We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$71
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$182
$135
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parrotel Beach Resort(Nabq Bay)(Great Value!)
$92
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$70
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sol Y Mar Naama Bay(Sharm El Sheikh)(Great Value!)
$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Jaz Fanara Resort & Residence(Sharm El Sheikh)
$92
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$50
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Domina Coral Bay Oasis(Sharm El Sheikh)
$104
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,827)
Filter reviews
2,827 results
Traveler rating
1,225
793
401
211
197
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,225
793
401
211
197
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingnaama baylobby barfishsea viewanimation teamspecial thanksprivate beachcoral reefbad reviewstiran islandsoho squaresharmpoolsholidaydivingwaiters
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
589 - 594 of 2,827 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My boyfriend an I stayed here for a week in October 2012, we had a room in the main hotel which was lovely with good sea view, rooms very big and plenty of space, bathroom also good size. We went all inclusive but didn't think it was worth it as the food in the white cruiser wasn't very nice so we ended up paying to eat in the Indian and Italian all week, drinks were horrible aswell!! The majority of the staff were really nice and couldn't do enough for you, the 2 waiter's in the Indian and Ashraf the waiter in the Italian were lovely, nothing was too much trouble for them :) like other reviews on here have said... It is full of Russian people there an to be honest they arnt very nice people, on a few different occasions we had Russian people start shouting at us in Russian for no reason at all, quite intimedated and no need for it at all! Apart from that we had a lovely holiday but don't think we would go back to Egypt again for that reason only, but if we were to come again we would definatly book the Sheraton again. Lovely hotel and resort defiantly a 5* as its rated.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natalie2091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSharm, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hi Natalie2091
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your good comments about our rooms and are glad you liked the spectacular sea views the Hotel main building has to offer.

It is always a delight to see the names of our staff that have gone the extra mile to serve our guests we will congratulate Ashraf and the rest of our team.

Our aim is to provide as much variety to satisfy the different tastes of our guests. During the week we have different theme nights such as Oriental, Italian and Lebanese with live cooking stations so our guests always find something different with a nice selection of desserts and fresh fruits.

We hope to see you again in the future in our property or any Starwood hotels worldwide.

Do not hesitate to contact us in the future if we can be of any assistant with another stay.

Best Regards
The Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My partner and I have just spent our 2nd holiday in Sheraton Sharm. We thought we might not like it as much as we did 1st time, but we couldn't have been more wrong!!

It felt like visiting family; the staff have remembered us from the last time and they were welcoming us back with open arms - thank you Moustafa Hamman! Last time we stayed at the Villas, this time we had a Resort Room. Both were spacious, clean and quiet with great bars around. Our favourite bar was the Dolphin Bar and out of the many pools we preferred the Dophin Pool - thanks Ali and Dino for making it so special for us! We had excellent lunches at the Pool Restaurant and dinners at the White Cruiser - great service by Mohamed Hassan and his staff!! The afternoons were perfect for a bit of snorkelling from the jetty. We saw so many gorgeous fish and the coral reef was truly breath taking. Big THANK YOU to the best lifeguard Samy Habib!! There is a little bus that takes you around within Sheraton. The bus drivers were brilliant, funny and they picked you up from anywhere and took you where ever you wanted to go - thank you to our bus drivers! I must also mention the Spa. I had my 1st Egyptian massage done as recommended by the Spa manager. This was not included on all inclusive, but Shaimaa had actually got rid of my back pain - priceless! And there are other facilities to enjoy in the Spa like sauna, jacuzzi, aqua and gym.

We had such an amazing time, the 2 weeks have just flown by!! The staff is really friendly, extremely hard working, nice people; have really made our holiday a memorable one and we'll definitely be coming back to see our 'family' again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank netty0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSharm, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hi netty0007
Thank you for your lovely comments about our rooms, pools and staff. It is always a delight to see the names of our staff we will congratulate Moustafa Hammam, Samy Habib and Mohamed Hassan for their great efforts.
Our aim is to recognise our loyal repeat guests and to make such as your self satisfied and content with the facilities and service we provide in order to make our property feel like your second home.
It sounds like you enjoyed the use of our facilities. We are glad you had the chance to visit the Spa and had a great massage we will gladly pass on your comments to the Spa Manager.
Sheraton Sharm is a huge property, for those who prefer not to walk, there is a little bus as you mentioned which will take you to where ever you want within the complex.
We will look forward to your return. Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel very nice , room big and we feel comfort , TV need to be changed , service at bars very fast and friendly in restaurant need improvement and more staff required , staff make us happy and always anticipate to our needs , animation staff amazing, we enjoyed aquagym and beauch volleyball too much, food normal and need more selection specially during breakfast and lunch , main pool need more cleanness but if you want to relax use pools upper level .overall we enjoyed 14 days at Sheraton sharm and we will be back next summer

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joujou Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSharm, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2012

Hi Joujou Y
Thank you for you comments on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear you liked your room and you felt comfortable during your stay with us.
We have noted your comments about certain areas need more staff, and will take this into consideration.
We are glad you enjoyed the animation activities and will pass you comments to the Chief Animator to congratulate his team.
We noticed your comment about the pool cleanliness. All the pools are treated and cleaned every evening. However you comments have been noted and we will ensure that no areas are missed.
We will look forward to your return. Do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance in the future.

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My Dad, his partner and grandparents booked this holiday for us for our 21st and my Sisters 18th birthdays through low cost holidays in March of this year - the deal sounded a good one - all inclusive, villa, a tad pricey (Me and My sister very lucky to have had this paid for!!) and from reputation were led to believe the Sheraton is a good chain of hotels so had no concerns at this point.

We arrived in Sharm very excited and boared the transfer bus booked through A2B travel (I personally have used these before in the past last time I came to Sharm and have been good up until now) - we arrived at our hotel only to be asked for a tip from the driver? - Why?! We've paid for the transfer and the service was nothing to rave about - our bags we're thrown into the back of the mini bus through a back window and then thrown back out when we arrived at the hotel? My Dad gave the man some money to stop him going on, but he obviously wasn't happy with the amount that we gave, we proceeded to the reception lobby with the driver still shouting behind us.
We got dropped at the main reception and were told to wait for another bus to take us to the villa recepetion - all very confussing as the english spoken was not the best, we were ushered outside and shown a map on the wall? Again confussing

We got to the villa reception and were given our all inclusive bands (green) presuming that with these we could go to all bars, restaurants etc, but this was not the case, it was explained to us that we could eat in the al a carte's, at an extra cost, abit of a downer being told we could only eat in the main buffett restaurants when our expectations were, and what we were led to believe when booking, was that we had access to all facilities as we had booked 'all inclusive'.

We were then told we had been upgraded to rooms with a pool view and balcony each - we had already booked garden view rooms with balconys so we were not fussed about the view particularly but upon getting to the 'upgraded' rooms we were extremley dissopointed!
The room's were a decent size, but a little tatty, the bathrooms smelt rather odd, slightly mouldy, me and my sister sharing a room got a huge balcony - but my Dad and his partner had what can only be described as a fence outside the sliding doors? Obvioulsy we had originally paid for rooms with balconys - which is essential as my Dad is a smoker and enjoys relaxing of an evening having a smoke (as would be expected on your holidays!!) this was not acceptable! We rang back down to the reception and requested to be moved to rooms similar to that we had been promised... 2 hours later we had moved to rooms with balconys and a pool view - a pool not shown on the websites, situatated at the very back end of the hotel opposite a mosque - this in it self, no issues what so ever, nice view etc, until sleeping that night, around 4am in the morning when the prayer call's started over the speaker... Make sure to keep your air-conditioning on to drone out the noise of the prayers and also the generator situated to the back which made a rather loud buzzing noise through out the night .
That same night we went for something to eat in the main restaurant food = ok, average, outside was a terrace area with lovely views of the beach and sea and outside BBQ section, the hotel it self was nice, no complaints about the look, or cleanliness after this point.

We woke up the next morning with a fresh approach to the holiday (today is new day and all of that) and stopped off at the lobby bar for a drink, only to be turned away, with our green bands apparently if we wanted to drink there we had to be all 'inclusive, exclusive, premium' what ever it was called with a blue band, we went to the manger and also spoke to the rep Charlotte (who was no use nor ornament) and were told we could only drink at the lobby bar/swim up pool bar if we paid more money and upgraded? - The drinks served were exactly the same as they were at any other bar? Completely baffling!!
Apparently after booking this holiday in March the 'system' (as we were told by staff there) had changed approx 2 months before we flew out, and certain rules applied to certain levels of all inclusive? Being told we cannot even have a drink of water in the swiming pool without paying and having to get out and walk along the beach to the nearest bar is simply ridiculous - we were made to feel as though we were a lower class than those able to drink and eat where ever they wanted when enitially it was our expectation that we would be able to do this, as we paid alot of money and were told by low cost holidays that we were all inclusive, not once was it mentioned to us that their were other all inclusive options and a number of levels of all inclusive!

We managed to get away with drinking at the pool bar the rest of the week, by tipping a very nice man called Kareem, he looked out for us the rest of the holiday and supplied us with 'sneaky drinks' which in itself is laughable, we had to watch out for certain members of staff ('checker' as it read on their badges) if they were around we could not risk asking Kareem for a drink and did have to go else where.

Later on in the week we did all get abit of an upset stomach, due to something we had eaten? Which put us off eating there again, the last 2 days of the holiday we ended up going into Naama bay and eating out there (my poor dad ending up paying even more money)

Me and My sister did enjoy our holiday, hard not to when we had the best company, (my Dad and his partner) - The weather was nothing to complain about lovely 35c every day, but the service of the sheraton and the 'systems' in place did effect how much more enjoyable this holiday could of been.

To conclude: I don't think any of us will ever stop in a sheraton hotel again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSharm, Manager at Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi Amie W

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

The rooms in the Resort area do not have a standard size. There are rooms with big balconies and others with smaller balconies. We allocate the rooms according to the reservation received and requests according to availability. In your case you were not entirely satisfied with one of the rooms, therefore we moved you to other rooms.

With reference to your comments regarding A2B transfer company, A2B is not working with Sheraton Sharm although will forward your comment to A2B management.

Prior to your holiday you emailed the hotel with a few queries. Our Guest Relations Supervisor replied to you and explained that your reservation was in the Resort area and attached the Resort all inclusive concept. Additionally you were informed about the upgrade price to the hotel main building which also included upgrading your all inclusive package to Preferred all inclusive only available in the Hotel main building, again this was also attached in the email. Therefore you were fully aware prior to your arrival that there were some bars and facilities not included in your all inclusive package as you decided to remain in the Resort.

There are a total of 8 all inclusive bars available for the Resort guests located on the beach and by the swimming pools. Due to the large number of guests we accommodate, we are unable to include all the facilities and outlets in each and every all inclusive package as our aim is to provide the best level of service to our guests in each section. Staff should always follow the Hotel policy and the checkers are there to ensure that they do.

Hotel generator working at emergency time for a few minutes, we already contacted our neighbor hotel and advice them with your concern from the noise.

You mentioned that you had an upset stomach and decided not to eat at any of our restaurants as you believed that it was due to something you had eaten. We take hygiene very seriously; the temperature of the food is monitored before and throughout the service times by our Chefs. I would like to make it clear that if it had been food related then all the guests in house and staff would all have the same complaints as the food is prepared in the same kitchen.
We have daily records of all items served and conduct regular tests as per HAACP (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point) standards and have a monthly audit from international health inspection organization. We also serve approximately 1400 guests three times a day and if there were any food challenges, it would have definitely affected a large number of our guests. We also know that a lot of our guests conduct daily excursions and trips outside the hotel where they consume food and drink various beverages and it would be very difficult to control what our guests do outside the property to prevent any food borne illnesses. WE could not also find any visit from side to the clinic located in our property where you could have sought advice or assistance.


Best Regards,


The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

its good hotel especially for familys ummm the reason i gave it 3 outa 5 is there is no programe for after midnight except going out to dicos outa hotel this is a point nedd to be adressed shouid have some activity after midnight nd btw all the stuff was nice nd the food was good i had a pleasnt stay nd all the animation staff was extra friendly nd nice if i got to rate them alone i wouid have given them a 5 out five always smilling treating guest nice nd have new good activity on the beach if u look for a pleasnt cheerfull hotel make this ur choice

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSharm, Manager at Sheraton Sharm Hotel, Resort, Villas & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Hi memo88

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your nice comments about the food and our animation team; we will gladly pass them on to the chief animator to congratulate the team. We are wondering what program and activities we should do after midnight and we already have Disco till 02:00 hrs

Our property accommodates different nationalities and ages groups. Star Studio (Disco) starts at 10pm and closes at 2am therefore our guests can spend an enjoyable evening without having to leave the hotel grounds.

We hope to see you again in the future in at our property or any Starwood hotels worldwide.

Best Regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews