sea was fine for short dips, though we did hire wetsuits from the friendly dive centre when we went snorkelling for longer periods.
And as for the snorkelling - wow! We are both divers but saw no need to dive here when the coral was so accessible and so visible. Fantastic - make sure you go on a guided snorkelling trip with Sophia, she'll take you further out than you may dare go by yourself but it's absolutely beautiful and well worth doing.
We took side trips to Naema Bay (yeuch - don't bother, too much hassle and tacky) and to Soho Square (a bit more up market and a good destination for a nightime shisha pipe!) and we took the kids on a submarine boat trip which they loved. Apart from that it was a week of swimming, snorkelling, eating and drinking - if that's what you're after Fanara has it in spades. Well recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

A very good hotel with great facilities. Beach was good, pool very good. Room was in the residence part and was very good. All inclusive option gave a changing menu with a great deal of choice in 2 evening restaurants, 1 lunch open air buffet, and a good breakfast. The service from the staff was excellent, everyone of the staff tried as much as possible to make the stay enjoyable. Extra thanks to El Sayed who went the extra mile on several occasions to make sure we had an enjoyable time.

We used the hotel taxi, reliable and fixed price.

We cannot complain about any part of this stay, it was very good.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ustw0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel from 2nd to 9th Jan 2012 and was very happy indeed. On arrival we took a seat in the lobby while the staff checked us in and we were brought a refreshing cocktail from a waiter which was very welcomed after our long day of travelling.
Our room was a "single saver " room which when we saw it we werent very happy as it was quite small and no balcony. We asked if we could move rooms and the reception said that we could have one the next day so we were pleased. Our new room was fabulous so it was worth moving. Only shower though, no bath.
The pool area was lovely and clean with great sunbeds and there were always plenty of them, and always someone to assist you moving them if you wanted a different spot. The walk down to the beach was only 5 mins, down a steepish hill either by slope or stairs if you preferred. The beach was a little crowdedand the sand was a bit shingly so we prefferred it by the pool.
The food was good, always something to eat to a good standard. The main restaurant was a little busy at the rush times, there was an egg station at breakfast time that made omlettes or fried eggs just how you like them. Lunch was at the poolside restaurant, lunches were excellent, plenty of choices and of good quality and always a meat being cooked fresh infront of you . The eveing meal was back in the main restaurant or there is an Italin restaurant about a 10 min walk from the main restaurant that we absolutely loved. It was quiter and much more relaxed and intimate there. Pasta cooked as you liked it, we ate here 5 nights out of the 7.
The bars served lots of cocktails and i tried all of them, be rude not to and the waiters get to know you and know what you like and sometimes had it ready for me before i even asked ! The all inclusive red wine was of a good standard, better than any other all inc ive stayed in.
We did a boat trip to somewhere, i cant remeber exactly, possilby ros mohammed or something like that which we really enjoyed, i went snorkelling while mum just sunbathed on the boat, the guys on the boat were so funny and informative was a great way to see all the fish without doing any hard work. It cost about £33.
No need to take a beach towel to this hotel, they give you one. If going in the winter time i would advise you take lots of work clother for late afternoon and evening as it does get cold. The sun was weak after 3pm, was too cold to sunbathe then but the sun comes up really early so we were sunbathing by 8.30 most days.
The lad that cleaned our room was great, he made us so many displays out of towels on the beds and he used to wait for us to return to our room at show us what he's made, we had swand, hearts, crocodiles monkey and a baby one day. They really do work so hard, a little tip goes a long way with them so if u can spare the money make sure you do.
I loved this hotel and i will be returning next Jan for some winter sunshine.
The only negative thing i have to say about this hotel is that people are allowed to smoke in the lobby of the hotel, it was too cold to sit outside of an evening so we had to sit inside and the smoke made our thoats really sore.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed at the Club Fanara for three weeks covering Christmas & New Year. We stayed in the residence part which suited us being a bit cheaper & quieter but still close to all the amenities.The Hotel and room was spotlessly clean. The weather was excellent as was the food. It does become repetitive if you pile it up but there's plenty of choice. We tried having a soup & salad roll for lunch & Meat/Fish and veg for dinner. We found this ample. The Spa guys can get on your nerves a bit but if you stick to your guns they don't bother you that much but are still friendly. Overall the staff are briliant... very friendly and polite.. The Christmas and New Year Gala's were exceptional... we felt very special.. Well done Fanara, you should be proud.. We will be returning to this very well run organised Hotel....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 928Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amro G, Manager at Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence, responded to this review, February 19, 2017
Dear Guests,
thank you for choosing JAZ Fanara Resort to spend your holiday. My team and I would also like to thank you for your critical and valued feedback. You have provided us with great motivation in our strive to continuously improve the service we offer.
As a result of our efforts. This recognition directly influences our commitment to further improvements
Thank you, once again, for your visit to our hotel, and for your feedback.

Front Office Manager
Amro Gamal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
3.9 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,237 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
SENTIDO Reef Oasis Senses Resort
#11 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,333 reviews
4.7 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
Il Mercato Hotel & Spa
#4 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
358 reviews
10.7 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#7 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
3,953 reviews
7.8 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#21 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
6,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence

Property: Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence
Address: El Fanara Street | Ras Om El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt (Formerly Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence)
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 378
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Club Fanara & Residence Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Iberotel Club Fanara And Residence
Iberotel Hotel Fanara Residence
Iberotel Hotel Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing