We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sultan Gardens Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sultan Gardens Resort
Ranked #19 of 232 Hotels in Sharm El Sheikh
Certificate of Excellence
Barnehurst Kent England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved the place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

We went to the resort for Christmas and New year, the cleanliness and the staff were great we could not fault the service and friendliness of the them, they could not have been more helpful. Our room was kept very clean and the linen and towels were spotless. The Gala nights for Christmas Eve and New Years Eve were spectacular. We would recommend this hotel as a great place to stay families, couples and even singles would enjoy it. The food was also very good and there was a variety of it.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noiram07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner, Executive Office at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2009
Dear Noiram07,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. It was a pleasure to host you and we are glad that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,066
    1,336
    399
    129
    56
See reviews for
2,165
2,466
81
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Just got back from 10 days at Sultan Gardens. Had a wonderful time. The hotel was beautiful, especially the pool areas and the lovely beach. We were so impressed with how friendly and helpful the staff were. The Christmas Eve Gala dinner was fantastic, such a lot of effort went into presentation, food and entertainment. The only things I would say is that the entertainment wasn't particularly good and the two large pools were far too cold to swim in. But we would definitely recommend this hotel and Sharm El Sheikh as a resort. Make sure you go quad biking, para-sailing, snorkelling, camel riding and star gazing. These were all incredibly fun and interesting trips. Would also recommend going to Naama Bay for a night out as it has a really vibrant atmosphere. Thank you for a great holiday!

  • Liked — Cleanliness and helpfulness of staff
  • Disliked — Entertainment
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VicksterKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner, Executive Office at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
Dear VicksterKent,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. It was a pleasure to host you and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kindest Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

I stayed here with my sister 8th-22nd December 2008.

First, I really can't believe all the last reviewer said. I wonder if she was actually at the same hotel we were.

Our room was close to the childrens pools and there were ALWAYS sunbeds available. Maybe not on the edge of the pool if you turned up after 11am but there was always something, even 4 together. And two out of 4 pools were heated and even the unheated ones were a decent temperature.

This is the best hotel I have EVER stayed in for not having to get up early to reserve sunbeds and, yes, the hotel was full.

The food was fine, a good choice, good quality and you could eat at the Italian free twice a week, more than you get at most hotels in this price range and higher. Entertainment is low-key in Egypt and by most standards this was good. If you want fancy shows, go somewhere that caters for English speaking guests only or try a cruise.

As for suggesting it's not 5*, well I do wish people would stop moaning. It's more to do with our holiday industry than anything else. We all know by now what to expect for package priced 5*. ALL 5* hotels in Egypt get this complaint. If you want English 5* try the Four Seasons and pay 3 times the price, although I see even that had a bad review yesterday.

Ok rant over.

Our room had the most glorious views over to Tiran Island. I sat up in bed every morning with a cup of coffee watching the sun come up over the Island. It was amazing.

What really made our holiday special was the staff. Moataz who runs the health club and Khaled Magdy our waiter deserve a special mention. The restaurant was under tremendous pressure at times as the hotel was full but he never stopped smiling and working, always having time for a quick word with guests. Moataz was great, helping me learn Arabic and filling in when people needed squash partners, and generally keeping his team up to speed. These 2 made our holiday special in many ways.

All the staff are great but a mention also to Nagla Fathy, Ahmed Goda and Mahomad Zaki. Also Dina in the health club - we became great friends and she is an excellant masseur. Ladies, do treat yourself while you're there.

So listen to other reviewers - all those people can't be wrong. It takes a lot of effort from the management team and committment from well motivated staff to take a hotel in this price range to number four in the ranking. This hotel should get better and better and it's in a prime location on the beach.

What more can I say - I loved it so much I'm going back next week with my husband.

  • Liked — The view, the staff and the beach, well everything
  • Disliked — The Russians
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lena1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner, Executive Office at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
Dear gsc52,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens resort and for posting your review. Your kind words and true understanding of the industry standards are refreshing and very much appreciated. We look forward to your return next week and remain at your service.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

my friend and our daughters stayed in sultan gardens and we all had a great time the food was great and the rooms and pools hand on heart it was great and will be going back very soon

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank vivvyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner, Executive Office at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2009
Dear vivvyjo,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2009

After a dissapointing holiday back in August 2008 at the Sol Y Mar Sharming Inn and had already booked to come to the Sultan Gardens resort in December,I was not looking forward to returning to Egypt,but this hotel as restored my confidence,the staff were really freindly,the food was good,a choice of a main restuarant or italian restuarant( which you had to book in advance)there was always something there you could eat and it was cooked well(no Phaoroes revenge)the drinks were plentiful,Beer,wines,spirites,cocktails,soft drinks,snacks during the day either using the main restuarant or the italian which did pizzas,Lasagne,speghetti and pasta with sauces or the pool bar which did little hamburgers,fish,chicken in breadcrumbs,chips and salads and filled rolls(the choice altered daily at the pool bar)nothing was to much trouble for the staff,if you ordered drinks they would bring to were you was sitting or laying around the pool,they had four pools,two of which was heated, we had a suite which consisted of a double bedroom with safe,a bath/shower room with hairdryer and a living room with a settee which converted to a double bed a breakfast bar with tea and coffee making facilities and satalite t.v.The Gala dinner they laid on at Christmas Eve was the best I had ever seen the food was superb,they had erected this massive Marquee with over a 100 tables all decorated, the chairs were all covered in white satin covers,I have never seen anything like it(except for weddings)they had live music throughout the night.A great experience

  • Liked — The size
  • Disliked — the room could be a bit brighter at night
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIDDLESEX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

We booked a 2 week stay from 2-16 Dec 08 in the Sultan Gardens along with our twin boys aged 11. Overall, holiday was pleasant.

RUSSIANS
I do need to mention them first as having read all the reviews before going travelling, I did think that surely they were an exaggeration!!!!!! Oh, how wrong-they were all true and more!!! I have never encountered such rude people (obviously not all, but the majority of them). No please or thank you, no waiting to get to the bar, no waiting to get to the food and the rest you will find out for yourselves when you get to Egypt!).

ALL INCLUSIVE
Don't think this is completely true, you have to pay to rent the tennis rackets and then pay again to use the tennis court (perhaps it should be a deposit which is refunded on return of the rackets). You must also pay to use the billiards table, table football and other games in the games room (again, perhaps a deposit would be better refunded on return of equipment). The sauna and jacuzzi etc also had to be paid for. Whilst I can see why certain beauty treatments should not be included, I think that the basic sauna and jacuzzi shoulde be free in a 5*! All Inclusive Hotel.

Sadly, ice cream was only available between 3-5pm.

HOTEL COMPLEX AND ACCOMMODATION
The hotel complex and accommodation were not an English 5*. I would put the complex at a 3* and the accommodation at a tired 3*. Whilst the rooms were large, the furniture could do with a refurb and the bathroom definitely was in need of a complete overhaul.

SWIMMING POOLS
4 pools in total, 2 were not heated and really cold. The other 2 were heated, one of them being a childrens pool with a water slide which was only open at certain times! however, the kids thoroughly enjoyed their time in this pool! BEWARE of the white plastic guttering on the water gully at the side of the pool, my husband hurt his foot when the guttering broke and he cut his foot when it went through (could do a small child a lot of damage).

ANIMATION TEAM AND ACTIVITIES
Our kids were too big for the kids club, so couldn't comment on that. The Animation Team worked for certain hours during the day, but, unfortunately during the hottest part of the day, when you really need activities for the children (especially the older kids), the Animation Team did not work. This meant that all the board games etc were taken away! Leaving the one table tennis table to be queued for!

Mini Golf was great and always managed to hire the clubs. The course was quite entertaining and enjoyed by us all.

The climbing wall was not in use thorughout the whole of our stay.

EVENING ENTERTAINMENT
Really not a lot of entertainment on. The ampitheatre was not in use and most of the evening entertainment which was in the downstairs disco started at 2145 hrs, a little late for kids I thought. There was a singer outside by the heated pool.

FOOD
Main dining restaurant felt more like a self service canteen and after the first week you would see the same food repeated. Managed to make it seem like lots of food, but seemed to be the same meat done in lots of ways! We did check the chicken before eating it as on some occasions it was still red inside. Not much choice for vegetarians and caters mostly for the Russians. Salad bar was basic, but nice and always stocked! Puddings were ok, but, make sure that you get them first as if you have manner and wait until you have finished your meal, doubtful that there would be many left.
Didn't try the fish restaurant.
The italian restaurant which you need to book for in the evening was a let down and we did not book after our first visit.
There was a restaurant in the main building which had been fire damaged and was in the process of being fixed, sadly, we left too early to sample it.
A few of the other food bars seemed to be closed near the beach (may be as it was not high season).

STAFF
In general the staff were very happy and kind and nothing seemed to be too much for any of them. After a couple of days they get to know your face and you build up a rapport. A tip every now and again is appreciated. You will find that you will want to tip the helpful and friendly staff.

The first cleaner in our room was a little in your face and seemed to want to be tipped. Unfortunately, our second cleaner was caught going through our suitcases and the hotel management were swift in their action and the cleaner was dismissed.

We found the guy at the rock pool bar (smaller guy) was really friendly and we were impressed with him no end, as well as the pool/beach guy (guy with green eyes who always said hello to Mr Phil-Mr Phil says hello to you again and hope the shirt is ok!)

BEACH
The beach was nice, small but you could nearly always find a bed. We ended up finding a small piece of beach with no beds, but it was beautiful and we aimed for that most days. The kids loved the sand and played for ages in it. The snorkelling was out of this world with beautiful fish and coral.

NAAMA BAY
Went into it twice via taxi, once in the day and the other in the evening. Amazing to see the difference between the day and night. Always guys trying to get you to buy their stuff or come into their bar/restaurant.

END!!!
Whilst there may seem to be a lot of negatives to this review, it was an enjoyable holiday and nothing too major spoilt it. Kids loved it, we also had a great time. Met a lovely family with 2 great kids which made our stay even more enjoyable (you know who you are and a a big thanks to you too).

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Cleaner going through our bags
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CALKYLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner, Executive Office at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 4, 2009
Dear CALKYLE,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens and for posting your review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and while we do not agree with all of it (after we have been to England and know what an English 3 star is relative to us) we will take your comments to heart and will use them to better our resort.

We look forward to a return visit from you and we are sure that after such a visit you will agree that a rating of 2 out of 5 does not befit our resort.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2009

This is the most overrated hotel I have stayed in. After reading previous reviews I expected so much more. The hotel is no way a five star - more three star. The rooms are tired looking but they are clean. Entertainment was non-existent - went into Naama Bay every night. Spent a fortune on hotel taxi! Worth it though for some decent food. Sun beds were easy to get and very comfy. The two big pools are not heated which is a real shame. My kids had to go back and forward to heated pool for a swim as you had to be fast for a sunbed at that pool. Overall disappointed but still nice to have some sunshine in December.

  • Liked — Sunbeds
  • Disliked — Food especially breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ryannaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkhedr, Owner, Executive Office at Sultan Gardens Resort, responded to this review, January 2, 2009
Dear ryannaEdinburgh,

Thank you for choosing the Sultan Gardens Resort and for posting your review. We are sorry that you were dissapointed and while we do not agree with your opinion that the resort is overrated we understand where you are coming from and are glad that you will still enjoyed your holiday.

Regarding the pools, we feel that we must clarify this issue. The Sultan Gardens has 4 large swimming pools, two of which are exceptionally large. As you may know Sharm's climate means that the pools need only be heated for three months of the year. Accordingly we hear two of the four pools (significant as there are numerous Sharm resorts without a single heated pool, let alone two). The other two pools are so large that heating them and keeping them heated would be a daunting task performed at great expense. Expense that would ultimately be paid, by you, the guests. We firmly believe that heating two of the four pools is more than adequate but we are sorry that you did not feel the same.

As for entertainment, we have a hotel singer performing nightly, as well as a different nightly animation show everyday. We also offer a variety of activities and bars at which to spend an evening socializing. This constitues the same level of evening entertainment you will find at any 5 star resort in the world. A live singer, a live show, and bars. Of course there is always room for improvement within these facilities themselves and we are always striving to get better.

Thank you again for posting your review and we remain at your service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sharm El Sheikh hotels
4.2 mi away
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
Stella Di Mare Beach Hotel & Spa
#2 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,103 reviews
3.4 mi away
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh Naama Bay
Movenpick Resort Sharm El Sheikh...
#13 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
1.7 mi away
Concorde El Salam Hotel
Concorde El Salam Hotel
#67 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
Baron Resort Sharm El Sheikh
#5 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
Xperience Sea Breeze Resort
#10 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
Grand Rotana Resort & Spa
#27 of 232 in Sharm El Sheikh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultan Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultan Gardens Resort

Property: Sultan Gardens Resort
Address: Coastal Road, Sharm El Sheikh 46199, Egypt
Phone Number:
Location: Egypt > Red Sea and Sinai > South Sinai > Sharm El Sheikh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#12 Spa Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#13 Family Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sharm El Sheikh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sultan Gardens Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the finest resorts on the Red Sea; The multiple Award winning, certified Eco Friendly, Sultan Gardens Resort in Sharm el Sheikh is your ideal All Inclusive holiday destination in Southern Sinai. The resort boasts 220 meters of private sandy beaches, beautiful coral formations, and an unrivaled view of the stunning Tiran Island. The resort also features five large, freshwater swimming pools as well 550 guest rooms ranging from the comfortable and spacious Standard rooms, to the luxurious Premium rooms and suites feasting in room Jacuzzis, all the way to the ultimate option of holidaying in your own private beachfront villa. The Sultan Gardens Resort is not just about great rooms, gorgeous pools and an unbeatable location. Everyone involved in Sultan Gardens Resort’s success is a firm believer that dining is an integral part of any holiday and recognizes the importance of offering delicious, exciting food coupled with inspired service. Guests will be impressed with the wealth of choice on offer whether they are dining in one of our six award winning themed restaurants, enjoying themselves at one of our 9 bars, or taking advantage of 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sultan Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sultan Gardens Hotel Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Gardens Sharm El Sheikh
Sultan Garden Resort Sharm El Sheikh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing