We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room a/c turns off when you leave the room - you always return to 40 degree C room!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh
Ranked #120 of 231 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have to admit I didn't like Sharm El Sheik so my whole review is biased by that. Sharm El Sheik looks like a demilitarised war zone, with white concrete blocks plonked onto flattened earth mounds. It is built for tourism only so has no heart – just horrendous. However I had to go there for work, and so there I was in ugly concrete hot hell.
The hotel is fine, the staff are of mixed help, the front desk staff try to be as helpful as they can – although not always effectively. The waiting staff in the restaurant were all lovely and very kind and friendly. And then there were the guys who drove the golf trolleys around. I assumed that these were for the tourists to take them form lobby to rooms – as it is up to a 10 min walk to some of the far away rooms, and it was 40 degrees, however the guys who drove them seemed to always have their friends on board, they would never stop to carry you anywhere, and they parked in the few places in the shade – thereby making you walk in the sun.
The rooms were adequate, large and spacious – BUT HOT. It would take the a/c about 20 minutes to start to have any cooling effect, I would just sit in the shower until the room cooled down.
The food is a weird mix of European, but I don't think I saw any Egyptian food in the daily buffet – except one day they had Foul for breakfast.
It definitely isn't five star. I didn't pay – work did, so I don't know if it is value for money, however personally I wouldn’t pay more than £35 a night to stay there.
I would never go back to Sharm or the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear tompel

We are sad to hear about your impression of Sharm el Sheikh and our Resort but thank you for your time and comments. As your business trip and visit was in summer time, the temperatures are above 40 degrees Celsius. Each guest room has an individual Air Condition unit, which may be adjusted manually according to your comfort.
Each Wednesday, we present a traditional Egyptian buffet at our Orangerie Main Restaurant and daily Egyptian breakfast items.
We thank you again for your feedback and if you have any further comments, please feel free to contact us at gr@src-maritim-jolieville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 887 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great place, clean, nice staff working there, everyone very helpsome, nice breakfast buffe, very nice and clean pool, also a pool for childen, beautiful private beach and very close to the center of Naama bay. I have stayed there 4 times now, and loved it every time :-)))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Tanja F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Tanja F
It was our pleasure to host you once again and we are already looking forward to welcoming you again in our sunny Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel recently and had a wonderful stay. The staff were terrific and always had a smile especially the staff in the non smoking area of the restaurant as well the security guard on the way to the pool who would always say hello. Location is ideal for families with kids. My son loved the pool and beach. Thank you Jolie Ville

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetheworl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Lovetheworl
We are pleased about your review and thank you for it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the MJV for a week 15th-22nd Aug. We thought the hotel was great and could not fault it. The hotel surroundings were very well kept with beautiful waterfalls and plants situated throughout the main walkway and the apartment blocks. Our room was very clean with a bathroom containing a shower, sink and some complementary toiletries. The main room is as you can see in the photo's containing a double bed, dressing table, tv and two chairs. There is also a safe, which we made great use of, facilities for tea and coffee if you ask the reception or the cleaner for sachets to be placed in your room they are happy to help and a balcony. The air con was also vital and we felt extremely at home in our room and whilst in the hotel.

The pool area was fairly big with a large pool and a pool side restaurant where you could eat, drink or make use of the free wifi. The staff where very willing to help you out with whatever you needed food, drinks or putting up your umbrella. The private beach was very picturesque and had a great view looking out into Naama Bay and the beautifully clear water of the Red Sea. There are also showers, changing huts and a bar. Again the staff are very obliging if you ask them for anything and they will quite happily have a chat with you in English to pass the time. I disagree with some of the other reviews that say the staff 'didn't ask if they wanted something' or 'favoured other guests' if you ask for something they are more than happy to help you (but Ramadan had finished so maybe the staff had a bit more energy)

The 4 restaurants offer a range of foods but we mainly ate in the beach BBQ and Italian restaurant Zigolini's as we liked the food so much in there. We did try the food outside the hotel and it is slightly cheaper but we felt the quality of the food was better in the hotel and it also meant we didn't get hassled in the street which was worth paying a bit more for.

All in all we had a great holiday but if you go to Egypt prepare to be hassled by the locals for trips or souvenirs regularly. If you smile, keep walking and say 'no thank you' they are fine but it does become a bit tedious when you say 'no thank you' to the same guy who's tried to sell you an excursion or cigarettes twice a day for a week. The other thing is be prepared for the heat it is extremely hot and we went through four bottles of sun cream factor 15, 30 and 50+ in a week.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Dear Daniel R
thank you for your overall very good feedback. We are glad you had a great stay at our Resort and hope to host you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I chose the MJV because we have stayed at MJV in Luxor many times and just love the Hotel, rooms, pools, location & food but most of all the wonderful staff.We had wanted to go back to Luxor but because we couldn't get flights we thought we would try Sharm El Sheikh.
Firstly the good, the location and surroundings of the rooms, pool and beach are 1st class and couldn't be better you wont go wrong if you chose this hotel for these reasons. Our room was kept really clean with nice quality bedding and towels. Flat screen TV with lots of channels to watch in English some with subtitles on the bottom of the screen which you get used to. Good Air conditioning An empty fridge you can order via room service to stock or go to nearby supermarkets which will be cheaper. A kettle and cups but no supplies of tea or coffee !!!!! Why ??? This was supposed to be a 5 star hotel !!!! But again can be stocked by nearby shops.We had a 2nd floor room which had a wonderful balcony with views over the walkway to the beach, pool and restaurants, lined by beautiful plants, trees and fountains. It was really relaxing to sit on the balcony with a cold G&T watching the sun set.Our bathroom was of a reasonable size but with a shower cubicle (no bath, which we didn't mind ) some toiletries which were restocked once in the 2 weeks we were there. Breakfast was of a good standard, eggs cooked to order and plenty of cold meats, cheeses, fresh fruit etc Also cereals yogurts cakes and breads.
Now the bad, We were there while Ramadam was on so don't know if this made a difference but our main disappointment was the staff. With the exception of a few, nobody seemed interested in attending to or seeing to guests needs beyond performing their duties. The pool guy sat head down reading while we approached with our towel cards handed us 2 towels and went back to reading then while we struggled to put up sun umbrella did come over to help.The same was repeated with beach towel guy. We chose to sit on the beach most days as the breeze off the water helped with the heat, and everyday met with the same routine having to go the beach bar to get drinks, then to order snacks. While watching the staff stand around chatting at the bar. We also agree we previous reviews that we did notice that some guests did get different treatment. Towels laid out on sunbeds etc. Now my husband and I are always polite and will always try and start a conversation with staff and if we've had good service will always tip accordingly.Another thing we couldn't understand was that doors around the resort to MJV restaurants were closed and barred so that you had to walk around the restaurants and out into the surrounding streets to gain access, instead of just walking in through the door from the resort This happened to us when we went to the Italian Restaurant which over looks the swimming pool and has a door from poolside straight up to it. But it has a message saying go around to the other doors street side This means a long walk out of the resort through the security gate in a big circle back to were the other side of the door is ???? Why ??? On hot sticky nights it doesn't make it easy for the guests. Because of this we decided if we had to keep walking around we might as well eat out else where which is a lot cheaper anyway, very strange you would think they would want to keep guests within the resort. As for entertainment, there was none Well we did see a young girl sing twice in the Seagulls restaurant. We saw the entertainment guys walk the beach cleaning bits of rubbish which was washed up on the shore twice a day the rest of the time they were sat around doing nothing.Not once were we approached and asked if we'd like to join in with any activity We spoke to another guest who had been to the Resort many times with her young son and has never seen it this bad she had noticed a big difference in the staff she had asked if they could arrange something to occupy her son and his friend and she was left having to find things for the boys to do.We tried to book a Bedouin night with a meal and was told there were not enough numbers to arrange this but they would get in touch with us if more came forward !! We never heard back so arranged a trip with Thomsons. Now the resort was very quiet while we were there and it was Ramadam and we realise that the staff were fasting but it was like they were out of energy and didn't care. Having said that the good did out weigh the bad and we will go back to this resort because as I said The rooms, hotel grounds, pool and beach are 1st class crystal clear water with loads of fish to see while snorkeling or just walking the floating pontoons. It is also in perfect location in the center of Naam Bay and all the night life and fabulous Restaurants Egyptian and International ie Hard Rock Cafe, McDs etc and not too expensive we went B&B and had some wonderful meals outside the hotel all good. Yes you will get approached (Can I ask you a small question my friend a favourite approach ) But just smile and walk on
I used the hairdressers 4 times and was very pleased the spa looked very nice too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear DianeB50
We thank you for your valuable impression about your stay at our Resort. We are glad you have more good than bad memories but sad about your experience with out service. We hope you give us the chance and visit us again, to show you our excellent service. Please feel free to contact us any time: gr@src-maritim-jolieville.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Me and my girlfriend have just returned from a 2 week stay here and we saw two very different sides as we was there for ramadam and eid. The main reason why i would have liked to rate it a 3 and half is mainly because of the restuarants. We got shown the menu for the french and the italian ones that they have on sight but we did not use them as people from them come round the pool with menu's to try and sell it to us but we did not feel that impressed as they was quiet limited. We used the main restuarant every day for breakfast and we was lucky to be offered a second cup of tea when the waiters could not stop getting several plates for some other people who were from that region. The omelette chefs would regually half cook the food as you could still see egg running over it once they had served it onto a plate for you while you waited while they was having them sent to people to save them collecting their breakfast. One thing i didnt get as well was that on the room service breakfast list there was porridge but yet there was no option in the restuarant which i eat most mornings and the option for english diners is very little. So we never used this one for any other meal again but yet the beach BBQ one was an absolute pleasure to dine at as we did a few times. Even the night of the nation wide curfew we went to dine in there and they said that it was closing but would bring our food to seaguils and we would have to dine in there which was fine by us. Otherwise we was eating in naama bay which was a lot cheaper.
You would also notice special treatment to certain people around the pool too as the "lifeguard" would looks after the towels would not only lay them out for some people but would also supply them with a second one as a pillow even before they arrived there in the morning and collected their towel cards. Everyday there was ment to be a recreational program in the pool which they give you a list for in your room but yet not one of these activities would actually be done as. The pool bar staff were very good on remembering what you would normally order from them and if they were passing then they would ask if you would like whatever you normally ordered from them like snacks or drinks.
The rooms were an absolute pleasure to stay in and slept perfectly well every night with it being cleaned thoroughly everyday by hany, our cleaner. There are only 4 channels in english though. CNN, BBC world news, Foxmovies and MTV. There is a mini fridge in the room which you can fill in a card to have them stock it but it does work out cheaper to buy the drinks yourself from local shops. The staff in reception, gardeners and security were absolute top notch and were very polite and always greeted you and wished you a good day when they would see you.
If you don't pay for the upgrade the you will be in the annex which is on the other side of a duel carriageway but it is not that bad to cross as i did a few times after getting cabs back from places like soho square and the go kart track

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shauncox1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear shauncox1982
Thank you for your time and your feedback. We take all your comments serious and consider them. If you have any further notes, we would be glad to hear from you and hope to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is my 6th visit to this hotel and it still continues to live up to my expectations every time that I visit.

We stayed in the Preferred Front Rooms which are only a short jaunt to either the pool or the private beach.

The rooms are large and clean and although a little dated, they really cannot be faulted at all - they even have a pillow menu! All rooms come with a balcony too for drinks whilst the sunsets.

The Orangerie Restaurant where breakfast is served is full of choice from an egg station to a large range of pastries so there's something for everyone - they even have diabetic jam and gluten free bread.

The private beach is just perfect. There's no race to get beds as there is plenty to go around and with fresh towels everyday. The beach bar has a happy hour too and the food from the beach BBQ restaurant is really tasty too and the staff are just fantastic!

The location is perfect too as it's right at the end of the strip so there's no need to haggle with taxis back to a hotel or waiting for complementary buses, you just walk straight out of the hotel. Even with the open air nightclub Pasha close by I've never in all the years that I've been there heard anything.

The Spa has also changed hands now and the service there is superb.

I shall definitely be returning - I love it here!

Room Tip: If you can get a Preferred Front Room as close to the Orangerie Restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eclair74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim J, Guest Relations Manager at Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your excellent feedback dear Eclair74, we hope to welcome you again to spend another fantastic holiday at out Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
0.5 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#5 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
4,656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
Hotel Novotel Sharm El Sheikh
#16 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,979 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Peninsula Hotel & Resort
Maritim Jolie Ville Royal Penins...
#85 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#9 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#64 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
2,208 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lido Sharm Hotel
Lido Sharm Hotel
#12 of 231 in Sharm El Sheikh
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh

Address: Naama Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#40 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#73 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#106 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#109 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range: $56 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
'The hotel occupies a prime location right in the centre of Sharm el Sheikh on Naama Bay’s promenade and sandy beaches of the Red Sea, offering 396 rooms including 23 suites, in 42 bungalows. All rooms are equipped with balcony or terrace, bathroom/WC, hairdryer, climate control, minibar, safe, telephone and Satellite TV. The cosy standard rooms are located in the Sport Area, which is around 300 metres from the main building and 700 metres from the beach. The comfort rooms are situated at the Palm Area, located beside the main reception area. 50 to 500 metres from the beach is the Preferred Front Area where the elegant superior rooms are situated. Gastronomic facilities feature 9 restaurants and bars covering a broad spectrum of international cuisine including 4 à-la-carte restaurants (thereunder a French and an Italian one) and the famous Beach BBQ. 24-hour room service is provided. The hotel’s expansive grounds and sports facilities ensure active guests have plenty to do. Newly built Thai Spa and wellness center, 4 tennis courts, children club, SUBEX diving centre, parasailing, various water sports, volleyball, horse/camel riding, safaris, jeep, quad and boat trips are offered. The Maritim Jolie Ville golf course is approx. 7 km from the hotel. Two pools (one with seawater and one with freshwater) are amidst the landscaped gardens. Kids will enjoy their time in the holiday club, open the whole year through for children from 4 to 12 years. Bakery, shops, bank, limousine service and a doctor in house are also offered. Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino occupies a conference centre, built on 3.000 m² of land, consisting of 7 meeting rooms, the biggest of which can accommodate up to 500 persons. All meeting rooms are equipped with the latest technology. Besides, the “Casino Royale” is operated by Casinos Austria International and located opposite the hotel. Business hours of reception: 24/7 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort & Casino Sharm El-Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Maritim Jolie Ville Resort And Casino Sharm El-Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing