We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated but still good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Ranked #4 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2008

From reading previous reports i was expecting a world class experience as some writers had stated they had stayed at some of the best hotels in the world and this ranked among them!

The Four Seasons Sharm is a very good hotel and along with its sister hotels in Cairo probably the best in Egypt but not world class.

The devil is in the detail and when you have experienced THE best, the Four Seasons Sharm lets itself down with a number of small things that all mount up to put it into a "good 'ish" 5' star catgeory, which in fact is quite an achievement for a hotel in Egypt so credit to Charlie Parker and his able team.

Thanks also to Charlie and the staff for their concern and assistance with regards my travelling partner who was laid up in bed for 3 days with a really bad case of the [--]!

Also thanks to the staff at the diving school for getting me through the PADI qualification -you were excellent guys especially my personal instructor Rob Walsh!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Riki747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,677)
There are newer reviews for Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,677 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2008

My husband & I stayed at this resort in April/May of this year as a birthday surprise for my husband.
We are well seasoned travellers to many five star resorts around the world -indeed this hotel was recommended by our travel agent who knows us well.

The location/amenities/room/spa etc were of a high standard,however sadly that is where my positive comments must end.

To say we were unlucky with the service we received is an understatement.We have since received a formal apology from the assistant manager as clearly levels of service were not up to their high standards.
To be fair to the hotel I am not going to catalogue the appalling service we received throughout our 7 night stay -if any of you wish to have a further in depth discussion please feel free to e-mail me.
All I would say is that when this hotel is busy -standards fall considerably. They also do not always follow requests sent by guests travel agents for special dinners etc.I had pre booked my husband's special birthday meal several months before through the travel agent who had e-mails to prove it -only to be told when we go there that there was another couple dining on the beach & could we have the meal on the day after his birthday !

Please feel free to e-mail me for any further information.

8  Thank melanie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

I cannot fault this hotel on any level at all - it was amazing.

Rooms were big, clean had everything, great view. They upgraded us to a suite on arrival which was unbelievable. 2 bathrooms, lounge etc.

The service is what i still cannot get over and have not found better since. I could list examples but I'd be here for a few hours.

The restaurants are not cheap but are very good quality. If you eat out in the local towns then it will cost about 75% less and have a bit more atmosphere.

Great facilities here, pool tents and an amzing coral reef to view of the beach......there is no beach as such (which is similar to many of the hotels in sharm). The pool makes up for it.

The limo service to and from the airport is worthwhile, especially since when leaving to go to the airport the driver/assistant seem to know the airport staff and you get fast tracked through the luggage scanning.

  • Stayed: February 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yatesy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

My husband, our 15-year old son and myself spent 2 weeks at the Four Seasons Sharm El Sheik. We booked the flights and the hotel direct, this did save us approx £1,000 on the total cost. From the moment we were met at the airport by the hotel’s Meet & Greet service we knew we were in for something special, and we were not disappointed.

From this first experience to our final one when we were taken back to the airport every single member of the Four Seasons staff never put a foot wrong. The Concierge, Reception, Housekeeping, Restaurant Staff, Pool staff every single person was so kind and they could not do enough to make you happy, they even remembered our name.

This is a 5 star hotel, it’s not the cheap option and the facilities are therefore what you’d expect.

Of particular note:
Fantastic Food – yummy breakfasts
Fantastic staff and faultless service
Perfect Housekeeping – twice a day – lovely touches – complimentary bottled water
Fantastic Pool Service – lovely touches from cleaning sunglasses, cold towels and water spray
Sun beds - so comfortable
Dreamily comfortable hotel bed and bedding – proper air conditioning
Sinai Blues Dive Centre
Waha Restaurant’s Butter Chicken is the most fantastic Indian ever - the chef is a genius.
Hotel’s limousines – luxury and safety when venturing into Sharm.

Going to Sharm in July I was concerned that it would be too warm, it was 36 – 40 degrees, which is very hot. However, because it was so dry it was not an oppressive heat, and as the hotel was so well air conditioned sleeping was never a problem.

We would definitely return again, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to the most discerning of people.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank clairelouise2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

We have had the privilege of staying in some of the best hotels in Europe, the USA, Dubai, the Maldives and Mauritius. None can match the Four Seasons in Sharm for quality of service, the beauty of the resort and the quality of the rooms and the grounds. The restaurants are superb and almost never disappoint. The staff can't do enough to help. It is expensive, but then you know that before you go. It is far less expensive than other comparable hotels in other parts of the world. We have now been back several times and can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Morphius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

My partner and i stayed at the Four Seasons sharm for a week, i can honestly say although its very expensive you are paying for quality, the rooms are spotless, the hotel is clean and well maintained.

There are 4 resturants the waha, reef grill, abresque and an Italian and the food is superb in each one.
We visited there in the very hot season so you can image that your constantly thirsty and hot but the hotel know how to accomodate that by brining you constant bottles of water and beverages, even when lying by the pool they bring you drinks, wet towels and spray you down (it is pure luxury).

Obviously as everybody knows most people when you go to egypt get some kind of illness, so all i can suggest with this is do not touch the tap water, ice or anything washed in the water like salads and fresh fruit try to stick to the cooked food, we personally didnt eat out of the hotel as we knew we could trust what they were preparing although my partner still got very ill from the heat.

The staff at this hotel are so polite and will assist you with any needs or problems you may have (espically one of the staff called Karam he was great), we also booked all our excursions through the hotel although they were quiet expensive they are well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jcbpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2008

My stay - June 21-July 4, 2008 - was nothing less than perfect. While the accomodations were up to Four Seasons standards, it was the staff that made all the difference. Everyone - from the housekeeping guys, to the waiters, the beach boys, and management - was cheerful, polite, and very courteous. Everyone spoke some English - and in turn, taught me a few Arabic words. I went specifically for the diving and the resort-based Sinai Blues operation was terrific. The European instructors know their waters and were a pleasure to dive with. Those wanting a long stretch of beach should look elsewhere as the beach here is small. One cannot go directly into the water because the coral reef runs to within a few feet of the sand. However, a short walk down the hosue pier leads to a living aquarium where you can swim and snorkel with the resident fish - truly a one-off situation. All in all, I would recommend the FS at Sharm for both the holiday-maker and diving enthusiast. Plan to go back next year!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank phildiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
5.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#3 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,417 reviews
4.3 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,226 reviews
4.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#62 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Rixos Seagate Sharm
Rixos Seagate Sharm
#2 of 33 in Nabq Bay
411 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
The Royal Savoy Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,448 reviews
2.1 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#6 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Address: 1 Four Seasons Boulevard | Sinai Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#15 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $271 - $600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rare among international sun destinations: a desert-and-sea hideaway - combining the Sinai Desert's guaranteed year-round sunshine and sand-swept landscapes with the Red Sea's turquoise waves and world-class diving. Four Seasons welcomes guests to Sharm El Sheikh's most complete resort: an oasis of lush greenery, swimming and spa, where authentic Egyptian traditions come to life with thoughtfully personalised care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
4 Seasons Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Four Seasons Sharm El-Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Four Seasons
Hotel Sharm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing