We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Ranked #78 of 234 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
Reviewed April 1, 2008

The hotel was beautiful, with a good selection of amenties, however the service was not great as compared with other hotels in Egypt. There are numerous stairs in this complex so its not for the faint hearted. My partner and I are young and fit and even we struggled in the heat climbing 3 flights of steps to get to the main hotel building. The food in the hotel was ok - the mexican restaurant by the sea served delicious meals but was expensive - much cheaper to eat outwith the hotel.
The hotel is located well out of naama bay but we considered that to be a good thing as the hotel had a good house reef - no real beach to speak of though - and you can get a short taxi ride to either naama or old sharm for a couple of pounds (GBP), make sure you barter with the drivers as they will charge alot otherwise.
Overall, I did not enjoy Sharm el Sheikh but the hotel was a welcome retreat, although the service from staff could certainly have been better.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bairdwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,677
    812
    268
    114
    95
See reviews for
731
1,187
133
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We are very frequent travelers with over 75 hotel nights this year. This was bar none the worst night I have ever experienced in a hotel. The property is beautiful as is the reef. The restaurants are acceptable in general and the morning breakfast over looking the sea is very nice. We had a ocean view suite and found it quite large. The problem is not the setting but the management. This is a large hotel with many rooms; it is not a mom and pop operation. Yet, for reasons unknown they failed to have a night manager during the duration of our stay. One might say you could get by without one, if the staff is well trained and able to take initiative; the staff here is not (and I generally do not expect this level of performance but am pleasantly surprised when I find it). Hence, having a manager is very important to running a large property.
We encountered a major problem during our stay and made repeated calls to the front desk in the failed attempt to resolve it. We were promised a variety of answers with each call finally reaching the point that I asked for the manager only to be informed that he was on vacation. I then asked for the general manager and was told to hold on, that someone would call me back when they rang him. After 20 minutes without a call, I called again, to find the front desk changing their tune and that they had spoken to the front desk (day) manager and that there was really nothing for them to do and that we could complain after 8AM when the general manager arrived. Again, I demanded to speak to a manager - at least the customer should be able to speak to a manager in a retail operation. Again, I was told to wait a few minutes and that he would call. Again, no calls - by this point it was nearly 4 in the morning. I repeat - I was never able to speak with a manager during the duration of the night.
The next morning I did contact the manager only to be informed that the night manager was not on vacation, but, well, he wasn't there. Fib number one on the part of someone as the words were specifically "on vacation." No explanation was given. Next, he claimed that he was never informed of our problem by the front desk. Fib number two. Then he pulls out a list of rooms that had the same problems and complained throughout the night but claims that he did not receive the list until the morning. Apparently the staff had the initiative to develop a list of rooms to deliver to the manager in the morning - or perhaps, and more likely, they have problems often enough that they know not to even bother calling and have been instructed to simply make a list. Fib number 3. When confronted with all of these falsehoods, that I do not trust neither the staff nor the management any more, that my experience in this hotel was horrible, he apologized and offered me a bottle of wine or maybe a free dinner. When you run over someone with a truck and offer to get them a couple of aspirin, I don't consider that compensation, but an insult. I told him that and walked away. Later, I received a call that they would offer me one night free since I lost a night on the phone complaining. I still don't consider that an acceptable offer when informed that your customers are being lied to on top of problems with facilities. Problems happen - management and the staff takes care of it. I understand this. What is unacceptable, at least to me, is being lied to by the staff and the management is completely unconcerned about this on top of a large, major operation failing to have a night manager or system where customers can at least speak to a manager if there is a problem. BE VERY CAREFUL WITH THIS PROPERTY - if you don't have any problems, you will enjoy it. If you have any problems, you will be stuck with them.

  • Liked — large room
  • Disliked — Terrible Management
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riflemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Points to note:

1) It’s one of the furthest hotels from Nama bay (town centre) – however taxi /limo from the hotel is about €2 each way.
2) The resort is quite big but the hotel reef is excellent as is the beach area and staff. I dive and dived the “house reef “twice it’s as good as it gets.
3) Rooms are clean and spacious – not 5 star but with view and balcony no issues – the a/c is excellent.
4) Food – we were b&b – breakfast was as expected all usual offerings – bit of a queue for egg’s though - staff were friendly and attentive. We ate most meals at the hotel – although the order was slow to come out it was always hot, well presented and tasty – even the food ordered at the beach and brought down to the sun longer was good – no Pharaoh’s revenge (upset tummy’s) for any of us kids included and that makes the slightly extortionist food and drinks prices (for Egypt – prices at par with Europe) well worth it. Eating the main town on a short break is a risk in my view.
5) With regard to the other Guests the Russians are loud, hunt in packs and yes they do take your sun lounger even if you’ve placed a towel on it. With a little tolerance and a quick look at the lovely sea the intrusion is easily dealt with.
6) I visited the Hyatt when there for comparison –The Hyatt is a higher standard food and drink priced about 30% higher than the Renaissance and the staff were quite impersonal and difficulty to communicate with which I found surprising. Pound for pound the Renaissance is the one to go for.
7) Lots of steps – Club car is available to drive you around but frankly considering you’re sitting around all day a little walk won’t kill you. Not the resort for buggies though.

Finally, if you’ve booked go and enjoy – if thinking about it – there are better and worse resorts but this place with excellent access to the beach/reef and the standard of food hygiene is the one to go for.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank antigen315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We just returned from 5 days at the Renaissance Golden View Beach Resort and would in an instant book here again for our next trip. The resort was clean, quiet and beautiful! Staff were helpful and cheerful, going out of their way to make sure everything was to standard. My husband and I took our 2-year-old daughter and it was just perfect. For being a family resort, it felt peaceful and quiet. We couldn't book our entire week there, because they had sold out for the weekend when we booked and we moved to the Hilton Sharm Waterfalls (next door) for the latter part. We much preferred the Marriott Renassiance to the Hilton. We were also happy with the location as it was away from the grime of Na'ama Bay. The food was pretty good as well. Next time we go to Sharm, we are booking here again! And booking early so we have the whole time there!

  • Liked — the pools, the beaches, the nice staff, the peace!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank llphiluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We spent a lot of time trying to decide on the right hotel for our 1st trip to Egypt and Sharm. We’re so glad we chose the Golden Beach hotel. The entrance took our breath away on arrival and check in was friendly, quick and efficient. We were taken to our room (6112) by one of the many hotels club carts, which all added to the sense of occasion. Our room was huge with kitchen (no utensils but did have a cooker, microwave, fridge, washing machine etc.), livingroom (tv, couch, dinner table), bathroom (separate bath and shower), bedroom (tv, super kingsize, dresser), two outside sitting areas, loads of storage space and a sea view. More importantly it was clean and everything worked as it should. The grounds are beautifully set and well kept. There are lots of areas to sun bathe (poolside and beach) and we had no trouble getting a good spot even after 11am. The sea breeze was a bonus and meant extra time in the sun without over heating. Some people do get up early, leave towels and you never see them again but that happens everywhere. You will get asked about trips /excursions during the day but we found that just being polite was enough even if you are not interested. We went bed and breakfast, which I think, was the best option as there is a good selection of restaurants in Nama Bay. The hotel runs a bus service there every day which leaves at 5pm and 7pm picking up at 7pm and 9pm. We found it more than enough time to get a meal without feeling rushed. Food at the hotel was good although a little pricey when compared to Nama bay. We didn’t suffer from any ailments although we heard of many who had. Our advice would be to take any anti bacteria hand gel and use it religiously especially after handling any money. There is a cash machine in the hotel but it was broken more times than it was working so take some travels cheques just in case which can be redeemed at the hotel next door!

The staff are attentive, well mannered and cannot do enough for you. If you have a family then they’re great with kids. Their English is good and we had no trouble being understood. We did encounter one cleaner who was a bit cheeky but we just didn’t tip him for the rest of the rest of trip much to his dismay.

The best recommendation about the hotel we can give is that we will be going back later this year. For us the hotel is in a great location being slightly away from Nama bay and feels safe and secure. The staff are great. One of the best holidays we have had.

  • Liked — The friendly staff, size of room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank thesteils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at this hotel 13 to 20 March for a chill out week and it was perfect.

The hotel was fabulous - could not fault anything, and I was concerned after previous reviews on this site. the rooms were spacious and clean ( we could smell paint in the room on arrival and suspect they are tidying it up after previous comments on here)
The pool areas are spotless and comfortable, with cushioned sunbeds, and staff are very attentive.
The beach was good with a short promenade, and easy access via the jetty to the reef for snorkelling. We went in every day and thoroughly enjoyed it - we have dived and snorkelled in Sharm lots befor eand it is as good as anywhere here, right off the hotel. no need to book snorkelling trips !

The restaurant food was good quality, but the portions were small, and in the italien the steak dish was served with 'salad' which was really only on a bed of rocket - so my husband was still hungry afterwards.

For shopping there is a new mall just 15 minutes walk down the road - past the fantasia mall (Arabic and Egyptian stalls etc) another 5 mins further on to Il Mercato - this is an Italian style plaza, very modern and a bit manufactured but it has starbucks, and European shops -and a great restaurant with great food called Onions (dont let the name put you off) We had T bone steaks, Salad starters and the bill was around £15 - thats half the price of the hotel food). Also the bottled water in the hotel is expensive - you can get large bottled for 25 pence each just ten minutes walk down the road at the supermarket.

The spa was good - used the Gym everyday and pedicures etc reasonably priced (for a 5 star hotel) staff were quite friendly.

Finally to perfect your stay here, have a wander outside of the front gate and to the left down towards the sea. at the bottom on the right is a beach bar which looks a bit scruffy from the outside - but at sunset you will see coach loads turn up to watch the sunset ! Amazing. Get down there half an hour plus before sunset to get a good seat on the headland and have a relaxing cocktail - dont forget to take your camera !
We will definitely go back to this place

  • Liked — spacious rooms, snorkelling from jetty
  • Disliked — Quite a lot of steps - fine for us bit not great for walking difficulties, though they are happy to pick you up in golf carts and take you anywhere around the complex
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen0Adam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

After spending a week on cruise and being catered well for we wasnt looking forward to hotel.
To our suprise we will now be booking for 2 weeks at hotel, staff were brilliant, room service good price there are lots of steps but beautiful gardens and fountains along the way plus there are golf buggies if you dont want to walk.Cannot fault this hotel its georgeous again the staff cant do enough for you and they deserve every tip.
just 5 mins walk down the road theres a shoping district il mercato theres no alcohol for sale here which stops the idiots going (didnt bother me and im in my twenties) eat at onions we paid around 198 egyptian pounds for 3 of us and we had starters,mains,drinks.Staff great .
back to hotel at the beach we had samir and mohammed serve us they are great and the aqua bar staff work hard so tip well they deserve it. I found it overall good prices and excellant service book in advance.

  • Liked — the vast amount of space meant it never felt crowded
  • Disliked — not really accomadaton but other guests reserving sunbeds and then going out for the day
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank claremck206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.6 mi away
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
Sharm El Sheikh Marriott Resort
#60 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jaz Fanara Residence
Jaz Fanara Residence
#13 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
3.8 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#15 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
Hilton Sharm Waterfalls Resort
#48 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,174 reviews
7.7 mi away
Sultan Gardens Resort
Sultan Gardens Resort
#19 of 234 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort

Property: Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort
Address: Om El Seid Hill, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#46 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#57 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#74 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 384
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Marriott Managed hotel nestled on a headland & surrounded by the spectacular coral reefs of the Red Sea, overlooking Ras Mohamed National Marine Park. Extends over 95,000 square meters, with 350 meters of its own beach frontage, sandy coves, Lush gardens, waterfalls, its own floating jetty, diving center & 4 Swimming pools. The resort provides a series of two storey villas accommodation, creating a feeling of space around the Resort & affording many of the 384 rooms & suites with panoramic views of the Red Sea Riviera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Sharm El Sheikh Golden View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Golden View Beach Resort Sharm El Sheikh Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sharm El Sheikh Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing